View Full Version : Green / Welly squiring
ddobson
06-05-2009, 12:31 PM
Been out to my local spots to hit the squire and pulled tailor last wed night and good sized for in close at 40cm so went out last night to hit the squire or tailor on plastics and had a heap of undersized squire come in but only one just legal at 35cm. Still heaps of bait fish around and heard of pelagics running past straddy at the mouth but i missed all of them while over there on weekend only one bonito was all that hit my pilly's. Has anyone seen the tailor recently in the shallows. Cheers
stessco
06-05-2009, 04:14 PM
nice catch and feed! where you using plastics at night?
Angryant
06-05-2009, 05:18 PM
I haven't been out in the bay for the last week or so but I caught 8 tailor in one of the local creeks on ther run out tide on Tuesday morning. All but one were legal however I only kept one (I don't freeze tailor).
tailorboi99
06-05-2009, 06:07 PM
Man I'm dieing for one of those Squire, thanks for the report. Hope this season is good :D
Tom
ddobson
06-05-2009, 06:57 PM
stessco i always use plastics at night under a bit of moon with the old nucklear chickens. If you can get a high with a large moon get yourself up into the island drop offs and flick away cause the big boys are up in the kiddy pool at night hidding from the sharks. I just can't find any good sized ones at mud so its back to the drawing board for tide and time for mud. Just wave the plastic glows under the nav lights and off you go. I took a new comer to plastics out last night and he got 4 to 5 squire under sized but still put up a good fight (HE WILL BE HOOKED SOON) Cheers
still a decent feed. how hard to those tailor go in the shallows ay good jumpers ;)
regards jason
CreelReaper
06-05-2009, 11:03 PM
Hey DD,
Great catch mate. Yep the tailor are in the shallows. But still not in any great numbers. There are also a few mackies in amongst them. The son and I were out fishing stinky bait monday morning at Wello and got a few. From my records I reckon the bigger squire are still a few weeks away. Maybe on the next full moon?????
Shane
ddobson
07-05-2009, 11:35 AM
Creelreaper i hope the tailor hang around cause they do pull hard when not expecting them as jjt said. Those squire want to hurry up and turn into snapper soon cause i have been with out a big one for a long time this year.
stessco
07-05-2009, 06:06 PM
stessco i always use plastics at night under a bit of moon with the old nucklear chickens. If you can get a high with a large moon get yourself up into the island drop offs and flick away cause the big boys are up in the kiddy pool at night hidding from the sharks. I just can't find any good sized ones at mud so its back to the drawing board for tide and time for mud. Just wave the plastic glows under the nav lights and off you go. I took a new comer to plastics out last night and he got 4 to 5 squire under sized but still put up a good fight (HE WILL BE HOOKED SOON) Cheers thanks, what do you think question, I catch heaps of little ones in the day on plastics around the 35 to 45 mark, if i went back at night with the plastics would i catch the bigger ones in the same spot? cheers stessco
CreelReaper
07-05-2009, 06:54 PM
Yeah mate, the tailor should be getting better as the weeks go by and should be around the shallows right through winter. Hopefully though the size will be better than last year.
Stessco, I only fish stinky bait usually anchored up. What I find is that the squire tend to move through in schools. Each fish in the school will be roughly the same size. Occasionally they are that thick I have to move to find the bigger ones. Sometimes only 20 or 30m, other times to another part of the reef.
Shane
big_steve001
07-05-2009, 08:02 PM
yeh mate was out at wello on monday and scored quite a few tailor to 48cms and a nice squire at 40 but came in early cause a mate lost his finger lol. also still plenty of crabs around to
ddobson
11-05-2009, 07:50 PM
Big_steve funny and good sized tailor damb good. Stessco i find you do get the same sized ones in the dark but they hit harder as they are chasing in the dark but the difference is the big boys are lurking around the smaller ones looking for a big lazy plastic. I don't ever look for a school at all i just go were i know they should be and start drifting and hope i got a good tide to keep them there until dark. I have lost 2 up to or over 80cm in the shallows of green but i have not been ready for fish that big with my 12 pound leader and light jig heads as after a bit of a run they just give a burst of speed and its all over. It is hard to retie after one of those runs as the nerves are shot and shaking like hell. Try it its fun.