View Full Version : TEN MONDY METERIES (+ a cast of others)
Well all .... I'm back from what was a most memorable barra trip - One that started with no great expectations & the likelihood of several relocations.
The trip didn't start off too well .... me moving into my new pad the evening before I was due to leave for Mondy...... rush , rush , rush ( bound to leave something behind + MW (jet set fishoe) leaving me waiting for his phone call - that never came .....distracted by a lady walking in front of him = locked phone anyhow drove past the terminal & picked him up (1 hour late) arrived at Mondy after a provision stop & Gin Gin ..... + a chat to Foxy ....... A sort of quick set up of the camp & we were on the water for a mid afternoon fish in very cold threatening weather .......... no great expectations.
Not 40mins into the session at the previously mentioned SPOT X (The Producer) whitey is hammered on a Black & Gold Slick rig ............. a nice 110cm fish is boated 43730
. Missed several more......... what a way to start the trip
Day 2 saw us fish all day for SFA till we went back to the producer MW lands a new PB of 114cm43731 , a awesome looking 97 & a 95
. While I got off the nut with a 95.
The next day Trev joined us & with a biteless day fishing D & the South arm of B
.. We found ourselves back to the producer for the evening bite
Trev shows us his wares by landing a awesome 117 43732 & a high 90s ( man can Trev catch barra)
.With my contribution a 95 (MW started his run of 5 consecutive donuts)
The following morning saw us off to LakeGregory for a bass session
.. A bit of fun with several low 40s landed & lots of little takers
. After that it was off to get some welding done on my trailer ( broken guard support & keel roller mount)
.. Thanks to Trevs mate Stuie
.. Who knew of where we could go .
At this point of time we were making plans to bypass Awoonga & fish Kinchant / Teemburra
due to poor forecast ( Cyclone off Fraser Is)
.. But the decision was to be based on the next days results.
After returning from Gin Gin
on the water for our evening session
. Just after dark I manage a 99
. & with the crescendo of barra boofing in adjoing bays
I* dropped 3 fish on surface lures (X walks)
.. before producing a new PB of 123cm on a deeply fished 6 storm swim shad 43733
.. 43734Barely able to lift her for a pic or two , she swam off strongly after destroying my brand new Zillion HLC ( MW put her down on the reel)
.. Well thats just about the end of the notion of heading for greener pastures
The following day killed the idea completely
with a late start ( fishing had been poor during the daylight hours
though the bite was getting earlier - On our location around 2ish we relaxed , sinking a couple of coldies before commencing our casting
.. What happened over the next few hours was mind blowing - 2nd cast I land a 10843735 , 4thth cast a 104 43736 followed shortly after by a 98 & 95
. Two consecutive jump offs43744 & another 95
another jump off
.43748 & finally an 88 ( MW lost a fish on our tie off tree) .
I landed another couple of fish the following day including a 100 even
What happened the day after was bizarre
.. Between us 5 out of 5 jumps offs
. & a donut day
.. But still lots of fun.
At this point of the trip the weather turns sour with a cold SE wind replacing the 3 days of glorious NE winds
. We both donut on the back of plummeting water temps ( 5 deg drop)
The weather continued to deteriorate & through sheer madness we hit the water with a rather nasty storm brewing
not 500m from the boat ramp I realise that I had forgotten both cameras
.. & going against MW insistence I continued to our location
.. I did say Well probably land a cracker!) Well MW certainly came back from the dead with a session in appalling conditions & results that beggars belief
.. remember what I said about the camera - Yep we had to blast up to some fellow fishoes to get them to take a photo of MWs new PB ( 121cm)
this was followed up by a 105cm & 1 jump offs
and a fish that MW was never going to stop by the time I threw the buoy
.. The big girl made it to a tree some 100M away - put her head out of the water & ripped out the slick rig on the tree ( still waiting on the photo of the 121 to be emailed to me)
Trev joined us again
. & with MW landing the only fish (mid 80s)
. Things looked pretty sad with the life being ripped out of south B on the back of the SE winds
We decided to look elsewhere the following day
giving 2 mile a try
.. Not exactly great conditions
. But we were fishing . My very first cast of the day into some spindly bank side structure
.. Saw the stiffy twitch bait disappear in a boil - & realising I was in trouble, immediately backed off the drag
. Which was all to no avail ( I was running a lighter gauge hook on the back which was opened up.
What happened next could only be described as amazing
.. Trev was working his way through the timber when he points out the little wake of a barra next to a tree
Trev lands his cast perfectly & the spray of water says it all Yep barra Unfortunately after some jumps & an entangled line ( a broken twig)
. All he ended up with was a straightened jig head .
