View Full Version : Auto 4x4s

DR
22-04-2009, 05:39 PM
always been curious about auto 4x4s. Do they go as well as manuals & how is the best way to drive them, do you hold in the selected gear as a manual or do you just let it do its thing as in a road car??? Are they as capable as a manual?? or are they just for the wife to drop the kiddies off at school & annoy other road users while doing it??just really curious as one day i will get another, I have only had manual Landcruisers. but with so much to choose from theses days, autos could be an option

BGG
22-04-2009, 06:14 PM
I know a few serious 4WDers that really love autos. IMHO they are the ducks guts for beach work. No selecting the right gear and hoping, no quick change clutch bog. I've owned a lot of manuals but my present is auto and it doesn't get much better.
Keep in mind that modern autos are a little more advanced than their old counterparts. It takes a lot of the work and guess work out of beach driving.

shano
22-04-2009, 09:50 PM
i have owned both! had manuals in landcruisers and pajero's and have currently a pajero in auto that is for sale and have just bought a 80 series landcruiser in auto! man i love the auto's! have had both auto's on the beach and in the bush! but i do love the manuals also! i would say the only let down in the auto is you can not clutch start if battery flat! and if a auto goes its game over! but it is so relaxing! and so good in the bush! when towing i turn off over drive an on the beach i select the gears myself!

23-04-2009, 05:49 AM
i personally hate driving autos, but that's just a personal thing. i know a few people with auto landcruisers and they are unstoppable in sand or soft conditions because there's no time/power lag for gear changing with a clutch. shano has made very good points about clutch starting and also box failure, generally if a manual box fails it'll let you know about it a fair bit before an auto box will so you can at least limp home in one of the gears. with these latest generation of ecu controlled autos, if the controller or electrics fail somehow she's all over.

23-04-2009, 07:44 AM
Just typed out a reply and lost it!!!!!!!!!

I've had three auto boxes in 4by's - they are getting progressively better.

I have had nil failures in the following vehicles -

80 series petrol auto (work vehicle owned by the govt - we flogged it) - nil failure in 160 000 kms
3.4 hilux auto - nil failure in 180 000 kms
3.0 vdci colorado auto- nil failure in 14 000 kms - give me time........

I added a tranny cooler to the lux - cause it was my own vehicle - other than that they got serviced - that's it.

As others have said they can't be clutch started.
They can't be stall recovered - there is a method for auto's, but when you really really need to stall out - you really really want a manual - how many people get to that stage though?
In my experience they will cost you at least a couple of litres per hundred kms(combined cycle) over the equivalent manual, (the diesel colorado does), and go up from there.
When it comes to towing in tough terrain they rule the world - no argument. I have however burnt clutches in manuals, broken carrier bearings in 80 series manuals, and gotten bogged in places where I am certain an auto would have made it - trying to snatch gears in gutless diesel manuals towing in sand.

From my above experience I see nothing to be scared about buying an auto 4by. If anything they have been more reliable than manuals towing offroad work trailers, boats up fraser etc etc.

They are however all different from brand to brand - some will drive you insane not allowing enough torque through the box (a toyota favorite for longevity) before upchanging - these one's keep hunting while driving along the highway. I've found you can drive around this with most boxes, and the latest one I've got is actually very acceptable while towing at highway speeds.

Prolly the best one I've driven (4wd wise) was in the original jeep cherokee of all things, with the straight 6 4.0 litre pushing it.

backlash08
23-04-2009, 08:49 AM
auto every time for me (i'm lazy) easier on the vehicle driveline, no clutch to worry about at the ramp and for the offroad that i do, the vehicle has greater limitations than the auto boxes
cheers - Craig

