View Full Version : Kingfisher Bay
Jono_SS
08-07-2009, 12:19 PM
The family and I had a lovely few days over at Kingfisher Bay REsort. It was not really a fishing holiday, but I did take the Hodad over with me to take advantage of some favourable weather. The girls loved pumping yabbies, chasing soldier crabs, catching bream/butter bream etc. They gave their new outfits a good workout.
The fishing highlight for me was a nice little arvo/early evening session on snodger bream, near the jetty. Biggest one was just over 40cm.
Plenty of tailor around also, though didn't keep any as I could still taste the ones I caught at Cabarita last weekend!!
marty+jojo
08-07-2009, 04:53 PM
Hey Jono,
What type of boat have you got? Looks like a nice rig.
Marty.
craigie
08-07-2009, 05:36 PM
Jono,
Nice work mate ! And well done by the youngsters as well !!
Bit better quality Bream than Caloundra & Jumpinpin this year.
I see the Pink Barbie outfit is catching all the big fish again.
Thought I hadn't seen you around for a while ?
Craigie.
p,s What size were the Tailor ?
got twins
08-07-2009, 05:41 PM
Looks like a good time with the family.
That jetty and around it produce some top fish!
Nice place to stay aswell.
Al
Jono_SS
08-07-2009, 07:41 PM
Craigie.
Tailor were around the 40+cm size, and also some tiny ones well under well under the current legal size of 30cm. Note the upgrade of reel on the Barbie rod - 4 inch alvey (in matching pink of course). Casts like crap! But easy to maintain. I have resisted test driving the new combo to date.
Marty.
Boat is a 4.5 tiller steer AMM. I love it, though sometimes I (and the family) think it would be nice to have a cabin and a steering wheel!
Jono_SS
08-07-2009, 07:48 PM
Hey Jono,
What type of boat have you got? Looks like a nice rig.
Marty.
Marty.
here's some more pics on an old thread...
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=129297
cheers.
Jono.
08-07-2009, 08:00 PM
great holiday by the looks jonothon kids having a ball is certainly a nice place over there though it must be so tempting being so close to the water and awesome fishing destinations.
cheers justin
sandbankmagnet
08-07-2009, 10:13 PM
I love taking my daughter fishing and she has the same jumper. Brought back memories for me just looking at that picture. Best times are taking and seeing your kids enjoy catching fish I reckon.
PS. Last time I took my daughter fishing it was up the beach and she beat me be because she caught 3 15cm dart and all I got was a 45cm tailor. We're still eating the dart. Apparently.
warrior
08-07-2009, 10:21 PM
jono did you use any plastics while you were over there
matt fraser
09-07-2009, 09:43 AM
Congrats on the trip, looks like lots of fun for all, and getting onto those cracker bream is excellent.
There is always a trade off with your boat when you are trying to keep the family happy.
The AMM looks like a top rig!
ddobson
09-07-2009, 11:41 AM
Looks like the kids had fun there. Good to get away on the school holidays lucky bugger. Big brim and fat to. Good to see the tailor still biting. Cheers
Hey Jono
Nice to see Dad playing second fiddle. Our mob were up at Rainbow a few weeks ago and the kids couldn't get passed catching soldier crabs either, bugger fishing they said (mainly due to the fact that I lost their/my rods out of the boat on the drive up..oops did I just admit that?...:(
Norm