View Full Version : Amm 5.2 Centre Console Build (Pics)

Live4Fishin
01-06-2009, 06:06 PM
Im one happy man today, just got home now. My new boat should be started this week some time, fingers crossed. Unfortunatly there wasnt alot i could do in the way of photos yet though sorry guys, it was just a big pile of aluminium jigsaw sitting an a pallet:P .
Once it gets onto the Jig and started ill start taking some pics on the progress.

Beau.:)

marty+jojo
01-06-2009, 06:12 PM
Hey Beau,
A very anxious time ahead of you. So what options are you going for? What engine etc?
Looking forward to seeing the progress.
Marty.

01-06-2009, 06:24 PM
AMM boats are sweet Beau ........ & I could imagine you'd be :2vrolijk_08:

Look forward to seeing the new toy

Wahoo
01-06-2009, 06:37 PM
thats great news Beau, will be a sweet ride, pics pics pics

Tim_N
01-06-2009, 06:57 PM
You went a bit bigger than I thought Beau, how come the little larger?
Any ideas on engine yet?

Live4Fishin
01-06-2009, 08:09 PM
Marty,Chris,
Deffinatly a very anxious time ahead, i cant wait... its taken me about 5 years (and 4 boats later) to finally build a boat of this quality, and iv know the guys at AMM for about just as long. From the day i steped foot into their workshop and saw the quality of their work iv always wanted one of their boats:)

The Boat will be built to the following spec,

5mm bottom, (the rest of the boat is 4mm)
160L underfloor fuel tank
Bait board on rear
Kill Tank
Treadplate Deck
tramsom door
Live Well built into transom
Deck Wash.
EvaKool 150L ice box for seat
850mm wide console

The hull will be unpainted. Iv had a few painted boats now, and im done with the scratches and corrosion it causes. Im building this boat expecting it to be knocked around a bit , crab pots etc.

As for the Outboard, im still very undecided its going to be between the the 2009 Suzuki DF90A or a Suzuki 140....;) Mabey even a Yammy 100 Efi if i can find a good one 2nd hand.

Im going to do all the fit out/ engine rig up on the boat myself, so im just planing to do it slowly over time once the hull is all finished.

Im also Having a Belco PFC "C" section trailer built to cart it all around.

Daz, Ill get you some pics as soon as i can
Tim, I did a lot of thinking......, and got the chance to jump into a 4.8 C/C and it just didnt feel big enough, it was very nice but.. for the tiny bit extra i could have the 5.2 and its alot differant boat, bigger beam, higher sides, length,higher floor level, better scupper setup etc it just gave me a better fealing overall, and i can still use a 90Hp if i wish, which i was going to put on the 4.8m. Ill need a few Volunteers to help me blood the boat when its all up and running:P

Wahoo
01-06-2009, 08:26 PM
Beau, this is MHO, the AMM are a great boat, also on the heavy side, dont puss foot around with a 90HP mate, you will kick yourself down the track, take my word on it..
that 140zook that was on here 4 sale would go sweet on that boat

Live4Fishin
01-06-2009, 08:56 PM
Daz Yea that 140 would have been sweet its been sold though:( its was a good buy too.... i would have had to do a bit of work to it though as it was an XL shaft i just need a L 20".
I deffinatly take your word for it ay, i know you've been down that track before, with your old boat. I think i will end up going the 140 though, the new 90 is a beautiful looking O/B though8-)

Tim_N
02-06-2009, 12:00 PM
Great advice Daz,
Yes Beau, go with more hp than less. I wish I had a few more ponies.

Wahoo
02-06-2009, 12:55 PM
Beau, are you going to a new motor or a low hr near new??

Live4Fishin
02-06-2009, 03:48 PM
Daz id say new or near new low hr, will even consider 2nd hand if something good comes up.

Wahoo
12-06-2009, 09:33 PM
Beau, any updates on your boat?