Further in
. I see what was the ideal ambush scenario
. In the distance & waiting for the right moment
. I make the cast & land my Twitch bait right on the money ( I wish I was 2 cents short)
.. the treble catches the log - MW then lands his slick rig over the log , slides it over it & gets himself a 110
which had to be landed while I was still snagged .
Trev lost another fish around a small tree a little later . Back to the Producer for sunset
.. but it was dead , though we did hear that Culbura managed a fish on the next point ( well done).
Our final days fishing had us chasing warm water / currents
.. & we eventually found 29 deg up around H
. We had a lovely warm day with winds driving the currents our way
.. Life seems pretty good . Around 11am I got a bone jarring hit casting into the lantana but we couldnt entice another bite over the next 10 mins . as we were moving away MW casts back toward the area and is smashed on another slick rig
.. The fish quickly make a B line for some standing timber , wraps the braid but is clearly visible on the surface . MW fortunately listened to the advice being yelled at him , which gave me the chance to unwrap the braid & get the fish into open water
. After a great scrap MW lands an awesome 102.43739
Not long after
.. He breaks off another decent fish ( panic
thumbs on spool = POP!)
An hour later
I land a golden fish that was picked from a lily pad- 43738 You have to love a fish that swims straight out between all the timbers & leaps 5 feet boat side
. The 88 was our last fish of the trip.
That evening we had a few beers , cheese & crackers with Steve B & BR65
A great way to finish off our trip.
Aside from the fishing , it was great catching up with fellow ausfishers , Culbura & son , Mylestom & wife , Pete62 , BR65 , Steve B & Awoonga , Foxy + a great bunch of blokes from Cobar .
PS ...... Post 19 has the photos of MWs 121
PPS ..... As for spot X - I'm sure any shallow point that is prominant with access to deep water , could fire on the right conditions - Our formula was a simple one! We fished hard during prime bite periods , lots of casts sometimes in appalling conditions ........... More often than not , all the other boats left the area just when the fish came on. ( 2 boats that remained & fished the next point scored barra over 3 different nights)
Tropicaltrout
23-03-2009, 08:09 PM
Well there it is mate awesome stuff, as I said after all the hard yards mate you got what you deserve, with a cracker trip.... scary thing is now mate your here and only a few hours away so I reckon there will be a few reports in the coming months..
Anyhow mate a fantastic read, great fishing, and good mates along the way, well done, and congrats on the $123 mate and MW $121 it seems to be the mile stone these days and you did it awesome.
Nath
francey
23-03-2009, 08:10 PM
Mate that sounded like a trip of a lifetime I hope I can get onto as many as that next time Im back there great report and pics
Francey
Well there it is mate awesome stuff, as I said after all the hard yards mate you got what you deserve, with a cracker trip.... scary thing is now mate your here and only a few hours away so I reckon there will be a few reports in the coming months..
Anyhow mate a fantastic read, great fishing, and good mates along the way, well done, and congrats on the $123 mate and MW $121 it seems to be the mile stone these days and you did it awesome.
Nath
Thanks Nath
Much easier now ...... just a 4.5 hour stroll - even MW who is ship scared of flying will be back ( If I have him ;) )
always enjoyed our trips regardless but this was something else for sure
Steve B
23-03-2009, 08:24 PM
yeah spose you did ok;)...
I would expect better now you a QLD'r....but its a start:P;);D
Seriously, Well done to both of you.!!! You certainly hit the the place hard, and go the just rewards!!.
I had a doughnut today for the record. One hit, one miss!!!:-[
Cheers Steve
tiges
23-03-2009, 08:26 PM
Great report Nagg. What is it with MW's fascination with fluro yellow clothing?
Awoonga
23-03-2009, 08:37 PM
Yes,, yes...its going to be hard to top this trip....The sheer size of those Mondy is just....it wont be long before the magic 130 is blown away.. its time to rewrite the record books....Monduran has this magic spell that has bitten me as well... Awoonga just minutes away or Mondy....at the moment its Mondy....
Great report Nagg. What is it with MW's fascination with fluro yellow clothing?
....... IT's FREE! ;D
The bugger even stole my Loomis cap >:(
Yes,, yes...its going to be hard to top this trip....The sheer size of those Mondy is just....it wont be long before the magic 130 is blown away.. its time to rewrite the record books....Monduran has this magic spell that has bitten me as well... Awoonga just minutes away or Mondy....at the moment its Mondy....
Hey Trev ...... Great fishing with you again .
