View Full Version : Egrell S10 alternative?

reddybayfisher
18-09-2009, 04:45 PM
I have an S10 at the moment and am looking at getting another one - but I'd been keen to here from anyone that would recommend an alternative to look at.....I'll be running a Certate 4000 with 10 - 20lb braid.....I like the S10 due to it's tip feeling quite radical / soft - other rods in it's rating are quite stiff in the tip....

Reddybayfisher

kevvie
18-09-2009, 04:48 PM
Mate...there are other alternatives but i just got back from the top end and i had a ball on my s10. In my reckoning there is no equivalent in design characteristics anywhere...

Man i just love it...too bad i cant use it more around sydney...

18-09-2009, 05:45 PM
You could look at the Nitro Magnum Butt Distance Spin. Its cheaper and it has a expeditor option to replace a broken rod section. They are similar to the S10 in that they don't use Fuji SICs though

NIZ180
18-09-2009, 07:05 PM
You could look at the Nitro Magnum Butt Distance Spin. Its cheaper and it has a expeditor option to replace a broken rod section. They are similar to the S10 in that they don't use Fuji SICs though

I have 2 of them aswell as an S10 & would say they are a totally different type of rod.

I would be looking at some of the G.Loomis, Zenaq, Daiwa, Smith & Samurai rods. I have played with a few that I would consider trading my S10 for. Allot of the Light tuna/skipjack & mahi mahi jap rods suit our style of offshore plastic fishing pretty well. If you are in Brissy go down to Fish head & tell them what you are after.

shanejohnson
18-09-2009, 08:56 PM
loomis problue pbr844s 15-30lb . stronger with more sensitivity. big fish killer

reddybayfisher
19-09-2009, 06:05 AM
Fishhead is where I am shopping and the other alternative they showed me was a Luvius - which I didn't like....

I'll have a look at the Loomis PBR844s - as they stock Loomis....

I don't think fishhead stock Nitro rods....but I presume Tackleworld would....

I originally ordered an S10 with a split grip but was told that Eric would make me one but not put a warranty on it due to the guides being moved up and the high graphite blank not able to take more load up front of the rod....the S10H and Bear S10 can be done with split grip but with a different type of blank - that is stiff at the tip...

Thanks for the alternatives...

Champilly
19-09-2009, 07:23 AM
Had a look at the Bear s10h Split grip yesterday - nice rod - at the Tackle Warehouse. Also do the Nitro range and Samurai....

Tim_N
19-09-2009, 08:54 AM
I've got a BeaR S10H Split too and it is fantastic, but it is a way different rod to my straight Egrell. The Egrell has a far more responsive tip and, I think, cast lighter jig heads better, but for sheer grunt and a good deal of finese, go the Bear S10 H Split grip, but a sexier outfit is the Egrell.
If you're a fan of the stuff Eric and Deb put out, why change?

Jactak
19-09-2009, 09:33 AM
Was in Fish Head and they had plenty of Nitros. saw a Bear Essential overhead Eric built them and a couple of other different Egrells I haven’t seen anywhere else. Some on sale too. I need to stay out of that shop -. Have you looked at the Steez Hot Dog?

NIZ180
19-09-2009, 09:56 AM
Suprised they showed you a Luvias???? Maybe speak to another sales guy. Ask to have a look at the Zenaq twitch & a couple of the other japanese rods there. The Nitro Magnum is a sh1tload lighter rating than the S10 & doesn't compare, The Godzilla would be a better match.

There is a new Steez called a power junkie which will be released soon, might be worth a look. ***edit*** Sorry I got them mixed up the hot dog is the heavier version.

aussiebasser
19-09-2009, 09:56 AM
I've played with the Hot Dog which is a very strong rod. I went with a Power Junkie though. I don't think there is any alternative to an S10. I've got a B10 split grip and it is a pretty radical rod. I've taken Yellowfin, Trevally and PNG Black Bass on it and can't fault it.

Are you looking for a heavier or lighter alternative to the S10? The S8 or S6 may be worth a look. I have an S4 that has taken Barra to 114cm and can't fault it.

reddybayfisher
20-09-2009, 09:23 AM
Been to Fishhead this morning and Duncan showed me a few alternatives....had a look at the Nitro, Loomis, Smith, Luvius & T-curve........have a guess at what I walked out with...

deepfried
20-09-2009, 10:08 AM
Been to Fishhead this morning and Duncan showed me a few alternatives....had a look at the Nitro, Loomis, Smith, Luvius & T-curve........have a guess at what I walked out with...

