View Full Version : Tyre Wear On New Fords
CHAPPY
06-04-2009, 07:01 AM
My daughter and I both purchased new vehicles last year. She has a Ford Territory and I ended up with a Ford Escape. Both vehicles need new Tyres at 30,000k. Tyres are Bridgstones. Both vehicles are run on sealed roads with minimal dirt roads and no off road. I would have thought 45,000K minimum would be not unrealistic.
Your comments please.
Chappy
06-04-2009, 07:33 AM
Hi Chappy
Was most of the initial wear on the front left outside edge and you rotated to even up the wear and they were all eventually (30K) the same?
PS If so probably blame all the roundabouts and tyre pressures and design. Front left outside on our Ford does the same.
If you straighten out your line thru the roundabouts it seems its possible to reduce tyre wear but at the potential cost of panel work and fines!
Chamelion
06-04-2009, 08:37 AM
Did you get a wheel alignment?
Most cars need one from the showroom/factory as they're not usually given one prior to sale.
This information comes from a good mate who is a mechanic with BMW.
Matt.
STUIE63
06-04-2009, 09:01 AM
I had a ford that used to get 25000 out of a set of tyres and everytime I got tyres fitted asked to get a wheel alignment next set I got 25000 again and one more time like this again till a mechanic friend told me to take the car to a specialist wheel aligner the bloke asked me what sort of driving I did as he would set it up for highway or city .cost near on $100 but for the last five sets of tyres I have averaged 63500 km per set and have never had another wheel alignment done.
06-04-2009, 09:28 AM
Basic physics still apply to tyres, soft and grippy will wear faster than hard and slippery. It's a trade off, if you only deal with dealers you are probably stuffed for good options but if you take your car to a tyre place they can offer better tyres, at least longer wearing ones...to say 35K.
My patrol did only about 3-4k this last 12 months I have no tyre wear problems...it's an option:):)
STUIE63
06-04-2009, 10:14 AM
same tyres all bridgestone re92
Benny01
06-04-2009, 07:04 PM
at 30,000km they will certainly not have worn evenly.
russ81
06-04-2009, 08:55 PM
i had bridgestones that came out stock on my 04 suzuki vitara xl7 and they needed replacing at 20000 just from normal road use
Chamelion
06-04-2009, 09:01 PM
RE92's should definitely last longer than that.
Generally OEM tyres have less tread depth then retail tyres. Sometimes it can be quite a few mm. The retail ones are a different tyre and sometimes even made to a different spec.
07-04-2009, 05:27 AM
Take it to Marty at Express/Require-A-Tyre on the corner of Manly and Wynnum Rds.
I am very impressed with these guys. I spend A LOT of money with these fellas, and I take all my friends there. Great service and advice, and good pricing. Tell them Tim sent you!
Marty will tell you exactly why you get the mileage you do, and how to get better.
backlash08
07-04-2009, 08:32 AM
I would have thought 30K klms was close to the mark?
CHAPPY
08-04-2009, 06:01 AM
Thanks for everyones comments. The wear is only slightly more on my front tyres and the wear is even given that it is front wheel drive and auto. No sign of over inflation, under inflation, camber or toe-in. The tyre wear by a dealer is classified as normal even wear. It is just a bit of a shock compared to my other car a Longreach ute. 45000ks is about normal on Mitchies.
After consulting a longtime friend in the industry, he has put me on to BF GOODRICK LONG TRAILS. Apparently, these have been giving 40 k results on a couple of mail contractors NISSAN X TRAILS.. So, I will give them a go. My daughter has gone for COOPERS. Seeing we both do 30k every 8 to 9 months, the experiment wont take long.This friend at BOB JANE also suggests that the factory fitted originals are probably designed for a soft ride when you test drive and entices you to buy the vehicle.
Once again thank you all for your input and I shall keep you posted.
Chappy
08-04-2009, 07:18 AM
My daughter has gone for COOPERS.
Make sure you tell her that if she bought them for the Guarantee/Warranty, she had better not take them off road. It voids both.
CHAPPY
09-04-2009, 05:42 AM
Tim Boy,
Thats a bit hard as her driveway is dirt and a good 1k long,uphill.
But saying that, I dont think she got them for the guarantee. More for a bit more mileage.
Thanks for the warning. I have heard of others having trouble with coopers in that regard.
Chappy.
cliffo
17-04-2009, 07:55 PM
I only got 35,000 from the Bridgestone Dueler A/t that came on my new Navara in 06, I reckon they are a cheap substitute supplied to the Manufacturer at a price.
I've had Desert Duelers that have gone over 100,000 before.
Agree with AK73 Re Different Spec for OEM Tyres
Cliffo
I'd agree,
The dueler at's an my new ute have 14000 kms on them and are looking like if I get to 30 I'll be a real happy boy.
I was getting upset with the holden dealer, so took it to the tyre place that does our fleet t see if they could align it better. He replied in the same vein as others - OE tyres are thai cr@p - just run them out then worry about it when you get some new ones - soon.
I bailed up a bloke today with a similar ute and the new 694 (?) duellers - 25000 kms and they still look like new.