23-04-2009, 08:50 AM
I guess another way to look at it as well is, as in most things, cars, boats whatever they are all compromises, so in reality, we spend by far the big majority of our lives "on" the road, not in sand or the bush or towing, so do you prefer an Auto or a manual for your everyday driving? can't think of any modern 4X4 that has a bad Auto gearbox, and as my son in law was a Toyota Mechanic I asked him just the other day if the Landcruiser Auto gives any trouble (by the way, he has a 100 series Auto) and his reply was in all his years at the dealership, he has seen very few with any sort of drama over the whole range, prado, cruiser the lot! so I guess armed with that, it would come down to personal preference, some die hards would have nothing but a manual, some don't care and some will have an Auto and would have nothing else.

backlash08
23-04-2009, 09:02 AM
I guess another way to look at it as well is, as in most things, cars, boats whatever they are all compromises, so in reality, we spend by far the big majority of our lives "on" the road, not in sand or the bush or towing, so do you prefer an Auto or a manual for your everyday driving? can't think of any modern 4X4 that has a bad Auto gearbox, and as my son in law was a Toyota Mechanic I asked him just the other day if the Landcruiser Auto gives any trouble (by the way, he has a 100 series Auto) and his reply was in all his years at the dealership, he has seen very few with any sort of drama over the whole range, prado, cruiser the lot! so I guess armed with that, it would come down to personal preference, some die hards would have nothing but a manual, some don't care and some will have an Auto and would have nothing else.

Noel, did you ask the son in law about the auto in the klugers though......now that is a different story to the real 4wd...lol
cheers - Craig

23-04-2009, 09:55 AM
nope, have you heard of problems, or are you just referring to the the car in general? I might add, he is now with Audi, so no longer keeps up with Toyota!

backlash08
23-04-2009, 10:35 AM
the model around 2004-2007 had heaps of dramas with g/boxs, servos and clutch packs doing strange stuff resulting in flaring and long selection issues - toyota did know about it and did help out when pushed - credit to them

chisel
23-04-2009, 03:18 PM
Auto every time for me (the 5-speed in the cruiser is a gem).

Quite a few modern vehicles get as good or even slightly better consumption in the auto vs the manual, at least with the official figures.
I think we'll probably see more and more vehicles come out in auto-only, like the 200 series, so probably better to get used to them. Most new 4x4's have some downhill-assist-control to help with that aspect.

Peter4
23-04-2009, 03:46 PM
Never owned an auto but probably will with the next 4WD - only because I'm getting older and lazier and the manual becomes a pain in heavy traffic.

Do love to 'drive' rather than just steer though!;) ;D ;D

23-04-2009, 04:49 PM
Had a 3.5L manual pajeo for 10 years before changing to a 100 series Auto, I dont do any seious offroad but its like chalk and chese towing with the Auto.. could never go back to a manual 4 x4 for my use.

23-04-2009, 06:38 PM
My latest car is an auto after being a manual man since I got my licence. I will never buy a manual again! Its great on the beach, dont even have to think about it. I have not done any real serious offroad work in mine other than some of the milder tracks around mt mee (did the a-break) and no problems at all. Hill decent leaves a bit to be desired, but once you figure it out its fine. Unless you were doing comp's or crazy stuff you wont have a problem.

The best thing about it is that it also doubles up as a great city driver. Nothing worse than a manual in a capital city..

Oh, and the best way to drive them? Get in, start it up, put it in drive!

24-04-2009, 08:10 AM
My latest car is an auto after being a manual man since I got my licence. I will never buy a manual again! Its great on the beach, dont even have to think about it. I have not done any real serious offroad work in mine other than some of the milder tracks around mt mee (did the a-break) and no problems at all. Hill decent leaves a bit to be desired, but once you figure it out its fine. Unless you were doing comp's or crazy stuff you wont have a problem.

The best thing about it is that it also doubles up as a great city driver. Nothing worse than a manual in a capital city..

Oh, and the best way to drive them? Get in, start it up, put it in drive!
You forgot handbrake off.
Auto for me too matey.
Lazy fat slug I am ;D
Best truck I've driven is an auto too. An auto changer on a manual box so the clutch is still there but the changer does the rest. Good stuff that sucker ;D

24-04-2009, 10:17 AM
I've only had 2 fourbies; a GUIII 3.0 Auto patrol that was fabulous off road, and a 200 Series Cruiser (only come in Auto) and it is simply, totally and utterly breathtaking - will be even better with AT's on board...

