View Full Version : Do u know this tool
The-easyrider
23-03-2009, 10:50 PM
Does anybodt know this fwit that drove up ellie reek fraser Ishttp://www.brisbanefishing.com.au/images/fbfiles/images/P1030821.jpg (http://www.brisbanefishing.com.au/images/fbfiles/images/P1030821.jpg)
Chong
23-03-2009, 11:44 PM
No..but must be a total ######...another reason for the greens to shut it all down::)
24-03-2009, 07:38 AM
what can i say ......................
The-easyrider
24-03-2009, 07:39 AM
Another pic of this ###### I hope they caught the dichead and threw the book at him.
http://www.brisbanefishing.com.au/images/fbfiles/images/P1030824.jpg (http://www.brisbanefishing.com.au/images/fbfiles/images/P1030824.jpg)
what a goose >:( (now that was being very polite)
going by the sign it may be deeper than it looks too
^@%$#^%$*&%(*^)()(^(%*&%#$%@^%#@^%$(%^%#%$#%$
ShaneC
24-03-2009, 08:11 AM
How far up the creek is this?? What a knob!!
Wahoo
24-03-2009, 08:28 AM
the sign does say.. take care entering the water... maybe he did :-X:-X
24-03-2009, 08:37 AM
I am guessing it would not have been to hard to catch him!!
Hopefully insurance company did not pay to retreive it and he is left with the bill.
I think the TOOL described is called a "wingnut"
ifishcq1
24-03-2009, 08:21 PM
I can't remember the exact tool but at a guess he could be a type of uneducated knob
well he looks like one anyway
SL
whatscracken
24-03-2009, 08:24 PM
Its nothing to be proud about, stuff like this gives the greenies fuel to place more restrictions on us all.
White Pointer
25-03-2009, 12:49 AM
You can't help bad luck and stupidity.
White Pointer
25-03-2009, 07:43 AM
Its nothing to be proud about, stuff like this gives the greenies fuel to place more restrictions on us all.
How true.
It's fools like this that make up about .1% of the population WILL stuff it up for the vast majority of us trying to do the right thing instead of throwing the book at the one dope.
If they did throw the book at him he'd probably say his dad did not buy him a Tonka truck when he was a kid and dad be somehow blamed for it anyways. :-/
25-03-2009, 09:04 AM
yep, absolutely right finga. it's wally's like this bloke who are the reason we cant have a campfire any more, why we have beaches closed off to traffic, why we have camping areas shut down and ultimately why we have green zones.
SeaHunt
25-03-2009, 10:04 AM
I am guessing it would not have been to hard to catch him!!
Hopefully insurance company did not pay to retreive it and he is left with the bill.
I would say he drove it out.
SeaHunt
25-03-2009, 10:29 AM
I think some of you guys need to calm down a bit, while it looks stupid and he is clearly showing off, that bridge is fairly close to the mouth.
On a big high tide the salt water would wash up that far with the waves.
I have seen plenty of people park in the creek about 20 meters downstream from there and wash their 4wd's.
There is no sign there saying you cant do that and what enviromental damage has he caused? None I can think of?
25-03-2009, 11:05 AM
you're correct seahunt, he isn't probably causing any environmental damage, given the flow of eli creek and his proximity to the mouth. the issue is the fact that he has caused a public nuisance and frankly it looks bad. there's a zillion and one tourists that go to the area to look at the pristine freshwater creek and some snapper head has parked his cruiser right where they want to look at the lovely creek. in addition to this, you and i both know that heaps of families and kids also swim in eli creek downstream of that bridge (where it runs parallel to the beach for a bit) and he will have to drive straight through them to get out of there. bottom line is that it's a no-brainer and guys like him are the reason we have restrictions like we do.
SeaHunt
25-03-2009, 11:20 AM
I will largely agree with you Paddles, but remember the zillion and one tourists probably cause a lot of enviromental damage especially the young idiot European back packers.
The media are always going on about effects on the tourism industry, and frankly the overseas sourced part of it we could largely do without. Why don't they go on about our rural or manufacturing industries, far more important.
We have restricions like we do because there are thousands of tossers at the EPA whose job it is to dream up stupid restrictions , fixing things that arn't broke and the worst thing is our taxes pay them to do it.
25-03-2009, 12:41 PM
we've gotta run with what we've got seahunt. you are right about the farms and industry being important but unfortunately our rural and manufacturing industries are struggling to compete on the world stage as it is. tourism is a big boost to our economy and as such needs protecting somewhat (i mean we do live in a frikkin beautiful part of the planet), and to say that we do not need overseas tourists is crazy. in any case, damage from tourists would be fairly minimal, ie. they generally stick to the rules/tracks and go on organised tours etc. damage from the locals with a few beers under the belt and wanting to show off to the tourists however ....................... we can see the photos.
25-03-2009, 05:48 PM
I am surprised nobody here knows this guy..
The-easyrider
25-03-2009, 06:45 PM
If he drove up there while my kids were swimming in the creek I would have ripped his head off and sh1t down his neck
The-easyrider
25-03-2009, 07:15 PM
I think some of you guys need to calm down a bit, while it looks stupid and he is clearly showing off, that bridge is fairly close to the mouth.
