View Full Version : Richter Responsible for PB Tailor

WestOzDesertFisher
23-03-2009, 10:52 AM
Well, another weekend has passed and it was another chance to get out of town and go fishing, our destination being the Blowholes, just north of Carnarvon. On arrival where we would be staying we noticed a friendly local that had decided to make an appearance.

http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000384.jpg
http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000449.jpg
http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000448.jpg

Anyway we came to fish so that’s exactly what we did Saturday arvo down at the boat ramp, which is just a stretch of beach at around dusk. After a few runs and missed hook ups I finally stayed connected and landed a nice Spangled, it was my first descent size one at this spot estimated at 3-4kg, it turned out it was the first and last Spanglie of the weekend.

http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000400.jpg
http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000446.jpg
http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000397.jpg

The wind was blowing 15-20 knots in a SE direction all weekend and for the most part, was overcast. In the morning conditions improved slightly after a bit of rain overnight and the call was made to head further north to a spot known as North 9 Mile. The swell was really pumping over the weekend so this really restricted the areas we could fish.

http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000415.jpg
http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000409.jpg
http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000422.jpg

With the current ripping across the shallow reef and baitfish evident I thought I had a good chance of catching something as I bombed out 50 or so casts with my trusty 850 and 8’ Ugly Stik. I was half way through a retrieve when my Richter Plug got swiped at but failed to hook up. The fish circled round and had another go, this time I was connected to something big, silver and heading for deeper water. Different species were running through my head as I tried to figure out what it could be while the fish made a few quick bursts trying to win its freedom, taking line from a tight drag with 30lb braid. I played the fish up on to the beach and got my first real look at what was to be my biggest ever Tailor estimated at around 4kg, pretty sure it was fatter. Yeeeowww!

http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000425.jpg
http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000443.jpg
http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000433.jpg

Not much for the next half hour so we called it quits and headed back to camp. I will be certainly exploring more of this ground next time and I can’t wait to get back. We packed up and had a look up at the lighthouse before heading home.

http://i406.photobucket.com/albums/pp145/WODF/P1000440.jpg

Another great weekend in the desert.

Damien

robersl
23-03-2009, 12:35 PM
nice fish well done

shane

bowds13
23-03-2009, 01:04 PM
thats a beauty mate im still waiting to get 1 that size i cant seem to catch any thing bigger then rats. well done

Pistol_P
23-03-2009, 01:57 PM
Nice One Mate,

Those Richter plugs are VERY good.
The longies love them as well.

hooknose
23-03-2009, 02:03 PM
classic fish, congrats !!!

WestOzDesertFisher
23-03-2009, 02:19 PM
Nice One Mate,

Those Richter plugs are VERY good.
The longies love them as well.

Gday Pete. These lures really have an awesome action, who knows how many species they will account for in the future. You use them from the stones at all?

Thanks everyone.

23-03-2009, 03:00 PM
Top fish from some great looking country.
How do the plugs cast compared to say a 65gm Raider

WestOzDesertFisher
23-03-2009, 03:12 PM
Top fish from some great looking country.
How do the plugs cast compared to say a 65gm Raider

Thanks Neil. Ahh I'd say about the same with my setup, not sure on the weight of the plug I was using though, it was either the 2 or 3oz. A better surface lure that's for sure, it has an awesome action when worked right.

marty+jojo
23-03-2009, 03:18 PM
Hey Damien,
Great pics once again mate. Cracker of a Tailor there mate, every bit of 4kgs i reckon. Did ya measure it?
Marty.

WestOzDesertFisher
23-03-2009, 03:37 PM
Hey Damien,
Great pics once again mate. Cracker of a Tailor there mate, every bit of 4kgs i reckon. Did ya measure it?
Marty.
Nope, didn't measure it mate but the esky is 80cm and we had to put him in on an angle ;D

frankgrimes
23-03-2009, 05:20 PM
Top green back mate!

LostNearBribie
23-03-2009, 06:21 PM
Mate the tailor is a cracker, but how beautiful is the spangled?
Top work and another great report.

brisboys
23-03-2009, 07:01 PM
Great Tailor,
Excellent work

Sam

deepfried
23-03-2009, 07:28 PM
Nice Tailor mate.. They dont come around that size very often. I rekon it would be spot on 4kg. Surface lures sure are the most fun way of catching them. Great read and photos as well. I bet a lot of us ausfishers want a trip over there after your reports.

Pistol_P
23-03-2009, 08:10 PM
Gday Pete. These lures really have an awesome action, who knows how many species they will account for in the future. You use them from the stones at all?

Thanks everyone.

Yes mate I have used them quite a lot and the longtails just crash tackle them.

mattooty
23-03-2009, 09:44 PM
Those richters are a top lure. I spun with a bloke who was using them the other week and when he wasn't connected to either a tuna or stripey he had tailor charging them and even managed to hook up to mack for all of 10 seconds before the hooks pulled.

sleepygreg
23-03-2009, 09:51 PM
Thats a top greenback Tailor. One of the reasons I have always wanted to fish in WA. Everytime I have been over there it has been on a tight work schedule....bugga.
Good looking Spangly too.

WestOzDesertFisher
24-03-2009, 01:38 PM
Those richters are a top lure. I spun with a bloke who was using them the other week and when he wasn't connected to either a tuna or stripey he had tailor charging them and even managed to hook up to mack for all of 10 seconds before the hooks pulled.
Gday mate, you know if he was working them on or under the surface? When I let them sink they only seem to spin for me? :-/

cuzzamundi
24-03-2009, 03:43 PM
Awesome report yet again, mate! never tire of seeing the pics over there! As marty said, the greenback looks like an extremely solid 4kg! awesome stuff!
Cuzza

ps. Any 'locals' in the water? i'm sure they woulda been not too far away.

tailorboi99
24-03-2009, 03:48 PM
Woah mate, that's a huge tailor. Well done on the PB.

Tom

mattooty
24-03-2009, 04:35 PM
Hey w.o.d.f, I'm fairly sure he was using them topwater most of the time. I was concentrating on my lures most of the time but i did notice he was mixing up the retrieve so whether or not he was letting it sink and slowly retrieving it till it broke the surface or not I couldn't tellyou.

Pistol_P
24-03-2009, 06:09 PM
No good letting them sink WO.

Cast...Soon as they hit the water start spinning them across the surface.

Cammy
24-03-2009, 06:12 PM
Great tailor! thats somthing i dream of....

Cam

WestOzDesertFisher
24-03-2009, 09:12 PM
Hey w.o.d.f, I'm fairly sure he was using them topwater most of the time. I was concentrating on my lures most of the time but i did notice he was mixing up the retrieve so whether or not he was letting it sink and slowly retrieving it till it broke the surface or not I couldn't tellyou.

No good letting them sink WO.

Cast...Soon as they hit the water start spinning them across the surface.

Cheers boys. Looking forward to using these lures in future.