Live4Fishin
14-06-2009, 11:29 AM
Daz,

I was down at the workshop on Wednesday arv late, all of the boys had gone home but they had just tacked the side sheets on. Most of the frame work under the floor has been completed, its had to tell though, its sitting on the jig upside down.
I have got pics i just have to work out how to get them on there, every time i try and upload it fails. must be my new digital camera :-/ .

I will be a ble to get to the workshop a few times this week hopefully and get some good pics when its turned over off the jig.

cheers beau.:)

Wahoo
14-06-2009, 12:42 PM
here ya go mate, i'll see how the first pic comes out

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/beau5.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/beau4.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/beau3.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/beau2.jpg

Wahoo
14-06-2009, 12:46 PM
looking good Beau, it really wont take long now, maybe for you it might..lol...
should look sweet when done

Live4Fishin
14-06-2009, 12:50 PM
Cheers for uploading the pics for me Daz, much appreciated. Bart did say the end of August, but it may be a little quicker:) . Thanks again mate.

suzygs1000
15-06-2009, 12:10 PM
Looks great, Daz..

I would, however, look at having the transom altered to take the 25" motors. It would not be that big a deal for them, and having that extra 5" above the water really helps look after the motor.

There is also probably a better range of XL second hand four strokes available.

Still, no matter what, it looks like a gem of a boat!

Fishbait
15-06-2009, 07:00 PM
It'll be a beautiful boat. My friend just had one built by AMM and delivered prob 2 mths ago now - very happy with it. Keep the photos coming each week. Darren

Live4Fishin
17-06-2009, 01:03 PM
Some pics from today, floor going down.

Beau.

DazSamFishing
17-06-2009, 02:59 PM
Will be a great boat mate. Can't wait to see the end result.
daz

Wahoo
17-06-2009, 07:49 PM
good stuff Beau, looks to be a huge 5.2... and they seem to be motoring along

Live4Fishin
25-06-2009, 12:08 AM
transome build up started, fuel tank being made.

Beau :) .

Matt_F
25-06-2009, 12:58 AM
Hi Beau,

Great pics. What dead rise is that at the transom? And how wide is it at it's widest point. I like the AMM but can't find and details on their website for boats in the 5-5.2m range.

Thanks,
Matt.

Live4Fishin
25-06-2009, 06:05 PM
G'day Matt, the dead rise is 20deg, the spec on the width is 2.25. All the hull measurements change a tiny bit from one boat to the next, it just depends how their pulled together. Theirs not alot of info anywhere on the net about AMM boats, the website is more dedicated to their bigger rigs. your just best to go and see the guys in person, they have all the info you will need.

Beau

25-06-2009, 06:34 PM
Beau,

Looks like a great rig so far, no doubt you will be very happy with it. If you don't mind answering, how much will it cost you once completed? (hull only)

chop duster
25-06-2009, 07:34 PM
Beau,
you sure its 20 deg? not 12?
pics must be really deceiving if it is....

Wahoo
25-06-2009, 07:56 PM
Very nice Beau, These guys are plowing along, Still looks huge

Live4Fishin
25-06-2009, 10:19 PM
Scott, iv sent you a PM, chop duster its 20deg deadrise for sure, my pics are not very good.

Matt, here is a link to a bit of info from a 5.2m they did late last year, fairly similar to how mine will be finished off.

http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/pdf/marine/power_reports/AMM_5.2m_Centre_Console_F100.pdf

Daz, its screaming along mate, im very happy with it and its deffinatly a good size im very happy i went the 5.2 now. heaps of room in it ,plenty of beam and nice and deep, the pics dont really do justice. Ill have to have a talk to you soon about the garmin plotters, possibly looking at a 4010 to got with my furuno 620.

Beau.

Matt_F
25-06-2009, 11:05 PM
Thanks Beau. Yeah I wouldn't have picked that as 20 degrees either.

Thanks for the link. They are great fuel figures.

