View Full Version : Where have the tailor gone
bondy99
11-07-2009, 11:52 AM
Ahoy land based tailor chasers,
Can anyone tell me where the tailor are on the Gold Coast beaches...I've been to Narrowneck and bugger all was caught...been to sand pumping jetty last 3 nights and caught zero, from 2pm to 11.00pm.
gezzza
11-07-2009, 12:26 PM
only 2 small greenbacks caught this morning at the end of the seaway wall from 6-9. i finally got one on spin and one taken on a pillie.
whatscracken
11-07-2009, 12:50 PM
On Nugget's show this morning Talior up to 5kg were caught on North Straddie last sunday/monday.
hooknose
11-07-2009, 02:15 PM
There you go Bondy, catch the Ferry over to Straddie and you have quite a few options when you get there !!
apconcen
11-07-2009, 06:03 PM
3 large 'choppers' caught last night at the Jetty. This morning on Jetty i saw 3 more caught up to 8am. Last time I saw greenbacks was over 4 weeks ago. I have tried broadbeach, narrowneck, spit[beach beside jetty] and the Jetty itself..tailor is very scarce
justjack
11-07-2009, 07:50 PM
we need some strong westerlies to bring them in there out there just a bit of shore
bondy99
11-07-2009, 08:14 PM
Thanks to all those who replied.
Hooknose, I don't have a 4WD mate so can't go onto eastern side of North Straddie.
Justjack, I thought SE or SW would have been the go. Never caught tailor from the jetty during a westerly.
Apconcen, big greenbacks have passed through I think.
I'll go back down on Thursday early morning. 3.00am till 9.00am. depending on wind and strength. Peter
justjack
11-07-2009, 08:25 PM
westerlies or anythin in that direction bring in the baitfish close to shore where its calmer, the fish are where the food is i get big tailor all year long you just have to find them or have patients they can be there one night and gone the next ;D
bondy99
11-07-2009, 08:28 PM
That makes sense but can become costly going down for a drive to the coast every day, 90 klm round trip.
yellowbeard
12-07-2009, 07:43 AM
Further south, Port Stephens, the last 2 weeks (after a week of big schools) have been miserable. In fact a few days ago I hooked what I though was kelp and as I waded in to get it off the line a big greenback dropped off into the sand as the wave receded. So with one hand on the rod I tried to grab him but he slid away and I'm sure was planning his escape on the next wave about to swamp us -- so screw the rod (and the reel is only a Jarvis Walker) I ditched it onto the sand and wrestled him on my hands and knees with both hands whilst being drenched with the incoming wave. Got him, but that's how desperate you get!
Chamelion
12-07-2009, 08:08 AM
They've been hard to find in the Maroochy too, I've donuted a bit too much of late. :(
alleycat
12-07-2009, 08:35 AM
If your fishing on the jetty ive found a light south easter is best, it puts a bit of chop and foam on the water, ive found when a westerly is blowing and the water is clear you are wasting your time..
bushweek
12-07-2009, 10:13 AM
yer, late last week nailed a few greenbacks of about 4kg on north straddie, once the mullet netters went through they seemed to slow up though, so if you can, ide say its worth the trip over
cheers troy
PNG1M
12-07-2009, 11:42 AM
I think they are all congregating in the surf right up close to the beach, directly in front of Eurong Beach resort, on Fraser.
They are obviously preparing for my arrival & psyching themselves up for devastation...!?
bondy99
12-07-2009, 05:36 PM
They are on North and South Straddie beaches.
I don't have a 4WD and would like to get the big greenbacks at 5kg + on the North Straddie beach headig towards the pin.
Anyone got a 4WD, team up and split the fuel and barge costs. Sounds good but no takers.
wet dreamer
13-07-2009, 08:32 PM
G'day fellas
Spent 3 hours looking for beach gutters Saturday arvo at Cabarita/Kingscliffe and Hastings Point on the low tide to try and find something for a night fish. Couldnt find anything decent. Too much swell so we headed back to Tweed River to settle there for the night. Only caught a few average bream then headed home to brissy about 10pm. Have to try for tailor another time :(
Good luck
bondy99
14-07-2009, 02:37 PM
I think a person needs to be an octopus and cloned to go to all the supposed hot spots at any one time.
childers
15-07-2009, 07:21 PM
I think a person needs to be an octopus and cloned to go to all the supposed hot spots at any one time.
