View Full Version : Killing Sea Kittens
rebelone
02-06-2009, 09:53 AM
This thread probably should be displayed in every forrum on this site.
Yesterday I happened to purchase a copy of the May / June Trailerboat Fisherman. A few pages in I happened across an article titled "Sea Kittens" followed by the word PETA, this immediatly drew my attention as this organisation has caused massive problems for just about every industry they have targeted, it was not a very long article so I will quote it in its' entirety:
PETA is running a campaign to have fish renamed to "sea kittens," saying that no one would hurt or eat a sea kitten because people don't seem to like fish, so they are retiring the name. They are also pressuring the US Fish and Wildlife Department to stop the "hunting of sea kittens (otherwise known as fishing)."
end quote:
This latest campaign will no doubt cause much trouble for the international fishing fraternity and will no doubt find its' suporters here in Australia - stay tunned for the the next round from this collection of dangerous bobbin pins and fruit cakes>:(
shayned
02-06-2009, 10:32 AM
No probs here, I don't like cats anyway...................except as crab bait.;)
gucci84
02-06-2009, 10:44 AM
i catch and release most fish but i sure as hell dont catch and release cats peta should have a look at what ferals/roaming cats can do to native animals!!!!!!!!!!!!!
have a good one
casey
tailorboi99
02-06-2009, 11:09 AM
Sea Kittens will always taste the same....... Great! I also release most of my fish, except when keeping them for a mate.
Cheers Tom
02-06-2009, 11:15 AM
Regardless of ones like or dislike to cats or any animal it doesn't make it right to be intentionally cruel to them so comments pertaining to using cats as crab bait on an open chat forum does nothing but make us as fishermen and women look bad to others. Just remember that it is irresponsible people who have created feral cat populations by allowing them to either roam free or just be dumped because they no longer wanted the animal. It is not the cat's fault. A cat kept indoors is no threat to wildlife. I would encourage everyone to avoid making comments such as this regardless of how true it might be. As for renaming fish just go for it Peta. I am going to enjoy my sea kitten fillets just as much as my fish fillets.
Pedro Jnr
02-06-2009, 12:22 PM
hope to be filleting a few kittens this weekend!
02-06-2009, 01:07 PM
If we take the path they want, and fishing is banned, what then? My pick is that there will be civil disobedience, and it will be one of the triggers of truly violent protest.
These people would hang us for their beliefs. I would happily hang them for theirs. They are unreasonable, stupid, emotional, and entirely lacking substance. But they are also very politically effective (I'm lumping all Greenies together here) and we need to be very, very worried about them.
02-06-2009, 01:52 PM
this same topic was aired in january,,,,, from the same people who claim "oranges" feel pain when cut/peeled
most of there funding is reliant on private funding, this has come to some severe purse tightening over the recent months, and reports are now showing that hierarchy members are selling assets to sustain advertising costs?????
this will be interesting if the global crisis continues for the predicted time span of 1-2 years before it turns around, i don't see much left if anything
Chamelion
02-06-2009, 01:59 PM
I'm a member of PETA.
People Eating Tasty Animals... YUM YUM.
therapy
02-06-2009, 02:16 PM
This is the thread. Some good laughs but don't underestimate the lunatic fringe. They are out there and want to influence and control your lifestyle. As Timiboy said they are politically savvy and manage to attract high profile names to their cause.
Cheers........Terry..........
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=143769&highlight=sea+kittens
catfishkid
02-06-2009, 02:36 PM
OK so we stop eating animals to preserve their rights and feelings.
Now we all still have to eat so how many thousands of acres do we clear to provide all the plant material to feed the world population.There is no thought in their crusade,just the disire to fight for something and the need to be right.
I remember the last thread on this issue and it provided a few good laughs.