I drove my Uncle's old Landy on the dirt for several years (he had a few thousand acres) and it was sweet too, but I'm old and lazy now.

I remember years ago, maybe 1982(?) watching an auto patrol or cruiser (forget which) on Aldinga beach in South Oz get hopelessly bogged - he'd lean on the throttle, nothing would happen, then boom! Everything spinning! That has been fixed, I tried spinning them last weekend on the sand and they didn't want to.

baitwaster
24-04-2009, 12:05 PM
I'll know soon, I get my new TRD hilux this arvo. I have always had manuals, but I have a bung left knee, and I am getting old and soft already.

cliffo
26-04-2009, 06:50 PM
I'm with Chisel, the 5 Speed Auto in my 100 series cruiser is superb. I've had 5 4WD's 4 manual and 1 auto and the Auto is the best, probably cause it's got a V8 bolted on the front of it ;D;D;D

Cliffo

26-04-2009, 07:03 PM
Towncar only the auto is nice and lazy, and for the top notch competitive stuff in 4x4, inbetween it's the manual for me, too many advantages with manuals unless owning all auto vehicles in warranty periods only.

Still I have yet to drive a new auto that doesn't frustrate and force a person to manually override at the shifter often to be rid of the inadequate slushbox choices it makes, more power helps here but...that is until I give up trying to drive it properly and just let it drive me beat.

26-04-2009, 07:30 PM
additional question......

Can you have an auto, that when put into 4 x 4 low range does NOT engage the front hubs. That is, are all Auto boxed 4BYS... auto hubbed ?

Reason for question..... I drop the Nissan into Low range when towing the big rig up the boat ramp.... very easy on the clutch etc. But having manual hubs, I am utilising the rear wheels only. I also do this to back up my driveway... idles up and also up the driveway at Agnes where the incline is..... steepish.

Captain Seaweed
26-04-2009, 07:38 PM
I have a 100 series auto and a patrol manual. Landcruiser is a dream to drive on the beach and towing. I do prefer the manual when I do more serious 4x4 ing as it helps me select gears better and use the clutch to apply the power better when a lot of power is needed for a small move like in walking a rock creek bed for eg.
Marty

26-04-2009, 07:45 PM
additional question......

Can you have an auto, that when put into 4 x 4 low range does NOT engage the front hubs. That is, are all Auto boxed 4BYS... auto hubbed ?

Reason for question..... I drop the Nissan into Low range when towing the big rig up the boat ramp.... very easy on the clutch etc. But having manual hubs, I am utilising the rear wheels only. I also do this to back up my driveway... idles up and also up the driveway at Agnes where the incline is..... steepish.

Probably not considering what it is all about today, but a person if they didn't mind a silly light on the dash somewhere (possibly) could in short time whip up a bypass to manually override.

26-04-2009, 08:28 PM
Phill,

I had to install hubs on my last 'lux to achieve what you are talking about, and a bypass switch on the 80 series gxl prior to that.
Not many two stick and hubs 4by's left now as you'd well know, manual or auto.

02-05-2009, 02:59 PM
Thanks..

I'll stick to my man hubs for now.

If I upgrade, I'll be bypassing the auto's.

Dug
02-05-2009, 04:49 PM
I HATE AUTOS !!!

Having said that ;D we just bought an auto rodeo 4x4 for towing and occasional city driving.

I am still not convinced, I have been driving manuals for over 30 years now and have only ever driven auto slush box company cars.

I think I am slowly getting used to the auto concept but I do not cope well with change :(

Ask me what I think in about 10 years time and I may have got used to the idea.