Surfs going to be small for the next few days ,go get em buddy;)
ffejsmada
15-07-2009, 09:20 PM
They're around.....;D
alfish
15-07-2009, 10:44 PM
ffejmada
thats one nice looking tailor
alfish
bondy99
15-07-2009, 11:32 PM
They may be around but a person cant be everwhere at the same time.
Yesterday night and tonight would be ideal but I too had to be elsewhere, Ce La Vi,
apconcen
16-07-2009, 07:08 AM
looks like they are around in noosa, rainbow, teewah,etc. None from the beaches on the mid to northern Gold Coast. Maybe time time to start checking the southern gold coast [from miami - coolangata] I hear snapper rocks is still good for tailor
bondy99
16-07-2009, 12:38 PM
Apconcern
I think the beaches you mention is heading opposite direction..heading South
I'll try snapper rocks when I can.
deepfried
16-07-2009, 06:21 PM
They're around.....;D
Not fair holding up a green back like that in a boat when we're all land based :'( . Hoping to get onto a few this weekend and brake my dry spell. Water is starting to look a bit better down here at ballina but now we a flat sea with no gutters or wash. Oh well see how it goes.
A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
16-07-2009, 07:31 PM
Ok, I don't know much about tailor, but here are a few pointers that will make anyone's path to success more favourable.
Ask the wise older man, or experienced young angler down the road what water conditions the fish operates best in. Eg, if crystal clear water isn't the go, and a slightly milky water is more appealing to the fish then maybe you could monitor weather conditions, tide sizes, current flows, wind and swell directions and actually predict possible scenarios before they happen. All fishing spots can fire, but they never all fire at exactly the same time. Some, or even many may fire when similar conditions suit those areas, but you will find that each location will produce the best odds under an alignment of several variables.
I'd do a bit of homework on the fish, suss out what key variables are required and then go to wherever it is you have to go to find these alignments to improve your odds of accomplishment.
*Like baking a cake- if you have all of the ingredients- you are on the right starting path. If you only have one out of 5 ingredients, the chances of success are slimmer. Nothing beats watching the water clarity, sea conditions and any other key variable, but in saying all of the above, if the season is different, the species may just take another route or select another ground to feed, breed, party, or whatever it is that the tailor are doing in the region.
Just a few ideas.
Johnny M
Out_There
16-07-2009, 08:33 PM
Caught a few on a bait jig 18nm NE of mooloolaba in 60m of water the other day. Do you recken the're making their way north from the tip of morton to noosa/frazer? I've no idea. Great live bait with a hook in their jaw and their tail clipped a little.
bondy99
16-07-2009, 09:58 PM
G'day A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE.
Sounds like your doing a thesis paper on fish biology and oceanography?
bondy99
16-07-2009, 10:10 PM
I'll be down on Friday arvo fishing off the beach near the sand pumping jetty or down behind Sea World. I hope the wind still stay W SW or could try early morning before dawn.
hooknose
16-07-2009, 11:09 PM
Finished work early today so bolted over and hit it a gutter up the north end , water looked too good not to have a fish. Swell has settled right down but the gutters are not real flash, water is still dirty but I could occasionally see fish in the waves, got no dart at all, got a few(and missed a few more:P ) Tailor right on and just after dark, then bream, bream and more bream trashing my good Bonito strips and hooking themselves on 6/0 hooks and 80lb wire. Will get better with the tide getting later in the arv over the next week or so, Straddie is calling I think;) !!
17-07-2009, 07:22 AM
Beautiful water and conditions there, hooknose. I'd love to have flopped a large tailor/mullet fillet/whole squid on top of that white water for a jew after dark.........
Premium bait as well! Fished for tailor (unknowingly) on the night of the tsunami alert, bonny strips for bait, for a 25-30kg skate. Not even a decent bite apart from this beast, which I could seriously have done without! At least it survived the encounter to terrorise another poor angler...........
Were some nice tailor about on the lead-up to the last full moon, but finding water has been the issue. Got totally smashed one pre-dawn, only landed one fish would have gone 3kg. Hooked another that I coudn't drag out of the shorebreak! Bugga!
