View Full Version : Fish ID Please?? And Details of Tropical sojourn!!

BayBruiser
08-07-2009, 08:38 AM
HI all had a blast on my trip to Cairns where I caught some nice Jacks and a couple of Barra.

I also caught this little guy that my uncle said he thought it may be a juvenile tripple tail, either way he swam away happily :)

Not too sure??

nickstock
08-07-2009, 08:55 AM
Hi mate,
Looks like a Sand Bass,
Nick

fisho85
08-07-2009, 09:20 AM
I agree on a sand bass

hooknose
08-07-2009, 09:21 AM
Sand Bass for sure !!, close relly to the Barra and not a very common catch !!

bowds13
08-07-2009, 11:01 AM
yeh mate sand bass pretty little fish often thought to be barra. nice catch!

BayBruiser
08-07-2009, 11:50 AM
Cheers Guys!!

I suppose instead of starting a new thread I can just post a couple of the pics from my trip in here.

8-)

They include:

My Trevally from the Daintree,
My uncle up a creek in the Daintree,
An early morning snag session in the Cairns inlet for some nice Jacks and a flattie,

My first ever Barra(Kiss shot) from the bottom end of Hinchinbrook, My second Barra, (Also Hinchinbrook) that no matter how hard I tried would only stretch to 57cm......... released to grow for next visit :)

Back in Cairns inslet.
A nice little Jack
A nice Tarpon..... boy do those things have some go!!!!
Two nice Barra from an evening session just after the new moon in an undisclosed position.... (A keen local eye should pick it!)
One of them 68cm and the other 82cm.

Can't wait to visit again !!!

nickstock
08-07-2009, 01:07 PM
Good to see that you go onto a few fish mate.

It's not too shabby living in the tropics is it!

Nick

Synful
08-07-2009, 01:19 PM
Good stuff BB - glad to see that you managed to nail a few nice Jacks, impressed that you got two Barra as well.

I've been here 5 years nearly and still yet to get a legal salt water Barra, so well done! Then again having kids tends to limit my fishing time, between that and the weather I haven't had much luck to get out on the water lately.

Lots of good stories there to tell all the 'southerners' :-)
Bet Brissy feels cold now that you're back, still getting around in t-shirt and shorts here in Cairns day and night.

nickstock
08-07-2009, 01:32 PM
Hi Synful,
Do you practice catch and release?
Nick

Synful
08-07-2009, 01:40 PM
Hi Synful,
Do you practice catch and release?
Nick

Nick, think the trick is to catch 'em first isn't it? ;D

All depends on the state of the freezer and of course, skippers rules on the day; no sense in taking more than you can eat I reckon. That being said, I've done a few exploratory trips to places where what I've caught goes back after the hook is removed.

nickstock
08-07-2009, 01:46 PM
I will PM you a place 45 minutes from Cairns where I pulled 7 legal Barra (62-77cms) in two sessions (all but one were released). I have fished the place for the last 12 months and it is not uncommon to pull 5-10 fish a session.

I have no problem with taking enough for a feed but don't flog the place out.

Nick

uglyfish
08-07-2009, 06:23 PM
yep snd bass,they dont get much bigger than that..nice fish to mate

Ozie_3
08-07-2009, 06:52 PM
WTG BayBruiser (did i spell that rite) if u can eat em up there or get em home in good condition..... eat em al...let god sort it out....roflmao

seriously well done ..... and as to id.... id say edible species....no doubt, unless you die......let us know

sagair
08-07-2009, 07:06 PM
Yep, nice little sand bass. I used to catch these in the weed beds where the dugong feed when I lived on Moa Island in the Torres Straight. Islanders call them Night Fish because of the color of their eyes. I forget the language name for them.cheers

BayBruiser
08-07-2009, 10:41 PM
Bet Brissy feels cold now that you're back, still getting around in t-shirt and shorts here in Cairns day and night.

:( Too right!!

I enjoyed the warm mornings, up before dawn, shorts and shirt was all that was required. Definitely need a good can of bushmans when exploring all those small creeks leading in to the inlet though.

I was gutted to leave so soon..... a week and a half isn't enough to work out all the tricks of a location. For the second week and a half my wife and kids came up and we did all the tourist things so only managed a few quick night landbased trips.

What I did learn is the size of the tides make a massive impact on catch rate!

Will try to come up a little earlier next time to get in when the action is really hot.

Synful
09-07-2009, 06:21 AM
I will PM you a place 45 minutes from Cairns where I pulled 7 legal Barra (62-77cms) in two sessions (all but one were released). I have fished the place for the last 12 months and it is not uncommon to pull 5-10 fish a session.

I have no problem with taking enough for a feed but don't flog the place out.

Nick

Awesome - Thanks Nickstock, really appreciate that if you can send it.
Mate, even a legal fish is a fair few fillets so won't be taking more than 2 and that would only be if one of the kids comes along.

Synful
09-07-2009, 06:29 AM
:( Too right!!

I enjoyed the warm mornings, up before dawn, shorts and shirt was all that was required. Definitely need a good can of bushmans when exploring all those small creeks leading in to the inlet though.

Yes, failure to have a can of bushmans on hand is a good way to lose a lot of weight very quickly in the inlet ;)

I was gutted to leave so soon..... a week and a half isn't enough to work out all the tricks of a location. For the second week and a half my wife and kids came up and we did all the tourist things so only managed a few quick night landbased trips.

What I did learn is the size of the tides make a massive impact on catch rate!

Yes that inlet is huge and like you say so many little creeks to explore; Father In-Law and myself nearly got caught one day and only just got back out into the main inlet on a falling tide... Really need to hit that place on a rising tide and back out to the main inlet when it seriously starts falling.