View Full Version : 4WD specs & suitability
PNG1M
20-04-2009, 04:44 PM
Yeh I know, the age old question visited again for the zillionth time.
What kind of 4WD would be ok for........!!!???
Oh well, here's another:
I've been based overseas for the past 'x' amount of years for work, and am close to coming back to Oz to settle down again with the strife & two billy lids.
I've been sussing out family size 4WDs and have narrowed the choices down a bit.
We'd prefer a 7-seater option as my kids are approaching ten yrs old & growing fast etc. With friends & trips away & the rest of it...so roomy is a must.
Budget would between the $20k - 25k range. I've looked at the trading post and also Japanese "import to Australia" companies so I have an idea of availability etc.
Purpose: General family use but definately some beach work (eg Fraser)
Option 1: NISSAN PATHFINDER (new shape 7 seater) but I was wondering what its beach going capabilities would be like. Has anyone tested one in the sand?
It it a tad heavy or bulky or too low?
Option 2: Landcruiser or Landcruiser Prado (my preferred option at the moment) - models in that price range would be a few years older, but possibly a better vehicle than the pathy.
Option 3: Pajero - never owned one before but they seem ok according to some of the posts I've read (problem is the other half has a set against 'em for some reason).
Option 4: Open to suggestions?
All advice appeciated...
10-Q
BenDover
20-04-2009, 04:56 PM
By far the best wagon for allround comfort and capabilty (bang for buck) is an 80 series landcruiser. With the money you save, upgrade the suspension for extra comfort and tuffness or buy yourself some camping gear and go on a holiday....
Im looking at 1 right now, a sahara model. Climate control, power steer, dual factory lockers, winch, dual tanks, sunroof, elec windows, esky console. All comes standard from toyota in this model. Mmmm nice.
20-04-2009, 07:11 PM
10-Q,
sounds like you are after a mid-size wagon.
I agree mostly with Ben. Better to that extra and look at the 80 series landy or same deal in a patrol.
I think both offer good all round performance and reliability. Certainly, mods can be made to suit your style. It's just that with the bigger " family " wagons, you'll carry more gear....etc.
IMO.
phill
PNG1M
21-04-2009, 02:43 PM
Essentially I'd prefer a vehicle that isn't too old - maybe 2002-05 and not too high in k's.
The plan'd be to get something half decent and hang onto it for a solid few years.
Then I could be the one to age it and clock the k's up.
I noticed on some of those Japan vehicle sites (import to Oz) you can pick up some decent looking Prados for less than 20k. By the time you pay the $1600 freight plus import duty plus inspection & rego costs as well as the fa*t ar*ing around factor the final cost would be closer to $25k.
See example below:
2002Toyota Land Cruiser Prado
Model 2002
Odometer: 75,000km
Displacement: 2.7litre
Grade: 4.0 out of 5.0
FOB Price
AU$16,262
¥1,125,000
http://www.ausfish.com.au/images/stocklist/nophoto_big.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/land+cruiser+prado/1838199/photo/?sid=220&pn=0)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1838199_2.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/land+cruiser+prado/1838199/photo/?sid=220&pn=0)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1838199_3.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/land+cruiser+prado/1838199/photo/?sid=220&pn=1)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1838199_4.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/land+cruiser+prado/1838199/photo/?sid=220&pn=2)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1838199_5.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/land+cruiser+prado/1838199/photo/?sid=220&pn=3)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1838199_6.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/land+cruiser+prado/1838199/photo/?sid=220&pn=4)
The 7 seater Nissan Pathfinders are cheaper and newer and with less k's; but what are they like for beach work? Anyone know?
BenDover
21-04-2009, 03:15 PM
Dont do it. They are just like the surfs/4 runners and all the rest. They claim they are the same truck and even panels are interchangable eehhhh wrong. They have problems mostly due to they wherent made for australian conditions. Stupid little things go wrong with them and cost a fortune and alot of hassle to fix. 1 of my mates truck spend more time in the auto electricians than on the road in the 3 years he had it. And thats not just 1 issolated case.
I know your worried about the age and the k's. But seriously a 80 series will be the most comfortable and prooven vehicle out there. They really are that good. Considering they where 80k when new.
