View Full Version : Massive Bream
deep sea john
30-06-2009, 10:13 PM
Hi guys, just thought i would go out for a fish in the back yard at 9pm tonight. was hunting mullet for some bait for an early fish tomorrow morning, small 10 size hook with bit of bread as bait. Just dropped it down off the wharf and within 5 seconds had a few nibbles. after a strike on the rod i was having a fight with a fish, after pulling it in and getting over the shock i pulled a 41cm bream.... i could not believe it, on a small hook with bit of bread i caught this monster of a fish... i was very happy ;D :D
http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv252/plecoz/DSC03763.jpg
http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv252/plecoz/DSC03766.jpg
http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv252/plecoz/DSC03768.jpg
tailorboi99
30-06-2009, 10:25 PM
That's a nice Bream mate, bet he gave you some stick. Better than those Mullet you were after?
Just one thing, I am not trying to ruin the thread or anything but the fish looks to be around the 37CM mark. Good fish non the less,
Thanks Tom
deep sea john
30-06-2009, 10:28 PM
yea sorry mate my bad, yea was a great fight getting it in.....
Rowdy1
30-06-2009, 10:53 PM
Onya Deep Sea, Nice Bream;D
sleepygreg
30-06-2009, 10:54 PM
still a bloody nice breambo....thats one worth filleting.
Freeeedom
01-07-2009, 04:30 AM
Yeah - nice fish. Don't be too surprised you picked up a bream on bread. It's one of the best baits for them in still water. Try fishing under your jetty or pontoon with pieces of bread crust about 3 cm long on the hook and no sinker at all. You should pick up quite a few good bream.
Cheers Freeeedom
tailorboi99
01-07-2009, 07:27 AM
yea sorry mate my bad, yea was a great fight getting it in.....
No need to say sorry mate, everyone makes mistakes. I bet it was a hard fight,
Thanks Tom
01-07-2009, 08:16 AM
the fish looks to be around the 37CM mark
It is a good bream, but why call it 41cm, when it clearly ain't?::)
deep sea john
01-07-2009, 08:54 AM
yea it was a great fish, will make a nice dinner. for some reason i had 41cm in my mind sorry guys
straddie
01-07-2009, 09:39 AM
Heya DSJ
Sounds like a simple case of anglers keyboard. People get so pumped up about their catch they hit the wrong keys typing out their reports. Nice specimen regardless of exact size.
Runamuck
01-07-2009, 09:50 AM
It is a good bream, but why call it 41cm, when it clearly ain't?::)
Who really cares y it was posted as 41cm??
Good work young fella!
tinman42
01-07-2009, 12:48 PM
If I could catch a fish that big I wouldn't stop at 41cms , it would grow by about .5cm every time I told the story!
Nice fish - well done
sharkymark2
01-07-2009, 01:12 PM
awesome fish and one that you will long remember Keep up the good work.
bulldogs195461
01-07-2009, 06:34 PM
i agree well done.geez tough audience,the lad made a mistake,to me he had it next to a tape wasnt trying to hide anything.good stuff young fella,might catch up and you can show this newbie your secrets.ha ha regards john
Good stuff young fellah - keep up the study and get into law or something - 'cause you'll make a shithouse carpenter........;D;D;D;D;)
Dantren
01-07-2009, 06:41 PM
Good on ya mate.
The bread is great bait for breambos.
Plenty of days when I don't get a bite on bait, then throw some broken bread pieces in the water & a feeding frenzy follows.
They are fussy feeders - you must know your stuff!!!
Runamuck
01-07-2009, 06:49 PM
Good stuff young fellah - keep up the study and get into law or something - 'cause you'll make a shithouse carpenter........;D;D;D;D;)
ROFLMAO!!;D
marty+jojo
01-07-2009, 07:01 PM
Did you remember to take your fishing rod into the house when you finished fishing?
Nice bream.
Marty.
tailorboi99
01-07-2009, 08:02 PM
Cracker, good one. No offence John,
Tom
banshee
01-07-2009, 08:19 PM
That cracked me up.........no offence young fella.
Apollo
01-07-2009, 08:23 PM
You lot are just looking at it the wrong way. 37cm + GST = 40.7cm or rounded up to 41cm. Good fish either way!!!
deep sea john
01-07-2009, 08:31 PM
Thanks for the joke and the kind words guys, had another fish a bit earlier and caught a few good sized breams around the 30cm mark....
Jurkyjj
01-07-2009, 08:55 PM
CRACKER Bream mate.
Hopefully more around the place at this time of the year!!
Homer1
02-07-2009, 08:44 AM
From some of the work I've been seeing around the place he'd fit right in as a chippy:'(
Mozza
02-07-2009, 02:33 PM
Good fish DSJ - the surprises nearly always aere the most memorable.
As for you GBC - what a pearler - I'm still laughing.
Mozza
tailorboi99
02-07-2009, 09:18 PM
Thanks for the joke and the kind words guys, had another fish a bit earlier and caught a few good sized breams around the 30cm mark....