Lead-up to the next full moon should produce if there is good water and some bait about, the presence of gannets is a good sign, although by then down here we will have salmon to contend with as well. Doh!
Cheers, nice fish BTW!
goat boy
17-07-2009, 09:30 AM
I'll be down on Friday arvo fishing off the beach near the sand pumping jetty or down behind Sea World. I hope the wind still stay W SW or could try early morning before dawn.
If I was a fish I wouldn't be hanging around Sea World at the moment lest I be locked up by them 'for my own good'.... ;)
Seriously though, good luck
A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
17-07-2009, 09:38 AM
Well, if you know your target species habits and requirements, that helps spell a better recipe for success. I read a few very strong points in some of the posts that highlight a few things of interest/importance. Chasing a new species, for me, would be like starting school all over again, but this time you know what's coming'. The base template for fishing never changes.
JM
DigitalSI
17-07-2009, 11:52 AM
I'm hitting the same hole I did 2 weeks ago at Broadbeach tomorrow (Saturday) morning if you want to come as I predict the Tailor to start running there at day break. Will start with pillies about 5:00 and then spinning as soon as the sun breaks the horizon. High tide is at 4:05am tomorrow morning.
bondy99
17-07-2009, 01:41 PM
I'm hitting the same hole I did 2 weeks ago at Broadbeach tomorrow (Saturday) morning if you want to come as I predict the Tailor to start running there at day break. Will start with pillies about 5:00 and then spinning as soon as the sun breaks the horizon. High tide is at 4:05am tomorrow morning.
G'day. Can you send me a pm as to where this hole is again? Chances are I wont be able to make Saturday but Sunday might be able to unless the wind changes again.
Thanks, Peter
SeaHunt
17-07-2009, 02:09 PM
At this time of year they should all be heading up to Fraser Island so they can meet me there in August.
bondy99
17-07-2009, 02:16 PM
Sounds like one big party at Fraser :)
I wonder why the bag limit is slighly relaxed for fraser Island fishos than the rest.
Apart from the argument (over a two day period)...very much like politics I think.
The same could be argued for North and South Straddie
A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
17-07-2009, 03:10 PM
G'day A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE.
Sounds like your doing a thesis paper on fish biology and oceanography?
Successful fishing is almost all of that!
bushweek
17-07-2009, 03:20 PM
has anyone tried around pincussion area in the maroochy river? i was smashing heaps up there from the beach casting into the mouth of the river on the making tide this time last year.... just wondering if anyone has given it a go this year?
troy
deepfried
17-07-2009, 05:10 PM
Things are starting to look good down here at Ballina again. The water is clearing up although still not perfect after the floods, the birds are starting to come back in close, a good gutter in front of my fav rock, good tides and a bit of wind and chop around. Would love to go out this arvo but father duties come first so might have a look in the morning and arvo as i dont want to miss my chance. Would be nice to get onto a few, this time last year i was heading into triple figures ( most released ) while this year i havent got to double figures of greenbacks.
alfish
17-07-2009, 10:18 PM
hi all
i'm thinking of heading down to the gold coast this weekend or maybe further south, looking for tailor anyone got any suggestions?
al
bondy99
17-07-2009, 11:14 PM
If you manage to come across them let us know what time of day and where they were
So is the limit still 30 in possesion at Fraser island or has this changed to be 20 like everywhere else is currently.
bondy99
20-07-2009, 08:24 AM
Still 30 I think but someone who has or is fishing there would know, or check the DPIF website
childers
21-07-2009, 04:48 PM
There seems to be a fair few about at the moment ,
first night ive been out for a while like a week ,but i dont remember missing out on any recent outings, and must agree with nigel that the fish are in really good condition ,very chunky,
another couple of mates got 13 the other night also others i know have been catching ,various locations
just have to find a reasonable gutter and wait, cheers
GAFYM
21-07-2009, 09:06 PM
My next door neighbour has been creaming them at Cabarita beach just over the border in NSW. He says they are right at their feet chasing bait schools.
