View Full Version : Electric Motor Support

ryeham
02-04-2009, 05:12 PM
G'day. I have a 54lb Watersnake fitted and notice that the shaft flexes and bounces a lot when driving to/from boat ramp as well as on the water.

Is this OK/normal for the shaft or should I be trying to support the leccy to prevent all this flexing whilst underway??

02-04-2009, 05:15 PM
My minn kota has been bounced all over Qld roads and tracks and offroad and not a single sign of wear and tear from it. I used to worry but have not given it a thought in 4 yrs now.

Some guys occy strap them to stop the bounce but this preloads them with a bit of stress anyway.

02-04-2009, 06:49 PM
Same as jack. My motorguide has been bounced accross moreton bay many times in 1-2m chop at speeds, as well as down many a dirt road.

Kleyny
02-04-2009, 07:26 PM
If your concerned about it, it shouldn't be too hard to make a chock block to help support the shaft then use an occy strap.

neil

BaitThrower
02-04-2009, 07:28 PM
They are designed to flex a bit anyway so they dont shatter or break if you hit something hard underwater. At least thats what the marketing blurbs all say :)

Leighton
02-04-2009, 07:32 PM
I prop mine with a 40 mm piece of pvc
One end rests on the side deck with a base flange while the motor ends is scalloped with a rubber tonneau cover strap. Works a treat and cost $2
I noticed the motor bounced around a lot and was told excessive movement was not good for the Autopilot

Scott P.
02-04-2009, 08:17 PM
Hello

Just getting alittle side track, i was just looking at the 54lb transom mount for $349. They seem to have good feedback on the site? I have a bracket at the front of my 390 Hornet, Does anyone know if its possible to mount this at the front of the boat and turn the head around?

Tailortaker
02-04-2009, 08:23 PM
Hello

Just getting alittle side track, i was just looking at the 54lb transom mount for $349. They seem to have good feedback on the site? I have a bracket at the front of my 390 Hornet, Does anyone know if its possible to mount this at the front of the boat and turn the head around?

Yes you can, it's not hard but you may as well spend another few dollars and but a bow mount, it's worth it..
Cheers TT

Scott P.
02-04-2009, 08:44 PM
Just worried about the room the mount takes up

Grumpah
02-04-2009, 11:46 PM
Minn Kota (BLA) sell a Bow Mount Stabiliser Kit. Seems to have a webbing strap, a rubber stopper and a length of hard rubber or tube. They say it "attaches to the top side of the upper arm of the scissors mount. When the motor is stowed the stabiliser is positioned vertically between the upper arm of the bracket and the deck of the boat. The rubber bumper protects the deck finish." I reckon that sounds just like Leighton's solution - but I bet it costs a lot more than $2.

Graeme C.

Yeah, just checked BLA site - The genuine article cost just $52.00 more than Leighton's version....nuff said!!

Bear001
03-04-2009, 08:38 AM
I gave up worrying about mine for short trips & out on the water. My thinking is that it should be able to take some bounce as its intended use out on the chop.

Although - I must admit for long trips away (say over 200klm) I have taken the leccy of the boat & carted it in the back of the ute for peace of mind.

Leighton
03-04-2009, 09:00 AM
40 mm PVC
40 mm Floor Flange
a couple of Pops and
a Tonneau Cover Strap

MyEscape
03-04-2009, 12:54 PM
Here's a photo of mine.

I suppose it dpends on your own set up. Mine was easy with the low mount bowrail and it all fits nicely.

The cover is a reel cover bought from BCF. Just looked for one that would slip over the motor.

ryeham
05-04-2009, 08:34 PM
You guys are great....really appreciate all the replies although I gotta say I really like Leightons set up. Will be trying to emulate that after I get back from work ina few days.

Ryan

roydsy
21-04-2009, 04:41 PM
My Motorguide SW75 saltwater wireless series electric motor broke 3 times in 0.5 to 1m chop, even when tied down with a strap. They fixed twice under warranty, now they won't honour it or fixed it.... also Nautilus insurance won't cover under an insurance claim. Needless to say both Mercury/Motorguide and Nautilus are companies I now avoid and wiull continue to spread the word until I am compensated for my $1300 loss. My next step is small claims, followed by some press.

Don't support Motorguide, there warranty isnt worth the paper it is written on.

Both companies are claiming it was not used in accordance with what constitutes normal use..... what a load of rubbish.

Roydsy