View Full Version : Diawa Saltist Lever Drag

t4topcat
27-09-2009, 04:06 PM
G'day all,
I'm looking at purchasing one of the new Diawa Saltist lever drag reels but I'm not sure whether or not to get the 2-speed model or the single speed. I'm interested in the smallest size (20) and would like to know if having a 2-speed just means that it's something else that can fail or if it really is worthwhile? I have no experience with lever drag reels and would appreciate any advice regarding this topic. Also, what would be a good price for both models?

27-09-2009, 08:43 PM
I bought the two speed 30 and find it great and haven't had a problem with it. I went the two speed for big reefies and cobes for bottom bashing.Depends on what your using it for. I 've only used the lower gear on cobes and sharks .......but it handles the punishment . Hard and strong for the reel of it's size

http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/30august032.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/30august029.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/30august038.jpg

t4topcat
28-09-2009, 09:25 AM
Hi JT,
yeah I reckon they will be an awesome reel, and I really like the look of the 20 as it is small, relatively light and yet a powerful reel that will hold a fair amount of braid in the 30lb - 50lb region. I'm also thinking of a rod to match it to - one of the matched rods from the Diawa range or a Monster Mesh, or possibly something else. Not sure at the moment, all I know is that I need to upgrade.

lumox
28-09-2009, 10:52 AM
Great reel got a couple in different sizes. great for their size. imo the 2 speed offers more for same money and very usefull if somthing a bit bigger comes along.

t4topcat
28-09-2009, 04:49 PM
Lumox,
yeah that was what I was sort of thinking, the low down grunt for turning a big bugger then once they are up off the bottom you could kick it up to the higher speed. Also have you tried casting with yours?

lumox
29-09-2009, 07:11 AM
yeah Chris you can cast with them especially the smaller models. top reel, the drags quite sensitive and powerful. still to really test one out under extreme load but they feel solid and am sure there wont be any probs. mat

t4topcat
29-09-2009, 08:53 AM
Good to hear that Mat, I think that I've made my mind up and will order the 2 - speed 20 today, could you suggest a rod to go with the 20? Like I said I'm thinking that I'll try to get the matching Saltist LD rod for that model but i'm not sure when they'll show up here in Mackay.

29-09-2009, 04:11 PM
Chris i opted for the Soleterra Okuma extremely light and suited the reel well.
Around the $200 skins thou i went for the 24kg to 37 kg Extremly light and has a great taper and light in the tip . They have them in a lot of different weights. Will post some pics of it later.

t4topcat
30-09-2009, 06:02 PM
G'day all,
how's this I was in the shop today all prepared to purchase the following set-up:
Saltist LD 20
300m 40lb Nitlon
Saltiga Hiramasa 6' PE4
all for $1000 neat. So the guys spool up the reel and we mount it on the rod and then go to set the drag, we set it at around 4kg (at strike) over the rod and then decide we'll check what it is pulling when it was at 'sunset'. What do you know , it was actually loading LESS drag at sunset than it was at strike. This situation had not only myself but some very knowledgable lads that work at the store scratching our heads, so the boys then tried a 30 and found that it was working well. So needless to say i haven't purchased what I'm after yet as it was the last 20 in the store. I have to say the guys at the store have been excellent (as they always are and they are now contacting Diawa to try and sort it out. But I've got to be honest and say i'm a little dissapointed at the moment.

t4topcat
30-09-2009, 06:17 PM
Hi again,
by the way do you think that this combo sounds alright as it felt great in the shop (nice and light, could fish it all day) and had some real guts at the bottom end.

jaredluke
02-10-2009, 10:43 PM
Here's a bit of personal experiene for the mix, I recently purchased single speed 3o sized slatist ld from the states for a recent swaines trip. After the first day, and only ioding bream and other baitfish caught the reel shat itself. Instead of producing 11kg of drag as stated it only produced 1 - 2kg of drag. The reel will be sent off for repairs shortly, however this was quite annoying because this was my heavy outfit. I was also quite annoyed because I am only a student and I purchased an expenisve reel so that it would not break; go figure!!!! oH AND i MATCHED MY SLATIST UP WITH A SILSTAR CRYSTAL BLUE JIG 24KG ROD, all up it is very very light; lucky to be a kilo

NIZ180
03-10-2009, 09:09 AM
Keep us informed of the outcome mate.

t4topcat
07-10-2009, 10:39 PM
G'day all,
well it seems that Diawa are sending up a new reel and we'll see how that one goes. Apart from the fact that I've been swamped with marking the weather has been blowing a bit so I don't feel like I've missed out on fishing because the reel didn't work out at the time. I can't wait to get it and give it a go. The boss has informed me that I have to have a garage sale to reduce the number of rods and reels I've got and to help pay for my new aqusitions, still looking at Samurai 502 and a 3000 or 4000 size threadline (Certate Hyper Custom or Saltiga Game 3500 - dreaming!), probably a Sol or Heartland........dunno. Can't think of that now got to get throught this little ordeal ;D .

