View Full Version : Brissie river sat arvo
chief
14-06-2009, 06:10 PM
Just getting over a flu that had me in bed for 3 days so Saturday I went for a session solo on the river. I hear its been pretty quiet and it was pretty tough going. I did manage 4 squire but there were no size to them, all were under 33 cms. I fished plastics around wharves in the 13 - 15 m mark for nothing , so I went to the shallows at the edges and picked up the little ones there .;D Couldn't even find one that would stretch over 35. Threw a few HBs around the clearer water and couldn't raise a bream . As the water temps has dropped they've certainly given smacking the cranks a miss. Plastics were the go. I was dead sticking them and letting them drift with the current with the occasional twitch and the bream were picking them up and swimming up current . A lot of the times you could see the line go slack and begin to bow and you could tell the bream had mouthed the plastic. It was a case of winding in the slack and trying to set the hooks . I dropped a lot of fish but scored a good dozen but they were better quality fish with a few around 33 with the biggest going 36 cm. Hope I can find a few squire soon:-[
bennykenny
14-06-2009, 06:13 PM
well done mate those bream seem to be everywhere at the moment
Nico.d.R
14-06-2009, 06:21 PM
nice work cheif , were they nice and fat bream ? we got some around nudgee and they were all fat fish . we got most off ours near the bottom fishing slower than normal with a 1/32 jighead and 3' power minnows .
cheers nico
Fish_gutz
14-06-2009, 06:25 PM
well at least you put a few in the boat...... if my predictions are correct tuesday should see some action. good goin anyways Chief .
chief
14-06-2009, 07:31 PM
Bennykenny.. I find they start to wind down in the river as places like The pin and Coloundra start fireing.
Nico.d.r ... Cheers mate , good to hear another finding fish similar in their reactions. Are you fishing hidden weights mate?
Fish gutz... Hope your right mate, probably won't get a chance to fish until next week end tho. I'm putting my money on the tuesday another week later on the 23rd. The river squire will bite their heads off ;D
tailorboi99
14-06-2009, 07:40 PM
Thriller effort on your own mate, nice Bream to finish it off as well. Thank you for the report.
Thanks Tom
Nico.d.R
14-06-2009, 08:27 PM
i was using round head jigs on 2/0 hooks home made .
huskii
14-06-2009, 08:45 PM
paul i think i've got ur flu, i went out to green and harries today, the wether was perfect got a few unda's no keepers. Was gonna do a run outside for the day but the wife had a few jobs lined up 4 me so i had to be back home early. c u tuesday.
Giveitacrack
14-06-2009, 09:14 PM
nice work chief..there has been some nice fat bream amongst them.1 KG models seem to be shorter than usual..
chief
15-06-2009, 04:51 AM
Kurt... I know how you feel there, I hate hearing I;ve got a few jobs for you ;D
Giveita crack... Yeh I;ve seen boats loading grain lately ,I think the bream have been having a few entres
Creek Vermin
15-06-2009, 04:54 AM
Whats happened to the squire chief? Been strugglin to get a couple of legals down there the last couple of trips
SWFISHER
15-06-2009, 12:51 PM
Well done Chief, I be there as we spoke'
Cheers Kevin
chief
15-06-2009, 02:31 PM
Creek vermin, it just hasn't seemed to fire since that last flood. I'm tipping a cracker session somewhere in the next 2 weeks and my face will crack from smiling ;D.
bennykenny
15-06-2009, 04:17 PM
yeah was down the pin today and foul hooked 4 undersized bream through the gut so they must be pretty thick down there
stessco
15-06-2009, 05:42 PM
good size bream there chief, the squire have shut down in my local spots aswell
chief
15-06-2009, 06:03 PM
Stesco... all good things are worth waiting for. ;D
Bennykenny..Half your luck, you fishing again champ. Hope you had a good day
RAT-KING
15-06-2009, 09:02 PM
I know how u feel Chief
I came back with a donut last time!!!
But u can still pull a decent feed Great Stuff Cheers Simon