Sounds like you've got yourself a new spot a few metres walk away from the house. We need to see a few more reports mate, they'd be good to read.
Thanks Tom
deep sea john
02-07-2009, 09:33 PM
well went out again (7:30-8:30) water fairly still but not much action, a few small ones and one @ 28cm
tailorboi99
02-07-2009, 09:48 PM
If these results keep coming I'll be knocking on your door in no time, 'G'day John, I'm here for the Bream' :D. Have you been getting any on lures?
Thanks Tom
rowanda
02-07-2009, 10:21 PM
nice fish mate, putting all us old fellas to shame
deep sea john
03-07-2009, 10:37 AM
ha, thanks guys nah haven't tried on lures might give it a go though...
sagair
03-07-2009, 12:49 PM
Well done, I am wondering how many baits that bloke pinched before falling to your bread, he would be a few years old, slow growers. Congrats again.
cuzzamundi
03-07-2009, 02:43 PM
Great initiative using the bread, mate. Awesome, and I hope they keep getting bigger. keep us updated!
Cuzza
Great fish - your title says it all "Massive Bream" - matey that is a massive bream......very well done......if I was telling the tale I would have added a bit about how "as the sea boiled around the pontoon I pondered if this was a shark - a bull shark with possibly my name on it - or was it some other deadly denzien from the deep with an insatiable bread lust - I breathed a sigh of relief as I saw the silver bream head slowly emerge from the depths......................one centimetre at a time......after 30 centimetres I was so excited and relieved I lost count".........cheers.........Geeb
goat boy
03-07-2009, 08:01 PM
Great fish - your title says it all "Massive Bream" - matey that is a massive bream......very well done......if I was telling the tale I would have added a bit about how "as the sea boiled around the pontoon I pondered if this was a shark - a bull shark with possibly my name on it - or was it some other deadly denzien from the deep with an insatiable bread lust - I breathed a sigh of relief as I saw the silver bream head slowly emerge from the depths......................one centimetre at a time......after 30 centimetres I was so excited and relieved I lost count".........cheers.........Geeb
Hey I just lost a mouthful of jimmy reading that:D
Angryant
03-07-2009, 08:31 PM
Here you go mate - I stretched it for ya.
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/1562/002pen.th.jpg (http://img10.imageshack.us/i/002pen.jpg/)
f.t.r.
04-07-2009, 10:37 AM
you are definately a wordsmith geeb.
whats the chances of you writing my next report? im sure you could make an empty esky sound exciting.
dsj, well done on the adventures champ, that bream will be hard to top, but im sure it doesnt matter to you as you seem to be having the time of your life. well done.
matty
you are definately a wordsmith geeb.
whats the chances of you writing my next report? im sure you could make an empty esky sound exciting.
dsj, well done on the adventures champ, that bream will be hard to top, but im sure it doesnt matter to you as you seem to be having the time of your life. well done.
matty
Thanks FTR you are kind - no problem with your next report just send me a few details...............or..would you like one now?
FTR, Diehard and Frankie headed out to spot x early Sunday morning - dropped new slightly stinky purple chicken casserole Sp's north of Moreton.....FTR gets a big hit straight up, line sings, drag lets out tons of zzzzzzzzzzzzz's but not the sleeping kind. The loomis is bent like a politician, 6kg plasmacatgutline straining like Rudd to be an Ocker, brief surface show, head shake and a tumble, more line in even more out - a major battle ensues, FTR wins a new PB - a 200 litre Techni Ice Eskey......FTR releases this back into the depths Eskies fun to catch - hard to fillet......unless you get a full one that has not thrown its shell recently - remember Eskies are best caught in months that dont have a R in them...........cheers.........Geeb
fishel
04-07-2009, 01:47 PM
Well done, but if thats how you can write, we will have to insist on photographic proof of your catches to believe your reports!;) We will all be suspicious now if the reports are flowery.
I was down at Chinderah last week and there was so much mud and fresh in the river all the fish cleared out. Can you write me an exciting report for that? It might help me enjoy the memory of the visit more. I might even believe I caught lost of fish. It is sounding exciting already.
Cheers Eleanor
Well done, but if thats how you can write, we will have to insist on photographic proof of your catches to believe your reports!;) We will all be suspicious now if the reports are flowery.
I was down at Chinderah last week and there was so much mud and fresh in the river all the fish cleared out. Can you write me an exciting report for that? It might help me enjoy the memory of the visit more. I might even believe I caught lost of fish. It is sounding exciting already.
Cheers Eleanor
Eleanor - thank you for your response - yes I suppose there is an element of doubt when the words flow is so slippery - Eleanor is a wonderful name many years ago I loved an Eleanor - she was like you a beautiful lass - the love of my life - I lost her at sea when she left me for a poker player on the SS Pacific Princess - may the winds of time and the tides of life keep you sailing happily through life.....cheers,,,,,,,,,,Geeb