There is something about Mondy ...... lots of options
as mentioned , we left the producer alone & found 29 deg up at H ....... casting to bankside structure8-) ......... just awesome
DEANO68
23-03-2009, 08:56 PM
WHITEY..and chris..;) ...chris, awsome mate, i knew it would not be to long before we see you with a huge girl.(barra)...the time and effort you put into your fishing...well deserved prize mate.:beer: .congrats to you and the mighty, no doubt will see you up that way soon...8-) :beer: ..top report..thanks.
deano..8-)
WHITEY..and chris..;) ...chris, awsome mate, i knew it would not be to long before we see you with a huge girl.(barra)...the time and effort you put into your fishing...well deserved prize mate.:beer: .congrats to you and the mighty, no doubt will see you up that way soon...8-) :beer: ..top report..thanks.
deano..8-)
Thanks Bud
It would be pretty hard to keep me away;) MW will be there for the muster.
Yes ..... the big girl , It did take a while (too many lost) -
Yeh , I certainly feel the fish have been earnt ....... specially when I have to listen to YEH , WHITEY THE BARRA CATCHER or WHITEY THE BARRA CHAMP ..... ::) I feel so sorry for the person he sat next to on the plane this afternoon :earmuffs:
catchya soon
Callop
23-03-2009, 09:39 PM
Awesome stuff Chris. I bet the next trip was planned in the car on the way home?
TonyM
23-03-2009, 10:03 PM
Awesome trip guys, and great report Chris.
Well done to both of you on the new PB's 8-)
Bummer about the new reel, although if you're gunna break it I guess that's the way you want to do it - flogged to death by a Monster Barra :)
Obi _ Wan
23-03-2009, 10:10 PM
Chris,
That's a bloody good report with fantastic pictures mate.
Well done to both yourself and the Mighty Whitey, you both deserved a good trip like that after all the miles, time, effort and cost you have poured into the Barra scene over the past few years.
Now you both have a PB better than mine so, now i have a target, looks like i'll just have to go to Mondy.
I've been told Whitey needs a new pair of volley's, sounds like a good item for a Christmas present, do you reckon he can make the present pair last another eight months?
And the Zillion? is it fixable? expensive flop mate.
Well done, the trip was a ripper for you.
John.
robersl
23-03-2009, 10:17 PM
good read nagg hope you left some for me this weekend mate thats if there's any water left in the dam since they are letting some out might be a good thing
shane
Chris,
That's a bloody good report with fantastic pictures mate.
Well done to both yourself and the Mighty Whitey, you both deserved a good trip like that after all the miles, time, effort and cost you have poured into the Barra scene over the past few years.
Now you both have a PB better than mine so, now i have a target, looks like i'll just have to go to Mondy.
I've been told Whitey needs a new pair of volley's, sounds like a good item for a Christmas present, do you reckon he can make the present pair last another eight months?
And the Zillion? is it fixable? expensive flop mate.
Well done, the trip was a ripper for you.
John.
Thanks John ...... cracker of a trip alright
I hope the Zillion is reparable , Its a bent shaft :'(
We were going to have a sacrificial burning of the volleys last night - but we were afraid for the health of Brian.
good read nagg hope you left some for me this weekend mate thats if there's any water left in the dam since they are letting some out might be a good thing
shane
shane ..... there might be a few that we didn't sting ........ certainly plenty of catumundus ;)
Awesome stuff Chris. I bet the next trip was planned in the car on the way home?
not at all Dave ........ I've planned my next trip already - MW has to wait till the Muster
So here are some shots of MWs new PB ......... Its a cracker of a fish & so different to the pig that I landed ....... This fish went hard & you can see why
Enjoy
43762. 43766 ...43764 .....43765 ....
Apollo
24-03-2009, 06:10 AM
Top effort guys. Obviously just reward for putting in the hard yards. It is interesting to contemplate how big a PB is actually needed for Whittey to smile when he is photographed with it. Or is he just playing it 'matter of fact'? I wouldn't stop smiling.
Anyway great effort and congrates to you both for the trip and the read.
Top effort guys. Obviously just reward for putting in the hard yards. It is interesting to contemplate how big a PB is actually needed for Whittey to smile when he is photographed with it. Or is he just playing it 'matter of fact'? I wouldn't stop smiling.
Anyway great effort and congrates to you both for the trip and the read.
Thanks Apollo
I think MW was pretty stressed at that point of time ( no camera & a new PB) ...... + he dropped my Loomis cap in the drink ::)
Seriously , The last thing we wanted was a dead barra........ Thankfully she seemed to swim off OK
Tropicaltrout
24-03-2009, 06:47 AM
not at all Dave ........ I've planned my next trip already - MW has to wait till the Muster
Let us know mate got a bit of freedom now with the second car, so a trip is some what do-able....
