View Full Version : oiling the reel?
Mikeey
17-04-2009, 01:53 PM
hey guys,
ive had a bit of a search to find out where you oil your reel from?
after every fishing day i normally soak the reel in fresh water for about 30mins, then when i can get to it the next day i pull the whole reel apart, clean out everything, spray a bit of inox on some parts then dry with a rag,
then grease up a few little parts that use grease,
i have a oiling needle but i dont know where you put it for a drop of oil,
i have a abu gracia reel JH3000 if that helps anyone, im getting tired of pulling the reel apart everytime,
Cheers JV
17-04-2009, 02:18 PM
Mate,
Any reel that can't survive on a quick douse from a hose and the occasional spray with Inox is made from poor materials. Strip and clean properly every season or so unless it goes for a swim and you should be right for years.
Your product manual tells you where to lube but do it sparingly
Soaking the reel in water is a great way to shoten its life significantly:P
Mikeey
17-04-2009, 05:05 PM
hmmm yeah i cant find that manual, i didnt even think about it, i cant find anything on the net either,
just ive read heaps that people give their reel a drop of oil before they go fishing and i dont know where this drop goes? they said oiling hole but i cant seem to see a oiling hole,
so if any1 could let me know or can give me a link that would be good, otherwise i guess i can take the reel apart again,
Rodman
17-04-2009, 05:31 PM
Mate just a bit of advice stop soaking the reel use warm soapy water and a sponge and give it a good wash ensuring that you tighten the drag up.
Use oil on the handle and grease on all the rest of the reel remember less is best
Ken
Frazorodz
Rod & Reel Repairs
Mikeey
17-04-2009, 06:19 PM
so is that all the oil is used for? the handle! i thought the gears were ment to be oiled, so i was only using 1 drop of oil, reel worked awsome for a day or 2 around salt then it had some tough spots, ok no worries thanks for the advice, i guess i will open it all up and make sure i grease up the right spots and stop soaking the reel,
Cheers JV
kevvie
20-04-2009, 03:29 PM
Just to let you know, the top end shimano's have an oiling port for dropping a few dabs of machine oil. I'm not sure what reel your using but most don't have that feature.
I would do as the boys have suggested, also i oil my roller bearing after each trip. This is the bearing in the part where the line bends 90 degrees off the spool. It has the most contact with salt and can get a bit noisy if it isnt continually looked after.
reidy
20-04-2009, 03:58 PM
Grease for gears,oil for bearings and springs is a general rule of thumb.Stop the soaking as water will enter the body and drag and WILL stuff your reel over time.
Reidy
spears
20-04-2009, 06:12 PM
Buy a van staal..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lv5dtHZVwQM (http://www.msplinks.com/MDFodHRwOi8vd3d3LnlvdXR1YmUuY29tL3dhdGNoP3Y9bHY1ZH RIWlZ3UU0=)
Mikeey
20-04-2009, 06:56 PM
haha cheers for the comments, the reel i thought worked better than ever after properly cleaning and greasing etc....., i washed it the way you guys have mentioned and so i will see how it all goes and how long it stay like this,
Cheers JV