View Full Version : Fiji Popping Part 2 - 4-8th May
Pistol_P
08-05-2009, 11:12 PM
Been dying to get back over to Fiji and chase some big GT's so over the last week thats exactly what I did.:)
I have been lucky to make contact with an extremely knowledgeable GT fisherman over in Suva and became good friends with him during my time over there.He has some pretty incredible catches out of his local waters with his biggest fish being a staggering 72kg.....:o
Very,Very cheap going out with a local too.;)
My trip was a bit weather affected and we fished in everything from 30 knot winds to torrential rain and although the numbers of fish were down I returned very happy considering the small amount of time I was there.
Out of the 3 days set aside for fishing we only managed to fish two and got the same result on each day.
On the first day we stayed relatively close to Suva and popped some grounds that work on various stages of the tide.After a slow start I managed a very healthy red bass that fought like a demon.
Later in the session I got a massive hit and hook up, followed by a brutal fight that had me near buckled over.The area we were on was very shallow reef and if you give them an inch here its all over.Gradually gained the upper hand and landed my first GT of the trip which we put at about 25-26kg.....Fealt every bit of it too.The rain and bad weather moved in on us and we copped some serious rain and wind and we finished up around 4.00pm
The second day we did a two hour run through the river and emerged on the other side in nice conditions.
Using a stick bait I managed another red bass and missed a couple of other fish using single hooks on the stickbait.....:-/ ....My thoughts on singles is you definetly have a lower hook up rate.Good once they are in but getting them in can be the problem.
Back to a popper (with trebles) and soon enough I was wrestling another beast.
This fish fought rediculously hard also and I had a breather after.
That was the last of the action but we did pop the back of the surf break which was great fun.Very hard to hold balance popping over the rolling swells and we gave up as the rain hammered us again.
Some pics from the trip.
http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Suva-Fiji06-05-09012.jpg
http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Suva-Fiji06-05-09010.jpg
http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Suva-Fiji06-05-09013.jpg
http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Suva-Fiji07-05-09003.jpg
http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Suva-Fiji07-05-09006.jpg
http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/Suva-Fiji07-05-09008.jpg
childers
08-05-2009, 11:28 PM
Awsome trip pete,
mate you have it down pat for the best trophy photos anywhere,
what tackle and outfits you use,
cheers mick
09-05-2009, 06:12 AM
Awesome fish!
All good in Fiji with the political guff going on? I had heard it wasn't affecting Tourism, is that true?
Pistol_P
09-05-2009, 07:35 AM
Mick...Cheers Mate.....I used a the Shimano GT special rod with a Daiwa Dogfight reel.....100lb braid.
Timiboy.....Fiji is as safe as it ever gets.
I was in Suva so if any trouble was happening I would have been right in the middle of it....There is nothing going on at all and the people are always friendly and helpfull.
They have banned the media coverage because they dont report the truth and have you thinking there are troops walking the streets with guns etc.
Its simply NOT the case.
BLOOEY
09-05-2009, 07:36 AM
Way to go Pete, that looks like so much fun. That 2nd last photo is an absolute cracker.8-) Ben
tailorboi99
09-05-2009, 08:10 AM
Awesome job Pete, did you use any of those Poppers you recently bought?
Tom
ON-THE-CHEW
09-05-2009, 08:20 AM
Awesome trip pete, looks like you are becoming a bit of a local your self. Some awesome fish especially for such a short trip.
Benno1
09-05-2009, 08:54 AM
awesome trip Pete!!!...do you know if the red bass over there have cigutera???...those GT's are amazing!!!...your arms would a little longer i gather :P...thanks very much for the piccies and report :D
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
deepfried
09-05-2009, 10:23 AM
Pete if i could get onto half the fish you do i would be very happy. Top photos and fish. Bit of shame about the weather but it didnt seem to worry you too much. Well done and thanks for the report.
Keechie
09-05-2009, 10:31 AM
Awesome work they are some great gt's, i can't wait to get back over there myself and nail a tonne more off the surface!
Hi Pete
I'm thinking of changing to a banana boat and was hoping you would pass on your thoughts.
intrested in the boat you were fishing from any details. what was your impression of it to fish from. how did the conditions effect it and your fishing experience.
BigE
Pistol_P
09-05-2009, 11:50 AM
Hi Pete
I'm thinking of changing to a banana boat and was hoping you would pass on your thoughts.
intrested in the boat you were fishing from any details. what was your impression of it to fish from. how did the conditions effect it and your fishing experience.
