View Full Version : Mud Island Monday

SummerTrance
16-03-2009, 04:25 PM
With a day off and good forcast, I couldnt pass on the chance to get out there without the crowds. Left dohles rocks nice and early and got to mud just as the glow was rising behind straddie.

Very quiet for the first couple hours at my first location, with nothing except a couple throwback pinkies. About 8:30am I thought I'd try a different area, and not long later got a 40cm snap, Finally found where the fish were holding, and was getting one or two every drift but they were just undersize. Persisting on the same drift line I was rewarded about an hour later by a 65cm snap!

Not long after that I hooked my first ever cobia. It was only about 50-60ish cm, but I was unable to get the little bugger in the net. I knew he was undersize, but wanted to boat him for a quick pic. I had him boatside plent of times and had a least 5 net shots. It would either dodge or dive, and even jumped the net one time. Finally it spat the hook. Unlucky but still good fun on the light stick (10lb braid, 12lb FC leader) It took a dead-sticked 5" nuc chook.
Things went quiet after that, only a few more undersize pinkies. Pulled the pin about 1:30pm and had a bumpy and slightly wet run home.

Fun day on the water with no crowds. Only one other boat at both areas I tried, and they wernt close. First trip in ages where some clown hasnt done something to annoy me. Was nice to get a feed and a decent fish to go in my new techi ice esky. Hmmm fresh snapper for dinner tonight :)

codz22
16-03-2009, 04:50 PM
nice feed there mate, did ya get em all on plastics

brisboys
16-03-2009, 05:20 PM
Nice snapper there mate, yum!

Sam

SummerTrance
16-03-2009, 05:42 PM
nice feed there mate, did ya get em all on plastics

Yep SP's all the way mate, dont use bait. 4" lime tiger and the good ole 5" nuc chooks got most fish today. The satay chooks did ok aswell. The atomics didnt get much. Thanks to the vermin I went through heaps plastics today.

bowds13
16-03-2009, 05:48 PM
the good old nuc chicken ya cant go wrong! nice work on the forst cobe!

SummerTrance
16-03-2009, 06:24 PM
the good old nuc chicken ya cant go wrong! nice work on the forst cobe!

Thanks bowds, but I have to correct you slightly.... nearly first cobe. I didnt land it so it doesnt count. Was good to hook it even though it wasnt targeted. After seeing the fight in that little fella, I cant wait to hook a bigger one! Might have to taget them near the beacons sometime.

snagking
16-03-2009, 06:29 PM
Thats a good snapper! keep up the good work.

stessco
16-03-2009, 07:09 PM
what a good day , a couple of squire and a little cobia

Silent
16-03-2009, 07:48 PM
Agree with you fishing in early as very slow... yeah I was there this morning and forced to leave Mud with legal grassie and propellor rubber bush stuff up... Ahh some days you know!
Enjoy fresh snappa! and interesting note on cobe!
btw thanks for report

two dogs
16-03-2009, 07:53 PM
Sounds like a top day, well done on finding some fish. I'm yet to land a snapper in the shallows on plastics... got a few offshore but id really like to give it a red hot go around mud. I might be out there tomorrow for a try... what size jig head would you recommend using? any other pointers would be muchly appreciated

BAR UP
16-03-2009, 08:07 PM
Hey Marc, good report & good couple of fish. Will you be moving back to Keperra, Peter.

castlemaine
16-03-2009, 08:08 PM
65cm Snap !!! Well done ST!!!
What size jigheads were you using?
Hope this rain stops overnight as I was hoping heading out towards Rainbow and Peel in the morning.
Cheers8-)

SummerTrance
16-03-2009, 08:08 PM
Two dogs - 1/8th if its calm or 1/6th otherwise. I was using 1/6th today. Will send PM soon.

Silent - Yes I saw you out there today. I knew the yellow boat was an ausfisher, but couldnt remember who. Too bad bout the boat probs. Im sure you'll be back into the big snaps soon.

SummerTrance
16-03-2009, 08:11 PM
Hey Marc, good report & good couple of fish. Will you be moving back to Keperra, Peter.

G'day Peter. Nah mate wont be moving back to Keperra. We were just renting that house that got wrecked in the storm. Very happy at the new place. Good area and only 4 minutes from the boat ramp.

Rufus
16-03-2009, 08:24 PM
Hey SummerTrance, Sounds like a good day out. Hope to see you joining the SP Boys for the River to Mud. Pity about the Cobia, they sure do put up a good battle.
Cheers, Mark

Saltdoggy
16-03-2009, 08:31 PM
hey summer trance nice feed of snapper you've got there! would have been fun on ten pound too! We were out there at about 1pm this arvo and got smoked about 3 times! what type of boat do you have, may have seen you out there?

JayT
16-03-2009, 11:02 PM
Nice report mate,
Knew I should have hit the river/mud last night.....bummer,
Sounds like ya had fun an it gets the ticker pumping when ya solo, especially...!Bad luck on the cobe an just you wait til you latch onto a BIG cobe cause then the excitement begins;)
Nice snap too, an gee the techni ice are the ducks nuts for value an quality...top investment an nice little start to blood her also,
Winter is coming an now I am looking at the larger models 200kg plus:)....bring on the knobbies woo hoo:)
Cheers Thorpy

JayT
16-03-2009, 11:48 PM
BTW if ya in a summer trance in summer cant wait to see ya in action in winter haha

ddobson
17-03-2009, 11:38 AM
Well done mate i got a 50cm cobia at the mouth of the pin and put up a good fight on light line. Good to see you still got the good spots at mud. I still have come up blank every time i go but i know there there and i know most of the good spots but they must remember the dings under the hull and old 25 horse and the nucks hanging out the back. Oh well we all can't be lucky. Had by bitch well done. Good feed there.

tropicrows
17-03-2009, 01:35 PM
Good stuff there mate, I just can't seem to get my head around these SP. I think the only way is to leave all the bait at home but that's going to be harder than giving up sex.

chief
17-03-2009, 04:10 PM
Very nice trip there champ, Must be heaps of juvenile cobia in the bay , a mate scored 2 last week cheers

SummerTrance
20-03-2009, 05:01 PM
Hey SummerTrance, Sounds like a good day out. Hope to see you joining the SP Boys for the River to Mud. Pity about the Cobia, they sure do put up a good battle.
Cheers, Mark

Yeh mate, im thinking I will enter the R2M this year. Look out bait boys :P

Goldfinch
20-03-2009, 07:50 PM
Nice Snaps SummerTrance. Will be chasing the cobes myself this winter. Yet to land one. I've been smashed by some big ones. Always when I've got the light gear out !!!

20-03-2009, 09:19 PM
Yeh mate, im thinking I will enter the R2M this year. Look out bait boys :P

Marc you deserved a good trip out M8, well done on the snaps. I hope you do enter the R2M . The bait boys reckon I'm "soft"using my placcies:P

Well done!