A lot of people are involved in this group including PINK,you know, so what im a rock star,she came out against how the australian wool industry docks sheep and how cruel it was,when it was pointed out how they suffer when fly blown she backed down pretty quickly.It just shows how they jump on a bandwagon and make a lot of noise without any facts or thought about the repercussions of their actions.
coucho
02-06-2009, 02:59 PM
tabby cat chow mein anyone?
02-06-2009, 03:13 PM
Chow Meow Meow?
levinge
02-06-2009, 05:42 PM
Good thing is, we don't have to change our bait, keep going with the Pillies and prawns...
Here Kitty Kitty!!!!!
02-06-2009, 05:45 PM
is this for real or another wanky gee up?????????????/ or are the wombats from PETA the wank***??????????????/
Fair dinkum, dont breathe the oxygen folks, air has feelings too you know...............
bluefin59
02-06-2009, 05:52 PM
They can be very tasty i hear their is a magazine all about catching them they really are a weird mob that lot from peta...matt::) ::) ::)
the baker
02-06-2009, 06:00 PM
Well looks like I am throwin my kittens on the BBQ this weekend, flame grilled yum yum.
dave.
02-06-2009, 06:27 PM
Watch out if your going to smoke them. They really go woof on lighting.
Tester63
02-06-2009, 06:29 PM
Ok this might be a little off topic, but.... I hate seeing how many brands and varieties of Cat food there are in the supermarket which have fish in them. Many of the cat food varieties contain "baitfish" (sardines, pilchards etc) which are an essential part of the oceanic food chain. The harvesting and diminishing of fish stocks to feed domesticated animals is wrong. I would really rather we feed the cats to the fish.
Noiseworks
02-06-2009, 06:45 PM
I was bought up to hate cats. No reason inparticular....just hate cats. I think it was because we lived on properties and dogs ruled the proverbial roost, and they had jobs to do. After many years of denying my kids and wife their request to have a pet cat.......I relented. I have to admit that when I got rid of the machismo I really like the little furball. I am totally against people who don't take responsibility for their animals though. Be it a dog,cat, bird etc....owning a pet comes with responsibility.
As far a PETA go.............please give us a break. I rather like the People Eating Tasty Animals tag. Just wish they would grow up and fight for something more righeous.
Just as I can't stand inflicting anymore pain than necessary to a person, nor can I justify causing un-necessary pain to any creature. To me this does not include fishing. Catching and dispatching a fish for food is not cruel. Heck....i even get the kids to stop playing with the fish after they have been killed. Everything in nature deserves respect and to be treated in a respectful manner. Each time I catch a fish I honestly feel privileged and only keep what will be used. I think the issue is one of respect, respect our rights to fish (with dignity) and I will respect your rights (peta) to prevent disrespect to animals.
Noiseworks
Wahoo
02-06-2009, 06:56 PM
Ok this might be a little off topic, but.... I hate seeing how many brands and varieties of Cat food there are in the supermarket which have fish in them. Many of the cat food varieties contain "baitfish" (sardines, pilchards etc) which are an essential part of the oceanic food.
a large cheap can of cat food makes great burly...................
and a small cheap can makes great crab pot bait...................
02-06-2009, 06:58 PM
cats..yuck.
PETA started this campaign sometime last year....not sure how successful it has been for them so far.
I registered on the PETA email last early last year..every time they send me an email I just send them back a yummy steak recipe from somewhere on the net..and the funny thing is..someone actually reads them cos they even sent a reply asking for no more meat recipes..so I sent them another dozen.
PETA sucks.
therapy
02-06-2009, 08:05 PM
cats..yuck.
PETA started this campaign sometime last year....not sure how successful it has been for them so far.
I registered on the PETA email last early last year..every time they send me an email I just send them back a yummy steak recipe from somewhere on the net..and the funny thing is..someone actually reads them cos they even sent a reply asking for no more meat recipes..so I sent them another dozen.
PETA sucks.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D F*%^#ing classic!!!;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Thats gold Pinhead!!
Terry..........
