View Full Version : Howdy from Texas

welder
06-04-2009, 10:59 AM
Name is , Lester Roberts , I fish a Pacific 2325CC with a Honda BF225 and fish the Gulf of Mexico from Texas to Florida here in the USA.
I wish I could get me and my boat to Australia , I believe you guys have it all down there.
I am from California , moved to Texas in '94 when our girl's were little. I was a Iron Worker in Ca. and went to work for the City I live by here in Texas in '95 and now run the Electrical Dept. as Lineman sup.

My Pacific is my 2nd Alloy boat . The 1st was a '85 , 18' Bayrunner by westcoaster , That's when my LOVE of ALLOY began [ Tinnie or Platey it doesn't matter ] and you guys down under have some of the most awesome Alloy hulls around.

Anyway, y'all need anything just let me know , I would be glad to help all I can .

GREAT site and I'm glad you let me in, THANKS

Lester/welder

STUIE63
06-04-2009, 11:33 AM
Lester welcome to ausfish there are a few blokes from your side of the pacific on here maybe oneday you blokes will have to organise a meet and greet . be very careful ausfish is addictive

maztez
06-04-2009, 12:29 PM
Gidday Lester and welcome to Ausfish .I spent a little time in Texas in 1993 mainly in Dallas ,Fort Worth and Mesquite following a bit of rodeo .I don't reckon I've met a more friendly bunch of people .
My son is having a 7.2metre plate boat being constructed at the moment .Hopefully it will be sent to the paint shop this week then we can do all the fitting out .
Hope to see some reports on here mate .
Cheers and welcome

Benno1
06-04-2009, 01:23 PM
Gday and Welcome Lester :D

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

06-04-2009, 03:15 PM
G'day Mate, welcome aboard!

Pete62
06-04-2009, 03:21 PM
Welcome aboard Lester, sure u will enjoy the madness of this site, looking forward to some pics and stories from your part of the world.

Pete.

welder
06-04-2009, 03:39 PM
Thanks for the welcome , I have been watching AF for a while and know a couple of members here . I finally ponied up the fee so I could post and I think it's very well worth it .
Again Thanks for having me .

Maztez, I'm about 60 miles north of Dallas Ft.Worth

wilcara
06-04-2009, 04:01 PM
Wecome mate.... gee you reckon we have it all and it seems to me you are in a pretty good spot too, maybe we could swap! Anyway good to have you so make sure you post some stuff and share with us. By the way I have had more than one American inquiring about alloy boats from Oz; just amazes me that you guys are not more into them.

welder
07-04-2009, 02:59 PM
Wilcara,
We are trying to spread the word about alloy over here , the Pacific northwest has a bunch of builders.
The majority of guys here think that the Alloy will melt your feet and hands if they walk in or touch one. The other thing is most here think of little row boats when Alloy is mentioned.

I run a web site just for Alloy but it is not cool to spam myself here on AF in a open forum but there is a link in my profile [ Insert Shameless Plug here ] :-X I really like the AMF boat line and would like to see more builders from down under.