Live4Fishin
05-07-2009, 02:33 PM
was down at the workshop on thursday, and took a few more pics. its all coming along very well. The boys are saying the boat will be finished by the end of next week all going well ;D . Ill just be waiting on the trailer then which should be started sometime this week.

Iv gotta start looking at all my electronics now, just sold off my old garmin 172c to make way for a newer unit probably a Garmin 4010..

even considering selling my furuno 620 to make way for the bigger 585, now that i will have the dash space to accomodate it all.

Beau.

Wahoo
05-07-2009, 05:00 PM
Taking shape nicely Beau, are the electronics going to be flush mounted?

Live4Fishin
05-07-2009, 05:10 PM
Daz, yea im going to flush mount the electronics im having the console made with a 250mm high face that i can put the plotter and sounder into, i can just squeeze the 4010 and 585 on there 620 will go in easy if i decide to just keep it.

beau.

Live4Fishin
18-07-2009, 09:54 PM
The boat has been pretty much finished off this week apart from a good acid wash. Just waiting on the trailer now, im hoping that gets finished off in the next week or two.

I havnt taken any photo's the last few trips to the workshop i keep leaving the camera behind. Ill get some more soon.

I managed to get my hands on an immaculate F115HP Yamaha last week 2nd hand with only 42hrs on the clock, its in virtually brand new condition. got it at a great price too8-)

So all going well, im hoping to have it all back home in a few weeks time to start fitting it out.

Wahoo
19-07-2009, 06:44 PM
Good stuff Beau, few more pics when you can would be good, Whats the hold up with the trailer?

Fishbait
19-07-2009, 08:09 PM
Thats excellent - it's been built pretty quick hey! The photos have been great - can't wait to see the finished product. Cheers, Darren

Live4Fishin
24-07-2009, 05:27 AM
Darren - the build has been super fast only 6-7weeks in total but thats no fitting out though. the guys were on to it, they were doing mine and a 6.5m at the same time also. Ill post up some good photos in the next few weeks, just waiting to get it all home and get the O/B bolted on etc.

Daz - The trailer is now well under way so it should be finished any time soon.

I'd like to learn how to post up some high quality pics on here;)

Beau.

Tim_N
24-07-2009, 08:35 AM
Getting close now Beau, great to hear you got the Yammie, you'll be stoked.

nickstock
24-07-2009, 11:39 AM
[quote=Live4Fishin;1047088]
I managed to get my hands on an immaculate F115HP Yamaha last week 2nd hand with only 42hrs on the clock, its in virtually brand new condition. got it at a great price too8-)
quote]

Hi mate,

You didn't pick the 115 up from Maroochydore did you?

Nick

Live4Fishin
24-07-2009, 12:36 PM
Tim- very happy I got the yammy, i loved my 60hp efi on my top ender, it never gave me any trouble with 500hrs on it... i know youve clocked up double that on your 50;)

Nick- The motor actually came from out west near gatton, was owned by an older gent.

beau.

nickstock
24-07-2009, 01:36 PM
Lucky!:P
I was outbid on an as new 115 4 stroke Yamaha that was on ebay 3 weeks ago and I thought it may have been you!

Nick

Wahoo
16-08-2009, 09:00 AM
how is the boat coming along Beau?

Live4Fishin
30-08-2009, 08:42 PM
Daz, sorry mate iv been out of action for 2 weeks my computer decided to pack it in, all sorted out today finally 8-) . Iv attached a few pics of the boat, i havnt started on any fit out yet iv been too busy the last few weeks, the boats just been sitting in the yard. I should start getting some free time as of this week which will be good;D. Iv been buying a few bits and pieces- batteries, switches, bilge pumps, lights etc.

The boats still a got a bit to go.... planing to put a T top on it now and considering painting the sides and rear..

Beau.

Live4Fishin
30-08-2009, 08:52 PM
pics.............

Live4Fishin
30-08-2009, 08:56 PM
a few more..

nickstock
30-08-2009, 08:59 PM
Bloody fantastic rig mate.

I cant wait to see the final fit-out!