PS I cannot find anything wrong with the auto, I just don't like it ;)

02-05-2009, 06:27 PM
What about ow capacity??? Some 4x4's seem to down load the tow capacity if you buy auto. What is the tow Cap on lancruiser auto and patrol auto?

02-05-2009, 08:37 PM
You can't buy a new manual Landcruiser now. The auto is spectacular, and rated at 3500kg.

02-05-2009, 09:13 PM
Auto all the way for me. After 15 years of thrashing manuals along the beach changing gears constantly I can sit back a relax and enjoy the ride now

Dug
02-05-2009, 10:38 PM
the Rodeo / Colarado / Isuzu DMax has a tow rating of 3.000kg Not bad for a fuel efficient 4 cylinder diesel.

Mr__Bean
03-05-2009, 07:15 PM
I really think there are three options today.

Manual Transmission.

Conventional Automatic Transmission.

Today's modern Electronic Automatic Transmision.

I don't think you can compare the last 2, to me they are like chalk and cheese.

I have a 2006 turbo diesel landcruiser and the electronic auto does everything for me whether I am on the highway, towing about 3 ton or driving a heavy load in the sand.

Greatest I find myself doing is hitting the power button if towing or beaching so it knows it is OK to upchange at a higher than normal rpm. when going down a long hill and sitting on the brake the dam thing evens changes down for me to give some engine braking, this took a bit to get used to at first!

Only time I manually hold it in gear is on any heavy downhill work or if going down a very slippery surface.

- Darren

gofishin
08-05-2009, 09:08 PM
Thanks..

I'll stick to my man hubs for now.

If I upgrade, I'll be bypassing the auto's.

. Phill, the manual D40TD ST-X has auto locking front hubs (which is a real pain sometimes), not sure about the down-spec ST version. Prob the same on all the different makes manual up-spec model utes.
Brendon

sleepygreg
09-05-2009, 01:44 AM
have always had manual 4xbys, up til now. Have an auto Paj. Will never go back to a manual. Unless you are into serious 4WD stuff, the auto is far superior in terms of comfort and ease of driving....especially in sand, and around ramps re launching and retrieving.

Maybe im just getting old and lazy..but i like my creature comforts these days.

Dug
15-05-2009, 10:16 PM
I took the Auto Rodeo up to the Bunya Mts last week to try out the Auto on hills some;D

I have to admit it was pretty good, It changed down a gear when you hit the brake on a downhill slope and was very easy to knock back into second or first on steeper downhill runs.

I can see that once I get past my bias against Autos I may start to like driving one. ;)

16-05-2009, 08:06 AM
It really is personal. I have a 95 Discovery V8 auto (4 speed German ZF) and a 2002 Discovery II V8 Manual (LR 5 Speed). I enjoy the auto on weekends for a change, but really love my manual. I even love it in peak hour traffic - doesnt worry me. Then again particularly running LPG I can take off in second in the manual and change to 4th, or take off in first on a hill and change to third and the engine has no problems with that. I love the engine braking down hills (the Hill Decent Control works well on the D2 and together with the manual in low (really low on LRs) range it is a weapon in down hill runs. I also like the speed of the manual.

I have towed on deep sand from 1.5tonn camp trailers to a 2.2 tonn dual axle van, from Straddie to Fraser and never been stuck with my manual - mind you you do need the occasional lightening fast change, but generally using the torque of the right gear to start with is the way to go.

I also like the manual for towing the boat.

Perhaps as I get older I will like auto's more, and I would probably like the newer 6 speed clever boxes in the new Discovery, but I have to say that the manuals are very simple, strong enough and very cheap to overhaul or replace when the time comes. The ZF 4 speed can be replaced for 4k from ZF Australian office for $4k with a 3 year 100k warranty. Having said that the ZF untouched save for a filter and oil change at 210,000 has not done 278,000 and shifts perfectly without flaring or hesitation and engages drive/reverse quickly from neutral.

My manual has done 145,000k with a lot of towing and off roading and a lot of short trips and the clutch and gearbox show no signs at all of age.