View Full Version : The Cape or Seaway?
20-04-2009, 07:23 AM
Weather dependant, I am flipping the coin over where I should fish this coming Saturday, either Cape Moreton leaving from Bribie ( Spinnacker Sound), or straight out of the seaway on the Gold Coast. I'll leave south passage bar alone until after I have done a bar crossing course with Bill Corten.
One of the deciding factors is whether I can meet up with any of you blokes who frequent the areas mentioned, so I can tag along. Not that I feel I can't handle conditions, but it always feels safer knowing there's other boats out there.
I have fished these areas B4, but only as deckie for FrankOO around the cape, and a few trips out through the seaway in my previous boat, a 15 foot Mustang, on calm days.
Let me know if anyone is planning trips to either, it will be good to "hook up":D
P.S - Is the swell prediction of 2 meters too early to call it if tonight is only Monday? Won't be going outside with that size seas..... Looks like another bay trip....
iceknight
21-04-2009, 03:59 AM
If your keen for saturday im keen for the cape and surrounding areas.... just dependant on weather,
therapy
21-04-2009, 11:52 AM
Gedday Scalem,
I wouldn't get excited about the weather until thursday at the earliest. Allot of time for change between now and then, though after last w/end, Seabreeze and the bom weren't even close!!! If Saturday looks good I might try and get out myself but not holding my breath!! Hope the weather god's play the game...
http://www.seabreeze.com.au/images/forecast/3/BRIS/grg.png?n=1240278522000 (http://www.seabreeze.com.au/graphs/synoptic.asp?StateID=3)
Terry...........
21-04-2009, 06:45 PM
Thanks for your replies.
Terry, I know what you mean, too early to tell, but I have to be 100% convinced the swell has settled down B4 I even consider it. I have never seen Comby Point in a bad mood, and this sat is the maiden voyage for the Yalta offshore if I can get out there.
If either of you do, what ramp do you launch from? Spinnacker will be my choice, at 1st light around 5.00am
iceknight
21-04-2009, 11:42 PM
im 90% sure im going... scarby.. well before Light tho, like to get some placcys in then troll around a bit,....
therapy
22-04-2009, 12:05 AM
Scalem,
Looks like the weather is going to be unpredictable this w/end. 15knts of northerly with a southerly swell can make for washing machine conditions around the cape. Been there and not fun!!
I launch from Scarby near the vmr. Good ramp with a pontoon, heaps of parking and a rigging and de-rigging area. It is probably 20-30 minutes closer than going to Bribie and you can run a direct line to Comby point and miss most of the shallow stuff. I think the quoted distances from both to Comby are Bribie = 17klm's/Scarby = 27klm's. I along with just about every one else with a boat over 15 foot is itching to get out there so I think the next good day we get will see a procession of boats all making the journey north!!!
There are a couple of Ausfishers who I have been trying to arrange a trip offshore with for a while so will post in this section if ever the wind eases!!
Cheers......Terry......
ps..Saw your new rig in another post. NICE!!! No wonder your keen!:)
22-04-2009, 07:12 AM
Terry/Iceknight
I am almost convinced I will be towing from Logan up to Scarby and have a crack at a mark near the Pearl Channel that I have not visited in years, and last time it was very nearly too far for my previous boat coming home with only 10 ltrs spare.
Terry, yes mate, thanks, very keen to get amoungst the big stuff, have been upgrading my terminal tackle for weeks - Bigger reels, single strand wire, macbaits, RMG classic style trolling lures...
I am just about to ask Marlin Mike to enrole in a VHF radio course, not familiar with VHF where I have only ever used 27meg, but what channel are you guys going to be on?? ( I have both in the new rig)
Terry have you ever run aground going on a straight line from Scarby to Comby. Ever got close?
I'll give the cape a miss. Too risky at this stage. Unless anyone is out there and gives me a call to come out and play8-)
catfishkid
22-04-2009, 07:25 AM
I have run straight across to combie from scarborough many times and even at low tide its no problem.You do cross a couple of banks but to be honest I judge each one on the day and pick a line and drive straight across them.
Watch the ramp at scarborough at dead low tide,I have stopped at the bottom and had the hilux keep sliding with the weight of the boat,scarry stuff.Outside of that it is a good ramp.
Cheers Craig
therapy
22-04-2009, 09:15 AM
Like Catfishkid said Scalem, no worries running to Comby straight line. Craig has done it more times than me ( he's confident enough to run around there pre dawn) so take that as stated. If I get out I'll be monitoring ch 73 but don't think I'll be out there this w/end. Are you heading out Craig?
