View Full Version : Feed of Tailor on poppers

unka
07-05-2009, 10:16 PM
Went down to spot x at Victoria Point ( land based)late this arvo armed with spinning reel spooled with 2 kilo japanese flurocarbon and a floating3 inch popper.
First half hour was a bit slow with a lot of casts and only a couple of chasers,, but as five o clock approached the popper got smashed and after what seemed a very long struggle on the light line i got my first tailer to the net. I was really stoked and it was great to see the fish hit the popper on the surface.

Next cast and i was hit on the second bloop ,,, another hookup,,,,,,,, the fish werent massive all around 36 - 38 cm but a real buzz on the light line

I caught four fish in six casts :Dand then on the seventh cast got nailed by what must have been a big green back,,:o i struggled to turn the fish back to me as the line peeled from the tiny shimano reel ( which i usually use to catch whiting on poppers) the little reel screamed, the line all disapeared and so did my favorite popper, I was left standing on the shore with a sorry look on my face and no line on my reel.Not to be beaten i raced back to the car went home grabbed another rod and some pillies and went back , only got two more tailor but managed to snare two sand crabs so all in all a top thursday night and a feed of tailor for brekky

vertico
07-05-2009, 10:22 PM
awesome mate sounds like some great fun while the wind is screwed offshore.
sean

Crisp Bee
08-05-2009, 10:40 AM
what an awesome evening. i love fresh tailor, hope to get out amoung them this weekend

geeb
08-05-2009, 11:10 AM
Great post - thanks for the info - I used to catch Tailor at Viccie Point with my brother - but from his boat - we had some great times there. I also had a good haul at Raby Bay last night....might post them if the camers works....interesting too you catching them on poppers......any chance if I pm you that you would give me some info on that.......cheers............Geeb

wombie
08-05-2009, 11:12 AM
nothing like a feed of fresh tailor well done mate

cheers Paul

ddobson
08-05-2009, 11:36 AM
Look like good sized fish for light line. You did good to land them toothy critters. So they are down there eh. I have been waiting for them at welly again. Cheers

unka
08-05-2009, 11:41 AM
Thanx for your replies fellas , it is very encouraging , there were plenty of fish there last night but they came and went very quickly.

Geeb i will send you some info on the poppers, just using small river to sea style floating ones,,,,,,,, the tailer luv em and it is great to see them smash em up

bondy99
09-05-2009, 10:22 PM
Thanx for your replies fellas , it is very encouraging , there were plenty of fish there last night but they came and went very quickly.

Geeb i will send you some info on the poppers, just using small river to sea style floating ones,,,,,,,, the tailer luv em and it is great to see them smash em up

I'd love to catch some this year when they are around.

Can you send me some info on the poppers you are using?

Cheers, Peter

unka
10-05-2009, 07:32 AM
yeah i am using customised rattlin chug bugs but i do also make my own out of hardwood