It looks like the weekend after Easter & I think there are some others planning to go that weekend as well
Whitto
24-03-2009, 07:49 AM
Shite Hot Trip Chris....going to be very hard for u to top that.....Fantastic action and still shots......Easter weekend not a good move......week after 10 out of 10 is my guess....should see you then:D
Hi Whitto
Yeh mate , have to get it out of your head about topping a trip like that , specially when MW & I have had 3 crackers in a row ............ we actually said after day 2 - that we would go home happy:)
As for Easter ...... no , I would head up the following one
Pete62
24-03-2009, 08:00 AM
Hey Chris, great report and well deserved results. Just awesome, great to meet u both and thanks for sharing tips and ideas.
Cheers, Pete.
PS: Whitey would have been relieved the PB pics showed up.
Hey Chris, great report and well deserved results. Just awesome, great to meet u both and thanks for sharing tips and ideas.
Cheers, Pete.
PS: Whitey would have been relieved the PB pics showed up.
Ta Pete
Yes mate ..... Dagg was relieved when I told him this morning.
Would have liked to see you get a fish ...... you came close though
No problem on the tips .... just remember - Throw away all your lures & just carry Evil Minnow slick rigs .......... MW will vouch for that ::) .......... He basically used nothing else except for the occasional black & gold slickie ( he did change sizes 110 & 130s)
Me ..... I threw everything including the kitchen sink :P
Barraholic
24-03-2009, 09:20 AM
Awesome report guys - well done. We're headed down there this weekend so this has certainly fired us up! no back to praying to the weather gods ;)
Kev
Me ..... I threw everything including the kitchen sink :P
including TMNT? did Raphael get a swim?;)
Well done Chris and Ads. You can see the effort that the pair of you go to has paid big PB dividends. Glad it was another successful trip. hope to see you all up there soon.
Cheers Roo.
P.s. Bent shaft(spool shaft) is fixable..... buy new spool!! I think they are made from Duralium so probably not something you could straighten.
including TMNT? did Raphael get a swim?;)
Well done Chris and Ads. You can see the effort that the pair of you go to has paid big PB dividends. Glad it was another successful trip. hope to see you all up there soon.
Cheers Roo.
P.s. Bent shaft(spool shaft) is fixable..... buy new spool!! I think they are made from Duralium so probably not something you could straighten.
thanks Roo
I think its the main shaft ..... where the handle is :'( ......... I'm not game to look closely as yet
gunna
24-03-2009, 11:52 AM
Super effort and great report. I assume you had to chase those big girls after hook-up ?? That would have raised the blood pressure in the dark lol.
some were chased ...... but as we fished a pretty open area - all was sweet
themissus
24-03-2009, 01:08 PM
Wow Chris!! Ok it was worth the wait!!;)
Amazing trip, congrats on the new PB you both managed. What's the bet ...how long until a 130 is on the mat? Bummer about you new reel. Just remember, it's not over till the fat barra sits on it;D I'd like to be there when you take it back to the shop and tell em a barra sat on it and broke it. Might help to take a pic of the fat B$%ch?;D I can't believe the girth difference between the 121 and 123. Your has been in a good paddock.
Congrats again on a awesome trip!!
Cheers Kim.
Wow Chris!! Ok it was worth the wait!!;)
Amazing trip, congrats on the new PB you both managed. What's the bet ...how long until a 130 is on the mat? Bummer about you new reel. Just remember, it's not over till the fat barra sits on it;D I'd like to be there when you take it back to the shop and tell em a barra sat on it and broke it. Might help to take a pic of the fat B$%ch?;D I can't believe the girth difference between the 121 and 123. Your has been in a good paddock.
Congrats again on a awesome trip!!
Cheers Kim.
Thanks Kim
I was looking forward to seeing the comparison photos ........ only 2 cm in it (2.5cm really) ....... but the fight was totally different , mine came rather easily while MW ran/ jumped carried on for a good 10 mins....... it would not come to the net...........
Broken reel (first trip) ...... hopefully I wont be stung too much ( its a lovely reel too)
Thanks John ...... cracker of a trip alright
I hope the Zillion is reparable , Its a bent shaft :'(
We were going to have a sacrificial burning of the volleys last night - but we were afraid for the health of Brian.
Didnt want those bloody things on the fire mate, EPA would have flogged us! That was noice cheese and crackers though, I allways say you can never have to much cheese when your camping......
Epic trip, awesome fish, that big girl blows me away, its just all body bulk with a head and tail tacked on the ends, really is good as it gets and very much deserved to you and the MW.