On a big high tide the salt water would wash up that far with the waves.
I have seen plenty of people park in the creek about 20 meters downstream from there and wash their 4wd's.
There is no sign there saying you cant do that and what enviromental damage has he caused? None I can think of?
He is obviously at the end of the allowable access to predestions and if the ###### took the time to read his permit it will say to drive only on the beach and tracks. The salt water would not reach up into that area even on the biggest tides he is at least 150meters up the creek, it is no wonder the EPA restrict us using areas. No enviromental damage hey, what about the weed beds he would have driven over and the wheel spinning and I am sure with the turning circle of a cruiser he would have been hitting the banks and damaging them.
SummerTrance
30-03-2009, 08:29 PM
Just saw this on a 4WD forum:
Out of curiosity I sent an email to the EPA and got this reply today:
Dear Paul
Many thanks for the information. As it happened, Rangers attended this incident and obtained full particulars and legal action is being taken. We have a particularly good relationship with Queensland 4WD clubs/community on Fraser Island and we are treating this as a one-off act of stupidity.
Once again, thanks for alerting us.
Rob Allan
Regional Manager
Great Sandy Region
Queensland Parks & Wildlife Division
Environmental Protection Agency
31-03-2009, 09:55 PM
Driving at the coast
Off-road driving at the coast
Queensland’s magnificent beaches with their unspoilt beauty and attractive climate are great places to fish, swim, camp, explore, view the scenery, or simply ‘get away from it all’.
You might want to drive a vehicle on the beach but, before you do, check with the local council, a park ranger or your hire company to see if beach driving is allowed. If so, please follow these tips to help protect and maintain our valuable beaches and dunes.
Where you can drive?
Drive on the harder sand between the waterline and the high tide mark to get the firmest surface.
Remember that other people use the beach, so stay alert, follow the normal road rules and drive carefully! Use only designated access points to the beach and keep off the sand dunes.
Before you drive on beaches make sure you know the local rules about using vehicles on beaches. If you do the right thing other drivers will follow your good example, and these areas will remain open for 4WD use.
Where can’t you drive?
Vehicles should be kept off the sand dunes except at designated crossing points for access to and from the beach. Don’t ‘bust dunes’; protect them.
Nor should vehicles be driven on sandy areas along the debris or drift lines as these are potential sites for the formation of new dunes. Plants growing on or near these lines trap windblown sand to form new dunes.
Hints for beach driving
Travel at low tide, or within two hours either side.
You may choose to reduce tyre pressure to maintain traction, but if you do, do not forget to re-inflate your tyres to resume speed on harder sand or surfaces.
Always carry a pressure gauge together with a pump to re-inflate your tyres before travelling on normal roads.
But remember to keep within your manufacturer’s specifications if you do decide to adjust your tyre pressure. And don’t forget to consider the load your vehicle is carrying.
Reduced tyre pressure will affect your vehicle's performance. Remember to avoid sharp turns, sudden braking, high-speeds and driving over rough surfaces. Tyres have been known to come off their rims and serious accidents have occurred.
Being prepared will help you get your vehicle out if you get bogged in soft sand. Carry a shovel, tow rope or traction aids – and know how to use them. Driving guide
Before you drive on beaches you should find out about restrictions and the need for permits as regulations and controls relating to the use of vehicles are in force along most of the Queensland coastline. Contact local councils or a park ranger for this information.
Rules for beach driving
You can gain considerable pleasure from driving on beaches. However, if used inconsiderately, your vehicle can also annoy other beach users and damage the natural beach environment. It takes only a few inconsiderate people to damage the reputation of all 4WD vehicle users.
By following these tips you will help protect our beaches and have a safe and enjoyable visit.
Observe all the laws and regulations relating to the use of vehicles on beaches. Remember these regulations vary from place to place.
Drive on the harder sand between the waterline and the high tide mark to get the firmest surface.
Keep off the sand dunes except at designated crossing points for access to and from the beach.
Vegetated sand dunes are easily damaged. Strictly avoid these areas.
Recognise the right of others to use the beach. Be alert and drive slowly and carefully.
Do not drive when you are tired.
Do not drink and drive.
Respect the wildlife. Some animals are easily disturbed and disturbance can affect their survival.
Keep the beaches and dunes clean; carry your rubbish home. If others have left a mess, consider cleaning it up.
Ensure that your vehicle is mechanically sound before your visit.
Consider reducing your tyre pressure when driving on soft sand but keep within the manufacturer’s specifications.
Ensure your vehicle is in 4WD when on sand.
Always carry a tyre gauge, air pump, towrope, first-aid kit, adequate water, food, fuel and spares on all trips.
Ensure you have a valid vehicle permit for those areas where a permit is required.
In remote beach areas travel with at least one other vehicle to reduce the risk in case of trouble. And let a responsible person know where you are going and when you expect to return. Why protect dunes?
