View Full Version : New Trolling Combo- BCF service ???
WalFish
01-10-2009, 04:23 PM
Well, the new BCF catalogue came out today and the Shimano Charter Special caught my eye - on special at $179 for club members. Then spotted the 20% off all rods special and thatwas all the convincing I needed to chuck the kids in the car and go shopping.
I already have one Charter Special on a Ugly Stik 12-15kg 6' rod and spooled with 30lb mono. Great for a bit of bottom bashing and ideal for a bit of trolling. Came home with another of these - exact same setup and will now have to wait for BEER Batter to be launched before it is christened.
As a sidenote however, the crew at BCF need to smarten up their act a bit if they wish to remain competitive. It took 15 minutes for the attendants (2 of them) to admit that even though the computer said they had a heap in stock, they couldn't find any and would I be prepared to buy the display one - well yes if that is all you can find!! Then I handed the spool of mono over and asked them to spool it - but no, the spool machine is busted and has been for some time....... Anyway, the hapless two went on and spooled it by hand for me - can already see the birdsnests now as the line is on pretty loose - will have to fix this before I wet the line. And then turn up at the checkout to a sour looking cashier who looked rather upset that someone might come along and interrupt her chewing gum marathon, and looked rather upset as I asked her why I had been charged the full price for the reel and not the discounted price as advertised...... I just wish my usual tackle shop would stock Shimano and I would never have any reason to shop elsewhere.
Wal
breakthelines
01-10-2009, 11:56 PM
I agree mate. I rarely and i mean rarely (once this year, 2 TT's switch blades for $20) shop at BCF. They have kids and women with zero idea working at ipswich and it is just a disgrace! The blokes at Labrador are quite helpful but there pricing is miles from my regular tackle shop at Nerang.
nidrac
02-10-2009, 09:03 AM
I had the same experience a few weeks ago mate... went in there to get a rod and reel combo they had on special.. couldn't find any around so asked a bloke and he said they were sold out (a bit strange seeing as though the sale only started that morning) then on the way out saw a pile of them sitting in the corner of there stock room at the front there so asked at the counter to be told there was 5 in stock, sent someone to go get one from the back to come back with a 2kg spin stick instead of the 20kg game combo i was after.. i then pointed them to the ones i saw... they finally went and got them and said they had no idea why they were there... so after 15mins i finally got what i was after..
Nidrac...
Chamelion
02-10-2009, 11:19 AM
On the flip side, my local BCF are fine. The employees have always been helpful and the girls at the registers are nothing short of friendly (and attractive to boot) with no chewing gum to be seen.
They're certainly better than my closest 'local', who tends to stock nothing but K-Mart level gear, carries hardly anything in the way of decent lures (tsunami anyone?) and certainly doesn't seem to go out of his way to be helpful.
Jackson 53
02-10-2009, 11:46 AM
Even worse is the fishing department at A Mart stores these days. The range is so limited that even though the pricing can sometimes be competitive you may have to visit several stores to find what you are looking for (I've given up on Anaconda).
The reality is that if you want a complete range of products together with good advice then the specialised fishing tackle store is the only option.
Having said that I have had a good experience with some BCF and A Mart outlets but you need to find a staff member who has some fishing experience to assist you.
Scott79
02-10-2009, 10:14 PM
Similar experiences for me also, no service and limited knowledge. Ocassionally they run a good special that I am interested in, however most of the time I am in there for a look only, as they do carry a pretty good "general" range.
But all shit aside, they are what they are, a "supermarket" style store that offers a good range that appeals to most of the population. Similar to a particular hardware store that seems to be a bit of a drawcard also.
My most recent encounter with this particular Boating Camping Fishing store highlighted the stark contrast between stores though.
Had almost $300 in vouchers accumualted, and was keen to get a Saragosa. Price was similar to anywhere else reputable, so ordered it locally, and was told 5-10 days delivery. Rang them after a fortnight, was told another week. About a week later they rang me and said there is a delay at Shimano, no stock, but should be another 2 to 3 weeks. How much more of this can I take? A custom rod hadn't arrived yet anyway, so I waited another week and rang them, got someone else on the phone who told me the same Shimano story only it was going to be 2 to 3 months. Breaking point. Spoke to the manager and asked if they could ring around and see if they could find me one in stock at another location, and have it freighted up to me. To her credit she was polite and helpful, and found one at the Maroochydore store.