NIZ180
08-10-2009, 06:06 PM
You know you want the Hyper Custom!!! IMO its a perfect match!!! Why not try the new twinpower SW 5000 or 6000????

Did Daiwa mention what the problem was with the reel?? Hopefully its not a widespread manufacturing issue as I really want one of these reels.

t4topcat
08-10-2009, 06:24 PM
G'day NIZ,
no mate they haven't mentioned anything as yet they just said they'd send a new one up ASAP, that's all I've heard. Apparently the Daiwa reps must check these sites out because they mentioned that there was chatter about my problem online when Craig from the tackle shop called them. BIG BROTHER is watching.......

Keep you posted on what comes of it anyway, as for the Hyper, I can't justify it at the moment (identcal twins on the way), but I have put a bid on certate 3500HD on ebay so I'll see how that goes for now.

reggy
09-10-2009, 08:55 AM
just like horses and dogs, it`s not always the one that looks best that works best.
there`s been some chat on US sites about this new Daiwa ld. not all good.

NIZ180
09-10-2009, 10:09 AM
just like horses and dogs, it`s not always the one that looks best that works best.
there`s been some chat on US sites about this new Daiwa ld. not all good.

That sux!!!! maybe the new Shimano Talica is a better choice for me then???

reggy
09-10-2009, 04:23 PM
that`s the way i would go, but i have always prefered shimano overheads over daiwa. it will probably cost you more.

t4topcat
11-10-2009, 09:07 AM
I've been told by some of the guys at my local tackle store that the Talica's have had their fare share of problems too. Now I'm not biased one way or the other so I'm just looking for a reliable, small overhead that doesn't weigh a tonne and is comfortable to use all day. on initial inspection the Daiwa fit the bill, as for reliability, well, both reels are new to the marketplace and I feel that they will both have teething problems. At the moment there is a bit of a "suck it and see" situation going on for me, I'll probably stick with the saltist purely due to budget constraints (most bang for my buck so to speak).

reggy
11-10-2009, 11:04 AM
i just got back from a swains trip and used a TLD Star 20/40 with 50 lb braid and carbontex drag on a 20kg livefibre black bass rod and caught all reef species plus spanos and large cod and trevally and sharks.
This reel is very light and has stainless gears and a good anti reverse system.
Got mine for $175.00 on sale and it is the toughest, most reliable overhead i have ever had.
The speedmaster is a little quicker, but will do the same job.
i also put a Torium handle on it for a bit more leverage.

t4topcat
07-12-2009, 11:22 PM
Well, G'day folks,
I better be upfront about this from the start........I'm here for a rant and to 'vent' a little. The saga of the Saltist LD 20 is continuing, was in the tackle shop last week and they still haven't had word back regarding the "replacement" reel that Diawa has "lost". Considering that I have paid for this reel over 2 months ago I'm begining to get a little pissed off about this at this point in time. Now let me say that I'm not upset with the guys at the tackle shop, they've been fantastic and I feel that they are as frustrated as myself, but rather with the Diawa representatives who seem to me to be a bunch of inept, mouth breathing simpletons who couldn't organise a chook raffle to save their lives. I'm currently composing a letter to Diawa (Australia and Japan) to make an official complaint about the support service that these guys provide and if this costs someone their job I couldn't give a rats arse, I'm fed up with recieving shoddy service and support from some of these guys out there in the retail sector (don't get me started on ARB at the moment - dented my brand new MN Triton 3 times while putting on the canopy and then made a joke about it, among other problems). Apparently there is no stock in Australia at the moment but when I was in Brisbane there was stock at Tackle warehouse, but up here in regional Queensland it seems that we are second rate and don't deserve the same level of supply and back up (and I grew up in Bulimba, not that far from Tackle warehouse at Camp Hill so I'm not just whinging).

Anyway, lets see if the guys from Diawa see this little missive as they troll through the chat boards (WAKE UP BOYS AND GET YOUR HANDS OFF IT!!!!!!).

Well..........I feel a little better..........now I can go and cuddle my new born boys, Noah (might be a boat builder) ;D and Hamish (identical twins - 6 days old) :laola:

Cheers all

NIZ180
09-12-2009, 09:55 AM
Well, G'day folks,
I better be upfront about this from the start........I'm here for a rant and to 'vent' a little. The saga of the Saltist LD 20 is continuing, was in the tackle shop last week and they still haven't had word back regarding the "replacement" reel that Diawa has "lost". Considering that I have paid for this reel over 2 months ago I'm begining to get a little pissed off about this at this point in time. Now let me say that I'm not upset with the guys at the tackle shop, they've been fantastic and I feel that they are as frustrated as myself, but rather with the Diawa representatives who seem to me to be a bunch of inept, mouth breathing simpletons who couldn't organise a chook raffle to save their lives. I'm currently composing a letter to Diawa (Australia and Japan) to make an official complaint about the support service that these guys provide and if this costs someone their job I couldn't give a rats arse, I'm fed up with recieving shoddy service and support from some of these guys out there in the retail sector (don't get me started on ARB at the moment - dented my brand new MN Triton 3 times while putting on the canopy and then made a joke about it, among other problems). Apparently there is no stock in Australia at the moment but when I was in Brisbane there was stock at Tackle warehouse, but up here in regional Queensland it seems that we are second rate and don't deserve the same level of supply and back up (and I grew up in Bulimba, not that far from Tackle warehouse at Camp Hill so I'm not just whinging).