03-06-2009, 08:21 AM
to be perfectly honest, i don't see any threat from these guys. could you ever imagine any government that would ever try to ban fishing?????? it'll never happen because of the precedent it sets, what'll be next ............... the killing of cows will be banned for meat. fish is a basic food for human consumption and the collection of it will never be banned.
rebelone
03-06-2009, 10:10 AM
Love your work PinHead.;D Have to disagree a bit though with PADDLES yes i can see "any Government" baning fishing, just look at what has happened in Qld with all that green zone stuff and here in NSW marine parks have locked up a huge area of the mid north coast and areas further south are all under threat. There was receantly a move to make the entire Sydney Harbour area a marine park.:-/
03-06-2009, 10:18 AM
to be perfectly honest, i don't see any threat from these guys. could you ever imagine any government that would ever try to ban fishing?????? it'll never happen because of the precedent it sets, what'll be next ............... the killing of cows will be banned for meat. fish is a basic food for human consumption and the collection of it will never be banned.
There was once a time where we couldn't imagine any government allowing green zones to go ahead too. Never under estimate the power of the greenie groups and how they influence the unknowing public, government, and also how they use the media.
fRuItCaKe
03-06-2009, 12:35 PM
Speaking of kittens, one of the guys we know wanted to drown a litter of kittens.
So he took them down to the harbour and put them in a hessian bag, weighted it and dropped it in.
Unfortunately the hessian bag untied and all the kittens floated to the surface mewling.
Lots of people around too so he had to scoop them out and leave with them all living.
03-06-2009, 12:42 PM
this'd be taking it a little bit too far i think. marine national parks were always going to be on the agenda, (no matter what the influence/persuasion for them) anyone who didn't think so had their head in the sand.
all i'm getting at is that we (as fishos) shouldn't be wasting our energies defending ourselves from loonies trying to liken fish (that lots of the population enjoy eating) to cuddly little kittens. i just can't see the general population taking this at all seriously, it's not like the movie "babe" stopped everyone eating roast pork is it? there's bigger and more serious issues affecting us than some loonies trying to rename fish and we should be focussing on them instead of these f$%#wits.
03-06-2009, 01:09 PM
The Sea Kittens bit is an ambit claim. It's rubbish. But it DOES raise awareness, and it DOES set a boundary. It's exactly what a Union does when it says it wants a 20% increase. It knows it won't get that, but it's a start...
The Union always gets a raise, doesn't it? These guys know they can't win, but it's part of the picture for them. The Greens love this sort of fringe stuff - it allows their more "mainstream" bullsh!t to get through.
Be very very afraid.
03-06-2009, 02:37 PM
yeah, it's certainly a distraction from the real issues timi.
03-06-2009, 02:53 PM
Paddles..do a google search on "fishing banned"..you will be amazed at the areas and species where bans are in place...PLUS..some Govts have banned C&R fishing and some have made C&R mandatory for some species.
DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE PETA...they are very financial, very powerful and persuasive and have some powerful members...they are just as dangerous as the PEW Charitable Trust.
But that does not take away the fact that they are still a bunch of morons.
The Sea Kittens bit is an ambit claim. It's rubbish. But it DOES raise awareness, and it DOES set a boundary. It's exactly what a Union does when it says it wants a 20% increase. It knows it won't get that, but it's a start...
The Union always gets a raise, doesn't it? These guys know they can't win, but it's aprt of the picture for them. The Greens love this sort of fringe stuff - it allows their more "mainstream" bullsh!t to get through.
Be very very afraid.
Could not agree more! to think it wont affect you with their propaganda is naive, with what is only the start of things to come with morton bay green zones should already have fisho's in this area real worried.
They asked for a marine park from the Tweed to Sydney knowing full well that they won't get it, so now it looks like Evans to Iluka is what they will be getting for starters.
The Anti's be it peta,the greens, national parks association etc, are well organised well funded have the ear of the pollies and like it or not one hell of a force and us fisho's are in their cross hairs.
Cheer's BAT.
