View Full Version : Seaway shows its colours

moorie86
07-05-2009, 09:03 PM
Hit the seaway today with a mate in his boat. Took my new 7.2 dropshot matched with a diawa revros 2500 for its first fish and didn't take long to hook up. Second cast with the sp and i hooked a nice flathead, looked to be around 40cm(lost it next to the boat:-[ ). SP's went quite so out came the yabbies. Caught heaps of bream with some reaching 28cm's. All were returned. Then my mate hooks up and calls for the net. In comes a tusk fish:D first one i have seen caught. About 5 mins later I'm on with a good run, in comes a nice 38cm parrot! A first for me. Caught a few more female parrots throughout the day and a few small flatties and whiting. It was a great day on the water with good company and some incredible looking fish caught. Also very happy with the new outfit.
cheers, Cam.

Foxy4
07-05-2009, 09:28 PM
very nice lot indeed

RAT-KING
07-05-2009, 09:30 PM
Well done some dirty fighting species there!!
Did u get bricked much?

moorie86
07-05-2009, 10:21 PM
RAT-KING, Yeah mate, felt like i was re-riging half the day!.
Are these fish a regular catch in the seaway?
cheers, Cam.

Damned67
07-05-2009, 10:30 PM
So you're happy with your new combo?
I recently picked up a 7'6" dropshot and mated it to a 4000 Diawa Regal reel that I had. The reel feels way to heavy, and I think I should go with something smaller/lighter. The stimulus cheque might just find me owning a new Sol ;D

Oh, and congrats on the fish!

bennykenny
07-05-2009, 10:50 PM
good one mate seaway goes well on occasion

Gorey1
08-05-2009, 06:53 AM
Nice catch.

These great looking fish are often hanging around the seaway, particularly the structure such us up amongst the rock walls and pipes. Using cunjevoi, I've caught all manner of colourful critter, including an octopus!
I reckon it's good to see a range of species to liven up the day.

And there's plenty of structure to get bricked on too...

JJT
08-05-2009, 07:55 AM
yea mate fairly reguraly catch em in there/
what side where you on ?
we normally get themabout 10 metres past the pipe on the south side
regards jason

Razgo-
08-05-2009, 08:02 AM
Anyone notice the boat siting up on the rock wall? nth wall. looks like he forgot to turn.

the gecko
08-05-2009, 08:13 AM
Nice mixed bag. What size jigheads were you using?

bondy99
08-05-2009, 08:13 AM
Nice feed you have, well done, unfortunately I don't have a boat so have to reply on the odd tailor from the sand pumping jetty.

moorie86
08-05-2009, 10:26 AM
Hey Jason, we were fishing the wavbreak side. Pretty much opposite the tower.

Hey Razgo, Yeah mate, we were fishing near it. Turns out this guy was fishing on the high around 5 am in the morning. He had motor troubles and the swell picked him up and dumped him up there. That's what we got told anyway.

Hey Gecko, i was using 7.5g nitro jigheads.

Cheers, Cam.

the gecko
08-05-2009, 03:24 PM
[quote=moorie86;1013364]Hey Jason, we were fishing the wavbreak side. Pretty much opposite the tower.

Hey Razgo, Yeah mate, we were fishing near it. Turns out this guy was fishing on the high around 5 am in the morning. He had motor troubles and the swell picked him up and dumped him up there. That's what we got told anyway.

Its a bad place to have motor probs, cos its so hard to anchor there. The current just drags the boat and anchor, and the wind pushes you into the rocks. Its happened there before.
Hey Gecko, i was using 7.5g nitro jigheads.

thats very light for that spot. Probably why you got bites. Musts been close to slack tide/ Ive used 3/4-1oz in the deeper holes off the nth wall.

Razgo-
08-05-2009, 04:42 PM
poor bugga, i have seen HUGE swells roll along smashing against those rocks. Be interesting to see how it is retrieved. It can get pretty wild and woolly in that spot.

08-05-2009, 05:04 PM
Some nice colors there matey.

moorie86
08-05-2009, 08:44 PM
Poor bugga, i have seen HUGE swells roll along smashing against those rocks. Be interesting to see how it is retrieved. It can get pretty wild and woolly in that spot.

The marine contrators came and put an anchor on it and then floated it off on the hight tide.