View Full Version : Mud Island Whale

Dimmorz
13-10-2009, 08:35 PM
Was out at mud on sunday and noticed a fairly large whale carcass laying in the shallows on roughly the southern rocks. It had obviously been hit by a prop from a large vessel. It appeared to have been dragged there as there was rope around the tail.

What is the go here? Is this the place the authorities take these things or has a good samaritan moved it there for navigational safety?

justjack
13-10-2009, 09:49 PM
could of been dragged there by EPA to clear the channels theres a 8m whale also dead on the beach on moreton big stinky fella

14-10-2009, 06:29 AM
Is that the one on the news with the big White chewing on him
?

charlie09
14-10-2009, 07:13 AM
Is that the one on the news with the big White chewing on him
?

Na im sure that one was in WA

LostNearBribie
14-10-2009, 07:55 AM
I was on Moreton on the weekend.
If you saw the clip on the news Saturday night, that was me in the water taking photos.
We reported it on Saturday morning, apparently it came in Friday night and someone had reported it.
We drove back on Saturday arvo and there were kids playing all around it in the water.
Parents standing on the sand watching them?
We stopped and mentioned that there might be a few sharks around and maybe it was not a good idea to swim around it.
They ignored us.
Even on Sunday is seemed untouched, but getting bloated and very smelly!
I have never seen a dead whale before, it was sad to see.
Now that is two in close proximity to each other.
How many whales would die in the bay each year?

Swindells
14-10-2009, 08:39 AM
This one didn't die in the bay, it was brought to mud island so it didn't clog the shipping lanes, i was out there with a marine biologist on Sunday.

They think it died of natural causes, not a propeller. we see increases in dead whales at this time of year due to their migratory route bringing them close to our shores.

Dead whales bring in sharks, thats why we were there, can't believe kids would be allowed to swim there.

14-10-2009, 06:00 PM
Its been there for a quite some time

yanjarra
14-10-2009, 07:46 PM
there was one caught up in some rope dead on the western side of mud a couple of months back...whether it got tangled or dragged there i dont know, certainly stunk though ...dont know if anyone else saw this

15-10-2009, 11:47 AM
Looks loke Mud is a dumping ground for them because Chong and I saw one tethered in the shallows on the south side of Mud a couple of months ago (not that anyone believed us at the time :) )

15-10-2009, 01:22 PM
Looks loke Mud is a dumping ground for them because Chong and I saw one tethered in the shallows on the south side of Mud a couple of months ago (not that anyone believed us at the time :) )

I've heard you guys on the radio when you have been at Mud and i wouldn't believe anthing you said either;) the rum smell even 1nm downwind was overpowering!!;D ;D ;D ;D ;D I'm suprised you guys haven't claimed spotting the southern lights aswell:o :o :o :o :o :o

Chong
16-10-2009, 01:07 PM
I've heard you guys on the radio when you have been at Mud and i wouldn't believe anthing you said either;) the rum smell even 1nm downwind was overpowering!!;D ;D ;D ;D ;D I'm suprised you guys haven't claimed spotting the southern lights aswell:o :o :o :o :o :o

FT,
it was very choppy and a couple of cups of joy may have been spilt, hence the smell::) plus we had to pump it out so that made a bit of a slick:-X . I have seen the southern lights as well as a min min light, a ghost, UFO, freindly brown snake and even a .......full bottle of rum once;) .

2DKnBJ
16-10-2009, 01:42 PM
FT,
it was very choppy and a couple of cups of joy may have been spilt, hence the smell::) plus we had to pump it out so that made a bit of a slick:-X . I have seen the southern lights as well as a min min light, a ghost, UFO, freindly brown snake and even a .......full bottle of rum once;) .

Chong

I believe most of your post is true but the full bottle!!!!::):-X

Cheers Dazza

robersl
16-10-2009, 01:48 PM
Chong

I believe most of your post is true but the full bottle!!!!::):-X

Cheers Dazza
Thats a bit unfair dazza full to them is like how long is a piece of string;D

16-10-2009, 06:15 PM
You wouldn't believe it, but Cheech and Chong charters even tried to weight it in, in the R2M, but due weight mass, they were unable to get it on board, but these pair of bundy bears will try anything to win a prize, eveery year they come up with a mussell of some descritpiton to weight in, which certain means their fishing the bottom, maybe the lines are set on sundown and retreived on sunup, which means it doesnt intefer with their nightly consumption. ?????

mowerman
17-10-2009, 02:34 PM
A mate reckons he was out on the bay one night and a penguin jumped up on the duckboard. Penguinboard?

Half inclined to believe him but he drinks rum too.

Rod.

SeaHunt
19-10-2009, 12:15 PM
Might be some well fed crabs over there for some time yet.
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,26227602-3102,00.html

charlie09
19-10-2009, 01:25 PM
I was listening to 4BC yesterday when some greeny said that the dead whales shouldn't be left in the bay because they produce 100's of litres of oil and tonnes of CO gas when they are decomposing. He also gave the example "If i spilt a couple of hundred litres of oil in the bay, i'm sure I would get in trouble".

Is this guy for real? This is nature doing what nature does, what he's talking about is enviromental vandalisim (oops didnt mean to sound like a greeny...sorry). Where is the comparison? IMO the dead whale has now become part of the food chain.

justjack
19-10-2009, 02:17 PM
and over that guys life he will be producing more by-product then that, what does he think if we take it onto land it will stop decomposing, the ocean is a massive biological filter it can handle 1 dead whale no worries, idiot

banksmister
19-10-2009, 07:32 PM
[quote=charlie09;1086077]I was listening to 4BC yesterday when some greeny said that the dead whales shouldn't be left in the bay because they produce 100's of litres of oil and tonnes of CO gas when they are decomposing. He also gave the example "If i spilt a couple of hundred litres of oil in the bay, i'm sure I would get in trouble".

Reminds me of a person on the radio saying the heat from a coal fired power station should be cooled by water before creating any more global warming in the air

justjack
29-11-2009, 08:18 PM
late reply i know but heres a pic of the one that was on Moreton, looks like it could nearly fit our landy in its mouth

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg164/bigjustjack/SDC10369.jpg

BayDog
29-11-2009, 10:15 PM
The whale at mud was towed there from caloundra about 2 months ago. I know this because i called out the ranger to pick up a sick turtle i found, her name was Karen Rudkin i think, and she informed me that they had towed the whale there through the night from caloundra as the locals kink up a stink, about the stink i presume. They anchor them there to decompose. As for the death of whales, with humpback numbers increasing so will the deaths, go figure. death is a part of life, go ask my esky, its seen a lot of dead fish :)

BayDog
29-11-2009, 10:17 PM
Oh yeah, Thank for the totally awesome pic Jack! Is that its bloated stomach protuding from its mouth? Dare you to pop it...:)

justjack
29-11-2009, 10:29 PM
"im beach as bro, can you give me a tow" haha its the skin on the bottom of his jaw he wasnt long dead but he was starting to smell

BayDog
30-11-2009, 10:20 AM
wanna chup bro :)

Is Don Is GOOD
11-12-2009, 09:24 AM
Nah cant CHEW BRO! I only eat plinkton...