Most beaches in Queensland are backed by vegetated sand dunes. These dunes are very effective coastal protection features. They absorb the erosive energy of waves generated by cyclones and storms and are reservoirs of sand to nourish the beach during periods of wave erosion. Vegetation on the dunes traps and holds sand blown from the beach aiding dune build-up and stopping sand from being blown inland and lost from the active beach and dune system.
Dunes with their covering of grasses and other plants are so fragile that even footsteps can damage or kill the plants and weaken the dunes. Driving vehicles on dunes has a worse effect and greatly increases the chance of dune destruction. Vehicle tyres destroy dune vegetation exposing the sand to wind erosion which lowers the dunes and reduces their effectiveness as coastal protection features. Beach erosion increases because of the lower volume of sand in the dune directly behind the beach.
Driving safely
Beaches
Beaches have particular driving hazards.
Deep washouts can happen at any time, particularly after heavy rain and rough seas.
Wave action can expose dangerous rocks overnight.
Big high tides can cover the entire beach, with waves washing up to the foredunes and leaving no option but to drive through salt water. This is dangerous. Your vehicle may sink, overturn or be quickly inundated by the rising tide. Driving on the western beach is not recommended.
The ever-changing weed banks that lie buried under the sand along the western beach (and occasionally on the eastern beach) deceive even experienced drivers. Your vehicle may sink. Tow trucks are many hours away. Drive with another 4WD or enjoy a walk instead. Do not enter areas along the western beach, which are closed to vehicle access. Check your map for details (http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/media/parks_and_forests/parks/maps/map_fraser_island.pdf).
Normal road rules apply
All inland roads, vehicle tracks and beaches are designated roads and normal road rules apply. Police patrol all areas of Fraser Island. Speed checks and breath testing can happen at any time of day. Maximum allowable blood alcohol level for drivers in Australia is .05.
Speed limits on the island:
40km/hr shared zones on the eastern beach
80km/hr on the eastern beach
50km/hr on Hook Point inland road
35km/hr on all other inland roads. But always drive to suit conditions.
Only use indicators when overtaking or turning. Keep to the left of oncoming vehicles at all times.
Right of way
All standard give-way rules apply. However, most of the roads are narrow and carry two-way traffic. When safe, give right of way to buses, trucks and to vehicles travelling downhill or towing trailers. Passing bays are frequent. If possible, drive forwards into them.
Give way and drive slowly around dingoes, birds and other wildlife on the beach.
Aircraft
Aircraft landing zones are signposted and marked with orange cone markers along the beach. Planes need to land on the harder sand close to the water's edge. Vehicles should move to the upper beach, but not onto vegetation drivers should heed aircraft traffic controller directions.
Tyre pressure
If you choose to reduce tyre pressure to help with traction in soft sand, particularly at Indian Head bypass and further north, select low gears and avoid sharp turns and sudden braking, as tyres can roll off their rims. When deflating, keep within manufacturer’s recommendations. Re-inflate to resume speed on harder sand and for mainland driving.
Best travelling times
Avoid driving during the two hours either side of high tide — and often for longer, as some areas are more affected than others by tidal activity and onshore winds. For safety, avoid travelling at night.
Stay on formed tracks across dunes
It is illegal to drive on dunes. Look for formed entrance tracks into beach camping areas.
Don't let your trip turn to tragedy
Slow down and give way when passing pedestrians, especially around the Maheno wreck. Pedestrians often cannot hear approaching vehicles above the sound of the surf. Never sleep, sit or picnic in vehicle traffic zones such as the beach, roads or campground access tracks. Remember that Fraser Island's eastern beach is considered a highway.
Stay alert when driving on Fraser Island. Accidents have happened due to reckless driving or silly pranks. Passengers have suffered serious spinal injuries in vehicles travelling too fast for the road or beach conditions. If your driver makes you feel unsafe in a vehicle — say something. Slow is safe!
Be very careful when crossing Eli, Wyuna and Coongul Creeks. Large volumes of water create steep creek banks.
Never attempt to cross Wathumba Creek or Moon Point estuaries.
Before crossing any creek, walk through it, if safe, to check the depth of water and softness of sand. Never stop your vehicle midstream; your vehicle may sink or stall.
31-03-2009, 10:01 PM
Having read all of the above in relation to 4 x 4 driving on Fraser Island, I cannot see ( technically ) where it states you cannot drive up Eli Creek. There is a statement that hints at driving on designated tracks... " inland ".
I do not condone the action of this drongo in any way, shape or form, just found it interesting that all safety and warnings are about creek crossings and sand ' dunes '. Even blind Freddy and his mate Dumb Darren, knows that driving up Eli creek is an act of stupidity.
Here is the rule:-
Use only designated access points to the beach and keep off the sand dunes.
Having been to Fraser many many times, I am aware that not ALL access tracks are signed ( read... designated ). It is fair to say that a well worn and obvious track / access point is the one to be used, whether signed or not.
And this from the EPA:-
It takes only a few inconsiderate people to damage the reputation of all 4WD vehicle users.
So, the warning is there and the EPA are aware.