I then rang the Maroochydore store directly, organised payment including the vouchers, and 2 days later I had a new Saragosa, after I had waited a month for my local store to produce.
Big thumbs up to the Maroochydore store who went out of their way to help, certainly above and beyond what is expected these days.
Scott.
jaredluke
02-10-2009, 10:29 PM
On the flip side, my local BCF are fine. The employees have always been helpful and the girls at the registers are nothing short of friendly (and attractive to boot) with no chewing gum to be seen.
They're certainly better than my closest 'local', who tends to stock nothing but K-Mart level gear, carries hardly anything in the way of decent lures (tsunami anyone?) and certainly doesn't seem to go out of his way to be helpful.
Have to agree with you on that one. I went their on Monday and from what I could see the fella serving a woman was very helpful and friendly. And pricing was pretty good as well
Bladeca
03-10-2009, 11:25 AM
I haven't had too many occassions where I haven't been happy with the service at BCF. Been to maroochy,caloundra and hervey bay stores more times than I can remember. The maroochy one went out of their way and put an FJ symetry in the combo I bought even though it was only meant to be the run out of the FIs.
Don't know whether you guys do any more shopping than just at tackle shops but you might be surprised how many other types of stores suck way more than BCF. Whitegoods, hardware, clothing, shoes, and furniture stores. A particular tv/whitegoods mob on Nicklin way are hopeless have been in there 5 times and 4 of them I had to go find someone to help as the staff was to busy talking to their walk in mates about parties, the weekend and how fat their grandkid are and one of those occassion I was standing near a 3k kitchen package. Want to pay top dollar, get bugger all service, open the shop only when they feel like it and have to keep waiting for the phone calls to say that your item is in after the store makes you feel like they are doing you a service by getting it then come to Gympie and see if rate BCF that bad then (not referring to our local tackle store here he is very good).
Glenn
Pistol_P
03-10-2009, 01:41 PM
I gotta disagree quite strongly.
The service at BCF Noosa has picked up HEAPS from what it used to be.
They are regular fisho's at the shop and they always offer to help and assist.
BCF Maroochy is probably one of the best stores I have ever been too.
Lets face it.....The range is MASSIVE and its pretty impressive to have the opportunity to look at so much gear in the one store.
The service at BCF Maroochy is very good also form my observations.
You are going to get dud service everywhere from time to time but I gotta say I have walked into some small tackle shops and the service absolutely shocking!!....Some of the full time employees at these shops have knowledge on gear etc.....but they hardly ever put it into practice and actually 'go fishing'....
Some would sell you anything...!!
reddybayfisher
03-10-2009, 02:17 PM
My misses went to a BCF on the southside to get me some SPs for my birthday - she didn't know what to look for and picked a few packs that she liked the look of......she then went over to of the sales people and asked are these SPs OK.....and he said 'Yes' they are good.....anyway I open the gift and find two packs of SP frogs.....these are no good for fishing in the bay.....the sales person failed to ask what type of fish I would be targeting.......
I only go to BCF if I know what I want and is a good price.....I never ask for advice from anyone at BCF.....
Pistol_P
03-10-2009, 02:45 PM
My misses went to a BCF on the southside to get me some SPs for my birthday - she didn't know what to look for and picked a few packs that she liked the look of......she then went over to of the sales people and asked are these SPs OK.....and he said 'Yes' they are good.....anyway I open the gift and find two packs of SP frogs.....these are no good for fishing in the bay.....the sales person failed to ask what type of fish I would be targeting.......
I only go to BCF if I know what I want and is a good price.....I never ask for advice from anyone at BCF.....
Like I said above...You can get bad service anywhere you go these days.
The guys should have definetly asked your wife the question.
On the other side of the coin....If your wife got you a BCF gift voucher card you would have been happy to shop in a store with such a MASSIVE range of gear to choose from.8-)
reddybayfisher
03-10-2009, 03:51 PM
Pete - as you have said.....perhaps that could have happened at another fishing / tackle shop.....BCF do have a good range of SPs....
I'd be keen to here from other fishos who can recommend there local BCF....
I would not give my local BCF a good report though...
