View Full Version : 33 Gang in Passage

Fishbait
19-04-2009, 07:50 PM
Me and my little boy on the water around 4:40ish to catch the high tide. Unfortunately, bream were not playing. :'( Caught 2 or 3 at 28cm, in the box they go. Moved off to new spot, scored 3 more at 30cm - HHmm getting better but still very slow. On the fall of the tide now, and after about 2 hrs post high since started fishin, moved to another lucky spot of mine to catch several big bream all around the 32-33cm mark (550g). All on my trusty ol mullett and 3kg line. Home by 8:30am for the clean up then.

Was supposed to blowing 20 kts and picking up to 30-40kts today??? May have been for the outside forecast hey as the bribie passage was beautiful.

Seen a heap of the pro ABT boats around - man those boats can move. :o Anyway, hope they did well. Have a good week folks. Cheers, Darren ;)

Scott P.
19-04-2009, 07:55 PM
looks like a good catch - well done

Is there still alot of fresh around there?

wombie
19-04-2009, 08:26 PM
good catch of bream mate some of those pro abt boats were up the caloundra end this morning as well ,one black one was really moving could hear him coming and then he was gone, they must of had comp on.

cheers Paul

Tailortaker
20-04-2009, 03:27 PM
The abt guys didnt do to well, Steve Morgan won with a total bag of 10 fish weighing only 5.32kg, nothing special thats fo sure.

Foxy4
20-04-2009, 06:37 PM
Nice little catch there. Looks like it was well worth the effort for sure.

Fishbait
20-04-2009, 07:25 PM
Scott P - I did fish early but from what I remember, a little fresh still around, not as bad as last week anyway.
Paul - those boats were beautiful to watch when coming down the passage - the rooster tails were an awesome sight. Especially when you see around a dozen of them flyin down the passage together.
Grant - I reckon my fish would have weighed that as well but I'm fishin my trusty old dead stinky mullett as bait instead of those fancy plastics.
Foxy4 - Always worth the effort when fishin with my boy - he's starting to show me up actually - that wouldn't be hard to do anyway.

Good to see the ABT at Bribie - always big bream here to catch - trouble was - everywhere I looked, i went yep, one of my spots, looked at another - thought, nearly at one of my spots. They seemed to work it all out in one weekend - its takin me years......! Anyway, hope they all had fun! Cheers folks, Darren.

MickThe
20-04-2009, 07:56 PM
I was a Non Boater in the ABT comp up there and it was a great venue, but that dirty fresh water and the poor tides (lot less fishable water and more slack water with mid morning Lows) contributed to not many fish being caught and to be honest i think most of the pros have not fished the passage for many many years if ever.

Plenty of blokes would have been happy to take your smaller fish!!

In the conditions even the reefs at Redcliffe on the Sat yielded very few decent fish, when they thought many big bream bags would come from there.

The Bay was made out of bounds with a Strong Wind Warning for the SUN but i think it ended up being 15knots or so at most? The BOM isn't usually wrong on the forecast? ::)

Mick.

Fishbait
21-04-2009, 09:45 PM
G'Day Mick - I always catch big bream. Heaps of them here at Bribie, Toorbul and Donnybrook areas - guess its just local knowledge hey! ;D I've never seen the passage so good. We live in awonderful part of the world here at Bribie! All the best for next time. Cheers mate, Darren.

mangrove rat
22-04-2009, 10:10 AM
bom has just about had it wrong all week...i been trying to get out the front all week! today would probably be the closest they had it. although they did start most forecasts with "unpredictable weather patterns...."
now i've missed the best of the tides and have to go back to work and wait til saturday maybe.... :( :( :( ;) fingers crossed
cheers andrew

22-04-2009, 01:10 PM
I was a Non Boater in the ABT comp up there and it was a great venue, but that dirty fresh water and the poor tides (lot less fishable water and more slack water with mid morning Lows) contributed to not many fish being caught and to be honest i think most of the pros have not fished the passage for many many years if ever.

Plenty of blokes would have been happy to take your smaller fish!!

In the conditions even the reefs at Redcliffe on the Sat yielded very few decent fish, when they thought many big bream bags would come from there.

The Bay was made out of bounds with a Strong Wind Warning for the SUN but i think it ended up being 15knots or so at most? The BOM isn't usually wrong on the forecast? ::)

Mick.

Yeah - those damn kayakers stealthily cleaned that place out mate........:P