Greenbacks too...
apconcen
21-07-2009, 09:34 PM
hopefully thay are heading north
bondy99
21-07-2009, 10:52 PM
My next door neighbour has been creaming them at Cabarita beach just over the border in NSW. He says they are right at their feet chasing bait schools.
Greenbacks too...
G'day GAYFM
Did he say whereabouts at Cabarita Beach and are they still around?
hooknose
22-07-2009, 12:44 AM
Got a couple at straddie yesterday arv/evening, best went 58 and chunky::) , didnt get a hot bite though, was generally pretty slow(no big hits), the swell was up a bit, made it difficult, ended up having to change up to a 10 ball & couldnt feel much>:( !
bondy99
22-07-2009, 09:32 AM
Nice tailor hooknose. Was that on South Straddie?
10 ball sinker, must have been a good current running also
hungry6
22-07-2009, 07:23 PM
They are everywhere on the beach just north of marina mirage, I watched a couple of mate getting stuck into them. hopefully they will be there for the week end. As I have to work sunshine coast for the rest of the week.
apconcen
22-07-2009, 08:56 PM
hungry,
When did you witness that. I saw some guys on the beach tonigh beside the SPJetty and they wernt getting anything up to 7pm.
bondy99
22-07-2009, 10:43 PM
They are everywhere on the beach just north of marina mirage, I watched a couple of mate getting stuck into them. hopefully they will be there for the week end. As I have to work sunshine coast for the rest of the week.
Hungry6
Where abouts where they and what time. I'll be down tomorrow arvo if they are.
Is that behind Seaworld?
hungry6
23-07-2009, 07:19 PM
we park inthe car park there nd found none towards the jetty, but they were towards marina mirage there, so walking out to the beah u urn right when u get to the water. happy fishing.
bondy99
23-07-2009, 09:47 PM
Hello hungry6,
Sorry mate, I did not go down there tonight, will try Friday night.
I know marina mirage. What time did they come on the chew and how far out from the beach?
Cheers,Peter
Crisp Bee
24-07-2009, 09:12 PM
I think last year the 30 possession limit for tailor on fraser Island was only if you had stayed there longer than 3 days, otherwise the 20 bag limit was still the rule.
Jurkyjj
24-07-2009, 09:25 PM
Got a couple at straddie yesterday arv/evening, best went 58 and chunky::) , didnt get a hot bite though, was generally pretty slow(no big hits), the swell was up a bit, made it difficult, ended up having to change up to a 10 ball & couldnt feel much>:( !
Nice fish there hooknose.
Great effort.
bondy99
25-07-2009, 10:15 AM
I'll try another night. other things to do.
deepfried
25-07-2009, 06:34 PM
At last they are back at Ballina as well. The water is cleaning up nicely and the green backs have returned. Left one spot this arvo as a guy landed a chopper first cast to meet up with pommy at my favourite spot and we got one each at 63cm and pommy dropped a couple of others. I would have given up but he persisted and found them. Not the best tide for this spot but a few there and it will ony get better from here on as the bait fish move into the beaches.
shorty 01
25-07-2009, 08:09 PM
iv been catching them out on palm beach reef on sp's
pommy
25-07-2009, 08:11 PM
It was a nice session.
Caught my first tailor on my new(ish) Daiwa Sea Jigger 305. The rod handled the fish very well but I lost the second fish as I wasn't certain about lifting a 2kg fish on a rod about as thick as a pencil! Wave took it under a ledge while i was waiting for a bigger one to help lift the fish.
Any other Sea Jigger users out there to comment?
Regards, Rob.
bondy99
25-07-2009, 10:12 PM
At last they are back at Ballina as well. The water is cleaning up nicely and the green backs have returned. Left one spot this arvo as a guy landed a chopper first cast to meet up with pommy at my favourite spot and we got one each at 63cm and pommy dropped a couple of others. I would have given up but he persisted and found them. Not the best tide for this spot but a few there and it will ony get better from here on as the bait fish move into the beaches.
G'day Deepfried.
Good to hear you you have some nice greenbacks.
I've respooled my reel with 151b line so I can cast further to get past the breakers.
The last few days I could not make it due to uni crap. I'll be going next week down the coast and try the hole behind seaworld.
