View Full Version : Harries snap

slyman
04-04-2009, 09:25 PM
Made a trip out to harries today around midday, left Wello just after low and had a smooth trip out. Skies were clearing and geez it got a bit warm! Only a couple of boats there when we arrived but several more turned up as the arvo went on.

Did many drifts, both out wide in the deeper water and closer in towards the bank. Quite a few very small squire caught, all 20 cms and less. Fish of the day though went to Chris, a 66cm snap that belted his sapphire shine jerkshad and did a couple of good runs before making its way into the net. Fish ended up with a pierced nose instead of a pierced lip. ;D

http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/P4040380-1.jpg

tenzing
04-04-2009, 09:32 PM
Top Fish ( if a little unlucky) guess that will teach him for sniifing the placcies.
Congrats, good post
Brendan

chief
04-04-2009, 09:37 PM
Very nice hows that background . nice day after a crap morning. Great fish . Well done lads

rosco1974
04-04-2009, 09:54 PM
mate a great bay snap.....couple of nice fillets there...cheers

Captain Jack Zero
04-04-2009, 10:13 PM
Was it a scented placcy?Must have had some good stink!

goggles
05-04-2009, 08:05 AM
Nose lips or ears doesnt matter where u hook em lol ,as long as they come to the boat. Nice fish well done on what looks like a great day. Wayno

reelchippy
05-04-2009, 08:28 AM
Great fish hope thats a sign of things to came thanks for posting cheers

bayfisher
05-04-2009, 10:16 AM
Nice snap, there certainly has not been many report of bigger snaps in the bay of late so it a good catch , weather also looks absolutely perfect out there.

Cheers Chris

The_Tub
05-04-2009, 11:31 AM
where abouts is that? the conditions look fantastic,nice fish

ddobson
05-04-2009, 03:08 PM
Well done boyz i was at green all morning pulling undersized squire and some sweety's to 33cm but no big hits. I thought of going out to harry's but i thought the wind was going to keep blowing.

RAT-KING
05-04-2009, 03:31 PM
Hell yeah great fish that new structure might b starting 2 work!!!
Cheers Simon

SummerTrance
05-04-2009, 04:38 PM
Nice one guys well done! I knew I should have gone today, weather looked tops.

slyman
05-04-2009, 05:03 PM
Nice one guys well done! I knew I should have gone today, weather looked tops.

Ahh, today wasn't anywhere close to being as nice as yesterday marc, we bashed our way over to Myora in the darkness and got a little wet. Got rained on after sun up and got a little more wet, caught a heap of undersize fish and then bashed our way back to Cleveland around midday, and got soaked through. Looking forward to tonights feed of yesterdays snapper though! 8-)

bayfisher
05-04-2009, 08:14 PM
Ahh, today wasn't anywhere close to being as nice as yesterday marc, we bashed our way over to Myora in the darkness and got a little wet. Got rained on after sun up and got a little more wet, caught a heap of undersize fish and then bashed our way back to Cleveland around midday, and got soaked through. Looking forward to tonights feed of yesterdays snapper though! 8-)

We might have bumped into you at the ramp today at Cleveland, me and john (vic1) were putting in my tinnie at Cleavland and he had a chat with someone in a blue poly. You not wrong about the weather it was very ordinary just out past the leads.

slyman
05-04-2009, 08:33 PM
Yeah mate, that was us. Soaked right through 3 layers of clothing coming in from the top of Peel. How'd you lads go? Any luck or gave it away with the wind? Did you see the crew launching on the other side of the ramp with their tie-down still on? ;D

whatscracken
05-04-2009, 08:44 PM
Did you have any luck today Bayfisher?

Chong
05-04-2009, 08:56 PM
nice clean looking fish, luv the bay snaps, good one

bayfisher
05-04-2009, 11:01 PM
Yeah mate, that was us. Soaked right through 3 layers of clothing coming in from the top of Peel. How'd you lads go? Any luck or gave it away with the wind? Did you see the crew launching on the other side of the ramp with their tie-down still on? ;D

Did you have any luck today Bayfisher?
Its never fun in a little open boat when the weather man gets it wrong ;D.

I didn't get to see that crew launching, but there always seems to be some interesting boat launching and retrieving techniques taking place at busy boat ramps on the weekends, I predict there will be a sharp increase of such activity over the Easter long weekend ;D.

We persisted for a while but conditions weren't great and continued to deteriorate. There were a few littlies about but the only thing that made it into the esky today was a nice size tailor and grassy. We shot back into raby bay when it looked like a storm was going to come straight over us and had some fun tossing little hardbodies. The conditions in the afternoon however seemed to really improve and the wind certainly dropped away. It may have been worth staying out there and persisting, but there's always next week.

Cheers Chris

Wyoming
06-04-2009, 12:20 PM
Exceptionally nice work Slyman and what a terriffic day!