View Full Version : Polaroid advice

woolybugger
26-08-2009, 08:21 PM

Tragic news, my favourite pair of polaroid glasses have aventually after many years have died and so am in the process of finding new ones.

As there are so many on the market and at different costs, I need some advice prior to purchasing the right ones.

I don't mind spending for the right ones but if I can save money then I can spend more on other fishing gear.

Main function is the obvious looking into water but also the huge glare off the water.

Your thoughts will be much appreciated..

captain rednut
26-08-2009, 08:26 PM
mako or spotters are the go! i enjoy fishen in mine.
thanks jim

wayno60
26-08-2009, 10:03 PM
not wanting to take over this thread but while were talking polaroid glasses are there different grades of them or once you have pol glasses thats it??

sleepygreg
26-08-2009, 11:12 PM
There are different qualities, though the polarising process is similar. Different companies use different qualities of glass, poly, etc, as well as different tints, and diferent photochromic processes. There are quite a lot of good quality polarised glasses on the market, with a wide choice of frames and lenses. If you want a good alrounder, my suggestion would be the Spotters with the Penetrator lense. It is a bronze tint, Photochromic, glass lense. I have tried many different lenses over the years and have found these to be the best suited to my application (they are suitable for prescription grinding which is one of my criteria), salt and freshwater fishing in all light conditions, and driving where glare is also a major issue.

PS. I have no connection with the product, except utter faith in their performance.

krazyfisher
27-08-2009, 06:38 AM
sarengetti's are the best I have ever had. drivers lens
I have had spotters, mako's and most of the others.

yellowbeard
27-08-2009, 07:44 AM
Mate, just wait a couple of years. Your eyesight goes downhill after 40 and you can jump into a pair of transitions lenses and never look back (pardon the pun).

27-08-2009, 08:03 AM
As Greg said Spotters win hands down in my opinion. Glass photochromatic penetrator lenses.
If you want to look OS then the Costa del Mar are great glasses as well.

27-08-2009, 11:01 AM

Spotters for me. Glass grey tint. I use them partly as safety glasses in a way, getting covered with a bit of acid and always sprayed with polish. Should be around $250-$300. Look at the DFO's, there may be some there at the bright eyes store that may suit you.

I have had transitions on my glasses and to be honest, they're nowhere near dark enough to use outside, but that's with my prescription, which is pretty powerful.

27-08-2009, 11:04 AM
I spent the dollars on Spotters 'penetrator' polarised sunnies. They are a photochromic lense that adapts to the different light levels thoughout the day.

I also require corrective lenses when i drive, and Spotters was the only one in Townsville with whom i could order factory made prescirption lenses.

Mine ended up costing me $550, and I found it a bit of a struggle to orders them with my script, I ended up having to ge them through my local tackle store, all the other sunnies store's didn't want to know me.

BTW I am extremely happy with mine, and I do all types of fishing from dirty creek to the clear water of the reef and they work brilliantly under all situations

Swindells
27-08-2009, 11:09 AM
To be honest, i've bought expensive polarized sunnies (non prescription) and keep breaking them or dropping them in the drink so now i just by the $50 mangrove jacks brand, i find they are just fine for fishing and general wear. and if i break them... who cares, it's only $50.

27-08-2009, 11:15 AM
There are some pretty good sunnies on the market ....... but you need to pay for the quality .......... there is a big step up from the likes of Uglyfish to the likes of Spotters

I've used Mako's for years & have been very happy
I'm now using Bolle's ( amber polarised) for fishing & Serengetis (grey photochromic - Titanium drivers) for general / driving .......... both are extremely good & much lighter than either the Spotters or Makos -

I also have found that glass lenses are better than polycarbonate (less distortion).

PNG1M
27-08-2009, 01:42 PM
I had a pair of the Spotters a few years back and must say that they were the best sunnies I've owned. But I lost them in the sand on the beach at Green Island while being the usual family 'packhorse' (snorkelling gear pin-cushion & mobile wet-towel rack).

It aint nice to 'lose' an expensive pair of sunnies like that so I downgraded to Ugly Fish. They were all right but nowhere the quality & performance of spotters.

Recently I bought some Mako photochromic polarised sunnies from Mo Tkl as they were 50% off ($199 down to $99)

So far they seem pretty good. Better standard than the uglies but I still rate spotters as the best. I prefer the bronze coloured lense as it's good all round, including for driving. I always buy polarised.

GPB
27-08-2009, 06:34 PM
I am into the Ugly Fish 'fitovers' as they are lite and have a low profile over the scrip glasses, the polycarb lens last about a year and I restock for a good price at the Brissie boat show. But I would like to know if there are any glass fitovers about?

Crumbo
29-08-2009, 11:19 PM
I woud also throw Hi def spex into the mix. Awesomely clear and crisp lens on them.

30-08-2009, 09:17 AM
As PNG says, check out the M O Tkl catalogue, makos for 1/2 price or less.
Got my photochromatic polarised for $99.
Great value, glass lenses and comfy frames.

gleeeza
30-08-2009, 07:06 PM
I have had big issues for a number of years with the cheaper brands and finally spent the dollars on a pair of Maui Jim's, grey lens(as advised) in one of the newer range. Why I found these to be better than some of the other expensive glasses is that the light that gets behind the lens dies on the lens thanks to a filter( polarising I think) on the inside of the lens as well as the outside.

I noticed it when trying them on. I went out to the car park in the full sun and all the other glasses had a reflection from whatever was behind me where as the Maui's had nothing, no reflection at all. With light coming from all angles out on the water this seemed like a good thing to me. I know a well fitting pair of glasses can help reduce this peripheral glare but if I get glasses too well fitting I get heaps of fogging and this gives me the the shits more than anything!! So that made these a good choice for me.

I am stoked with the change from cheap crappers to these, my eyes dont ever feel cooked anymore so it was worth the investment. They are strapped to my head in the boat with a tight fitting floating pair of mangrove jacks neoprene straps uncomfortable but less so than shelling out another $300+.

gleeeza

spelchek
30-08-2009, 07:55 PM
Was a huge MAKO fan and user until my 'old faithfuls' died after years of use and abuse. Couldn't find a new pair that fit properly so ended up with Maui Jim glass (the brown/amber colour). Love em - now a certified Maui Jim evangelist (just ask the poor buggers who go fishing with me).

OH - as an aside, those in Brissie should NEVER throw away a pair of sunnies due to damage/hinges etc before taking them to SOS Eyewear in south brisbane. They are total legends and will have your sunies back good as new in a day for bugger all (like $20 for new hinges - even if your sunies are way to old for factory parts).

Little grey men
30-08-2009, 10:20 PM
I got a hold of some Maui Jim Banyans in the brown amber colour and they are fantastic. Nice and light so they don't get uncomfortable. I like the frosted section on the bottom and top of the lens to keep glare penetration down.
This comes in handy while wading for hours on end. And I spot heaps of fish with these things. Great sunnies !!!

Bear001
31-08-2009, 02:00 PM
I have the Spotters and are fab...but they ARE heavy.
Have had Maui Jims and not quite as good as Spotters - but very close - and much lighter.

I got my spotters online from that E place. Seller sunnies_4_u $160 delivered. No hassles.

Have also tried on some Serangettis (spelling?) beautiful - but not tried them on the water, and they are impossible to get rurally.

brrbear
02-09-2009, 07:11 PM
HAD MOST i prefer mjs