View Full Version : Tailor Beach Fishing After the Rain

Robsie
22-05-2009, 12:25 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm wondering what the effect of all this rain is on the beach fishing down teh gold coast way on Tailor? Will it be pointless chasing them until the water clears up?

Slider
22-05-2009, 01:50 PM
Rob, tailor tend to congregate at the mouths of rivers in flood to prey on gar, mullet, prawns etc that are being flushed out. In my experience the dirtier the water the better.

Lindsay

wyndal
22-05-2009, 05:07 PM
yea mate wait for the silt line to appear on the incoming and cast into that its where all the bait usually is!! and the tailor arent far under

ashh
22-05-2009, 08:02 PM
ahh one problem !! the beaches have gone!! :(
seriously, check the beach conditions HERE (http://www.coastalwatch.com/camera/cameras_large.aspx?cam=1100&state=QLD&t=6:39:47%20PM) before heading down ;)

22-05-2009, 08:23 PM
Beaches have gone down this way too! (Coffs Harbour)
Not as bad as the big storm of May 1974, though.
Now that really removed some sand!
Tailor, what are they? Pretty inconsistant so far in this area, this time last year they were the best I have seen here in 30 years, my how things change!
I'm envious of my northern neighbours in this instance!
Cheers and good fishing Rob.

bondy99
22-05-2009, 09:58 PM
G'day people
I noticed a few comments on here about tailor and agree about themn liking dirty water. However, what I would like to know if the sand pumping jetty is open as normal to cast outr for tailor.

Cant find its phone number but if anyone is in the know can they post, also would it be worthwhile going down on Sunday evening?

deepfried
22-05-2009, 11:42 PM
I dont like the really dirty water myself. A bit of colour ok but the really dirty water coming out of the Richmond river atm no way, you would have to hit them in the head for them to find the lure. I prefer the line where clean / cleanish water meets the dirty water like wyndal said. Have had much better luck with metals in those conditions. Away from the walls a bit of colour is fine and even better with a chopped up surf.

bondy99
23-05-2009, 10:45 PM
I reckon it would be good to fish for tailor in about 4 days on the gold coast seaway and sand pumping jetty if the rain stops and we have some high tide flushes.

Robsie
25-05-2009, 11:38 AM
Thank's for the info guys.
I think I might give it a crack next weekend. Hopefully the weather is a bit more fishing friendly by then !
Even if nothing is caught, it will be interesting to see the damage from the storm!

I'm sure if nothing else, the cartfish will be out in force !!

bondy99
25-05-2009, 07:03 PM
No worries, I'm going down on Thursday arvo and staying until Friday morning. I should be able to get some if they are around, and bait lasts.

I've attached a pic of 3 of the 15 tailor I caught about 2 weeks ago. Sunday 9th May 09. From the sand pumpimg jetty at Southport.