A lighter wallet and a cranky wife ;D

reddybayfisher
20-09-2009, 10:18 AM
A lighter wallet and a cranky wife ;D

LOL - every time I walk in there I always end up with $50 - $100 worth of gear - whether SPs, jigheads, line etc....it's so easy to spend which is the concerning bit...

bayfisher
20-09-2009, 07:07 PM
What exactly is the new rod to be used for? Throwing plastics at pelagics? deep water snaps? etc etc It might be easer to suggest rods with some more info on its intended purpose.I have found the nitro magbutt to be a far more effective weapon if you plan to throw plastics at pelagics like longtails, and if its deep water snaps your after, well there are also plenty of other options, though personally for this kind of stuff i actually prefer a stiffer tip then the s10.

Cheers Chris

20-09-2009, 08:12 PM
Fishead certainly has a great range. I had a look at a few of the rods on Saturday as I am looking at a heavy plastic rod. The S10 would not have been in my top 3 but everyone has a different notion of what they want out of a rod.
No rod can do everything perfectly as some would have you believe. The all have trade offs in terms of taper, weght, action and quality of components. I'm certain that I would not be buying two identical rods as I prefer to pick a particular rod to suit an intended use so the characteristics suit better

twist
20-09-2009, 08:51 PM
The Nitro Viper is the rod in their range that you are after. Tackle Warehouse stock them. Light snappy and heaps of power.

grave41
20-09-2009, 09:32 PM
I would build one out of a cts 8-12 kg tournamount spin they make.Awesome stuff.
Graham

reddybayfisher
21-09-2009, 05:39 AM
I settled on the S10H in the split grip - as Horse says it doesn't make sense to have two of the same rods....this will be used for heavier jig heads....

When you get to have a feel with different rods they are all a little different.....but I like the Egrells...

Tim_N
21-09-2009, 06:18 AM
Good choice RBF,
Now all you need is to get it attached to a XOS Cobia and your eyes will pop out, so will the Cobias when you really lean on it.

ooglie74
21-09-2009, 03:04 PM
Gary Howard makes a soft plastic rod that is similar to an egrell s10.
jones tackle sell them.

Cheers Troy

GPB
21-09-2009, 04:58 PM
Is that the 'Soft Tail' Troy?

NIZ180
21-09-2009, 06:26 PM
The Nitro Viper is the rod in their range that you are after. Tackle Warehouse stock them. Light snappy and heaps of power.

I am trying to decide on my next Nitro rod, will either be a Godzilla o'head or a Gulfstream. IMO they are excellent value for money rods. I have 2 Magnum butts & they have served me well but I want a nice o'head setup for offshore.

ooglie74
22-09-2009, 07:57 AM
Im not sure the exact name of them Greg.
They are a very nice rods.
They are about $400 I think I was having a look at them last week.
A mate has 1 and they are an awesome rod.

Cheers Troy

Tim_N
22-09-2009, 09:06 AM
What the BeaR S10H Split Grip is designed for; big jig heads, big SP's and big fish.
Used 30 lb PowerPro braid, 60 lb Egrell wind on leader, 1 oz TT jig head, 7" Nuc Chook, and the reel is a Daiwa Certate 3500.
Will pull the bejesus out of most things swimming.
mmmmmmmmmm, how's the tides lookin'...

reddybayfisher
22-09-2009, 11:38 AM
What the BeaR S10H Split Grip is designed for; big jig heads, big SP's and big fish.
Used 30 lb PowerPro braid, 60 lb Egrell wind on leader, 1 oz TT jig head, 7" Nuc Chook, and the reel is a Daiwa Certate 3500.
Will pull the bejesus out of most things swimming.
mmmmmmmmmm, how's the tides lookin'...

What's the handle you have on the reel? Looks a lot more sturdier that the standard....

GPB
22-09-2009, 12:19 PM
Im not sure the exact name of them Greg.
They are a very nice rods.
They are about $400 I think I was having a look at them last week.
A mate has 1 and they are an awesome rod.

Cheers Troy

Hi Troy,
I found out they are built by Gary on custom built blanks from Bobby Loomis, they are just called the Gary Howard 703 and 704, Jones's Tackle have the full range.
I use a Soft Tail [Shikari] for my 10kg SP rod and an Egrell Poppa BeaR for HD deepwater, very happy with both.

Tim_N
22-09-2009, 03:04 PM
It's a standard handle, I have upgraded the knob to a fancy Daiwa RCS Power knob. Actually bought it off a fellow Ausfisher for bugger all, but the handle is the standard Certate 3500 fold away jobie.
This is the same knob as Certate 3500 HD, I think, and this is where the standard and HD differ in the 1 extra ball bearing, it is in the fancy knob. Gives you plenty more to grip on to when fighting bigger fish.

