View Full Version : Seaway firing up !!
hooknose
24-03-2009, 02:05 PM
Headed out the seaway this morning and found bait and fish at the ends of both walls. Birds were working on the end of the south wall and round the corner on the pumping jetty side. There is a fair swell running but I could see a few of the landbased spin brigade hooking up.
Fish were mainly small stipey tuna, plenty of fun, but did pick up a couple of small tailor off the end of the north wall. Saw a guy gaff what appeared to be a decent mackeral in the middle of the seaway, and the sounder was alive with fish over the pipeline but couldnt get a taker on plastics( sacrificed a couple of jigheads to the dreaded pipe), might go back with some livies for top of the tide tomorrow before the wind gets up.
Sorry no photos !!!
justjack
24-03-2009, 02:59 PM
i was on the bank there yesterday and there was birds working everywhere but the water was really dirty was it like that today
tailorboi99
24-03-2009, 03:38 PM
I'll be heading there soon with some livies. Thanks for the report mate.
Tom
hooknose
24-03-2009, 05:12 PM
Water was ok today with good visibility in the seaway itself(could see the fish following your lure up easy) and out front of the south wall, when the run out kicked in(so did the wind) there was a visible dirty water line wrapping around the end of the north wall and spearing up along south straddie. I got my fish on maniacs and medium size raiders, got one on an atomic plastic.
Braddles
24-03-2009, 05:28 PM
Thanks for the report - great to hear the Seaway is heating up! I love fishing around there.... so thanks for sharing.
There is a link under "hints and tips" menu on Ausfish - I think its under Nuggets salt water section - there is a couple of AWESOME underwater videos showing the marine life under and around that pipeline.
Truely amazing! If you havnt seen it - I rate it highly!
I think they are the smartest fishies in the sea though - as it doesnt fish as well as one would think with that concentrated density of quality fish being present....
Maybe I am just a crap fisherman - but I still have fun trying!
brisboys
24-03-2009, 06:32 PM
Thanks for the report mate, glad to hear the seaway is firing up a bit.
Hopefully i can head up there soon and have a flick.
Could someone please tell me what livies would be good down there?
Sam
24-03-2009, 06:50 PM
some awesome footage on the news tonight of big bait schools between the seaway and sand pumping jetty being followed by heaps of sharks. Must be lots of bait down that way.
gregw
24-03-2009, 06:50 PM
Report on telly tonight re the baitfish and sharks chasing them at theeh pumping jetty and seaway. They say up to 30 sharks including tigers. Sounds nteresting .....
nuggstar
24-03-2009, 06:52 PM
sounds like heaven to me
tailorboi99
24-03-2009, 07:40 PM
Report on telly tonight re the baitfish and sharks chasing them at theeh pumping jetty and seaway. They say up to 30 sharks including tigers. Sounds nteresting .....
Damn mate, I gotta get up there!!!
Tom
snagking
24-03-2009, 07:58 PM
Thanks for the report mate, glad to hear the seaway is firing up a bit.
Hopefully i can head up there soon and have a flick.
Could someone please tell me what livies would be good down there?
Sam
The livies that would work well would be mullet, herring, and yakka's I'd say.
the gecko
25-03-2009, 09:01 AM
The landbased guys on the end of the south wall said there were longtails there as well as stripeys and macks.
justjack
25-03-2009, 10:03 AM
great sharks i was diving in that murk on monday hahaha thanks for the reports maybe ill put another dive of for a while
bondy99
25-03-2009, 10:22 AM
G'day Hooknose and Jeremy,
I was looking at the footage on TV last night, bloody awesome, would love to geta feed of tuna and tailor and mac if I can get to them.
I'll have a new accelorator cable in my car by tonight. I hope the buggers will be around tomorrow (Thursday 26th). I dont have a boat but will go to the south rock wall if there's space or on the sand pumping jetty. Unless there's an extra space onboard.
What time of day is best, before sunrise or just after? Tailor is about dawn and after dusk, not sure about the others.
25-03-2009, 10:59 AM
chance I might head down Friday arvo. Send me a pm if you are interested in a seat onboard Peter.
tailorboi99
25-03-2009, 11:19 AM
The livies that would work well would be mullet, herring, and yakka's I'd say.
I like Dart and baby Treva's :D
Tom
mattooty
25-03-2009, 12:41 PM
You could clearly see the longtails above the sharks in that footage on the news. Massive patches of em. Everything is taking advantage of the free feed. I'm expecting those longies to be very well conditioned by the time they get to me.
shin25
25-03-2009, 03:24 PM
didnt hear of any longys landed just mack and stripies and maybe a frigate or two
went back this morn completly dead no bait no fish no fun
very funny watchin all the goobers come out and donate there metals to the rock gods
hung around till 8ish ended up drivin to currumbin nothin there and the boys went further sth for same results
spoke to a life guard said the chopper saw zilch on its run from sth strad to snapper this morn
gotta love fishin there one day gone the next
Pistol_P
25-03-2009, 03:39 PM
You could clearly see the longtails above the sharks in that footage on the news. Massive patches of em. Everything is taking advantage of the free feed. I'm expecting those longies to be very well conditioned by the time they get to me.
Sorry Mat.....They have the u-turn and heading to me...!!!....the bait was at Straddy last I heard...
I will head them off shortly....:P ;D
richos
25-03-2009, 06:14 PM
Was the best 10hours at the seaway wall ive had. Only 6 of us there as well:) A fish behind almost every lure.
Started off with just stripe tunas to 4kg with large mac tuna up to 10kg moving in later in the day. 5way hookups on big macT's were common. The odd suspect longtail hookup/sighting as well. no longtails landed unfortunately.
Only 3 fish lost to the sharks
All over this morning. Like shin said it was funny watching hoards of people donating metals to the stones with their bream gear
ffejsmada
25-03-2009, 06:29 PM
Like shin said it was funny watching hoards of people donating metals to the stones with their bream gear
haha........I know where you'll be snorkelling when the swell settles down!;D
Pistol_P
25-03-2009, 09:11 PM
Was the best 10hours at the seaway wall ive had. Only 6 of us there as well:) A fish behind almost every lure.
Started off with just stripe tunas to 4kg with large mac tuna up to 10kg moving in later in the day. 5way hookups on big macT's were common. The odd suspect longtail hookup/sighting as well. no longtails landed unfortunately.
Only 3 fish lost to the sharks
All over this morning. Like shin said it was funny watching hoards of people donating metals to the stones with their bream gear
Was that you on the news Richie.....?