View Full Version : Short trip at Top End

Silent
27-03-2009, 08:02 AM
Gotta recover from a short fishing trip from Top End...:P
Here report for 3 days fishing trips

1 Day – Leader creek, we hired a tinny to check creek and just us out to mouth about 8 km from ramp. Tide was going out and I noticed some mangrove tree shaked and told my step dad there are some fish out there and he could some noise also. We started to cast plastic along mangrove for half hour and I spotted about 100mm high doral fin gosh its a metre barra near top surface. I hold my breath and cast plastic 1.5m away from it but a full stomach of bait taken inside mangrove wasn’t mood to play my plastic...:-[
We took some bait mullet to see what fish bite and we finished with 3 blue salmon and decided leave and stopped my uncle on home way and pick a tasty muddie for my treat!

2 Day – Shady camp, 4 of us hopped on comfortable 4.8m Top Ender with 80hp banger launched from barrage and water still over flow and boats are everywhere. Counted about 40 car trailer on the park and day was Monday maybe some on RDO! They don’t dare to mention me about the weekend condition. We headed out mouth of Mary river where the water washes off the flooded plains back into the main river. In those spots all sorts of fish food is washed back into the river and the barra hang about there looking for a smorgasboard. We trolled lures for an hour and nothing action either other boats no action, we headed about 10km away from mouth to try some black jews. We wasted about 3 hours and saw small reefie and sharks and went back mouth to try our luck on trolling and doesn’t work. I asked captain if we sneak into small steam to cast plastic. They agreed and not long I score 60cm barra on plastic and they (old dogs) were impressed and look like I have to teach new trick to them...;D
Got few hits probably small barra and hook up once and lost...
We called it day before sunset... the scenery is very rich wildlife and croc's everywhere!

3 Day – Offshore charter called arafurablue to try our luck on black jews and I was surprised no deep than 20m sea off Darwin and saw heaps of small reefie – cod, parrot, sweet lip, sharks and finger mark territorian calls them its golden snapper! We saw 1st jew caught approx 8kg then next strike jew 9kg then about 4 (i was of one of them) on same stike, very excite on battle and end up big disappoint with all big catfish... we have to move it away because pack of catfish arrive which jews made a distress sound when hooked up...
I have packed about 6kg fillets to take home and put dry ice in disposable esky for a long flight, at the counter they refuse to take esky home and I have to left all fish to Territorian. Learnt my lesson!

Fishing trip was unforgotten...:)

JustOneMore
27-03-2009, 08:19 AM
Well done Dave.....Sounds like you should have hit up more of the feeder creeks? In 7 days, i'll be flying up to experience the NT for a week. Can't wait!

straddie
27-03-2009, 09:25 AM
Heya Silent

Buggar about the fillets they would have gone down nicely. At least yyou got some good pics of the adventure. :)

nicko_
27-03-2009, 10:04 AM
Mate any reason they didnt let you bring the fillets back? About a year ago dad and i went up to weipa to visit my cousin and ended up bringing back about 16kg of fillets between us no questions asked.

robersl
27-03-2009, 10:50 AM
packed in a container approved by the airline they allow you small white styrofoam esky taped up and in the hull sometimes you have to pay extra

shane

Fish_gutz
27-03-2009, 12:11 PM
Great report silent bad luck about having to leave the fillets behind , you`ll have to go get some mud snapper ! She`s a top place up there in the NT. Cheers Andrew

Silent
27-03-2009, 01:03 PM
Well done Dave.....Sounds like you should have hit up more of the feeder creeks? In 7 days, i'll be flying up to experience the NT for a week. Can't wait!
Yeah I wish to hit more those feeder creek, you know what's captain is about!:-X
Good luck with your trip...

Silent
27-03-2009, 01:04 PM
Mate any reason they didnt let you bring the fillets back? About a year ago dad and i went up to weipa to visit my cousin and ended up bringing back about 16kg of fillets between us no questions asked.
With dry ice?

Silent
27-03-2009, 01:05 PM
Great report silent bad luck about having to leave the fillets behind , you`ll have to go get some mud snapper ! She`s a top place up there in the NT. Cheers Andrew
Thanks and I'm ready for Mud when weather's good...;)

DICER
28-03-2009, 10:14 AM
dry ice is a no no, but ice blocks at -25 are fine.

BR65
28-03-2009, 04:26 PM
Great spot Silent isnt it, nothing like the territory for sure!

ddobson
28-03-2009, 06:01 PM
Well done silent. I would love to take my plastic action up were the fish are abundant and with good tasting species. The boyz up there don't know how hard we practice for a time like that. I can't wait to do a trip like that. You lucky bugger.

Saltdoggy
28-03-2009, 07:44 PM
nice report silent, i'm keen as mustard to go on a hunt for some of those barra up north!!

Silent
29-03-2009, 07:30 AM
Thanks...
for sure old dogs are filling up plastic in their tackle... bugger they are territorian lucky dogs!

29-03-2009, 09:31 AM
Great trip mate .. Life time expierence's
Even a trip to Brisbane for Rockhampton they tried to stop my mother taking fish on it was packed sperately in frozen proportions wrapped in paper as per/ their spec's ....... but they let her take it on as we quoted their standards