See ya managed to get that tent under contol yesterday, I'd just finished the all day brekky at Howard when you blokes whizzed past me.
bar raider
24-03-2009, 05:27 PM
well done guys, a great haul indeed.
I'm going up again soon (my first barra trip not long ago = donut) and hope even for just one fish
Didnt want those bloody things on the fire mate, EPA would have flogged us! That was noice cheese and crackers though, I allways say you can never have to much cheese when your camping......
Epic trip, awesome fish, that big girl blows me away, its just all body bulk with a head and tail tacked on the ends, really is good as it gets and very much deserved to you and the MW.
See ya managed to get that tent under contol yesterday, I'd just finished the all day brekky at Howard when you blokes whizzed past me.
Hi Brian
That was a great way to finish off our trip- fire , beer , cheese & bickies ..... & good company
Those Volleys could have walked into the fire themselves;D
A big fish alright ....... I sruggled to lift her - & didn't really feel happy about having that dorsal spine in my face.
Got the tent down OK ...... Its just the packing that is a pain
We just decided to try a Sexy Coffee when you were behind us ........... It was a hell of a difference with just a 4.5 hour drive ........ LOVE IT !!! ........ except now I have to unpack 20 boxes in the unit :-/ .
robersl
24-03-2009, 06:56 PM
So Nagg will you be there this weekend mate won't be the same if you are not there. and it is only a 4.5 h drive now lol what part of town did you move to mate
shane
So Nagg will you be there this weekend mate won't be the same if you are not there. and it is only a 4.5 h drive now lol what part of town did you move to mate
shane
Actually Shane ..... I'm driving down to Sydney for a few days work & catch up with kids & family.
I ended up in Morningside ......... not a bad place - but most importantly room for my boat ::) - not easy to find without selling my organs!
Should be up at mondy after Easter ( trying to get a trip in each month)
DEANO68
24-03-2009, 08:02 PM
Actually Shane ..... I'm driving down to Sydney for a few days work & catch up with kids & family.
I ended up in Morningside ......... not a bad place - but most importantly room for my boat ::) - not easy to find without selling my organs!
Should be up at mondy after Easter ( trying to get a trip in each month)
each month, sounds like brians res..?? at least you have fish this month,,,,::) ..::) ..you can go to sydney...:P
Yeh Deano ...... but I said trip - Brian wants barra :P ........ cant get away from my Sydney trips because I'm still looking after 2 major accounts - So I have to show some love !!!!!.... $$$$$$$$$$$$$
My plan is to do 3 day weekends ....... each month
DEANO68
24-03-2009, 08:25 PM
Yeh Deano ...... but I said trip - Brian wants barra :P ........ cant get away from my Sydney trips because I'm still looking after 2 major accounts - So I have to show some love !!!!!.... $$$$$$$$$$$$$
My plan is to do 3 day weekends ....... each month
mmmm 3 day weekends, wish they were not just a dream.....:'(
rc@hinze
24-03-2009, 08:27 PM
Great report Chris, well done to you both. Some incredible looking fish in those photos. It must be a bit of a culture shock to be only4.5 hours away now. -cheers Richard
tailorboi99
24-03-2009, 09:00 PM
Mate, they're absolute TANKS!!! Awesome job! Jaw dropping read!!!
Tom
Obi _ Wan
24-03-2009, 10:04 PM
mmmm 3 day weekends, wish they were not just a dream.....:'(
Deano, 7 day weekends are better mate, not as many $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ but hell we are here for a good time not a long time.
John.
Hi Brian
That was a great way to finish off our trip- fire , beer , cheese & bickies ..... & good company
Those Volleys could have walked into the fire themselves;D
A big fish alright ....... I sruggled to lift her - & didn't really feel happy about having that dorsal spine in my face.
Got the tent down OK ...... Its just the packing that is a pain
We just decided to try a Sexy Coffee when you were behind us ........... It was a hell of a difference with just a 4.5 hour drive ........ LOVE IT !!! ........ except now I have to unpack 20 boxes in the unit :-/ .
Never stopped there, how IS the coffee
robersl
24-03-2009, 10:45 PM
yeh i got a 3 day weekend this weekend good luck with the trip back south
shane
Great report Chris, well done to you both. Some incredible looking fish in those photos. It must be a bit of a culture shock to be only4.5 hours away now. -cheers Richard
Hi Richard
I knew there was a reason to come to Qld :P There certainly were some great fish caught
but when you think of it ....... it wasn't beer and skittles either ! MW had 5 fishless days , I had 3 & even a bloke like Trev had 2 ( very unlucky though) ........ we did hook (loose) fish each day.