BigE
Big E,
The fijians use Fibreglass longboats that range in length.
They are a very smooth ride.
They handle the chop very well and are great for lure throwing as there is heaps of room.
richos
09-05-2009, 12:10 PM
Nice fish Pete! well done
What poppers were you using mate?
Red Bull
09-05-2009, 12:14 PM
Hi Pete, mate super work on those Fijian beasts......some top fishing to be had there by the looks. Awesome images too!
You still happy with the performance of the GT special, I trust?
Thanks for sharing mate
Angus
PS. Will PM you about the art;)
09-05-2009, 12:40 PM
Pete, awesome photo's and good work on those monsters. I am taking the missus over in July for exactly the same thing and currently my best reel is a 4000 Certate Hyper Custom on a Rapala light jig rod. Do I have any hope on these beasts or is a Saltiga needed? If you could give a list of all the gear you take on one of these trips and the tackle/ knots/leaders you use that would be great?
I plan on making this a special trip so don't want to get there and find out ive taken the wrong gear!
Jackinthebox
09-05-2009, 02:06 PM
Great fish Pete,
looks like typical Suva weather.
Mrs Benno, the last red bass I caught there was eaten very enthusiastically by one of the local guys who wasn't concerned about ciguatera.
scuttlebutt
09-05-2009, 02:26 PM
Nice one Pete, yeah throw those singles away, more trouble than they're worth IMO.
frankgrimes
09-05-2009, 02:51 PM
Way to go Pete, that looks like so much fun. That 2nd last photo is an absolute cracker.8-) Ben
Agreed! Magazine worthy.
Cracker GT's Pete...sensational!
WestOzDesertFisher
09-05-2009, 03:02 PM
Some awesome fish in some not so awesome conditions. Great work Pete. They are some ripper pics! The 72kg model you mentioned - what was it?
wombie
09-05-2009, 03:04 PM
Great report and photos Pete, keep em coming.
cheers Paul
RAT-KING
09-05-2009, 06:24 PM
Well done Pete sounds like an amazing trip!!
Awesome photos!!!
Hows ur back? 100lb braid and huge GTs thats crazy!!!;D ;D
Gator
09-05-2009, 06:35 PM
Pistol P,
Can you recommend any guides or charter operaters over there for this sort of fishing?
Pistol_P
09-05-2009, 07:30 PM
Pistol P,
Can you recommend any guides or charter operaters over there for this sort of fishing?
Adrain Watt on Kadavu Island would be a good choice over in fiji.
I think the name of his operation is 'Bite me'.
shaun_s
09-05-2009, 07:49 PM
Cracking fish and photos pete. would be hard getting excited at the little GT's we get at noosa after catching fish like that!
the gecko
09-05-2009, 10:31 PM
what sorta leader was that? 100lb?
doesnt stuff the action?
Pistol_P
10-05-2009, 08:51 AM
what sorta leader was that? 100lb?
doesnt stuff the action?
Hi Andrew,
100lb twisted leader....No doesnt affect the action of the poppers at all.
breamnut
10-05-2009, 09:01 AM
awsome fish mate
abbot_86
10-05-2009, 09:27 AM
top work again noosa pete. maybe next trip to Tonga to get one landbased.?? bring on the bluefin for now i rekon!!!!
10-05-2009, 10:16 AM
Pete, some of those pics look like the entrance to suva harbor (where the reef 3ft drops to 40ft then to 1400ft) I have hand fed 10kg knobs on that 40ft ledge, wonderfull place.
Did you lose many to the reef??
ffejsmada
10-05-2009, 11:23 AM
Beautiful fish Pete.
Photos are top notch.
Well done.
Frank OO
10-05-2009, 04:27 PM
Hi Pete,
I was impressed the last time you were in Fiji but this trip takes the cake.
Great photos Pete. The experience must have been fantastic.
Thank you for the Post.
Frank OO
Pistol_P
10-05-2009, 05:20 PM
Spaniard_King ..... Yes mate the first two pictures are at a spot very close to Suva harbour.To be honest there are good spots all around there.Its just about picking where fish will be on a certain tide.I learnt quite alot this trip.
FrankOO...thanks mate.It was another great trip.
