View Full Version : beach hauling - Redcliffe
sleepygreg
23-06-2009, 10:33 PM
Pulled up at Suttons Beach today to eat my lunch and noticed five 4wd Utes, two of them with boats and trailers, down on the beach in front of the lifesaving club, busily packing nets back into the boats on the back of the trailers. I didnt think you were allowed to drive on the beach at redcliffe....or is that rule only for us mere mortals. It also seems that the chain on the posts to prevent people from driving onto the beach was unlocked.....so the council must approve of this activity! Didnt think to take a photo:wut:
aussiefool
23-06-2009, 10:37 PM
Mate I would get in touch with the local council to get clarification on whether it was allowed or not
Aussiefool
catfishkid
23-06-2009, 10:45 PM
Greg they have been netting mullet along the front of redcliffe has been happening for as long as I can remember.They have all the relevent permits and lisences.
jaredluke
23-06-2009, 11:16 PM
Yeah they have been doing it for years. I call em the mullet men
Mike Delisser
24-06-2009, 06:48 PM
Yeh, like the others said. I'm not a big fan of it but I supose they're just making their living. It's problably one of the most sustainable fisheries there is actualy, they are only targeting mullet which have both a very high reproductive rate and one of the fastest growth rates of all commercial fishes. Plus there is almost no bycatch when compared to other forms of netting.
24-06-2009, 06:53 PM
yeah rules why do they bother
they have 3 boats running the beaches at bribie island as of last weekend when i saw them, the bit that shits me i they were at skirmish point where cars are not allowed, but as rules are set these net boats have allowences.
not happy one bit
by the way if any guys are keen on shit loads of fresh mullet, skirmish point has eaps on the shore line pulled heaps 2 weeks back more than 20 in cast nets from the bank.
cheers justin
darkside
24-06-2009, 09:11 PM
Actually , what is the go with their rights on the beach , a couple of years ago i was up the beach of Bribie fishing away , a couple of rods in their holders on the sand and my car parked up out of the way. While i was there , a 4wd of "mulleters" came down the beach and told me to pack up my gear and move so they could run their nets, the main problem was they failed the "attitude test" ,it wasnt , do you mind, or please, it was , move your sh1t so we can pull the nets. I said no , well maybe not that nicely , but still no , and then an older guy turned up and asked what the problem was , i explained my side, he apologised for the other "spuds" attitude and offered me a bucket of free mullet, ( hey i had caught nothing and was thinking of leaving) and all turned out good, even got home and said "look what i caught" he also gave me the 4 tailor they netted . So do they have "move on" rights or should they just try and be polite and everyones happy.
trymyluck
24-06-2009, 10:36 PM
Yeh, like the others said. I'm not a big fan of it but I supose they're just making their living. It's problably one of the most sustainable fisheries there is actualy, they are only targeting mullet which have both a very high reproductive rate and one of the fastest growth rates of all commercial fishes. Plus there is almost no bycatch when compared to other forms of netting.
Is this a fact or just your opinion??????????
Can you explain the decrease in school size of sea mullet????? but wait thats just my opinion.
My experience is this.
Big school of bream off Halks Nest beach, 3 pro's combine their nets and capture what seems like large percentage of school, majority full of roe. How is that susainable?????????
Stocton Beach they use jet boats and spotter planes to locate and target schools of mullet. Sustainable?????????
Don't get upset, i've just watched the origin game if thats what you want to call it and not happy. Queensland won on the back of some of the softest defence i've ever seen. They may as well have had me out there.;D;D
Mike Delisser
25-06-2009, 09:03 PM
Is this a fact or just your opinion??????????
Can you explain the decrease in school size of sea mullet????? but wait thats just my opinion.
My experience is this.
Big school of bream off Halks Nest beach, 3 pro's combine their nets and capture what seems like large percentage of school, majority full of roe. How is that susainable?????????
Stocton Beach they use jet boats and spotter planes to locate and target schools of mullet. Sustainable?????????
Don't get upset, i've just watched the origin game if thats what you want to call it and not happy. Queensland won on the back of some of the softest defence i've ever seen. They may as well have had me out there.;D;D
Wasn't it a great game ;D . Now NSW will make mass changes for the 3rd, they'll never learn. And how about Barrett???? If you see a replay, watch Barrett's face as he goes in for the kill. No intent my arse!!!!!!!!!
I'm only talking about the mullet fishery mate, and compared to other fisheries.
I once read that their numbers fluctuate greatly because of good and bad years (and netters I guess) but because their growth and reproduction was so good they have the ability to come back stronger than any other commercial species.
Up here in Qld (home of the State of Origin Shield) I haven't seen the "mullet men" use spotter planes. It's usually an old timer standing on a sand dune that spots the school (or just ripples on the surface) and gives directions. Bit of a skill really, they always know where the mullet will be depending on the time of year, wind & tide. Knowedge built up over the years and sometimes handed down from father to son. Most of them just chase mullet, and about half have NSW plates on their 4x4's come to think of it.
Of course the only truly & fully sustainable fishery is aquaculture though that has it's own set of invironmental problems.
Cheers and good luck in game 3, not ;D
Mike D
Rowdy1
01-07-2009, 08:44 PM
So if they are actively netting again, are you starting to see bites decreasing. I remember reading a thread last week which claimed that fish shut down in a 30km area for two weeks ...Any evidence of shutdown yet ???