Never stopped there, how IS the coffee
Coffee was pretty good ..... MW reckons the B&E roll was the best ........
I was Bacon & egg'd out ....... I had it virtually every day!
Whitto
25-03-2009, 08:46 PM
Mobil Servo Howard.....left hand side North bound.....All day Breakfast.....a must stop next trip to Mondy Chris
I know the place well ....... I slept there for 3 hours after falling asleep at the wheel 3 weeks back >:( ........ scared the crap out of me
Whitto
25-03-2009, 09:01 PM
I know the place well ....... I slept there for 3 hours after falling asleep at the wheel 3 weeks back >:( ........ scared the crap out of me
Chris WOW not good...your body clock is proberbly still arse about....you havn't had much time to pick ya nose in the last 3 or so weeks....You will be well and truely settled by the next trip;D
WOW not good...your body clock is proberbly still arse about....you havn't had much time to pick ya nose in the last 3 or so weeks....You will be well and truely settled by the next trip;D
Thought I was superman after a full day on the water at Awoonga ....... felt alright till i got to Childers - then struggled
Funnily (NOT) I looked at that garage & thought ....... Coffee:P - then the head went - doink :o
Not happy
Obi _ Wan
25-03-2009, 09:25 PM
Hey Chris, How many "K's" have you got on the Prado??
Close to 500K I would think, I have 210K on my bus, too many trips to Faust.
John.
Hey Chris, How many "K's" have you got on the Prado??
Close to 500K I would think, I have 210K on my bus, too many trips to Faust.
John.
Only 68K ...... Its a relatively new bus
Hopefully .... I will do a few more Ks to other barra dams:P
Little grey men
26-03-2009, 12:21 PM
Awesome fishing Chris :o
Sexy Coffe...I didn't know what to expect when I went in there. Mildy arrousing coffee at best, hardly sexy.
I told the kids to go have a look around the shop while I ordered food. Walked around the corner to find my young bloke giggling himself silly...he and his little sister were pointiing at a packet of lollies in the shape of doodles. I quickly shooed them away from that corner.
Obi _ Wan
26-03-2009, 03:04 PM
Only 68K ...... Its a relatively new bus
Hopefully .... I will do a few more Ks to other barra dams:P
Chris,
Have you changed from the one i first saw ar Faust a couple of years ago??? :-/
Don't worry mate the way you are going you will have half a million "K's" up before you know it with your schedule :o
The trip back to Sydney, that you are probably in the middle of, as i write this post, will bang another couple of thousand "K's" on to the clock. ;D
John.
Chris,
Have you changed from the one i first saw ar Faust a couple of years ago??? :-/
Don't worry mate the way you are going you will have half a million "K's" up before you know it with your schedule :o
The trip back to Sydney, that you are probably in the middle of, as i write this post, will bang another couple of thousand "K's" on to the clock. ;D
John.
Sitting here in Syd ... with siss having Thai & a few glasses of red :P
Crashed out a couple of times at that servo at Howard myself mate on the way home, quick nana nap and then good as gold.
So thats why you are attracted to Howard ..... nothing to do with the all day breakfast
PS ..... whats with the avatar - trying to impress someone before you announce that you are fishing this weekend ;) ..... good plan !
DEANO68
26-03-2009, 09:10 PM
So thats why you are attracted to Howard ..... nothing to do with the all day breakfast
PS ..... whats with the avatar - trying to impress someone before you announce that you are fishing this weekend ;) ..... good plan !
NUP, think he lost the bet, no fish in march ..;) ;) :P ::) ;D ;D
Tropicaltrout
26-03-2009, 09:17 PM
Howard is a good stop Chris, always pulll up if time permitts for a ice coffee...
Arms twitchin Placcy Princess
DEANO68
26-03-2009, 09:26 PM
Howard is a good stop Chris, always pulll up if time permitts for a ice coffee...
Arms twitchin Placcy Princess
nice bash avatar toss, yep arm is primmmed....double hookups ,, look out..
now that would be something MW & I had a double hit at Mondy .... but neither of us connected :(
Tropicaltrout
26-03-2009, 09:35 PM
Make shore the footy is on tart, will crack the top off a tall one on the cattle grid....
