View Full Version : Whats Going On In The Brizzy River ???

daveozz
09-06-2009, 10:57 AM
Hi All.

Decided To Go Down The Brizzy River With My Mate Redclaw For A Line

Wetting Session Yesterday.....and Thats All It Was.

Zip...zilch...zero...nada. If Youaint Got The Picture Yet...nothing.

Put In At Pinkenba At 6am.absolutely Magic Moring.fished From The

Mouth To The Bridge.we Tried Squid.we Tried Pillies.we Tried

Plastics.we Fished The Surface.we Bottombashed.we Did It All And

Nothing.

Where Have Allthe Fish Gone.

Oh Well.at Least We Were Out There.better Than The Alternative....well

Thats What We Kept Telling Ourselves Anyway.

Better Luck Next Time.

Fish_gutz
09-06-2009, 11:00 AM
we fished it last night from 8 till 11 pm and my livie was let go. didn`t turn a reel. bit close to the full moon still in my opinion. couple more days it will start to fire up again.

adrian johnson
09-06-2009, 12:12 PM
also fished the sunken wall on saturday & sunday morning for zero,would be the first time in years that i came home without a feed from here,adrian

uglyfish
09-06-2009, 12:15 PM
got 2 squire in the river saturday

chief
09-06-2009, 02:52 PM
Mate . I'll put my 2 bobs worths in. I agree with fish gutz the full moon just doesn't seem to produce in the river. You have to really work to pull a few fish. Add to that you had a westerly direction with the breeze and you have the perfect combination for a poor result. I think the R2M this year is 2 days after the full moon in August as well. Dam. Around that moon I always find the squire stuff around and they;ll pick up the plastic and drop it nudge it but won't smash it. Its bloody frustrating

chief
09-06-2009, 02:57 PM
Just to clarify I'm talking about river fish not the fish in the bay. I reckon there like chalk and cheese bay fish and river fish. I've seen it to many times when the bays is firing and the rivers dead and then the bay goes quiet and the river explodes

Fish_gutz
09-06-2009, 04:39 PM
silly me for thinking Saturday just gone was the full moon , should have done my homework a bit better and saved the leave pass for later!

RAT-KING
09-06-2009, 05:17 PM
Yeah we went out monday evening and did not get one hit it was the first time this year we haven't produced anything!!!

MattChew
09-06-2009, 09:09 PM
Gotta agree with the moon on the river. Never had any luck on a full moon and I've always produced more fish on the run out tide. The Brisbane River is definitely a unique place which requires a fair amount of investigation ... time on the water and finding the bait is key.

All the best

tailorboi99
09-06-2009, 09:21 PM
Donutted once in the River over the weekend, and on Monday only got one Moses Perch but lost a few Bream around the place ;)

Thanks Tom

BayBruiser
09-06-2009, 10:36 PM
Hi Guys,

The river is definitely still alive, but timing is the key.

For me, best bet is aproxx 3 to 4 nights before the Full moon. Fish the last two hours of the evening tide running in, and the first two hours of the run out for Squire/Snapps around the many Wharfs.

Then target flathead along some of the rockwalls where the current and baitfish flow out of any small inlet/ bay.......... not wanting to give away too much ;)

Makes for a good night and a full esky :)

Cheers B.B
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

P.S Forgot to add, helps when there is some crap weather is on the way.

daveozz
10-06-2009, 02:16 AM
Thanks Heaps Guys.

I Forgot To Say That We Also Tried Live Poddy Mullet As Well.

.i'll Have To Remember The Full Moon And Westerly Combination.

Oh Well.at Least I Was'nt The Only One To Come Home With An Empty

Esky.couldn't Have Been Doing Too Many Things Wrong Then.

sweresy
10-06-2009, 07:34 AM
Totally agree with the full moon theory. Have tried it too many times and produced the same result too often for it to be a coincidence. (that be being very poor ;)

love 3-4 up and past the full however.

my 2 cents.

