View Full Version : when to replace your reel.

rando
30-03-2009, 01:43 PM
Most of my reels are getting a bit of age on them now.They get stripped cleaned and reassembled once a year. A light spray with water then wiped and sprayed with inox after most trips. Still one or two of them are starting to "whirr" a bit.
I am not a wealthy guy so my reels are in the Sahara ,Symetre class, with one or two a cut above that.
So when do you tackle junkies replace your gear, 1,? 2 ? 5? years.
"
Bearing in mind that I am pretty "tight" what are the best "Value" reels in the
5000 sizes and what kind of $ do they require.

tenzing
30-03-2009, 01:46 PM
I have found that the symetre reels are excellent value, and I have them in 2500 and 4000 sizes. I do what you do and they are going strong.
I reckon that in a lot of instances if it aint broken dont fix it.
Brendan

I GOT CRABS
30-03-2009, 03:13 PM
sometimes its cheaper to repair your reels then buy new ones.

ffejsmada
30-03-2009, 04:05 PM
Most of my reels are getting a bit of age on them now.They get stripped cleaned and reassembled once a year. A light spray with water then wiped and sprayed with inox after most trips. Still one or two of them are starting to "whirr" a bit.
I am not a wealthy guy so my reels are in the Sahara ,Symetre class, with one or two a cut above that.
So when do you tackle junkies replace your gear, 1,? 2 ? 5? years.
"
Bearing in mind that I am pretty "tight" what are the best "Value" reels in the
5000 sizes and what kind of $ do they require.

I replace my reels when they are rooted. Simple as that!

You can't put a yearly time frame on them to replace, I've got reels that are still in good working order that are 20 year old!!!

I reckon if your reels are starting to "whirr" a bit, there's still a few trips left in 'em.
They're not broke,...........replace them when you feel they're unusable.:-/

rando
31-03-2009, 12:32 AM
I guess you guys are right. But knowing my luck the reel will become "unusable" while connected to a trophy.

nuggstar
31-03-2009, 05:58 AM
with the sahara's check inside the main gears for striping of teeth of ya main gear. mine got stripped with in a year of hard use, put me right off low budget shimanos

kevvie
31-03-2009, 07:36 AM
as soon as they loose thier smoothness there discarded...

Problem is, as soon as a reel is pulled apart for servicing, they never EVER go back together as smooth as straight out the box...EVER!

So when reels get to the point of needing a service i buy new ones. Might sound frivalous but i hate using reels that feel grindy and whirry!

Strangey
31-03-2009, 10:44 AM
Beg to differ. I pull down all of my reels and they allways are as smooth as before I pulled them apart. In some cases smoother. If your reel has a whirr it may just need a part replacing or a lube.

Rodman
31-03-2009, 12:34 PM
Mate If the reels are in reasonable condition then I would suggest that you do the following:

1. Replace the pinion gear along with the main gear
2. replace the bearings(if needing replacement) with stainless steel shielded bearing purchased from you local bearing retailer.
3. replace the drag washers with carbontex

I would contact your local tackle shop who can get you prices of the replacements

When the reel loses it smoothness it is one of two things, bearings or the most likely culpret would be the main gear and pinion gear. These should always be they should be replaced together never separately as the pinion gear(brass) normally wears more that the main gear

Ken
Frazorodz
Rod & Reel Repairs