View Full Version : Any dual cab ute that can tow 3.5t??
07-05-2009, 09:07 PM
My mind has started drifting to the 7m boat as opposed to the 6m version I was initially interested in. Only problem is that the d40 navara wont pull it legally. I really dont want a chev or an F truck (ie dont want a 6l engine!) and dont want a wagon. Is there any other dual cab options? I cant find one..
nope...except the F truck
07-05-2009, 09:35 PM
nope...except the F truck
Thats what i though. Looks like if I go down that path the wagon is the only option...
upstart
07-05-2009, 09:36 PM
Could you get a converted wagon?
shrunken pojie
07-05-2009, 09:50 PM
The Land Rover Defender 130 will tow 3.5t legally or so the website says!
White Pointer
07-05-2009, 10:08 PM
The Land Rover Defender 130 will tow 3.5t legally or so the website says!
True. The LR 130 will tow it - but it will be S--L--O--W and the ergonomics are crap unless you are as deformed as it is.
3.5T for a 7 meter boat seems heavy. What is it?
White Pointer
08-05-2009, 12:18 PM
3.2t is the actual weight, or at least thats what the salesman told me. Tournament 2250 is the boat. Probably cheaper to put it in rack storage than buy a new car..
White Pointer
08-05-2009, 09:55 PM
3.2t is the actual weight, or at least thats what the salesman told me. Tournament 2250 is the boat. Probably cheaper to put it in rack storage than buy a new car..
There's a lot length and power options between 6M and 7M and your just have to lose 250Kg and tow vehicle options open up big time.
Let us know.
White Pointer
09-05-2009, 06:19 AM
You could try one of these puppies...
3.5t, no wuckin' furries! On a petrol GXL a shade over $100k, I reckon...
But you could also get similar done on a 100 series, or even (cough) a patrol?
backlash08
11-05-2009, 01:30 PM
they are the 4, I have "been there, done that"
F truck, Chev, rover or convert cruiser, can always go for a Canter style duel cab but would rather the rover (and that is saying something)
the other option which I thought about but did not progress was a 5th wheel gooseneck trailer option, you then look at GVM as opposed to std tow capacity and it would work well if one could be bothered, I figure the wagon option and put up with it - cheers - Craig
backlash08
11-05-2009, 04:09 PM
You could try one of these puppies...
3.5t, no wuckin' furries! On a petrol GXL a shade over $100k, I reckon...
But you could also get similar done on a 100 series, or even (cough) a patrol?
they are nice Tim, are these guys on Bris town south side somewhere?
Wahoo
11-05-2009, 04:33 PM
no way i would spend 100k on a lousy toyota, what a damn joke
have a look at a few US 4bs, much better than what we have over here, $ is getting good and 3k to get it here, i think the chevs towing rate is 4.5t
gawby
11-05-2009, 08:16 PM
Just remember the max towing capacity might be 3t or 3.5t and so on.
Towing a boat or what ever at that maximum weight all the time will wear out the
the vehicle a lot quicker than if you buy something that has a greater towing capacity.
There was a good thread on exactly this senario not so long ago.
Graeme
11-05-2009, 09:56 PM
Ok I'm a rover owner.
A TD5 Rover with a re-chipped CPU is certainly not slow or under powered.
11-05-2009, 10:18 PM
the 4.2 DT Patrol will do 3.5ton.
I have a mate that has one for sale, but the back has been chopped ( ex-wagon ) and full length alloy tray put on. Yep, he lengthened the chassis.
22K would pull it up.
12-05-2009, 05:44 AM
no way i would spend 100k on a lousy toyota, what a damn joke
have a look at a few US 4bs, much better than what we have over here, $ is getting good and 3k to get it here, i think the chevs towing rate is 4.5t
Don't know what they did to you Mate, but I like them. Their Bobcats are faultless (I have 5 and have put one out to pasture after 4,500 hours), and their service is extraordinary, IMO. We have 4 of their cars in the family, and have owned others, and have never, ever had an issue!
they are nice Tim, are these guys on Bris town south side somewhere?
The phone number's a Brissy number. I don't know where they are, the fella (Ryan) who sold me my last couple of Toyotas sent me the pics.
ozbee
13-05-2009, 02:07 PM
you could go down the goose neck path
rockfisho
20-05-2009, 08:37 PM
You could by a second hand landcruiser HD with a turbo, and then cut it down to a dual cab. that would have all the towing capacity you need.
The-easyrider
20-05-2009, 09:27 PM
Creative conversions do nice work with dual cabs there are in Brendale and the owner is a keen boatie. I have a 4.2td gu patrol and I am sure the max tow wieght is 3 ton
20-05-2009, 10:01 PM
Creative conversions do nice work with dual cabs there are in Brendale and the owner is a keen boatie. I have a 4.2td gu patrol and I am sure the max tow wieght is 3 ton
Interesting site that. I wonder if they could take an off the shelf dual cab (navara or colorado etc) and beef it up to 3.5ton towing capacity. At this stage I am inclined to say f-it and just tow the larger boat with the navara. The boat ramp is only 5 minutes down the road, and the boat is only 200kg over the limit. Its just not worth spending the coin on a vehicle that can tow it. So I am left with the choice of either going with a smaller boat, or the big boat and exceeding towing capacity, or going rack storage.
I really dont want a wagon cause the thing would always be full of shit and probably stink and be dirty all the time. At least with a tray I can just hose it out once a year:P
20-05-2009, 10:34 PM
Ally trailer, higher towball weight would get you close. You can get an engineer to uprate some vehicles so it is worth asking.
Tow overweight knowingly, nah the insurance company could wreck your life and bank balance for a minor bingle in which someone gets hurt - just not worth it.
Cheapest option if just going a few km is a tractor . Seriously highly rated and cheap to register and insure but not so good on the freeway!!!!! Keeps the neighbours kids entertained as well then buy any lightweight ute you want and save money driving it everyday without andy of the wear and tear.