Jungle Jim
10-06-2009, 12:04 PM
Hope I’m not raining on the parade but we fished Monday and went alright. Few tailor,(these were frustratingly few and far between- i mean an hour between hook-ups.) few bream, couple of flathead and a cod.

The key for us was to try things- give them half an hour if it wasn’t working then try something or somewhere else.
We didn’t have a Plan B..... we were down to Plan K’s. ;D
But we avoided a doughnut so all's well that ends well i guess.

JIM

Mossy247
10-06-2009, 12:16 PM
Daveoz, Myself I love the Brissy river usually manage to bag at least a few tailor if nothing else is around. I am relatively new to Brissy river fishing but the guys have alot of advice. Stick with the river, try new spots and explore...... Best of luck.

duncan mcwhirter
10-06-2009, 01:13 PM
I have to agree. I went out yesterday arvo and got zip. not even a bite, except for a nudge on a livie- just bit the tail off and then left it alone- It was the worst day fishing on the river I have had.

daveozz
10-06-2009, 07:08 PM
thanks mossy.i'm still new to the river myself.love fishing it though.

i had the same thing happen to me duncan.the little bugger still lived for a while too.

Fish_gutz
10-06-2009, 09:04 PM
I might have to re-explain a few things here re species........ Taylor in the river don`t seem to be effected by the moon as I have had them climbing all over each other to smash a plastic that was retrieved to mimic a prawn flicking across the surface but on that same full moon night not one livie was tickled by a passing Jew, threadie or snap..... not even a bully or any brissie barra (catfish) stingrays or other vermin. as for the Taylor they seem to chew whenever something resembling dinner flicks past them.I think they are more opportunistic than other species and will try and beat there brothers to a feed As for Flathead and bream I have never honestly tried targeting them right on the full moon so can`t comment. hope this is helpfull.

zealot
10-06-2009, 10:52 PM
cmon guys this stuff has been going on for thousands of years.you are acting like its some new phenomenon,check your maori fish calendar these guys have been tracking fish from day dot. limited fishing either side of the full moon, mark in your calendar.?

zealot
10-06-2009, 10:53 PM
:o cmon guys this stuff has been going on for thousands of years.you are acting like its some new phenomenon,check your maori fish calendar these guys have been tracking fish from day dot. limited fishing either side of the full moon, mark in your calendar.?

Fish_gutz
10-06-2009, 11:23 PM
Sorry but this is not new zealand !I could have put at least ten good gar fish in the bag that night but i think the mouri calender is reef fish specific. I have witnessed first hand on numerous occasions the river fish seem to go into a weird trance on the full moon and not interested in feeding but the bay has produced some crackers right on the full moon. then you could go to the other pacific islands where if the moon is half full and facing down the fish fall out of the cup... so to speak and no good for fishing... but if the half is facing up like a cup you can expect a good catch. not being a smarty just a theory I heard from some islanders years ago in new Caledonia.
just a quickie on your theory though 3 or 4 days either side of the full have always produced the best catches for me.

chief
11-06-2009, 07:35 AM
Andrew is spot on , Brissie river is a different kettle of fish. I don't find a once of difference for your bread and butter species. You can pull bream tailor flathead any time it doesn't seem to matter. I know my comments were aimed at larger river predators where in the bay I've seen it fire on the full moon . Snapps and larger were the fish I was discussing. You also have heard the saying no run No fun. My best sessions come from small highs , big lows. There is definantly that change with river fish.

duncan mcwhirter
11-06-2009, 11:43 AM
I Went fishing on Saturday in the middle reaches and caught a threadie and bully so was wondering if its the tidal flow as well. Nugget used to say that jew would go upstream around the full moons as the tidal flow was stronger, i maybe totally wrong but it would be interesting to see if the middle reaches perform around full moons?

ddobson
11-06-2009, 12:17 PM
The bay was slow all weekend as well. The river must have been as bad by the sound. I hit most islands dawn and dusk and only one or two snapps just over legal each time. I noticed it was slower than usual. The river is no doubt different than the bay but even different fishing styles can give good and bad to us all. Cheers and hope it picks up soon.
PS I find the 4 days before the full moon fires up.