View Full Version : wanting ur 2 cents abouts suzuki sierra
nufin_flash
08-05-2009, 04:13 PM
Hi guys
looking at getting a 4wd but dont want anything to big and bulky, will mainly be for beach work and light offroad stuff.
was thinking of getting the sierra as its small and light chances of being bogged not as great and i have heard some good things about their 4wd ability
can anyone and everyone throw their 2cents in on this one
maztez
08-05-2009, 04:58 PM
Mate ,I don't know about the current range and their capabilities but ,I owned one in 1984 brand new 2 door and their off-road ability was phenominal . The only reason we got rid of it was it was too small for a growing family .
I reckon for there size , they are great .
Sierras were replaced by the Jimny.
Driven correctly either of them will go just as far if not further than ANY production 4wd.
Small, wind affected somewhat gutless on the highway.
If looking for an older one look for the widetrack coil sprung sierra - but be prepared for a search 'cause they're a sought after model.
mylestom
08-05-2009, 05:21 PM
Had a 1992 model and it was extremely capable offroad, good on beach, but the only drawback were topspeed and distance between front and back wheel, bit bumpy on road.
But a great little piece of machinery, shop around sold mine last year with only 124,000 klms in good condition for $3,500. Just shop around and you should get one for a good price.
Trev
snasman
08-05-2009, 05:36 PM
There a great little 4b my X wife got mine and I miss it a lot more than her.
flybloke
08-05-2009, 06:08 PM
I love the little things, I covet every one I see on the road::)
My Dad had one back in the eighty's, I think it was a 75 model with a little two stroke engine. Man that was scary in the slightest side wind:o
If I was not a nuclear family Id run out and buy a new Jimny tomorrow.
Serch YouTube to see what they can do!
Also, Ive never seen so many Sierras and Jimnys then what there are at South West Rocks!
Every second bloody house has one out the front;)
Whilst holidaying there last, The kids where playing spot the suzy. It was like : They're s one, They,re s one, They,re s another one, And another one.
shrunken pojie
08-05-2009, 08:51 PM
I had one of the coilies. '97 model. Great little trucks. Never bogged on the beach even with highway terrains at full pressure. Did the first and third crossings at northshore in 2wd many times. As for the dirt and mud. She climbed hills and crossed ditches like no other but got hung up on anything resembling a log accross the path. Didn't like mud that much either. Was a little low. Ended up in the other lane after a gust of cross wind a couple of times as well.
I am still considering getting another one and modifying it.
Great little beasts, but definatally not a long distance commuter.
My 2 cents.
09-05-2009, 04:35 AM
I had a '95 model Holden Drover ute (suzi sierra rebadge) i drove 750 000km in. I regret selling it these days. Tough little trucks that easily crawl over very tough and unforgiving ground. Downside of them is they fall into every pothole on the road like a rock compared to a vehicle with a lot more weight.
I would love to find another one and do a donk swap in them to a diamler 2.8V.
09-05-2009, 07:46 AM
The Jimny's are made in India aren't they??
There were some problems with engines if I remember right.
But the the earlier ones were unstoppable with a bit of weight in the back.
We had 4X4 F100 and 250's, Landcruisers, Hylux's and Susi's at work and the pole inspectors wanted the Susi's. They didn't have to worry as much on where they went.
Be careful on the highway as they can be, literally, blown over.
I had a mate with an earlier model with a 1200cc Corolla motor in it. Went a lot better then the standard :)
nufin_flash
09-05-2009, 09:32 AM
thanks guys , all this info has pretty much confirmed my thoughts in regards to them, now to convince the other half and away we go
kokomo
09-05-2009, 09:58 AM
they are great... only downside is they dont fit as well in deep well used tracks.. other than that i would happily claim they will out preform any production car
Benny01
09-05-2009, 01:08 PM
as said by everyone they ar great. i owned one for a bit. they REALLY suck on the highway. you have to wring its neck to keep up.
they are very easy to work on and are awesome to park. i could just about do a full turn in my front yead.
engines are pretty tough but leak oil easily which is just as easily fixed.