View Full Version : Tailor on the Gold Coast

bondy99
19-06-2009, 11:13 PM
Are tailor still being caught around the sand pumping jetty and behind seawrld at present?

I'm heading down that way in three days.

apconcen
20-06-2009, 06:19 AM
from jetty casting northerly.....

wed - caught 2 approx 1.5kg and the other weighed in at 2.8kg[barely made it over barrier]-----------about 12 caught total in a 45min burst at sunset..about 10-15 bust offs I saw..I had about 2 or 3 bust offs..lost 2....upgraded to wire

thur- caught 1 in the 1.5kg range - about 8 or so caught in total in even a shorter 30min burst..though I did see 4 or 5 caught in daylight 4pm ish when I had just arrived...I think these greenbacks are around in the day but more cautious

fri - saw 2 caught after sunset up to 5:15....ran to the carpark after being soaked in rain

hooknose
20-06-2009, 09:29 AM
greenbacks were there on monday as well !!!

bondy99
20-06-2009, 02:35 PM
G'day apconcern and hooknose,

I appreciate your findings, I'll be going down on Sunday night. Shit weather tonight. (Sat).

I'll also be using some wire trace for tailor.

Will be at my spot at abut 3.00pm.

aussiefool
21-06-2009, 05:11 AM
G'day apconcern and hooknose,

I appreciate your findings, I'll be going down on Sunday night. Shit weather tonight. (Sat).

I'll also be using some wire trace for tailor.

Will be at my spot at abut 3.00pm.

Hi Pete,
Mate what sort of rob and reel set up do you use at the pumping Jetty?

I've never fished there
Aussiefool

hungry6
21-06-2009, 04:21 PM
I fish that area alot for he jetty I just use any longish bream outfit, but where u wantto be in further up on the beach, and you can se where the currents edies bit further out, from this time and into early spring bring some wire trace if you're intending fishing late into the night.
Just from my observes, ths weather brings on some really big fish right at your feet, and I mean 10-20m from where you cn comfortably stand.

bondy99
21-06-2009, 11:01 PM
Hi Pete,
Mate what sort of rob and reel set up do you use at the pumping Jetty?

I've never fished there
Aussiefool

G'day Andrew,

I'm using a surf rod 13'6" with egg beater reel, loaded with 201b mono. I also used a 9' blackfish rod with similar egg beater reel and caught good size bream 35cm and a few trevally.

Tonight (Sunday) managed only 1 tailor and 2 bream from 4.30pm to 8.45pm

Very squally winds from the NE, Swell and seas were pumping, Rain as well.
I don't think the beach would have been fishable under these conditions.

bondy99
21-06-2009, 11:06 PM
I fish that area alot for he jetty I just use any longish bream outfit, but where u wantto be in further up on the beach, and you can se where the currents edies bit further out, from this time and into early spring bring some wire trace if you're intending fishing late into the night.
Just from my observes, ths weather brings on some really big fish right at your feet, and I mean 10-20m from where you cn comfortably stand.

Hello Hungry6,

I was at the Jetty tonight and managed 1 tailor and 2 bream, conditions were bad tonight. I don't think the beach could have been fishable tonight.

Was you using lures or pillies from the beach? How long was your bream rod that you was using for tailor?

PNG1M
23-06-2009, 02:10 AM
Hey Bondy,

Tell us about this spot of yours mate....is it on the beach south of the sand pumping jetty, or is it somewhere along the jetty itself.

It must be a good spot to make you get there nice & early to bags it.

What are the characteristics that make it good? Is it near a gutter or some kind of feature or something.

I'm curious to know as I'll be fishing that vicinity over July/August - I'll be based near Southport. You've mentioned the spot several times before so it'd be good to actually see it.

Maybe we could tee-up a fishing outing while I'm there (before I head back o/s).
Don't worry, I won't nick your spot as I'll only be around for a month or so.

timddo
23-06-2009, 09:14 AM
If bondy is getting their at 3pm the spot is on the Sand pumping jetty.
A hint for fishigng the sand pumping jetty, never throw ur line out and leave it out. You will tangle everyman and his dog.

bondy99
23-06-2009, 01:49 PM
Hey Bondy,

Tell us about this spot of yours mate....is it on the beach south of the sand pumping jetty, or is it somewhere along the jetty itself.

It must be a good spot to make you get there nice & early to bags it.

What are the characteristics that make it good? Is it near a gutter or some kind of feature or something.

I'm curious to know as I'll be fishing that vicinity over July/August - I'll be based near Southport. You've mentioned the spot several times before so it'd be good to actually see it.

Maybe we could tee-up a fishing outing while I'm there (before I head back o/s).
Don't worry, I won't nick your spot as I'll only be around for a month or so.

G'day PNGIM,

Its a spot on the sand pumping jetty itself, I have waders to go offf the beach if need be but the conditions are not suitable to cast from the beach. The main reason I get there at about 3.00pm is to claim a spot before Ho Chi Men get there. Mainly towards the end of the jetty. Any place from where the pipes come down on the southern side is usually ok but a bugger to frish from.

On the northern side towards the end is a better option if they ar on the northern side, nine times out of ten the fish are on the southern side. You can cast out into some of the gutters that are around, but due to heavy seas a few weeks ago there are a few sunken trees under or near the pylons which can snag your line if your not careful.

Hope this helps you.

