View Full Version : Single leaf springs
Some info please 8-)
I want to replace the springs on my trailer (3.8M on the compliance plate).
Rather than multy leaf springs, is it possible to get a single leaf spring to do the job and where's a good supplier.
Thanks ;D
seatime
07-07-2009, 10:48 AM
search "Parabolic Springs"
think Al-Ko have them too?
07-07-2009, 11:06 AM
just replacing my springs at the moment, they seem to be a good option, but not strong enough for my boat.
whatscracken
07-07-2009, 11:27 AM
I've got a single leaf set up on my sea link trailer with a 4.2m tinnie. The smallest available single springs are rated at 1100kg. I thought it would be too firm and end up bouncing around under tow but its fine. My mate has his own suspension shop at Springwood, a bit out of your way but pm me if you want his details.
07-07-2009, 01:04 PM
are you saying that you can get "heavy duty" single leaf? I have a dual axle trailer and my local guy said you cannot get them for my trailer, but if you can get them, I might just have another look.
Thanks for the info. ;D
Looks like Al-Ko would suit me best as their smallest springs are rated at 300Kg each for a total capacity of 600 KG. Most other suppliers started at 400/600 KG.
Now to find a local supplier!!
Noelm, have a look at http://www.alko.com.au/vehicle/springs/parabolic.html. Some suppliers have springs rated to 1600 Kg for a pair
Maccas
07-07-2009, 05:14 PM
Noelm,
I have single leaf springs(galvanised- no rust;D ) on my tandem trailer for my KC 5.2 and that is licenced for 2000kg. I have no problems towing although it is a rocker axle set up that I altered from slipper axles. Can't see why they wouldn't make something suitable for your trailer. What's the all up weight?
Maccas
07-07-2009, 05:34 PM
That 1400kg capacity for "2 springs" in the table that Luc posted above must be one set per side...no good for me down the track!
Mr__Bean
07-07-2009, 07:02 PM
My tandom trailer has them and they are rated at 1400kg per axle.
Very happy with them.
- Darren
07-07-2009, 07:12 PM
If you cant find off the shelf springs to suit your load you can get a spring maker to make them for you for a reasonable price. As for weight capacities of single leaf tapered parabolics, some heavy haulage prime movers actually use them as standard suspensions i.e. 20 tonnes axle load.
07-07-2009, 07:27 PM
Ok - thanks Darren - thats pretty sweet then - 2.8 tonns on both - that would cover the 'farer...Thanks Jack. I was always a bit suss of the 'glass ones - one break in those leaves (no pun intended) you with nowhere to go.
rowanda
07-07-2009, 09:23 PM
I've had (and still have) those single springs on my last 2 boats and current one. Haven't got anything negative to say about them. Had them under a 4.75 flightcraft, 4.3 cruisecraft rogue and now a 530F Haines. Will buy them again as I believe you can wash all the salt out easier than layered springs....and you can get Gal ones aswell
07-07-2009, 10:17 PM
do they ride as well as multi leaf - Im talking dual axle and heavy boat...
08-07-2009, 12:33 AM
do they ride as well as multi leaf - Im talking dual axle and heavy boat...
Don't think so, someone will correct me I am sure. Multi leaf has by nature inbuilt frictional damping on rebound the parabolic have none ...almost if a slipper, bit like a coil spring needs a shock absorber to calm all that stored energy from being released so fast.
MQ patrols had parabolic springs, they where streaks ahead of multi leaf spring but they also had shocks.
Do they make these springs to suit legal dual axle setups??
08-07-2009, 07:41 AM
Thanks FNQ - that makes a lot of sense. I wont go there then. If you get 15 years out of a set of leaf springs that good enough for me and mine look like giving me that.
08-07-2009, 08:08 AM
ozscott I need new ones also, 2 x approx 750kg, was looking for something new and all round better but found no new choices much above what I guess my father would have bought in 1960:P
Think the parabolic are great for the lighter rigs.
08-07-2009, 08:29 AM
I have looked at the AL-KO website and they list quite a bit of spring info, and they do indeed have single leaf springs that will do my boat (3 tonnes approx all up) but just tried to ring them and the guy that answered was next to no help, told me they dont keep anything near what I want (or 8 leaf slippers either), then shoved me off to a local dealer of AL-KO and he was sort of helpful, but said he would need to call the suppliers (that is the guy I had been speaking to first off) I said I know what they have in stock, and they were not all that keen on giving me any times to order anything, or even if they would order, so I guess I might just go to the spring works near me, get them to make 4 new ones and be done with it all! I have the boat off the trailer and I am rebuilding the trailer for sale.
08-07-2009, 10:26 PM
Give all trailer spares a call.
They only have eye to slipper in their price list but its worth an ask
they list
standard single leaf @250Kg per
parabolic at 300Kg, 500Kg, 700Kg per spring both painted or galvanised.
I have a pair under a trailer 7 boat combo thet weighes in at 640Kg and they ride fine......all leaf springs have a certain degree of reluctance even singles.
the other place to try is vehicle components at gebung... they have all sorts of funky ( expensive ) stuff.
09-07-2009, 05:56 AM
Yep FNQ - dont know that for heavy boats there is anything better than the humble galved muti leaf. I read on there a while ago blokes impregnating them with grease and wrapping them up with brown wax paper from memory and them being like new for many years.
Noel - funny how some places are - just waiting not to take people's business:)
Good info oldboot - Cheers
09-07-2009, 09:19 AM
even pulling the spring stack apart, cleaning & painting with something/ anything.........anything would have to be better than a black steel spring with mill scale on it.
Emailed Al-ko at Yatala, they don't normally stock the 300Kg springs but will get a pair for me 27 July, price $38.70 ea.
BigAllan
14-07-2009, 09:59 PM
Formula wheels @ Nerang on the Gold Coast have Gal single leaf springs of varying loads and also a load shareing device
Pelagic 660
14-07-2009, 10:13 PM
Do they make these springs to suit legal dual axle setups??
cheers fnq[/quote]
Scott,
Trailcraft were putting them on trailers rated to 2 tonne....my brother has a trailcraft trailer under a 660 trailblazer and has broken 3 springs to-date...they have all broken under the axle.....he does travel some pretty crook roads though.
ozscott, have a gander at the Alko IRS, I fitted them to my new trailer and have been more than happy...good ride. down side is no load share but you can get them for different loadings.
Trevor
15-07-2009, 06:27 AM
Cheers Trevor - will do.