View Full Version : Brissie river thursday arvo

chief
30-04-2009, 05:14 PM
Haven't had a chance to fish since the ZZZ day, Last weekend was a blur and today I think I was getting a bit cranky (Withdrawls) .Had an early day and flew home and dropped the boat in . Met with a bloody westerly blowing straight down the river. I was dirty there goes my idea for a nice litle squire session. Tucked into a few nocks and came up with a little 37 cm cod who went ok on the light gear. Tossed a few plastics around on the new 2-4 strudie sic stick pro with the extended butt and came tight on 3 squire. A 34 and a 35 cm that were quickly released to grow a bit bigger but the third fish gave me a bit of stick and up popped a 49 cm model so i was starting to feel a bit more relaxed8-) 8-) Took him home for the wife. Had to home by 4 so I pulled the pin. At least i got a quick fix and I'm smilen now;D ;D Cheers

tailorboi99
30-04-2009, 05:22 PM
Nice job mate, I really want one of those Snaps haha.

Tom

duncan mcwhirter
30-04-2009, 05:22 PM
well done mate. You will have to show me where to find those lovely pinkies

30-04-2009, 05:26 PM
shocking when you start getting an itch ........ always better off scratching it - Well done chief

stessco
30-04-2009, 05:37 PM
nice squire and fix, going to chase them on monday

Blacksheep
30-04-2009, 05:39 PM
Wel done Chief!
I've heard a fair few good reports about squire in the river this week, and also around Mud. Might be a much better season this year.

Shane

chief
30-04-2009, 05:47 PM
Naggs, I was getting really itchy ;D

Blacksheep... mates have been pulling a few in the river . It can only keep getting better

SummerTrance
30-04-2009, 07:07 PM
Nice one chief, 49 would have got some zzzzzzz happening

30-04-2009, 07:17 PM
Chief you are one of the most consistent fishermen on this site and you always seem to come home with a feed. Thanks for making me envious. I will be taking the daughter (the famous Film Crew) out with me on Saturday. Have not decided where I will go as yet but I will be on the water. Hopefully I can mimic your fishing expertise and come home with a feed as well.

Bassmaster1
30-04-2009, 07:25 PM
well done chief, good to see a few pinkies showing up in the river

uglyfish
30-04-2009, 07:42 PM
on ya chief,was a hard day out there today,i hit up the bay early on today got bugger all,tried my spot x in the river for a pinkie and that bloody wind came up..was getting good hits till then..ive got some good squire outta the river as well biggest to day would be 60cm model..lost a bigger fella but thats what keeps us going back time and time again..

Scott P.
30-04-2009, 07:45 PM
Chief - Your a machine, well done mate. Good to see they are there, now i just need to get one on my hook.. Try , try again....;)

LostNearBribie
30-04-2009, 07:58 PM
Top work Chief. Little bro is in the comp this weekend.
Will be trying to get a silver version....

Callop
30-04-2009, 08:16 PM
Hi mate, good one as usual. Those r2s hb's will catch just about anything. Did you get the snap on a TB?

huskii
30-04-2009, 08:21 PM
hi paul, nothing like a early mark from work for a quick fish. Well done on getting a feed.Wasn't tonight a killer on the legs, anyway good luck on the weekend i'm sure u will add some more prizes to your collection.

chief
30-04-2009, 08:36 PM
Stessco.. Good luck with that trip mate

Summertrance...Really happy with the little rod to, loaded up with some good smooth hurt for a light stick.

Poodroo...Thanks for your kind words mate, you amd me are very similar, we just love being on the water. Fish are just a bonus mate.

Uglyfish.... You got the benchmark there mate, once those river squire hit 60 cm and over they just seem to go up a notch when it comes to the fight and don't those buggers know where the pylons are ;D

Tailorboi99... Hey Tom as soon as the qualities is consistantly up , I'll give you a PM and we'll do a session and see if we can score a couple of good ones. Every week is looking better mate ;D

T1
30-04-2009, 08:42 PM
Good work again CHIEF!

From all the reports i'm hearing (& seeing :-X ), looks like the Bay is going to be a cracker this season! A good mate scored an 89cm - 7.3kg on Tuesday in the bay (i'm in an appt with clients and i get a pic and details via SMS - very thoughtful!!). Now i have to find some time to get out there for a serious crack again... ;D

Take Care T

chief
30-04-2009, 08:47 PM
Callop, yeh mate . Time to chase a few snappery squire ;D gee it was ordinary tosarf mate with that wind .