22-09-2009, 09:21 PM
Have a look at the Daiwa Catalinas, will handle decent fish, the egrells look way too fragile to me...will they take a knock? and will the guides not rust like a mate of mine..you wouldnt be happy with that at those prices?

NIZ180
22-09-2009, 09:45 PM
Have a look at the Daiwa Catalinas, will handle decent fish, the egrells look way too fragile to me...will they take a knock? and will the guides not rust like a mate of mine..you wouldnt be happy with that at those prices?

Fragile?? I have only heard of one snapping & that was on here. There just like any graphite rod mate, definately not fragile. If you want indestructable buy a fibre glass rod. As for the guides, well.... I've said what I would prefer many times on here b4 so not going to say again. Still an awesome rod mate!!!

23-09-2009, 09:01 PM
Thread was Egrell S10 alternative, i gave one (also a graphite rod ) and an opinion, thats all. Mates Egrell S10, not that old, rusty guides? I wouldnt trust it on a decent fish like that. Glad you like your Egrells but from what i saw last week with the guides I wouldnt get one.

mike

NIZ180
23-09-2009, 11:55 PM
Don't get me wrong I totally agree the guides should be alot better on a top end rod. I do believe that there are new guides now which hopefully live up to the rest of the rod. As soon as I see a hint of corrosion on my S10 guides they will be thrown in the bin & replaced with Fuji ti-sics!!

Roo
25-09-2009, 04:18 PM
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e351/orbyroo/McGloo%20Charters/th_mcgloocharters2009028.jpg (http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e351/orbyroo/McGloo%20Charters/mcgloocharters2009028.jpg)
a 90'ish barra knocked over in quick time, lots of power in these rods.
Mine is one of the older S10 blue blank models and has the older style Ti Coated guides that have proven problematic for some. I have'nt had any dramas but then I'm quite fastidious about cleaning my gear after a drop in the salt. I live about 800m from the beach so the air where my rods are stored is reasonably salt laden, so I give them a wipe down every so often to keep them clean. No gunk on my guides.

Aigutso, Not being critical of your opinion, just offering some advice on how your buddy can avoid disappointment from his S10 or infact any of his rods. I'd suggest your mate needs to be a bit more thorough when cleaning if he wants keep them in top shape. I used to just rinse my rods with the hose till I found my Fuji alconites on all my other rods getting rust build up around the inserts (hard to pick against the black nickel guide frames). I then switched to washing with warm soapy water and wiping dry before storing and have found my guides are much better for it. Just a few extra minutes each trip will see them clean and dry for storage.:thumbsup:

I too would like to see fuji Ti-Sic guides on these rods, but they cost a lot of dough, has anyone added up what suitable replacements would cost. I reckon it would make the cost of the finished product prohibitive, but that's what you get when competing in a mass produced market. I have a Baitcaster (mass produced) that I bought on a runout special for less than I could buy the Fuji Ti-sic guides that it was fitted with!!! Obviously manufacturers don't pay retail for their hardware, but it still gives an indication of the cost of building a top shelf product.

As for alternatives to the S10.... Once I got one, I stopped looking. But really it depends on if it is the right tool for the job. If you can find a rod as light and sensitive in the tip with the power of its butt section then happy days, each of these traits plays a critical role in the makeup of this model rod that makes it the delivery tool and fish fighter of choice for me from freshwater impoundments to the shallow reefs.

Cheers Roo.

Tim_N
25-09-2009, 07:14 PM
And all 2009 model Egrell rods sport 316 SS guides, so efforts have been made to overcome the issue that happened with not all, but a few rods.
I never happened to me but I'm a bit anal like Roo boy.

26-09-2009, 03:20 AM
Sorry roo and Tim but that same regime didn't stop my Egrell S10H guides from actually falling out due to the pitting/corrosion. I kept them very clean and was right onto them but was really disappointed with the result. I had an old T-curve that fished along side the egrell every trip - had the same cleaning done and it looks like new. The corrosion was not due to lack of maintenance on the rod and to suggest otherwise is just plain BS.

I have had the new ALPS SS guides put in and everything is good. Love the rod but that was a pretty piss poor effort with those early guides.

Bennywise
26-09-2009, 06:10 AM
Sorry roo and Tim but that same regime didn't stop my Egrell S10H guides from actually falling out due to the pitting/corrosion. I kept them very clean and was right onto them but was really disappointed with the result. I had an old T-curve that fished along side the egrell every trip - had the same cleaning done and it looks like new. The corrosion was not due to lack of maintenance on the rod and to suggest otherwise is just plain BS.