WalFish
03-10-2009, 09:24 PM
Well, that threw the cat among the pidgeons.....:o
Yes, of course there are some stores and salespeople who are really good at what they set out to do, and there are others left in their wake. I have experienced poor service at the Townsville BCF on many occasions, and as I said in my thread starter, would be more than happy to shop with the 'local bloke' of my choice if they stocked Shimano.
Good to hear that not all BCF stors are the same and I'll be sure to keep that in mind if shopping for tackle in SE QLD.
And yes reddybayfisher, I soon too will love my Formosa Tomahawk 580. Painted last week and coming to a ramp near you soon!!......148 days to go. Long story.
And I will enjoy using my new combo.;D
Cheers Wal
Damned67
03-10-2009, 09:25 PM
I live in BrisVegas and work in Southport. I do probably 80-90% of my shopping at either Tackle Warehouse (in Coorparoo) or Doug's in Southport. I always seem to get discounts at both, and the discounts I get at Tackle Warehouse make them more than competitive with BCF. The guys' at Doug's give discounts too, but they still remain slightly higher than everywhere esle. That said, I shop there for their range and their expertise. I have seen the Labrador BCF mentioned a few times on here, positively. Bascially, the Labrador BCF is on my way home, while Doug's is literally in the opposite direction. I must not ever go into the Labrador BCF at the right times, as I feel I need a lobotomy just to walk through the door, and then pretend to pocket something just to get some (poor) attention. That said, the guys and girls at the BCF at Loganholme are always quite friendly and helpful, even if not particularly knowledgable.
And to follow up on someone elses comment, I find that if I ever walk into any BCF and try to buy something on the first day of a catalouge sale, it's NEVER the right price in the computer.
Anyway, I try to throw most of my money at Tackle Warehouse and Dougs, although I did just recently walk into Go Camping/Nerang Disposals. I was VERY impressed at the range, service and price.
I'm happy to pay a little extra for the decent service, but like I said, my 'locals' tend to give me such great discounts that they're often cheaper than BCF anyway.
Cheers!!!
03-10-2009, 10:26 PM
Wal,
A few months ago I was in Townsville looking to purchase a "Barra Combo" & my first baitcaster.
Tried BCF didn't feel quite right, went across the road and same didn't stock Shimano :( I wanted a Shimano reel as i'm a fan. Went to Pro Tackle just around the corner and was well looked after :) They picked out a rod, Shimano reel and put the braid on the reel, they tied on a "casting weight" and showed me the do's and dont's with a bait caster. I ended up with a very balanced combo that was user friendly
Damo.
phil_the_greek
04-10-2009, 01:20 AM
i agree bcf lawnton has gone to shit walking rond with 400 bucks worth of texalium in one hand had half a dozzen knife jigs in the other and had to wait 10 mins for a twerp to tell me best they could do was 10 bucks off the torium 20 reel took one jig and left the rest.
gone are the days of getting reel covers thrown in rod bags cheap line morayfields not much better mate got no love there a little while ago kinda sad considering the service i used to get and the masive amount of gear ive bought off them.
worst part is its a reasonable hike to any other stores so im kinda stuck withem for my last minuit purchases at least.
phil
Tailortaker
04-10-2009, 03:10 PM
i agree bcf lawnton has gone to shit walking rond with 400 bucks worth of texalium in one hand had half a dozzen knife jigs in the other and had to wait 10 mins for a twerp to tell me best they could do was 10 bucks off the torium 20 reel took one jig and left the rest.
gone are the days of getting reel covers thrown in rod bags cheap line morayfields not much better mate got no love there a little while ago kinda sad considering the service i used to get and the masive amount of gear ive bought off them.
worst part is its a reasonable hike to any other stores so im kinda stuck withem for my last minuit purchases at least.
phil
Soory to hear that as I have always received excellent service from both of those stores. I have bought alot of gear from both and they have always been helpful and knew what they were tlking about. I guess it comes down to which staff are there on the day.
MyEscape
05-10-2009, 05:34 AM
Hope this doesn't become another BCF bash. I'd have to admit poor service is not restricted to any particular type of store. Doesn't seem to matter whether it's your car getting serviced, buying furniture, or fishing gear.
Having said that, Id say if I really want to talk to someone with a lot of knowledge on the subject, I'd go to my local Tackleworld. If I want to browse and look around, the BCF shops do have a lot of stock to look at. I'd say most of my plastics have come form a BCF outlet.
