View Full Version : Mondy Donut King Manager Position Filled, Prev Applicants Please Re-Apply
Interested applicants in my new role please feel free to undermine me from below and take the job, cause I don’t plan on staying with it to long, the taste of donut is not to my liking.
Slipped into the campground Saturday morn, nearly running over some little old dears rolly polly corgi that tried to run under the front wheels of the ute (that would have wiped the smile off its pudgy little face I can tell ya – the corgi I mean), kicked out the gear and hit the water aound 10.00am, temps were down around 8 degrees from last trip up, and a rather nasty little sou easter was gusting thru.
Saturday arvo was spent in North B, working on the funneling wind theory, with no joy. Eventually I found a middlin sized fish at one of my “never fail” spots, a little stony point with a lay down tree sitting just out from it, took a dozen casts before I saw the swirl, a quick change to a suspending B52 and another half a dozen casts and he smacked the HB, sprinting off for 5 meters before the trebles pulled – NOOOOOOO!
I had a bad feeling about that fish, it had been a tuff day, and to drop that one after a lot of casts was a bit hard to take.
I settled in on a windy point in South B for the sun set session, a couple of little nips and tugs, and one swirl right at the back of the boat as I lifted the SP out of the water and that was it.
Met the boys, Chris and the in-imitable MW, at the camp kitchen that nite, and we shared a few beers and tales around the fire, the boys have had a blinder of a trip, with some cracker fish to show for it.
Early start Sunday, and I mean early, with the end result of a missed hit from a fish that nearly reefed the rod out of my hands (I tell myself I had closed my eyes to concentrate on the retrieve and be one with my soft plastic, but I think I was dozing off standing up), a couple of nips, plucks and wacks during the course of the day here and there, North B, H, snag pile in F, and back to poly point to try out a theory for sun down (didn’t work damn it) and that was the day. I pulled the pin well after sun down, so it wasn’t for lack of trying, that’s for sure, but thems the breaks I spose.
So, a donut, yummy! Its not all bad though, I found 2 new lues bank side, and the beer fairy (aka teflon Steve B) visited the camp last nite and left a couple of stubbies in my esky – cheers Steveo, knocking one of those off now as I type!
A great trip as usual, good to met the boys, share a beer with them and Capt McGloo (ya get a little friendly with one goat mate,…lol).
No fish pics, but heres a couple from this run up, theres a new piece of hardware in the basin, watch out when your coming back in at night, and the other pic is why you should always have a good look at the tree your going to tie off to BEFORE you slide up to it.
brian
themissus
23-03-2009, 01:47 PM
Thats tuff Brian. It won't be long before your back on the board though. Thanks for the tip, I will be checking all trees VERY thoroughly next time. Were the water temp pretty consistent though out the weekend? A beer with the dynamic duo....it's great entertainment!! It's a bugger they couldn't make it to the bash...someone may well have been arrested. ;) How did capt. McBoob's striptease go on friday night? Did he give you an encore performance?::) ;) :-*
When are you up there next?
Cheers Kim.
Pete62
23-03-2009, 01:50 PM
Mmmmm, not much to say Brian, bummer, if one of the lures is about 6 ins long in gold with "Barra King" written on the bib or a Stiffy super deep in Drop Bear, they r mine, I can come up and pick em up:-/
Pete.
Callop
23-03-2009, 01:51 PM
Bit of bad luck there Brian. Don't tell this will be the end of a fish a month?
Not looking good Dave for sure!
Kimmy, I forgot to ask about the full monty, or maybe I just erased it from my mind to protect the innocence of my sub-concience?
Pete, nah, a halco deeeep diver with straightened standard treble, and a koolabung boney with nice twisted leader, let go where it joined to the braid. Did you finish the HTfU milk up there, or use it to boost the octane content in the boat tank?
And why arent you guys working instead of cruising the net????
Obi _ Wan
23-03-2009, 02:03 PM
That's fishing Brian,
The next trip may be a bottler mate, you never know.
You didn't miss anything down here, to bloody windy to get out.
By the way, what sort of snake is that? looks a bit bit like a brown (eastern) but the pattern has me baffled? maybe its an oversized fresh water snake (keelback)
John.
Pete62
23-03-2009, 02:09 PM
Not looking good Dave for sure!