Chamelion
25-07-2009, 10:57 PM
They've seemingly dissapeared from the Maroochy.. I havn't caught nor seen one caught (in person) in ages. It's probably because I've decided to do something extremely rare and keep the next decent one I catch to eat.
deepfried
26-07-2009, 08:49 AM
Hi Peter.
Went again this morning and picked up anther couple. So things are def on the up. The ones we have caught have fallen to rooster poppers in close to the wash off a rocky headland. Hope you have some luck when you get out.
I havn't caught nor seen one caught (in person) in ages. It's probably because I've decided to do something extremely rare and keep the next decent one I catch to eat.
Aint that always the way. Can get them when you dont want them but not when you want a feed.
bondy99
26-07-2009, 09:19 AM
G'day deepfried.
I might try the bleeding mullet lure that BLOOEY suggested, if that does not work then I know it's a non goer either. Will let you know if it works or it might be a type of lure that works from a boat as opposed from a headland.
apconcen
26-07-2009, 09:36 AM
hey deep fried,
Can you go a bit into detail how you use the poppers on the tailor..from the rocks?shore?how close to shore, technique to cast out and wait,etc,etc. How did the tailor take the popper and were you using the 10.5 or 13.5cm halco.
Im new to poppers and want to try them on tailor as I hear its good good fun
Bondy,
a few Tailor 2-4kg greenbacks were hitting northn side of SPJ on Friday...two 30mins spurts in which about 12 were caught. I lost a big 1 so doesnt count :). On thursday smaller ones hit the southn side in a quick one 30min spurt . same approx 12 caught by 6:30pm. I got a 1.5kg. This may not seem like much buts its loads improvemnet over past 3 weeks. No mullet fishermen in site ...yet !!!
I saw the quite a few beach guys changing into waders in car park of SPJ and I know they were there the 2 days before as well so they must be gettn something. They have been coming in all the way up to 8pm...into the high tide it seems
greenie61
26-07-2009, 09:43 AM
I fished along Burleigh beach yesterday morning & for the first time in two months i went home without a feed (the mrs wasnt happy).
The net boys were quiet yesterday as well so maybe they new something i didn't.
deepfried
26-07-2009, 02:43 PM
I might try the bleeding mullet lure that BLOOEY suggested, if that does not work then I know it's a non goer either. Will let you know if it works or it might be a type of lure that works from a boat as opposed from a headland.
Mate it will work if they are around and hitting HBs. I got a 4kg tailor last year on one of those that had lost most of its paint work. If up there is like here at ballina and the bait fish havent moved in yet in numbers the green backs should mostly be feeding on mullet so well worth a shot. Just dont give up on them if you dont get one first try. If it is not snagy try it right on dusk and at night.
Can you go a bit into detail how you use the poppers on the tailor..from the rocks?shore?how close to shore, technique to cast out and wait,etc,etc. How did the tailor take the popper and were you using the 10.5 or 13.5cm halco.
Im new to poppers and want to try them on tailor as I hear its good good fun
First of all i normally use metals early then poppers as it gets closer to dusk. Both those sizes are fine to use and i now only use qantas or blue pillie colours.
I fish an area from a low rock platform that has a sandbank further out, a gutter in the middle and then waves brake again at the rocks face. I fish each section differently. I cast out to the sand bank wave zone and mostly wait for a wave to reform. Try to keep up with the wave with a fast retrieve pretty much surfing the popper on the front of the swell as it come into the gutter. If i am hit in this area but dont hook up i would pause for a second or two then throw in some twitches and bloops before starting again. This gets a lot of fish but at other times no pauses and keeping up the pace gets them. If still no hook up quickly bloop it into the gutter then slow down a little. I go slower once i have reached the gutter with a bloop wind bloop wind twitch twitch action. Same again if you are hit but dont hook up pause for a second then twitch a few times followed by a longer bloop or two. By now i would be right behind where the waves are reforming to brake on the rocks. This is the spot i get the majority off the hits in the area i fish most. I try to keep the lure in this zone for as long as i can just twitching it forward slowly until it gets too close to the snags. At times the wash will keep taking your popper out after each wave allowing you to keep it there for a bit longer. This zone also fishes a lot better if there is no wash out further as the bait will hug the rocks trying to keep clear of the tailor. If all that fails start with a straight out fast retrieve until you find them and then have a play around with techniques. The main things i have found to increase hook ups though is the pauses and twitches after a failed hit and keeping as much slack out of your line as possible when the lure is stationary. Tailor mostly hit from under the popper in a big slash and take it down, if there is any slack they have time to spit it. Hits look awsome esp when they are chasing a fast moving popper.
