View Full Version : Saturday Arvo at Peel

Peter4
06-04-2009, 12:17 PM
Kyle & I saw a window of opportunity for a short fish on Saturday afternoon and decided to see if there were any decent snaps around Peel.

With plenty of cloud about the dusk bite started early. I tried a new bass assassin jerk shad in red and green (not a chook!) recommended by Duncan at Fishhead.

A drift on a favourite mark yielded a few undersize snaps then BANG, my plastic is engulfed by a bigger fish. After a lengthy fight a feisty 45cm snap comes aboard. A PB on plastics for me.

Then Kyle is on and after a good fight lands a strange looking fish of 70cm, which we later identified as a flutemouth!

It then went quiet for awhile so we decided to try a new spot right on dusk. The first two drifts yielded two small snaps for Kyle and a bite-off for me. Kyle then hooks onto an unstoppable that shakes its head and breaks his 12lb leader with ease. Every cast after that was a bite off or a bust up. We didn't come close to landing one!

We thought they might have been a few mackerel playing with our light gear.

Anyway, it was a great short session. Pics attached

Regs

Pete & Kyle

marty+jojo
06-04-2009, 03:10 PM
Hey Pete,
I also have caught a flutemouth on a plastic, mine came from Mud Island. Nice work on the pb snapp. Hopefully you should be able to get a better one before to long, did you try a heavier leader to try stop the bust offs.
Marty.

Peter4
06-04-2009, 03:38 PM
did you try a heavier leader to try stop the bust offs.
Marty.

Nah Marty,

We were targetting snaps and were a bit surprised by the bigger bites and bust offs. We weren't carrying any heavier leader and had even left our slugs at home.:-[

We tried again in poor conditions on Sunday morning and managed a few more juvenile snaps and a couple of chopper tailor.

Pete62
06-04-2009, 04:10 PM
Nice one Pete, now ya better go to Mondy to wash the salt off:-/

Pete.

Peter4
06-04-2009, 04:11 PM
Nice one Pete, now ya better go to Mondy to wash the salt off:-/

Pete.

That's the plan, Pete, that's the plan........;D

Pete62
06-04-2009, 04:40 PM
That's the plan, Pete, that's the plan........;D

;D Always thinkin' ahead mate aren't ya.........................

tfish
06-04-2009, 06:48 PM
gday pete, think i saw you and your mate out there on sat arvo. we were in the 5 metre brooker. We were fishing along those areas late friday arv and then about lunchtime on sat and lost 2 big longtails....got them to the boat both times only to have them spit the lure. the small school popped up on the surface 2x, but both times we hooked up,our hardbodies were swimming at approx 8 feet, just letting you know it could have been a possibility also. thanks for the report...nice squire. cheers trav.

BR65
06-04-2009, 07:32 PM
Saturday arvo on dusk was awesome, pity I was driving home from work!
Great stuff buddy, seize the moment!