Kimmy, I forgot to ask about the full monty, or maybe I just erased it from my mind to protect the innocence of my sub-concience?
Pete, nah, a halco deeeep diver with straightened standard treble, and a koolabung boney with nice twisted leader, let go where it joined to the braid. Did you finish the HTfU milk up there, or use it to boost the octane content in the boat tank?
Hah, about a third of the HTFU made it home, kept telling myself not to bring it out or there would be no fishing the next day.
Gonna wait for the right opportunity and bring it out to liquor up the bride;)
Pete.
themissus
23-03-2009, 02:33 PM
Wise move Brian;)
It beats filing!!
John, Im not sure mate, i thought little brown as well, but the heads a bit small, I was hoping some one here could pin it down for me.
Got your Pm bout that ground out the front, small world hey lol. Definately going to have a bit more of a look on that this winter, only found it last time out when I was just sounding around looking for a new "secret spot x".
Steve and Spud were fishing today, gentlemans hours to kick off, be interested to see how they went.
I cant even blame the weather, Nagg and MW smaked a couple yesterday in some warmer water they found up the back!
Obi _ Wan
23-03-2009, 03:16 PM
Brian,
Theres some bloody good spots out the front, just look for the bait.
Going by what you said, it had a small head i would say it was a keelback (freshwater snake) the pattern certainly fits. Theres a s##t load of them around NPD, especially up around the Golds Scrub area, also seen a lot on the stretch between the dam wall and the road just down from the wall. Some people call them tigers.
Certainly hanging out for Chris's report, i have had a couple of calls from him, happy just is not the word, we will have to employ a surgeon to get him away from Mondy mate.
John.
DEANO68
23-03-2009, 05:21 PM
brian, tough weekend mate, sure is hard dusting the iceing sugar and cinnamon of the lap as you you get home,:'( but thats all part and parcel to the disease i spose, and been a while scince you had to do so.:P ...good to see you caught up with the brothers grim and captain no holes barred, ;D to share a beer and a chat, ..
poly point ,,,,think i know that one.::) ..only two weekends left for your res, so lets hope you stick to the plan.. thanks for the report mate and catch up soon....mabe reel soon....;)
cheers deano...8-)
Whitto
23-03-2009, 06:06 PM
Know the feeling well Brother....Will be changing that in the near future....Yes thats the skinny branch tree dwelling keelback designed to scare the shite out of you just to put you off briefly......pleased you met up for a sherbert or six with the Brothers of Monduran Terror and Capt Front Bum......What the hell is the construction in the basin.......Looks like an extreme ski ramp for the lake lice....till next trip Champion you hang in there and HTFU (as I know u will);D
Tropicaltrout
23-03-2009, 06:16 PM
Nooo rakey what's going on brother, lol.... its a finical bloody water hole well when is the next one mate wont be long I am sure. My next donut will be soon I reckon.
Still good report mate and its was a good trip with a good bunch of fellas around to ease the light hooks.
Nath
robersl
23-03-2009, 06:43 PM
Ill Have 6 caramel, 6 musk ,6 chocolate and half a dozen cream thanks just in case i get none this weekend,
Brian i see the water has dropped from 34-5 percent down to 31 percent in a couple of weeks whats nagg doing draining the dam to find the fish ot what, and does the cross over have a light
shane
Oops, forgot to mention that they are pumping like.... well, you know. Water level was down a foot on saturday, you can see it on the bank, and I reckon it dropped again yesterday.
The bling in the basin is the stocking associations new fish holding tank, you can see the shutes on the side where the basin trollers can drop in their meteries for collection and donation to charity. As of yesterday it wasnt open for business, Steve can probably fill in a bit more. Its got a flashing yellow Shane, but only the one, be nasty if that broke, be aware of it if your coming back in the dark, if your at the ramp looking out its more towards the north bank, and a little to the left.
Steve B
23-03-2009, 08:40 PM
Brian,
If your the manager, I am the 2IC of doughnut king!!! Spud and I had no luck today, I had 1 hit at about 1pm on a Stiffy and failed to connect....half asleep!!
Kim, the 'performance' went well. THe G-boys rocked the house in front of 189 gin gin women!!, there were everything from walking sticks, zimmer frames and bombay bloomers to G bangers thrown on stage!!;) The theme song 'I aint as good as I once was' sort of summed us up!!!;D:P....All good fun for charity.