The last one was better in numbers of fish but this one the fish were better quality.
stessco
10-05-2009, 05:47 PM
some great fish there pete they would have pulled hard
Pistol_P
10-05-2009, 08:44 PM
Pete, awesome photo's and good work on those monsters. I am taking the missus over in July for exactly the same thing and currently my best reel is a 4000 Certate Hyper Custom on a Rapala light jig rod. Do I have any hope on these beasts or is a Saltiga needed? If you could give a list of all the gear you take on one of these trips and the tackle/ knots/leaders you use that would be great?
I plan on making this a special trip so don't want to get there and find out ive taken the wrong gear!
Sorry Chris I missed your post.
The 4000 Certate just wont do nor will the rapala rod.
Anything less than 80lb braid is suicide in Fiji.
Of course sometimes you can be lucky and land fish on 50lb but you may get 1 in 10 and its a very costly procedure if using good poppers.
Stella and Saltiga are the way to go, 80lb braid minimum with 100lb braid being my preference.The guys I fished with over there have been blown away on 130lb braid by fish they cannot stop.
A reasonably priced rod is the Shimano GT special which is great value and capable of fishing 100lb braid quite easily.
Bimini double in the braid connected to a 100lb twisted leader.
The gear is expensive BUT if you get onto some GT's you will thank yourself for outlaying the money and having the right gear.
Quality poppers are also quite expensive and they end up getting to a stage that is rediculously expensive.
Good quality hooks and split rings are also very expensive.
LostNearBribie
11-05-2009, 01:41 PM
You are on fire (again!) Pete.
Well done.
My good mate is heading over for his second trip in July.
I'm very, very jealous.
chief
11-05-2009, 04:39 PM
brilliant Pete, forgive me if I missed it in any earlier posts but 100 bl braid, how long do you have to fight these beasties with the drag pressures you would be using mate, by the end of the session you must be shagged. Thanks for some great pics and a fantastic report. Cheers
Pistol_P
11-05-2009, 05:42 PM
brilliant Pete, forgive me if I missed it in any earlier posts but 100 bl braid, how long do you have to fight these beasties with the drag pressures you would be using mate, by the end of the session you must be shagged. Thanks for some great pics and a fantastic report. Cheers
Hey chief,
The fights arent that long but are just vicious,brutal tug of wars.
As you know they are always on the reef edges or on bommies etc and if you let em get their heads down or get with the current you are a goner..!!
I had about 12kg of drag on my reel and they still pulled line.
You are absolutely stuffed after a days fishing.....Casting heavy poppers and fighting them is hard stuff.....I had quite a few rests....I will admit...;D
Great stuff Pete .... certainly nice GTs & Bass - 8-)
breamnut
11-05-2009, 07:00 PM
i certainly feel sorry for you pete having to go catch all these hard fighting,back busting fish in exotic locations.
would my javis walker waterrat 6500 and 10ft rod be ok for that sort of fishing:D
wat sort of braid are you running? brand wise
Pistol_P
11-05-2009, 07:28 PM
i certainly feel sorry for you pete having to go catch all these hard fighting,back busting fish in exotic locations.
would my javis walker waterrat 6500 and 10ft rod be ok for that sort of fishing:D
wat sort of braid are you running? brand wise
Shakespeare Durango combos work very well.......;D ;D
Tuffline for me on the braid.......great line it is.
11-05-2009, 07:54 PM
awesome pete quality fish make a trip like that very memorable something we all would love to do.
cheers justin
Mr Walker
12-05-2009, 05:53 PM
You lucky barstad. Love the colour of those red menaces.
Mr Walker
nuggstar
12-05-2009, 07:30 PM
unreal fish pete
jackextracter
12-05-2009, 08:23 PM
good fish pete im heading up north around cairns in close, to target some gt in a month or so looking forward to it.cheers
Spot82
12-05-2009, 08:47 PM
Awesome Report, Thanks for sharing!!! Well done on the pics too they definitely wouldn't look out of place in a magazine
Anthony
12-05-2009, 09:06 PM
Thanks Pete looks like a big shopping trip before I go it is. Roughly how many poppers lures do you take over with you?
12-05-2009, 09:36 PM
Oh I forgot, how does the Shiman GT special compare to the Jigwrex S526? I haven't tried pricing either rod yet anyone know what either is worth?
Pistol_P
12-05-2009, 10:45 PM
Chris.....I took way to many poppers....;D .....But you just never know.
You may lose quite a few...you just dont know.
The jigwrex is not a rod for casting poppers......The GT special is 8ft in length and you dont want anything under that unless you are a very good caster.