View Full Version : Severn River Cod

Barry Ehsman
18-03-2009, 08:24 PM
Last weekend myself & 3 good mates had an overnighter near Ashford on the Severn river. This trip had been earlier been organised by onother great mate who had a massive stroke 2 weeks ago. (only 50 ):'( & loved his fishing trips, used to travel the Barra dams with us.

Left Inverell at 6.30 am & arrived at the river at 7.30 the first thing we had to do was to remember our mate with 2 black sambucca shots each ( that livened the morning up )::)

Packed some beers & headed out , after many hookups & lost fish we went back to camp at 10am with 12 Cod & 1 Yella, the largest cod at 720cm (caught by me which won me 6 schooners );D

Feeling happy with that effort we played uchere (cards) for 7 hrs & drank quite a few more beers & sambuccas, & then headed out for the evening session :P caught another 6 cod all undersize 2 of these on surface lures.(bit hard to remember some of it). Back to camp for a feed & some more beers & bundy until 12am.:snore:

Awake early to the feeling of raindrops on my face went for a quick fish for 5 Cod & 1 Yella, before packing up & heading home.

Great weekend with 23 cod & 2 Yellas gave our mate a good sendoff,all be it with a few headaches

All fish caught on lures with only the one legal fish. with cod having to be 60cm it has to be a good one. ( all fish released)

Cheers Baz

rc@hinze
18-03-2009, 08:44 PM
Sorry to hear about your mate Barry and I am sure he would have approved of his send off. 23 cods, 2yellows, how many Sambuccas,beers and bundys?- cheers RC

Bear001
18-03-2009, 09:37 PM
Yep, definately sounds like a true fisho send-off. 50 is certainly very young - my condolances.

Great trip, esp with the recent cool weather shutting down some fish.

bdowdy
19-03-2009, 08:43 AM
sorry to hear also about your mate,a few mates and i also did a trip down here a few weeks ago, they were letting water go,so we only caught about 12 cod, but it was great to get away and fish and drink ,72 is anice fish,dont know were you fished but there were some wild thorny trees near our camp site,few fellas getting these thorns up to 6 inches in there feet..yahhoooo.cheers brett

wamjam
19-03-2009, 08:37 PM
Gday Baz
We fished down stream a bit and only got 8 cod between three of us and it was hard work to get that many.
Bad news about Dales mate, sounds like you all give him a good send off.
wamjam (Scott)

Barry Ehsman
20-03-2009, 04:17 PM
Sorry to hear about your mate Barry and I am sure he would have approved of his send off. 23 cods, 2yellows, how many Sambuccas,beers and bundys?- cheers RC

Thanks mate, Only 1 bottle of Sambucca, 20 stubbies of Tooheys Extra Dry(personaly that is) & cant remember how many Bundys.

Barry Ehsman
20-03-2009, 04:22 PM
Gday Baz
We fished down stream a bit and only got 8 cod between three of us and it was hard work to get that many.
Bad news about Dales mate, sounds like you all give him a good send off.
wamjam (Scott)

Thanks Scott (i'll find out who you are one day wamjam) Itwould have been interesting to see how many we could have caught if we had put more time in.(We only fished for approx 6 hrs)

rossco
21-03-2009, 07:35 AM
Nice one Barry, your mate would be proud. Great area, I Need to get back that way myself.
cheers rossco

virty
21-03-2009, 07:59 AM
Top going Barry, you have a new cod god looking over you.