As for the 'ski ramp' in the basin....It is a fish holding device put in by MASA....paid for by goverment grant (not SIP).....esentially it is there for fisherfolk who want to remove larger fish from the dam without killing them.......someone else will do that for you at a later stage....if they dont die in the cage first.....Look, I can see what their plan is, that is to remove the bigger fish and use them appropriately to feed the elderly of Bundaberg area...but I dont agree with it. I love being in MASA and doing all that we do, but I cant get my head around this.....We pay SIP to have fish in the dam, and to take a fish to eat if we want......The poor bloody pensioners are entitled to something a little more tastier than a dam barra!!....I will get off the box now!!
CHeers Steve
PS: Brian, enjoy my beers mate.!!!;)
Hey Brian
Good to finally catch up with ya ........... Shame about the pastry you were fishing pretty hard ! - I'm sure you'll move on rather quickly .
Catchya soon
So Brian ....... Are you heading up tomorrow to see if you can resign your management position ....;D
Mate, I would KILL to be doing that.
Un-fortunately Ive just punted back onto site after the boys have been on the grass for 6 weeks, trust me you cant have a 34 storey high rise being built with out sparkies in attendence for that amount of time, so its a sh#t fight, plus I got a call this arvo from the client telling me there is 10 levels of new tenant fit out drawings on my puter at work for IMMEDIANT action!
No worries, I'll just break the jar and pull half a dozen blokes out of the emergency stash I keep locked away just in case.....
Whinge whinge bitch bitch, work sucks at the mo, and I cant go fushin either!
Mate, I would KILL to be doing that.
Un-fortunately Ive just punted back onto site after the boys have been on the grass for 6 weeks, trust me you cant have a 34 storey high rise being built with out sparkies in attendence for that amount of time, so its a sh#t fight, plus I got a call this arvo from the client telling me there is 10 levels of new tenant fit out drawings on my puter at work for IMMEDIANT action!
No worries, I'll just break the jar and pull half a dozen blokes out of the emergency stash I keep locked away just in case.....
Whinge whinge bitch bitch, work sucks at the mo, and I cant go fushin either!
Commiserations bloke ....... nothing worst than work interfering with serious objectives !
robersl
27-03-2009, 07:04 PM
It's ok Brian i will put a for sale sign up on your donut shop this week for you and when i land my first metery of the trip i will dedicate it to you mate , it's bad being stuck at work while others are fishing lol
shane
Peter4
29-03-2009, 07:42 PM
Ahhhhh Brian.......do not despair, a donut is merely an untimely interlude before the next barra. I am a bit worried though, if you can't catch em what hope is there for the rest of us?:'(
BTW are you trying to get brownie points from Debs with the new avatar so you can get even more fishin done? Won't work, she will see through you in an instant!;) ;D
Look forward to a beer and a chat after Easter.........
Regs
Ahhhhh Brian.......do not despair, a donut is merely an untimely interlude before the next barra. I am a bit worried though, if you can't catch em what hope is there for the rest of us?:'(
BTW are you trying to get brownie points from Debs with the new avatar so you can get even more fishin done? Won't work, she will see through you in an instant!;) ;D
Look forward to a beer and a chat after Easter.........
Regs
Pete, howyagoinmate?
Currently, I suck!
No barra, work is killing me, front yards got lawn grub, missus's cats got the runs, it cant get any worse Im sure.
C ya up there for some casting practice mate.
Callop
30-03-2009, 10:08 PM
Pete, howyagoinmate?
Currently, I suck!
No barra, work is killing me, front yards got lawn grub, missus's cats got the runs, it cant get any worse Im sure.
Too damn right it can get worse. You could have the runs instead of the cat:o
Or Lawn grubs ;D
Peter4
31-03-2009, 08:09 AM
Pete, howyagoinmate?
Yeah, all good Brian.....work is veeeerrry slow, markets are crap, rennos are half finished and fishing opportunities are few and far between....
Kyle and I are going stir crazy and can't wait to get back to Mondy after Easter.
If these donuts continue and the weather stays cooler we will revert to our Winter fishing pattern of dawn to dusk without a break. A few coldies and sangers for lunch somewhere up the system and finishing each day dog tired with exhausted casting arms....it will be magic.
Any fish will be a bonus according to current reports.....:-/
Look forward to the good company of you and others.....;)
Regs