PNG1M
23-06-2009, 03:30 PM
Thanks Peter,

I'll be keen to test the location out. As I'll be on hols I can go any day/any time.

Do the ho-chi-minners go there every day or mostly weekends?

And, you mentioned the condions weren't good for casting off the beach...why not?? What makes it not good?

I was hoping to test out sections of the beach from the jetty down towards narrowneck. I would've thought the beach'd at least be worth a try.

What d'yu reckon?

hungry6
23-06-2009, 08:48 PM
Bondy I use to find that the longer rod becomes a liability with that overhead pipe, and the fish is not always right out at the end, more of in the middle, I got a 10' bream/tailor rod "custom" and it allws me to cast without worrying about th pipe. as for the beach on the week end the go was to find a rip, cast ino that and feed it out. I will call you when I'm of down there next.

bondy99
23-06-2009, 11:32 PM
G'day Hungry6

Yep, I know about the pipelines with the big rods yes one cannot cast out far so I'm going to invest in another rod.

Can you pm the details of your 10ft bream/tailor "custom" rod.

Last Sunday the waves were very big and winds gusting to 40 knots ENE.

bondy99
23-06-2009, 11:37 PM
Thanks Peter,

I'll be keen to test the location out. As I'll be on hols I can go any day/any time.

Do the ho-chi-minners go there every day or mostly weekends?

And, you mentioned the condions weren't good for casting off the beach...why not?? What makes it not good?

I was hoping to test out sections of the beach from the jetty down towards narrowneck. I would've thought the beach'd at least be worth a try.

What d'yu reckon?

Ho Chi Men is any time of day and night 7 days / 365 days year but bulk is weekends. 40 knot winds ENE with big seas incoming tide. You have to find good gutters for beach, most places are good just keep an eye on the waves and look at the waveset for about 5 minutes to determine the patterns.

I'll try the beach again when the flood waters from the fresh have dispersed a bit, Maybe 12 high tide flushes.

hooknose
23-06-2009, 11:42 PM
png there are plenty of good gutters between narrowneck and the spit mate just check it out at low tide and come back to fish it later in the arvo, the week running up to the full moon is the go if you can pick or choose. There have been good quality Tailor coming from these gutters over the last couple of months, also good bream and large dart with the odd flathead thrown in. Bonito strips and pillies have been doing the job !!

bondy99
24-06-2009, 12:35 PM
G'day hooknose,

Have you been out lately?

PNG1M
24-06-2009, 02:57 PM
I'll be sussing that beach out in the first week of July.

Hoping to keep the fridge well stocked with fresh fillets so my 'leave pass' for fishing remains valid.

I just need to get a bbq organised for our front balcony...!

hooknose
24-06-2009, 08:18 PM
Bondy, went up the pin this arvo and got some good lizards, no tailor, only fished with lures but had a good session.
PNG thats a good plan mate, if the weather gods play the game you should nail some fish.

bondy99
25-06-2009, 12:00 AM
hooknose, those lizards would be good to get.

PNG1M
25-06-2009, 03:23 AM
I'll PM you guys once I'm on the Gold Coast & maybe we can arrange a bit of a fish.

It'd be good to fish with someone who knows the main spots already and can give a few tips etc.

bondy99
25-06-2009, 11:53 AM
No worries PNG1M, I don't have a mobile phone but I'll send you my phone number via a pm tomorrow.

Would be good, maybe hooknose can turn up also as well as hungry6.

Cheers, Peter

PNG1M
25-06-2009, 04:24 PM
Sounds like the go. I'll be based less than 15mins drive from Seaworld (pending traffic).

I'm still overseas just now but will be getting to the Gold Coast around July 04.
So once I'm sorted and have my gear 'primed & ready' I do the pm thing.

I'll have a mobile phone but I don't have the number with me at present.
Will pm later sometime.

If the fish aren't biting at least we can pass the time by comparing notes on our knee operations. I've had three of the buggers on the same knee including a reconstruction (old sports injury) Riveting stuff..!

I'll be hitting Fraser for a week but the rest of the time (5weeks) I'll be GC based so plenty of time to test a few spots.

bondy99
25-06-2009, 10:26 PM
PNG1M,
No worries, look forward to meeting and yes we can have a chat about the knee ops and about Stem Cells shown on ABC program Catalyst tonight.

Cheers, Peter

Hi tide
25-06-2009, 11:02 PM
Hey Bondy
You mentioned due to heavy seas a few weeks ago there are a few sunken trees under or near the pylons.
Are these trees or shadows visable from the jetty at high or low tide. Or is it a case of fjust inding out when you are snagged?

Thanks Mate

bondy99
26-06-2009, 10:23 AM
Hey Bondy
You mentioned due to heavy seas a few weeks ago there are a few sunken trees under or near the pylons.
Are these trees or shadows visable from the jetty at high or low tide. Or is it a case of fjust inding out when you are snagged?

Thanks Mate

G'day Hi Tide,

Those sunken trees and debris are not visible at high or low tide especially with the colouration of the water, it might look clean but not clear.

I have noticed these obstacles are more towards the very end of the jetty if casting directly east then sweeps back towards the jetty and also some snags heading back towards the west by say 50 yards and out a bit. One Ho-Chi-Men thought he had a big jew and his clan came over for the excitement only to see some branches come up...I had to laugh because I know what it was as I got done like a dinner before.

Happy fishing Hi tide,