Nick

Live4Fishin
30-08-2009, 09:13 PM
Cheers Nick,

Im completely satisfied with how the boat has turned out, I cant wait to get it all finished off and out on the water.

The pics dont really do it justice in regards to the measurements at all, i ran the tape over it all yesterday aswell for anyone interested in specs:

Total length from tip to tail is 5400mm
Beam is 2280mm
Internal side height is 630mm
External side height is 870mm
Console is 855mm W 1100mm H

Beau:)

Buddy Mania
30-08-2009, 09:25 PM
You won't need that rod holder in your rock wall now that you've got your boat ;)

Nice rig mate.

Matt_F
31-08-2009, 02:00 PM
Very nice.

Interseted to know the volume of the everkool esky, just to get an idea of scale.

This is deffinitely the size of my next upgrade.

Live4Fishin
31-08-2009, 04:22 PM
G'day Matt, its 140L
Beau

Wahoo
31-08-2009, 05:26 PM
Very nice Beau, sure has the looks, Pat is great to deal with, give him a buzz

Live4Fishin
22-12-2009, 08:34 PM
Finally, iv had a little bit of time the past few weeks to start getting some work done on the console for the boat. My furuno 585, Garmin 4010 plotter and Icom only arrived the other week. Still have to do a few cutouts yet. Im going to put in some time over the christmas holidays and get a heap more done.Will get the targa top made up for the console in the new year, then paint, wire it up etc...
;)

nickstock
23-12-2009, 07:55 AM
Finally, iv had a little bit of time the past few weeks to start getting some work done on the console for the boat. My furuno 585, Garmin 4010 plotter and Icom only arrived the other week. Still have to do a few cutouts yet. Im going to put in some time over the christmas holidays and get a heap more done.Will get the targa top made up for the console in the new year, then paint, wire it up etc...
;)

Great looking rig mate,

That is the electronics package that I wanted but I run out of cashola for the time being.

Daz also used to run a 585 and a 4012 in his last boat and seeing his in action had me sold!

Can't wait to see some pics of them in action!

Nick

Live4Fishin
02-01-2010, 03:56 PM
Have finished cutting in the dash today, all items are finally in. Will get all the nuts and bolts next week, carry out electrical pre wire, then back to the workshop in the next few weeks for some more welding, brackets(for electronics, bus bars etc, stiffeners under dash face, as iv cut alot of holes;), targa top frame etc.

Beau

oddbudman
02-01-2010, 05:06 PM
Love the rig Live4Fishin. Keep the pics coming.

oddbudman

Wahoo
03-01-2010, 05:13 AM
console looks great set up like that mate

Jono_SS
03-01-2010, 08:54 AM
Beau.Just wondering what made you put a foil on the donk straight away?cheers.Jono.

Spin
03-01-2010, 10:41 AM
Do they acid bath the alloy to get the shine off at the end or
something?

03-01-2010, 04:46 PM
Have finished cutting in the dash today, all items are finally in. Will get all the nuts and bolts next week, carry out electrical pre wire, then back to the workshop in the next few weeks for some more welding, brackets(for electronics, bus bars etc, stiffeners under dash face, as iv cut alot of holes;), targa top frame etc.

Beau

Beau forget putting the centre consol in the boat, put it in the lounge room it looks the goods mate welldone;D

Live4Fishin
03-01-2010, 05:46 PM
Jono- the foil came with the engine, i got it 2nd hand with 42hrs on it. The foil is off now anyway, wont be using it. I got my hands on a brand new lower unit assy sitting in my garage, will do the swap over when i get time...(gets rid of the ugly holes). I will re-prop the o/b too with a solas prop when i get it all up and running.

Spin - Yes, the boat has been Acid washed, gets rid of all the shit of the alloy, its great stuff. I use it at home too, I use Chemtech Blitz Alloy cleaner, not as strong as the stuff at the workshop though.

Justin, haha cheers mate, dont think the mrs would let me bring it into the house, shes sick of the sight of boat parts ;D.