Whitto
03-06-2009, 03:47 PM
Sea-Kitten & Chips on a Friday night......it just doesn't sound right.....all that fur.....Blood hell off to the Dentist every week for a Hair cut::););D:o
04-06-2009, 11:09 PM
I am reliably informed by Chris from lightning ridge that cat is very tasty.
He informs me that it is a little tough and stringy and quite fatty.... not unlike mutton. In fact in some circles it is known as greasy mutton, best chopped up and curried.... moggie vindaloo will stand up beside any of the best indian dishes.
Aparantly in the gem fields......when things are tough ( between finds) they will shoot and eat just about anything.......
And remember... and fish in its natural environment will meet a violent death and natural preditors have no understanding of humane treatment.
Any fish I catch and keep will die a relativly quick and peacefull death.
harry_h01
05-06-2009, 08:01 AM
I went on the PETA website yesterday. They have a scripted letter there for all to modify and then sign and it is then forwarded to the relevant areas of the US Government that are responsible for fishing.
The fun part is that you can amend the letter and it will be automatically forwarded. I told the Governement they were doing a bang up job with the fish and to eat more and give the fisherman a break.
So there is a way of using the PETA site against themselves in some respects.
Harry
06-06-2009, 08:46 AM
I went on the PETA website yesterday. They have a scripted letter there for all to modify and then sign and it is then forwarded to the relevant areas of the US Government that are responsible for fishing.
The fun part is that you can amend the letter and it will be automatically forwarded. I told the Governement they were doing a bang up job with the fish and to eat more and give the fisherman a break.
So there is a way of using the PETA site against themselves in some respects.
Harry
Yeah I did that too...
RayDeR
06-06-2009, 09:29 PM
So no one kills catfish or octopussys ?
;D
Ray de R
Pretzil
06-06-2009, 09:46 PM
will not stop me from catching fish, dont really care what they are called.... i do catch and release various fish but if i am gonna keep a table fish ide take care of its flesh.... not sure if ide do the same for a dead cat, i think it would just go straight to the tip, ;)
peta think they can change the world, but there are certain things they shouldnt even try to change, they do some good though i spose
shayned
07-06-2009, 12:57 AM
Regardless of ones like or dislike to cats or any animal it doesn't make it right to be intentionally cruel to them so comments pertaining to using cats as crab bait on an open chat forum does nothing but make us as fishermen and women look bad to others. Just remember that it is irresponsible people who have created feral cat populations by allowing them to either roam free or just be dumped because they no longer wanted the animal. It is not the cat's fault. A cat kept indoors is no threat to wildlife. I would encourage everyone to avoid making comments such as this regardless of how true it might be. As for renaming fish just go for it Peta. I am going to enjoy my sea kitten fillets just as much as my fish fillets.
Great thoughts mate, but at the end of the day when the people on here stop quipping, joking and taking the mickey purely because of some percieved threat of greenies under the bed, is the day I give up coming on to the boards.
I would suggest if people were posting photos of mistreated animals or making serious suggestion of doing so than we have cause for worry. Until then I would rather enjoy the sometimes twisted wit on here as it is, warts and all.
Shayne
07-06-2009, 10:13 AM
Maybe PETA are targetting the wrong group?
http://www.dogpile.com/clickserver/_iceUrlFlag=1?rawURL=http%3A%2F%2Fimg.dailymail.co .uk%2Fimg%2Fgalleries%2Fslaughtercats%2FcatssoldRE X_350x250.jpg&0=&1=0&4=67.63.50.146&5=124.189.192.133&9=3e415a76d13642978661776874e6c901&10=1&11=info.dogpl&13=search&14=372380&15=main-title&17=11&18=10&19=0&20=0&21=11&22=a2b10tYRl9A%3D&23=0&40=nJ3H5Pvf9K87GiiObn%2FS9g%3D%3D&_IceUrl=true
Whitto
07-06-2009, 10:21 AM
He's proberbly just about to prepare a little something for lunch