Crunchy
05-10-2009, 11:42 AM
Have always found the service at BCF Maroochy pretty good and always very friendly...the store I hate the with a passion is WOW next door....what a bunch of bankers....ahhhh that feels better:P
sagair
05-10-2009, 02:42 PM
BCF Townsville gave me a good deal on a HDS-5 and a gold card a week apart. Even rang Navico to make sure the 50/200 sounder could be switched into 83 mode for me. While I was waiting on the phone call as navico was busy I picked up a mackeral line $34.95 the week before I bought one at the shop across the road for $49.95 same spoon, wire, cord and blue plastic reel. Seems I paid $15.00 more for nix, and I was the only person in the shop. Wonder why? Bl$$&@ anoyed LOL
Swindells
05-10-2009, 04:06 PM
Mate, if i go to BCF i don't talk to anyone, they have "salesmen" who wouldn't know a baitcaster from a yabby pump. occasionaly they have something on special that i can't pass up but i try to support the tackle shops.
loophole
11-10-2009, 08:34 PM
Mate, if i go to BCF i don't talk to anyone, they have "salesmen" who wouldn't know a baitcaster from a yabby pump. occasionaly they have something on special that i can't pass up but i try to support the tackle shops.
::) Are you serrious? I know quite a few Ppl Employed By BCF especially in the SE QLD region and IF you talk to someone in the know 99% have awesome product Knoweldge and are Great Fisherman... There not marketed as being a specialst store...And over the leadup to the XMAS period there is a lot of new staff put on.
I find most of the staff are experienced in their departments, even the the younger staff are keen as well as being active fisherman, and the checkout staff do what they are meant to do.
12-10-2009, 07:36 AM
while we are talking about service (or lack of) at BCF, I might as well have my daily whinge, last week I went to the local (Warrawong NSW) BCF to get some rego stickers/numbers for a boat, I wandered up and down the isles searching but could not find them, so off to find a staff mamber, could only find two, one on the cash register, and one sitting on a chair playing with a rod, I asked the guy sitting on the chair where the rego stickers were, he looked up sort of disinterested and said, "over there", I said "over where?" he half pointed and said "there" so up and down the isles I went again, still no joy, not wanting to disturb the same guy (still sitting on his chair) I asked the cash register guy, "down there" he pointed in the other direction, so up and down the isle I went and finally found a few odds and ends of numbers and letters, but I was after white, as the boat is black, so back to the register and ask "do you have white, and do you have the full set"? "dunno!" was all I got back, drove to a fairly close by (10 mins) boat dealer and he not only had both black and white, but had the full set of both, had a chat to me, asked how I was, put them in a nice bag for me and off I went happy as pie, so I will NEVER EVER enter a BCF again, even if it is the last place on earth!
Ricardo
12-10-2009, 08:17 AM
The staff at my local BCF (Virginia) could not be more helpful. Always happy to point out where anything is and the blokes I talk to have loads of knowledge.
I suppose it all depends on what type of staff member you strike on the day.
12-10-2009, 09:13 AM
The solution is very very simple ::) ;)
If you dont like BCF, or A Mart or any other store, dont go there......:o :P end of bad service problem
eotbmg
12-10-2009, 06:49 PM
Yeah i have to agree mate. Maroochydore BCF is pretty good for service and stock availability.
Just as a foot note...I wouldnt let anyone else spool my reels up...... I am pretty particular with spool knots and also how tight it is wound up.
iqarus
01-12-2009, 04:19 PM
you've got to pick your days to shop at the one here, there's a bloke in his mid 30's thats quite knowledgeable and fishes every weekend, he only ever seems to be there the start of the week. end of the week is the two highschool kids that answer "daiwa" to everything.
our local tackle shop is much cheaper, which is odd.
LBGaddict
01-12-2009, 04:41 PM
The term knowledgeable is very relative to the customer, some customers are impressed with staff members knowing how to tie a bimini. 99% of BCF staff would not last a week at a real tackle store.
loophole
02-12-2009, 12:46 AM
Then I handed the spool of mono over and asked them to spool it - but no, the spool machine is busted and has been for some time....... Anyway, the hapless two went on and spooled it by hand for me
Wal
The Shimano charter Special is a levelwind why would you ask to have it spooled by a machine? :-/