I have had the new ALPS SS guides put in and everything is good. Love the rod but that was a pretty piss poor effort with those early guides.

Yep, I second that. had to change all my guides on my S2 and S4 to Fuji's. Have since bought another S10 with the new ALPS. No problems here so far.

Just a theory, however I believe Eric uses these guides to keep the cost down and to be competitive. His rods aren't a mass produced like some of the other well know brands out there. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that ALPS are about a Third of the cost of Fuji Tsic... Add these to his rod and you would most likely be paying $600+ per rod.

My 2 cents.

Tim_N
26-09-2009, 08:05 AM
I'm not disagreeing with either of you Greg or Ben, but with all new Egrells carrying 316 hardware, the issue of the green guides is over.
Sure some of the old rods did have that problem, no one is denying it, but it is unfair to say that the green guide issue is inherent with Egrells even now. It is not comparing apples with apples now that they have had a guide upgrade.

26-09-2009, 08:20 AM
For the average rec angler, what difference is there between a $100 rod and a $400 or more rod...I doubt it would be very much.

Leighton
26-09-2009, 08:28 AM
Then its great to see a local business that actually listens to the people who buy there products.
Eric obviously realised there was a problem and made the change to rectify it.
Well done Egrell Rods, a great rod gets better

bluefin59
26-09-2009, 04:29 PM
I bought mine second hand s10h and it had the alps guide conversion its a great rod for offshore plastics with a daiwa saltiga s-extreme reel it certainly has the low down grunt that i was after ...matt

gillogs
27-09-2009, 07:17 AM
take a look at the blue acres lamiglass rods,i've got a couple they are awesome sticks with soft tops and heaps of low down grunt ,also got my hands on a st.croix 10-17lb rod ,used it a few times it has a different touch but once loaded up seemed to handle solid fish equally as well.heaps of options if you sniff around,very few egrel rods south of the border.

Roo
28-09-2009, 01:43 PM

Greg,
Was only a suggestion based on my experience, What I found and How I fixed it. No BS. Your experience was different, fair enough. not all things are created equal...maybe the batches of guides were different.

Cheers, Roo

NIZ180
29-09-2009, 09:19 AM
Interested to know what the actual price difference is between the new alps guides, fuji sic's & ti-sic's. I would be happy even if they came out with normal fuji sic guides & maybe charge a premium for th ti's

kevvie
29-09-2009, 10:13 AM
Fuji guides are not the be all and end all... like any brand with good marketing its easy to think they are the only option.

There are a few Ti Sic guides around alot cheaper than Fuji and just as good.

NIZ180
30-09-2009, 10:53 PM
For the average rec angler, what difference is there between a $100 rod and a $400 or more rod...I doubt it would be very much.

IMO & its just my opinion there is a massive difference between a $100 rod & a $400. You are pretty much comparing a Jarvis Walker to a Egrell???? No comparison & I can almost guarantee if you had both in front of you, you would be fishing with the $400 rod no questions asked. It won't catch you more fish but it will do everything sooo much better & you will feel the difference.

NIZ180
30-09-2009, 10:59 PM
Fuji guides are not the be all and end all... like any brand with good marketing its easy to think they are the only option.

There are a few Ti Sic guides around alot cheaper than Fuji and just as good.

I'm sure there is but we are talking Egrells & they don't have ti's let alone sics. I'm just saying most of the top rods use Fuji's with sics or ti-sics so why mess with something thats proven.

On another note I just saw the new K series fuji guides & they look awesome!!! no more tangles.

http://www.tackletour.com/previewfujikseriesguide.html

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/g39t1ZIamCg&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/g39t1ZIamCg&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

shanejohnson
01-10-2009, 11:56 AM
i think fuji is the best as do most rod manufactures. To not use them on a premium range of rods is a bit strange and would be a deciding factor during purchase for me. I have many rods with fuji alconites(many loomis) and find them strong and corrosion free; with little or no maintanance. Getting back to the original topic s10 alternative loomis pbr844s or pbr843s(bit lighter). Lighter ,stronger more sensitive.

Stuart
01-10-2009, 01:32 PM
The old Fuji is the best debate. This could be true but unless you know the make up of every guide in the world then it’s simply an opinion. I have been building rods for 20 + years and used Fuji exclusively. Many years ago I made the decision to change to another brand which I was told was of upmost quality and was tested for at least 2 years prier to release. I went along with that information and after several months I had rods coming back with the finish peeling off the frames, the rings falling out and bad corrosion to top it of. Now this cost me several thousand dollars to repair these rods, I couldn’t charge for it as it was my stupidity for believing what I was told and not actually field testing the product first. After months of arguing to get some form of compensation from the wholesaler I gave up and went back to Fuji and had no problems since.