Heres 1. Been on for a while. Dual fuel. http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=6995584&keywords=sahara&tsrc=allcarhome&__Ntk=CarAll&__Nne=15&__Dx=mode%20matchany&__D=sahara&silo=1011&seot=0&__sid=1203E2D2E034&__N=1216%201246%201247%201252%201282%204294962861% 204294962570&__Ns=pCar_Price_Decimal%7c0%7c%7cpCar_RankSort_Int 32%7c1%7c%7cpCar_Make_String%7c0%7c%7cpCar_Model_S tring%7c0&__Qpb=true&__Ntx=mode%20matchallpartial&Cr=10&__Ntt=sahara&trecs=108
And if you want a newer 1 http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=6855588&keywords=sahara&tsrc=allcarhome&__Ntk=CarAll&__Nne=15&__Dx=mode%20matchany&__No=15&__D=sahara&silo=1011&seot=0&__sid=1203E2D2E034&__N=1216%201246%201247%201252%201282%204294962861% 204294962570&__Ns=pCar_Price_Decimal%7c0%7c%7cpCar_RankSort_Int 32%7c1%7c%7cpCar_Make_String%7c0%7c%7cpCar_Model_S tring%7c0&__Ntx=mode%20matchallpartial&Cr=0&__Ntt=sahara&trecs=108&__Qpb=true
$2000 on springs, shocks, panhard rods, castor and steering damper. And youve lifted it and cleared the tracks and nothing will stop you... Even in the bush. Beautiful ride and tuff as anything. Kill the pathfinder, pajero, prado etc... There is nothing like a landcruiser running gear. Second to only a patrol, but they are slow as..
My dad bought 1 for 80k when I was 10. Picked it up 1 day and we left for the cape the very next day. Not 1 hick up....
Kleyny
21-04-2009, 03:26 PM
Personally i wouldn't touch an import. brother had one even after i said dont do it. It cost him big money then sold it at a big loss.
I would stick with the aussie versions even if the ks and years where a little higher.
In your options i would go prado.
neil
That's a 4 cylinder prado - $25k odd isn't cheap for one of those in Oz.
PNG1M
21-04-2009, 03:45 PM
fyi,
This is another one of those Japan vehicles - see below.
It's a 1997 Landcruiser 80 with 152,000kms. They're asking AU$10.5k (which'd be closer to 15k with freight & import costs etc.)
Has anyone out there had anything to do with importing vehicles from Japan? They make it sound easy on the sites but I'm guessing it'd be a rex messup.
The catch 22 is that apparently you can't go ahead with importing a vehicle unless you get a 'permission to import document' from here. But part of the paperwork they require is a copy of the purchase receipt. So what if you buy the vehicle then your application to import isn't approved??
Might be a classic case of "too hard basket..."
1997 Toyota Landcruiser 80
LocationJAPAN
FOB Price
AU$10,552
¥730,000
http://www.ausfish.com.au/images/stock/ques_icons.gif
Year1997 Odometer152,000km Displacement 4,500 ccSteeringRightTransmissionATFuelGasolineModel codeE-FZJ80Ghttp://www.ausfish.com.au/images/stock/freight_move.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/ship/?mk=1&mo=712&tm=0&oc=392&dc=36&rud=%2fused_car%2fjapan_car%2ftoyota%2flandcruiser %2b80%2f1770912%2f)
http://www.ausfish.com.au/images/stocklist/nophoto_big.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/landcruiser+80/1770912/photo/?sid=220&pn=0)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1770912_2.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/landcruiser+80/1770912/photo/?sid=220&pn=0)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1770912_3.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/landcruiser+80/1770912/photo/?sid=220&pn=1)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1770912_4.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/landcruiser+80/1770912/photo/?sid=220&pn=2)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1770912_5.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/landcruiser+80/1770912/photo/?sid=220&pn=3)http://carview-img01.bmcdn.jp/ecrm/stock/1770912_6.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/used_car/japan_car/toyota/landcruiser+80/1770912/photo/?sid=220&pn=4)
http://www.ausfish.com.au/images/stocklist/nophoto_big.gif
BenDover
21-04-2009, 03:57 PM
BUY AUSSIE... The market on 4x4's in Australia is at an alltime low. Cars are going for next to nothing and your still wanting an import?
PNG1M
21-04-2009, 04:10 PM
Just an idea...considering all options...most likely will not go ahead with importing a vehicle (...too hard basket for one thing)
Any feedback about how the new shape pathfinder would go for beach work?
Kleyny
21-04-2009, 05:27 PM
From what i have been told the pathfinder have a LSD transfer. So it would have a limited beach ability if this is the case
neil
I've seen one of the currenty shape pathy's well up the cape towing a very large Kedron van into uncle Eddie's via Hopevale.
I think it'll be O.K. for the beach.
P.s. that 80 series isn't real cheap either, though ones with only 180kms are hard to find, considering the youngest they can be is 12 years old now.
I'll give you another hint - fzj80g is the designation for the 1fzfe 4.5 l petrol motor which is as described in the blurb to the add. The photo is of a turbo diesel - different car mate.
SummerTrance
21-04-2009, 07:14 PM
I guess it all depends on what you want to do with it, but you did say general family work including beach, so im guessing your not wanting to be out doing extreme bush tracks.
So ill put my suggestion forward. Check out the Pajero's. While they may not be quite as capable offroad as a Patrol or Cruiser (or so everyone says) I think for what you want to do the're a great option, as well as good value for money. They are a renound touring vehicle, and you can always make mods if you need to make it more capable offroad.