Hope that sort of makes sense, main thing is persistance and working out what works in your area which if its the SPJ and you are up high it will make it harder to work the popper.
bondy99
26-07-2009, 10:17 PM
Thanks apconcen and deepfried for your feedback and observations.
apconcen
27-07-2009, 05:56 PM
deepfried, Thanks for the details. I will keep your techniques in mind and try and apply them to my area.
bondy99
28-07-2009, 08:33 AM
Are there any signs they still being caught down towards the spit?
Will be going to the spot on Thursday arvo if the winds are not too blowy.
apconcen
28-07-2009, 11:24 AM
may go this arvo, will let you know. on the weekend their was loads of garfish and their hunters...the kingfish. 2 blokes using live garfish hooked into 13 kingfish and landed just 2 over the jetty wall. One was 6kg the other was almost 11kg. Amazing sight provided you have the gear. Some of their bust-off were in the 20kg region. A little 2 advanced for me right now.
Chamelion
28-07-2009, 12:44 PM
Anyone been having any luck around the maroochy? I havn't caught a tailor in weeks :'(
bondy99
28-07-2009, 03:39 PM
may go this arvo, will let you know. on the weekend their was loads of garfish and their hunters...the kingfish. 2 blokes using live garfish hooked into 13 kingfish and landed just 2 over the jetty wall. One was 6kg the other was almost 11kg. Amazing sight provided you have the gear. Some of their bust-off were in the 20kg region. A little 2 advanced for me right now.
G'day Apconcen,
Bugger, bugger, bugger, Garfish hmmm, good to know that, I did not expect kingfish would be so close, normally I get these from offshore reefs.
let me know how you sent tonight.
PNG1M
05-08-2009, 01:35 PM
Had two sessions off the SP jetty in the last 4 days (targeting tailor).
Had a bobby cork with pilchard suspended plus another rig with sinker & ganged hooks. Fished from around 3pm until 6.30pm on a rising tide and caught zero.
The Hi-chi guys up at the end on the right were catching heaps of bream. I had a captain cook in their open eskys (on trolleys) and surprisingly enough the fish looked legal enough with some fairly large ones in amongst them. They had about 30-40 bream between them.
They were using light gear with a smallish sinker running straight down to the hook. The bait was slices of pillie. They also burlied with pillie off-cuts and what looked like crushed chook feed (pellets).
An Aussie bloke was fishing on the opposite side of the jetty and was using an identical method but he didn't land one. He was mind boggled why not.
When I walked out along the sea wall to the end I noticed some fish chopping the surface out behind the surf break. Birds were diving in so I reckoned the were probably tailor. I put in a session that afternoon direct from the beach but no success.
Under the SP jetty towards the shore there are some deep guttery/channel features in the water that are chockers with small bait fish - must be thousands of them. Saw a manta ray swimming slowly about in there. Birds were also diving to get a feed of the baitfish...but I didn't see any tailor amongst them.
Later on I'll also try giving some of those deeper holes a try along the beach between Seaworld & the jetty as I'm sure there must be tailor about (somewhere..!?)
bondy99
05-08-2009, 09:48 PM
Well guys and gals,
My car is off the road for awhile, blown headgasket.....luck of the irish hey!!!
Might be another 2 weeks before I'm on the road again.
Tailor are probably back on the scene its now full moon session.
Tight lines everyone
bballfisho
05-08-2009, 10:07 PM
the brother is going for a dawn sess off the spj or surrounds tomorrow. will let ya know how its goes later on
bondy99
06-08-2009, 08:16 AM
the brother is going for a dawn sess off the spj or surrounds tomorrow. will let ya know how its goes later on
G'day bballfisho,
I'll be interested to see if there are any around.
