View Full Version : what fish

maverik
15-04-2009, 09:54 AM
hey guys just wondering i caught some fish on the weekend and not sure what they are. they look like bream but have pearl spots on them and they are a red colour

15-04-2009, 10:18 AM
might need to be a tad more specific I reckon, like where? any photos? do you own a Fish ID book?

nicko_
15-04-2009, 10:20 AM
Do you know what a squire looks like mate? could be that, they have light bluey coloured spots along their back and are pinkish in colour.

maverik
15-04-2009, 10:26 AM
thats what i thought it might be what is the legal limit for squire as i kept one that was 41 cm

15-04-2009, 11:12 AM
squire (juveniles) are the same fish as snapper. Legal size 35cm, bag limit 5. 41cm is a good pan size fish.

bowds13
15-04-2009, 11:13 AM
35cm is the size for squire. becareful when taking fish u arnt to sure on u dont wanna run in to the fisheries with 1 in ya esky.

maverik
15-04-2009, 11:19 AM
yeah i thought i was pretty safe with a 41 cm one lol. it put up a good fight on 8lb line

15-04-2009, 01:37 PM
would this be what you caught?

http://www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/image/0017/163430/snapper-juv.jpg

if so, then yes a squire/snapper. Legal limit is 35cm and a possession limit of 5 i think, though not sure, I don't catch them up here so I don't worry about them.