I got my NM Pajero a few months ago and must admit I bought it because of the price. In the price range I was looking at, it was the best option vehicle I saw. But now I am very happy with my decision. I've been out on the tracks most weekends since I got it, and have surprised myself and others with actually how capable a stock Paj with crap tyres can be. I think the centre lock diff helps a lot. All im planning at this stage is new tyres and a 2" lift.
They are also a 7 seater and the third row fits flush under the floor so the're not in the way when not in use, unlike Patrols where they just fold up to the side. They are a lot more driver friendly around town and easy to park, especially if the missus will be driving it. My wife finds it easier to drive than our previous Holden Adventra.
Im only new to the 4WD game, so im not exactly sure what everyone has against Pajero's, except maybe perception ? Ill admit that when I was first looking for a 4WD, i was looking at patrols and cruisers, and when my wife was suggesting Pajeros, I wasnt even interested. But from what I have experienced so far, everyone that bashes on Pajero's, has never owned one. Everyone I know that has a paj is very happy with it. I guess you'll find most people will suggest whatever vehicle they own and say it's great. There's also a member on here (Poodroo) that got over 400 000 klms out of his last Paj. Obviously im very happy with my paj so far, although it is only early days.
In the 20-25k range you can pick up a 2002 - 2005 model with 60-100k klms. There's even one on carpoint in nsw at the moment, a 2005 with only 12 500klms for 25k.
Again obviously im suggesting checking out a paj because im very happy with mine. I have nothing against the other vehicles you are considering. Couldn't help adding a few pics ;)
PNG1M
22-04-2009, 01:21 AM
Thanks for the info SummerT,
The pajero doesn't sound three bad at all. Someone once told me they were a poor man's Landcruiser.
My brother has owned three Pajeros over the past 15years or so and he loves them. His current is the 3.8l version, auto. He won't consider anything else.
He has a couple of kids and he does the camping bit a couple times a year.
Tows his boat no probs.
A bloke I met recently has one that he bought brand new in 2002 and he reckons gone like a dream ever since, hasn't missed a beat - no break downs. All he's done has been replace the tyres.
Then, a South African friend of ours has a Pajero (his second one).
It's a 3 litre model but he also raves about it.
My wife reckons that when she was younger there was a bloke she knew who was nicknamed Pajero (true). He was an ultra 'dork' and she hated him.
She reckons if I got a Pajero it would remind her of him. Because of that she has a 'set' against them & digs her heels in if I mention buying one. Maybe she needs her head read, but don't tell her I said that.
Possible solution: My Car / Your Car --->
I get to choose the one I want as the main family car that I'll be driving mostly anyway. And she gets to choose our 2nd car runabout that she'll drive (her car in other words).
If she chooses a Suzuki I'm gonna tell her I had an ex-girlfriend once whose nickname was Suzi or Suki. And if she gets a Suzuki it'll remind me of her..!!
See how she responds to that..!!
22-04-2009, 06:25 AM
I'd be in for the Cruiser 80 series. Nothing wrong with the Paj, but the Cruiser (and the Patrol) are just that bit more capable. I KNOW, that deep down, you will always believe that, too. Everyone does (except Murf, and a few other Nissan tragics out there). You will get one under $25K.
I'm glad you are not importing. Once it's here, and you find out what's wrong, there's no going back. I imported an excavator once, 800 hours on the clock. Funny how at 1,500 hours things started going wrong that weren't expected until 5,000 hours?
The bit about size and traffic/parking is a bit of a misnomer. My wife drove the Patrol, and now she loves the Cruiser. And she is the world's number one timid driver - loved her little Holden Astra, which I sold to get the Patty. The Cruiser V8 brings her out of her shell a bit sometimes...
She just parks a bit further away, and enjoys the exercise!
backlash08
22-04-2009, 07:00 AM
new pathfinder is a reasonable allrounder, I have the TD one, tows the boat well and is fine offroad/on the beach.
Its the first Nissan I've ever had after a thousand toyotas, value for money, hard to beat (same value propostion as the narvara really)
BenDover
22-04-2009, 08:21 AM
I drive a patrol, only because I need a ute for work. And I wanted coils all round. So really only 1 choice. The GU patrols have a fantastic drive train gearbox, diffs, axles the lot. And can handle upto 1000bhp. The best. But patrols are dead slow. And you wont be happy with it coming from a petrol.
But if I didnt have to have the ute. The 80 would be my only choice.
You are running a cruiser drive train (that says it all). Who ever designed the 80 series was a wizz. Its really toyota's flagship truck. In standrad form, apart from dragging its arse in the sand (spare tyre). Everything is top notch and you dont have to be the best 4x4er to drive them. Constant 4wd, enough power, wide wheel base. Allthough the pajero's etc are very capable on the beach. Its nice to know that if you encounter anything else (steep sand hill exits, fallen tree's etc..) Lets face it, the cruiser just does it all with alot less stress and eeezzzzz. Never had a problem in 15 years.
If you ask any serious 4x4er's. Beach, bush where ever. The 80 would be right up there in the top of their list.