Cheers.....Terry........
catfishkid
22-04-2009, 12:19 PM
Like Catfishkid said Scalem, no worries running to Comby straight line. Craig has done it more times than me ( he's confident enough to run around there pre dawn) so take that as stated. If I get out I'll be monitoring ch 73 but don't think I'll be out there this w/end. Are you heading out Craig?
Cheers.....Terry........
not sure yet terry,I am certainly considering it,will have to wait and see what the weather gods bring,I think the boat has forgotten what is like to be wet.
Cheers Craig
reel scream
22-04-2009, 10:31 PM
You lads are killing me. Can i say- weather is ok ....and really just ok for the Bay for when you are looking at(northern). I wanted to do some cranking of slugs up around the northern shipping markers. They have fish on them.
As far as the Cape goes.. it is still blowing the tits off virgin Chooks here and cant see it becoming too nice till early next week. i will be doing a tues or wend trip if anyone wants to tag along.
PM me
Cheers Scott
iceknight
22-04-2009, 11:25 PM
Monday and tues look the pic in the weather.. ill be out.....
probs still end up going on sat too....
oh and friday :)
23-04-2009, 05:53 AM
Huh, Seabreeze has taken the crap out of early next week, but reading the synoptic chart, I'm not sure they're right. I think Tuesday should be OK. Bankin' on it! Might see you out there Scott!
therapy
23-04-2009, 10:42 AM
You lads are killing me. Can i say- weather is ok ....and really just ok for the Bay for when you are looking at(northern). I wanted to do some cranking of slugs up around the northern shipping markers. They have fish on them.
As far as the Cape goes.. it is still blowing the tits off virgin Chooks here and cant see it becoming too nice till early next week. i will be doing a tues or wend trip if anyone wants to tag along.
PM me
Cheers Scott
Scott,
For me anything 15 knts and above is not really a goer in my boat for the cape(which is where I was talking about). Last time I went out an a 15 knt prediction it was more like 20!! I have come back from the cape in 15 -20 s/e and made it easy but a long bumpy trip. The way things are going though, waiting for a 10 knt means I will never likely get out at all.Tim, Seabreeze has changed again for Tuesday, like I said was more than likely to happen(looks like your synoptic reading is pretty good). Makes it hard to organise a sic....ahem... organise a day off;). Will keep an eye on it for early next week myself, just hope they are closer than they were last w/end. Good luck if you get fellas, hope you find some critters!!
Cheers..........Terry.............
23-04-2009, 09:16 PM
Monday looks a Pearler.....
I'm still trying to decipher Scotts statement "You lads are killing me"
Are you meaning Scott that the crappy weather and swell conditions for the weekend are a no brainer? Should not even enter into your minds going out there? I'd have to agree, might see you around the beacons around top end of bay... If I knew what boat to look for. I'll be on channel 73. and 96 on 27meg
iceknight
24-04-2009, 01:42 AM
OoOoOh Todays looking good....... Pitty most of you are working ;)................
24-04-2009, 05:31 AM
Right now I'm thinking Monday AND Wednesday...
Roll on, time!
24-04-2009, 06:23 AM
OoOoOh Todays looking good....... Pitty most of you are working ;)................
Your kidding?? Swell is too high IMO
Tim why not go the whole hog, Tues is still good even though theres' a bit more breeze, its from the SW which should flatten out the chop around the cape nicely.
therapy
24-04-2009, 08:21 AM
You are a cruel man Icenight!!!!:-[ Awoke today to one of those perfect mornings, no wind, current wind at the cape 8knt's:'( Start work at midday:'( 17 KNTS TOMORROW:'(:'(:'( why is life so unfair!!!! Good luck Icenight (you bugger!!)
Cheers.....Terry........:)
24-04-2009, 12:55 PM
You are a cruel man Icenight!!!!:-[ Awoke today to one of those perfect mornings, no wind, current wind at the cape 8knt's:'( Start work at midday:'( 17 KNTS TOMORROW:'(:'(:'( why is life so unfair!!!! Good luck Icenight (you bugger!!)
Cheers.....Terry........:)
Ditto,
Picture perfect as I type, I think that's one more boat I should throw some prawn shells into after leaving them in the sun for a a day or two;D;D:P
24-04-2009, 06:31 PM
I stuck Bubi on the water today for an hour, just to clear her throat and make sure things work. Now planning Monday and Tuesday.