Anyway, lets see if the guys from Diawa see this little missive as they troll through the chat boards (WAKE UP BOYS AND GET YOUR HANDS OFF IT!!!!!!).

Well..........I feel a little better..........now I can go and cuddle my new born boys, Noah (might be a boat builder) ;D and Hamish (identical twins - 6 days old) :laola:

Cheers all

Mate thats an absolute disgrace!!!!! Why the hell should we even bother buying locally when this is the back up service you get???? I bet if you bought from plat or japan tackle they would have had a replacement sent to you ASAP. People always say to buy locally as you get backup service warranty, whatever!!! The best backup service I have ever recieved have always been from overseas sellers.

09-12-2009, 06:20 PM
It's a shame becuase i have got ten the upmost out of mine and am very pleased with it. Was hoping the 40's and 50's to be out now to have a go at one. I'm thinking the 50 be a great size.
But an Accurate to may be for me
See about Xmas Bonus;D

t4topcat
09-12-2009, 10:06 PM
G'day folks,
well I've settled own a bit. NIZ, mate I don't mind buying local as I like to support the guys in town and they look after me as much as they can which I appreciate ( I will buy O/S at times though, but only when it's too good to pass up), what I don't like is the system in this country that dictates you can only purchase retail O/S goods once they've gone through importers (can someone please explain to me exactly how or what an importer does that constitutes VALUE ADDING?). So these guys slap their sweet percentage on top of any costs that they've inccured and Bob's your uncle we're paying through the nose, the retailers have to put their margin on goods and that's fair enough, but effectively we're paying for two shop owners. Retailers in this country should be able to deal directly with the manufacturers and order from them without having to deal with importers, and in doing so maybe retail costs would become comparable to those O/S and as such deter shoppers fromo going offshore unless it was an issue of availability. But it'll never happen becuse it was set up this way during colonial settlement (if I'm not mistaken, thanks to our old friends the Poms) and the government loves the fact that they can probably double dip into our pockets (Geeze listen to me I sound like a conspiracy theorist).

JT, I think I'll stick with it the problem is that I actually really like Daiwas product, it really has soured the taste for further purchases though and I'll have to think long and hard before I take the leap again. Although now that the boys are here I wont be purchasing much fishing gear for a while (at least not until they're old enough to be a viable excuse ;D )

Cheers all

lumox
10-12-2009, 10:45 AM
Mate sorry to hear your still having dramas mine havent faulted at all, as for the service mate that just sucks!!! congratulations on the boys mate.

jaredluke
10-12-2009, 01:17 PM
I received my reel back a month and a half ago now all fixed up. Since then I have caught some thumper reds, coral trout, cobia and nannies off cairns and the reel has performed exceptionally well. They are a good reel when they work; that is the key I suppose.

t4topcat
14-12-2009, 10:50 PM
G'day folks,
sorry I haven't replied, been at the hospital the boys and mum have been in for two weeks now and looking at a third probably, but at least everything is on the up and up now.
As for the Saltist Saga as I've now nickname it. Apparently there are no LD20's in Australia and the boat with the stock arrives Christmas day, so we wont see any here until well into January probably (if at all, I'm beginnig to feel like I've dreamed that these reels exist and that I'll never actually recieve one). Now call me a cynic but I bet that the big boys down in Vegas will have stock for Christmas that they have recently recieved. I wonder if anyone could check up for me and drop me a line as I'm a bit busy at the moment as you can tell by the time I'm writing this, it would be appreciated.

Anyhow, cheers people and take it easy

twist
15-12-2009, 09:05 PM
Shimano Talica mmmmmmm!

brrbear
16-12-2009, 03:03 PM
I have a2speed and a single 20 ld they were given a solid workout for 2weeks before I had some drag issues .
I have them back but have not put them to the test yet.

I must say they were a pleasure to use when working and stopped plenty of solid fish with ease, I just hope I have no more problems.

Janelle
19-12-2009, 01:27 PM
Hi Chris,

I have sent you a PM.

Janelle

PS If anyone knows Chris can you let him know to check his PM's please

pog mo hoin
18-05-2010, 06:44 PM
So what was the outcome?

brrbear
20-05-2010, 09:07 PM
I have a2speed and a single 20 ld they were given a solid workout for 2weeks before I had some drag issues .
I have them back but have not put them to the test yet.

I must say they were a pleasure to use when working and stopped plenty of solid fish with ease, I just hope I have no more problems.

both have had drag issuses again this time I repaired them myself. small amount of water getting in.
not really good enough for the price.

I have recently purchased a couple of omottos jig reels at a fraction of the price and they have worked extremly well so far, no issues at all.