WILD_TURKEY
06-08-2009, 09:06 AM
Hey fella's , a couple of mates caught about 9 on south straddie eastern side across from the bedrooms , one greenback went 7kgs.......hope that helps..
bondy99
06-08-2009, 01:27 PM
Hey fella's , a couple of mates caught about 9 on south straddie eastern side across from the bedrooms , one greenback went 7kgs.......hope that helps..
Wild-Turkey,
How long ago was that?
childers
06-08-2009, 05:30 PM
7kg is a nice fish turkey :o ,
do you think you can organize some photos of it ,
they must have taken some if they got a 7kg ,greenback
cheers mick.
bballfisho
07-08-2009, 07:21 PM
went southport on wed early as had uni off. usually fish beaches but went spj for the first time as had no idea on decent gutter formations. sunk pillys for a few hours pre dawn to 8. only lost a few baits..went in closer for dart and tings..went to canals for a mess about with blades n plastics. picked up some small trevs, queenies and a heap of pike to 45cm. got some prime bait for those snaps...very disappointed with lack of tailor. slow season so far compared to recent years.
bballfisho
deepfried
07-08-2009, 07:58 PM
Yeh a really patchy season. We are starting to see the bait fish come in down at ballina and it should improve things. Went out this arvo and tossed baits around for anything with no luck so did a quick half hour at a local headland and picked up a couple. One sh1t chopper and one around 1.5kg, should have got there earlier so i could have given it a good nudge. Could be a good weekend though.
You guys up the coast keep an eye out for LTs. We have had some good fish just pass us in close which apparently doesnt happen often. They usually head north out a bit wider and dont get seen here i was just told. Watched a school of big fish out of lennox point last weekend smashing something and heard other reports of them being seen.
bondy99
10-08-2009, 08:38 AM
I'm still off the road. In the process of reinstalling cylinderhead, otherwise I'd be out trying to get some.
swstella
22-08-2009, 09:34 AM
Hi Guys I just spent 2 weeks at Fraser and as you can imagine they were everywhere. The best session was 38 fish in 60 mins(1 greenie the rest were all choppers). There was a row of about 10 guys that I didn't know all soaking pillies that weren't catching a thing and here's me hooking up on every cast. You had to feel for them believe me I know what it's like. I tried to let them know what I was doing different but they weren't real interested. I think between them they ended up with 3 fish. Pillies were never going to make it out were they were schooling up. Anyway at least the new Sea jigger got a hefty workout.
Started of very slow for me as I too was soaking pillies for the first 2 days catching ones and twos. I then changed to an 85grm Raider and then started smashing them. Around 50 fish a day. kept a couple for brecky and the rest went back. The biggest for the trip would have went about 72cm taken on a pillie in the dark (but it never went 7Kg...That's a big Tailor:-X ). The wife even managed a 65cm on her first spin attempt 5 cast in and she was on. I guess I get to go back next year now:) .
If anyone is planning a trip up to the Island give me a yell. Ill let you know what methods worked for me and we they seemed to school up in the early morning and late arvo.
Luca
deepfried
22-08-2009, 12:58 PM
Anyway at least the new Sea jigger got a hefty workout.
Hey mate, what model seajigger were you using and what sort of distance did you get.
Nice fish 72cm and 65cm, good fun at that size.
swstella
25-08-2009, 12:27 PM
Hey mate, i was using the 305 cast weight 35-100. I was getting about 70-80m in knee deep water with it no worries. 85 grm is probably pushing the limit of the rod a bit but it still performed well. I cant speak highly enough of this rod it's so light and still has plenty of grunt when needed perfect for spinning off the rocks or beach .
I will definatley be getting the 325 to chase longtails with when they show there heads again.
as far as matching reel i tried it on my 5k stella and it was ok it but for me i prefered it with the 10k
If you live near southport i might be heading down to the seaway on sunday morning if you want to have a cast of it.
deepfried
25-08-2009, 03:58 PM
Thanks swstella.
I have seen the 305 and had a cast of one using 60g and thought it may be too light for 85g. Seems not. Impresive rods. I just looked at the 325 at my local tackle shop and i think i might pick one up down the track for heavier stuff. By the looks of it they are better suited to that weight metal. Thanks for the reply.
bondy99
31-08-2009, 01:36 PM
Looks like I'll get the buggers on the way back