DEANO68
26-03-2009, 09:43 PM
now that would be something MW & I had a double hit at Mondy .... but neither of us connected :(
nath and i had two at the bash chris, toga , toga , and bass toga...both from the same area...great fun..;D
DEANO68
26-03-2009, 09:45 PM
Make shore the footy is on tart, will crack the top off a tall one on the cattle grid....
cattle grid tallie, thats religious mate...and the footy will be on....if we are back by then..::)
Just displaying my sensitive caring side mate ::)
I'm sure you are :-/
nipsta
28-03-2009, 07:21 AM
you got it whitto the best place around to stop my favirote spot the howard servo all day brekky nothing better
Naggs well done on yours and whiteys pb the effort pay off in a couple of big ways i reckon the ibd will be hitting yas bad i know my is over the top since my last trip was november last year but now bubs out iti will be sooner then later for sure might even see if i can sneak the weekend after easter ill have to be nice to the chief so i can get clearance for that we will see ;D
you got it whitto the best place around to stop my favirote spot the howard servo all day brekky nothing better
Naggs well done on yours and whiteys pb the effort pay off in a couple of big ways i reckon the ibd will be hitting yas bad i know my is over the top since my last trip was november last year but now bubs out iti will be sooner then later for sure might even see if i can sneak the weekend after easter ill have to be nice to the chief so i can get clearance for that we will see ;D
Yeh Simon .... hopefully you can make it for the week after easter
Peter4
29-03-2009, 07:37 PM
Great read Chris & MW......a fine effort and a trip that you will remember forever.
A lot of great fish and new PBs...what else could you ask for?
Just got back from South Aus and have to wait 2.5 weeks until my next Mondy trip. Your exploits have made this wait unbearable.....thank you very much!
Regs
Great read Chris & MW......a fine effort and a trip that you will remember forever.
A lot of great fish and new PBs...what else could you ask for?
Just got back from South Aus and have to wait 2.5 weeks until my next Mondy trip. Your exploits have made this wait unbearable.....thank you very much!
Regs
Hi Pete
It was a trip to remember alright .......... sort of like you should quit now ::) - Human nature means you will judge one trip against the next .......... the trouble is I tried to play down our chances ...... twice - so that has to be the peak for us:P .
So it sounds like we can catch up for a beer or several in a few week time ...... looking forward to it
30-03-2009, 07:28 PM
Bloody hell Chris.....I have not long returned from the pastry shop north of Gin Gin.....seems I should have been there a week earlier.....water temps were dropping, SE'ers blowing for days, average water clarity......still nice to be on the water with a few mates though.
Ran into Jas in one of the bays last Thursday......he had been chartering with two clients at Awoonga but found much better results at Mondy with a four fish day for his clients.
Bloody hell Chris.....I have not long returned from the pastry shop north of Gin Gin.....seems I should have been there a week earlier.....water temps were dropping, SE'ers blowing for days, average water clarity......still nice to be on the water with a few mates though.
Ran into Jas in one of the bays last Thursday......he had been chartering with two clients at Awoonga but found much better results at Mondy with a four fish day for his clients.
Sorry mate, left ya phone number at home on the puter, cause Im a slack lazy so and so, then tried to ring Barb on the Monday on the way home to get it so I could give you an update, but he is even slacker than me and didnt call back!
Lot of donuts getting round at the moment
Hi Paul ..... we arrived to crap but had a great little 4 day window where the weather & barra gods smiled upon us ............. fortunately we had the presence of mind to make the most of it :P
We saw Jas a couple of times too
birko
30-03-2009, 10:07 PM
Nice fishing mate. Some great quality fish there and in your other post. Very envious.Have yet to catch a fish at that place after 2 trips.
Did you get the zillion back up and running after being squashed and is it a mark up on the standard version 100sha?
Enjoyed the reports.
Birko
Nice fishing mate. Some great quality fish there and in your other post. Very envious.Have yet to catch a fish at that place after 2 trips.
Did you get the zillion back up and running after being squashed and is it a mark up on the standard version 100sha?
Enjoyed the reports.
Birko
Thanks Birko
I haven't had the chance to look at the Zillion yet ( too busy & too afraid :( ) ...... but once I'm back in Brissy later this week .. I'll see what needs to be done ( order parts)
There is a heap of difference between the standard Zillion & the HLC ....... The HLC is much lighter , smoother & casts better - (specially lighter placcies) - - - Is it worth the extra $160 ish - ??? My oath it is ( I would replace one of my SLAs with another HLC tomorrow if I had the coin). I certainly rate it side by side with the Steez with probably a bit better suitability for barra.
How have you been going at Teemburra (cant wait to get back there :P )
31-03-2009, 08:54 PM
Sorry mate, left ya phone number at home on the puter, cause Im a slack lazy so and so, then tried to ring Barb on the Monday on the way home to get it so I could give you an update, but he is even slacker than me and didnt call back!
Lot of donuts getting round at the moment
No worries at all Brian...not sure if you could have helped us sorry lot but would be useful to have a chat anyway....my fault too as I think I have your number as well. Next time for sure mate.