In having said that though I have come to see many great guides come onto the rod building market with no problems as yet. The quality is much higher now than what is was even 10 years ago. There is still a fair bit of rubbish to troll through before reaching the good gear so to speak. The one concern for me with these other brands of guides is the unknown quantity of Silicon in the ring, what grade of stainless in the frame, just because it says 316 doesn’t mean it is, and how many times can the frame bend before metal fatigue sets in. Guides aren’t always guides just like oils aint oils. Fuji has a long history which gives me confidence while other wholesalers guides could be made anywhere with substandard materials, so you be the judge.

Stu

01-10-2009, 06:52 PM
Stuart

Its great to see someone who stuck by their own moral code and replaced the faulty guides at their own expense. It shows a certain level of integrity and this would certainly be a big consideration if I was chasing a custon rod.

It still beats me why Eric does not bite the bullet and put on Fuji Sics especially after all of the drama

Stuart
01-10-2009, 09:50 PM
Just for the record, My post was not aimed at Eric or his rods in anyway. In fact I have a great deal of respect for Eric and the product he produces, plus he is a hell of a nice guy.

Stu

02-10-2009, 06:40 AM
I don't think anyone has said a bad word about Eric or his work. I guess the decision to use an alternative can keep the price down and I would imagine there won't be any further issues.

03-10-2009, 07:24 AM
Just go and buy a precision rod..bloody good gear.

reddybayfisher
03-10-2009, 07:41 AM
Thanks to all for your responses - as noted earlier I settled for the S10H with split grip....

As alternatives to the S10 - several rods were stated and I did look at many of them.....

I hope that anyone that does a search on the S10 will find this thread and make there own conclusions.....

I hearby declare this thread closed....

16-07-2014, 06:06 AM
I think it's time to rehash an old thread. As the title says - alternative rod for S10 Egrell. Not interested in hearing about guides on the Egrell range of rods, as I think it's been and done. There should be some newer rods on the market since 2009. Maybe even a blank worthy of a custom jobby.

TIA

aussiebasser
16-07-2014, 07:30 AM
I still haven't found a better rod than my old S10. I guess I got lucky, because none of my Egrells have broken or gone rusty.

16-07-2014, 10:12 AM
The offshore Samurai's - there are a few choices (line classes) - Fantastic rods (quality through & through) with the benefits of a detachable butt section. .... at about the same coin

davo
16-07-2014, 08:36 PM
If you have guide issues go to Mark Alderson at Victoria Point. He reguided my S1 with K guides and it is even better than new. Back to the original topic. I have the S10 bear and still love it.

17-07-2014, 12:28 PM
No guide issues - Eric provided me with a brilliant rod so many moons ago, but it recently became shorter than it should be, hence the need for a replacement.
Thanks for the responses.

rosco1974
17-07-2014, 01:09 PM
wags have a look at the abu garcia veritas rods ,I use a 5-9 kilo for floatling for snapps,a tippy rod what loads right up..only cheap but a solid rod

Willo
17-07-2014, 07:00 PM
built a few on a few blanks in the 10 -20lb range for soft plasiics snapper fishing and at the moment I am using a ..St. Croix SCiv 4SW70MHF (http://www.mudhole.com/Rod-Building/SCIV-Inshore/St-Croix-4SW70MHF-Spinning-Casting-Rod-Blank) 10 -20lb Inshore Saltwater Blank ....and if ya want to pay the price ..... one of the best blanks around

Billy C
17-07-2014, 07:19 PM
Loomis pro blue. Awesome rods. Light in the tip, power to burn and not sensitive to knocks and bumps.

18-07-2014, 04:56 AM
My S10 was a versatile rod, used in styles of fishing from casting slugs at mac/tuna schools, float-lining for snapper and a light to medium range of jigheads when using plastics.

davo
18-07-2014, 05:30 PM
Hey Wags there is a bloke at work looking for an S10 because he broke his mate's rod on the baitboard. Is that you?

18-07-2014, 08:41 PM
Hey Wags there is a bloke at work looking for an S10 because he broke his mate's rod on the baitboard. Is that you?

Sounds like we all work at the same place.....Is this same bloke named after a disney character?

davo
18-07-2014, 08:50 PM
Scottish swamp monster?

aussiebasser
19-07-2014, 09:33 AM
I was asked at my favourite Tackle Shop yesterday if I had one I would sell. I don't, but I may know where one is. I'll ask some questions.

21-07-2014, 07:44 AM
Thanks Dale. Send a pm when you find out and I'll have a look. Meanwhile, my next trip out we'll try our new improved S10...with Shrek the swamp donkey.