Huskii.. Bloody hell mate, I've never done so many squats before. I should have stayed fishin and not turned up ;D. No joking, Mike does a great job cheers

RAT-KING
30-04-2009, 08:59 PM
Great stuff Chief, produced the goods once again!!!
Pulling in 3 squire in b4 4 thats an awesome session!!!

nuggstar
30-04-2009, 09:02 PM
not bad buddie. id love to get stuck in to a mob of squire like that

30-04-2009, 09:02 PM
Thats a nice way to start the season off Chief. Its looking like a good one. It sounds like a pretty good session and certainly scratched your itch

JJT
30-04-2009, 10:41 PM
nice chief
good to see the snaps still in the river looks like it could be a gud season in the river ay
top notch lad

chief
01-05-2009, 04:23 AM
JJT.... those squire /snapper are there . they just seem to hold pretty deep in that structure and make it impossible to pull them out. As this water temp keeps dropping they start feeding farther from those areas and the fun begins and you can have a very productive time 30 meters from the wharf ;D

uglyfish
01-05-2009, 07:04 AM
yeah water getting cooler can only get better now...i got some bloody good ones in summer as well..cheif i dont fish round the wharfs.oh yeah just quickly there were some yuna bussting up at the mouth yesterday mid morning couldnt get on to one and they didnt stay long as some twit came roaring over and spooked the lot

uglyfish
01-05-2009, 07:07 AM
chief might have to organise some thing one day,i need educating with the bloody lures,still not convinced about em

01-05-2009, 07:22 AM
Well done again Chief.

If the need to go for a fish was an "itch" then I would have scratched to the point of bleeding - can't get out again this weekend and work is full on during the week:2vrolijk_08:

Enjoying your posts in the meantime Chief, keep up the good work!

tailorboi99
01-05-2009, 07:25 AM
Tailorboi99... Hey Tom as soon as the qualities is consistantly up , I'll give you a PM and we'll do a session and see if we can score a couple of good ones. Every week is looking better mate ;D

Thanks mate :)

Mossy247
01-05-2009, 01:05 PM
Nice work chief, did good on the light gear still haven't got myself some of the r2s yet in the top secret colours :-p but will soon since the water is dropping and I really need to drop the old alleycraft in the water... Seem to do good on the Squire's any paricular HB or SP's?

chief
01-05-2009, 04:01 PM
Uglyfish, when I wrote that last BnB art. I mentioned to keep your eyes open we might see a return of last years run of mac tuna. 3 days after it had to be submitted, I saw my first bust up of small jelly beans. Only small and a quick bit of surface action. Any size to the fish you saw mate? Hey mate I'm giving the bream a miss for a few months and giving the squire a hit. we might have a squire sesh?

Scalem...Your just saving yourself for R2M and you'll come out scratching ;D

Obi _ Wan
01-05-2009, 04:14 PM
Good stuff Chief, great report mate, say that bloody wind cuts right through you when it comes from that direction.

Yeah i have the salt itch too, been about 3 weeks, busting to get out again soon to temp the snaps.

Good storey in "BNB" mate well done, also got to get a Brisbane River Threadie, have only ever caught them up North.

Thanks Again
John.

chief
01-05-2009, 04:21 PM
Hey Tom, if you see we've ahad a few nice squire sessions and we haven't been for that trip give us a PM kick in the butt and we'll have a shot. You know I'm getting older everyday mate ;D I even had to tattoo my wifes name on my arm so I wouldn't forget ;D I know I'm done for when I have to do the inside of my eyelids with my own name ;D

uglyfish
01-05-2009, 04:48 PM
yeah they were bloody good sized fish just wish i could of had a crack at em,oh well next time.yeah chief im in mate name a time and place and im there..take my boat or yours either way mate

tailorboi99
01-05-2009, 05:02 PM
Hey Tom, if you see we've ahad a few nice squire sessions and we haven't been for that trip give us a PM kick in the butt and we'll have a shot. You know I'm getting older everyday mate ;D I even had to tattoo my wifes name on my arm so I wouldn't forget ;D I know I'm done for when I have to do the inside of my eyelids with my own name ;D

Will do mate ;)

Nico.d.R
01-05-2009, 05:22 PM
nice catch once again .
hey cheif im heading down the brissie river late tonight , probly try for a thready around the pipe line area , where is the best place to cast net a few live prawns ? is boggy creek worth having a look or should i cast around the shallows near the pipe line .

chief
01-05-2009, 07:06 PM
Nico ... sent a pm

brisboys
03-05-2009, 10:57 AM
Good effort chief, There some solid cod and squire.

Sam