Barb was just getting back from a little family trip to Bali.....but you're right, he is a slacker;D
nuggstar
31-03-2009, 09:35 PM
that pic of the fat one looks like the barra was on steroids. he's choadus
birko
01-04-2009, 07:31 AM
Thanks Birko
I haven't had the chance to look at the Zillion yet ( too busy & too afraid :( ) ...... but once I'm back in Brissy later this week .. I'll see what needs to be done ( order parts)
There is a heap of difference between the standard Zillion & the HLC ....... The HLC is much lighter , smoother & casts better - (specially lighter placcies) - - - Is it worth the extra $160 ish - ??? My oath it is ( I would replace one of my SLAs with another HLC tomorrow if I had the coin). I certainly rate it side by side with the Steez with probably a bit better suitability for barra.
How have you been going at Teemburra (cant wait to get back there :P )
Teemburra has been pretty quiet (for me anyway). Have heard of a few nice fish being raised, mainly on the troll. The weather is really only just now started to settle in to some sort of consistancy. So hopefully it will start to even out now. You made the right call not to come up here when you were thinking about it as it was very miserable conditions. Make sure you give a hoy if you do take a run up here, remember it very easy and cheap to fly up this way from bris now that you are there.
No worries at all Brian...not sure if you could have helped us sorry lot but would be useful to have a chat anyway....my fault too as I think I have your number as well. Next time for sure mate.
Barb was just getting back from a little family trip to Bali.....but you're right, he is a slacker;D
Didnt have much to offer mate cept a gday.
Benny is obviously cracking far to much coin if he can flit off over seas at will, has any one informed his employer??
01-04-2009, 09:05 PM
Didnt have much to offer mate cept a gday.
Benny is obviously cracking far to much coin if he can flit off over seas at will, has any one informed his employer??
Think he must have bribed his boss into going with him mate;). He'll be lurking out of the shadows around here soon I reckon.
Teemburra has been pretty quiet (for me anyway). Have heard of a few nice fish being raised, mainly on the troll. The weather is really only just now started to settle in to some sort of consistancy. So hopefully it will start to even out now. You made the right call not to come up here when you were thinking about it as it was very miserable conditions. Make sure you give a hoy if you do take a run up here, remember it very easy and cheap to fly up this way from bris now that you are there.
If I come up that way ..... I have to watch out for the obsenities thrown my way ;) ..... Regardless , I do want to get back 8-)
that pic of the fat one looks like the barra was on steroids. he's choadus
Not Steroids mate ..... MACCAS !~ (super size me) -
Thats why I liked MWs 121 ......... she was a fit conditioned fish - that went so hard - Give me those fish anyday :P
Well ..... I feel much better today :2vrolijk_08:
I decided to do a post mortem on the Zillion HLC this morning
Phew - All that had happened is the Aluminium nut that holds the handle on to the shaft has been stripped (cross threaded) - The big girl must have levered the carbon handle stripping the thread
I put my steez handle on & all was good
I knew you would all be concerned ;)
Peter4
02-04-2009, 08:55 AM
Thanks Chris, I was losing sleep over that one!......
Steve B
02-04-2009, 09:03 AM
Thats a good thing Chris......could have been an expensive excersise otherwise!!! just goes to show how these girls destroy gear....even quality stuff....
cheers Steve
Thats a good thing Chris......could have been an expensive excersise otherwise!!! just goes to show how these girls destroy gear....even quality stuff....
cheers Steve
It didn't help that the net man put the fish on top of the rod & reel - I'm lucky alright ......... brand new Samurai Reaction rod :(
Thanks Chris, I was losing sleep over that one!......
I knew you were concerned Pete ....... ordered the part just a few minutes ago :)
Whitto
02-04-2009, 09:37 AM
When I first read that Chris I immediatedly thought quality control during assemble at the factory......Gee's these Barra are big and heavy but I don't know about stripping or cross threading a nut and shaft...any how as long as you are up and running again.:D and a broken Samurai Reaction rod as well......suddenly the trip isn't looking as great as it appeared.....thank god we didn't have to witness a grown man crying:'( Gee's it's hard to get a good deckie these days::)
Pretty easy when you see just how light the aluminium nut is ....... specially when reefed against a stainless shaft thread ......... Anyhow the reel will be running by the next mondy trip ( I can even use the nut off a standard zillion ... if need be )
fortunately ..... I had the steez with me ( that had no rod) - so I was able to put it aside - that is till I got back ( nearly in tears :-[ ).
Good deckie ........ I wish , I have to settle for Mw ;)