View Full Version : Bay KNob head

Saltdoggy
15-03-2009, 05:03 PM
Found out the wind was going to be dropping off today after all of this average weather we've been happening, so i rallied up the boys and we headed out into the bay nice and early this morning! ;D

Chris, greener and I got to our drift at about 5:00 and didn't get a decent fish till about 6:00 at least, but after that first fish, things started to heat up! To be honest the day was pretty much spent watching greener pull in some really nice fish, its alwas entertaining but always the case when i take someone out new on my boat...

We did numerous drifts over heaps of rocky shelfs catching squire around 35-52cm and two sweetlip 30 and 40cm...all fish to greener, after the tide went dead and the fish too, we decided to head out into a sandy/shale bottom area and have a flick around there.

Greener threw out his "deadstick" rod, and began working another plastic along the bottom on another rod when all of a sudden his first rod buckles over on itself:o and the line started screaming off the reel, he grabbed the rod, we all jumped up and immediately started freaking out, greener had 6lb line and whatever this thing was, it wasn't stopping anytime soon, i asked him if he wanted to chase, but didn't get an answer cause he was freaking out too, about 30sec later he managed to turn it around and begin bringing it back to the boat, after about three attempts to get it on board we finally managed to land a 73cm snapper! We were pretty stoked after that, and i still can't understand why he was cruising around where he was, cause there wasn't much happening on the bottom at all.

It was an awesome day out on the boat, the wind kept to itself the whole day and the fish were biting all of greeners lures!::) i managed a 41cm gold spottd cod and a couple of squire and chris pulled up 2 squire and a small sweety! Maybe next time!

snagking
15-03-2009, 05:15 PM
Sounds like a great day out, good job with the snapper!
Keep up the good work!

Benno1
15-03-2009, 05:28 PM
nice one boys!!!...good to see someone out and about...cheers for the piccies and report :D

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

SummerTrance
15-03-2009, 05:29 PM
Great sesh guys, nice snap there, I'd be proud of that one! Hopefully there should be a few more around after the big blow.

brisboys
15-03-2009, 06:27 PM
Great fish there mate, must have been a blast

Sam

RAT-KING
15-03-2009, 06:50 PM
Well done Benny

Some great fish coming in ur boat!!!
Its always the way its always the guest who scores the fish ;)

U will have 2 copy his lures and jig heads next time!
Cheers Simon

chief
15-03-2009, 07:10 PM
Great session boys ,some good fish

BAR UP
15-03-2009, 07:24 PM
A good read & an inspiring report. Might try to get out mid week, Peter.

tailorboi99
15-03-2009, 08:04 PM
You've got these Squire sussed out don't you mate? Love your work!

Tom

15-03-2009, 08:34 PM
Sounds like you had a ball out there. I decided to try some of the grounds closer to Moreton today but could not land a legal Squire. Made do with for Gold Spots but would have swapped them all for your fish. I told the deckie when we were heading out that the close in reefs like Scarby fire up after a blow. Looks like they were the better option

15-03-2009, 09:08 PM
Great to see some nice fish around still, good read and well done.

sleepygreg
15-03-2009, 10:49 PM
A great session there. Good to see some quality fish coming on board after the blow.

Saltdoggy
16-03-2009, 10:32 AM
thanks guys

simon i was using the same jig heads and plastics as greener!! haha still all his catches brought some good entertainment for the day!

horse pity about the lack of fish, those gold spots still give a good fight tho, and i've heard they great on the table too!

Heading out to mud again today around lunch time, with another mate who always catch's more fish then me...i reckon this time i'll get more then him....

Silent
16-03-2009, 01:07 PM
Top work and nice bay snapper...
Went mud this morning and didn't get much luck like you do...
My propellor rubber bush stuff up and had to return ramp like a trawler crusing...

T1
16-03-2009, 01:45 PM
Nice fish Pal! Thanks for the report and i'll be interested to see how you venture at Mud today...

Take Care T

Saltdoggy
16-03-2009, 08:23 PM
Here's the results of this arvo's fish...

We got out at about 1pm and were getting bites left right and centre for the first hour and a half over a big patch of bait fish, we got absolutely smoked on the first couple of casts which resulted in two bent open jig heads for me and one broken line for ricehole, pretty devastating really, i'm still kicking myself, but hey, shit happens...

Ricey got the second big run and had to follow him right around the boat, but when he got up to the front deck *ping*...the line was cut clean off...he looked fairly cut, but keen as to fish on in hope of another, then that hook that got pulled right open had what i'm calling a monster red on it, huge head shakes and heaps of runs, he prob took over 100m of line before straightening out the hook!

14lb fireline and matched leader...he just had to be THE big one, haha oh well! Ricey ended up taking a nic 37cm sized squire next, then we saw that killer storm coming in and after looking around st helena for new grounds we decided to call it a day.

ddobson
17-03-2009, 11:42 AM
Gee you did well on the fine colours for the bay. Have you tryed the nuck's and lime tigers yet. Well done boyz good score there for one day. Cheers

SummerTrance
17-03-2009, 12:38 PM
Hey mate, I was in a white Stacer bowrider, white johnson, blue bimini. I think i may have seen you.

Unlucky with the bust off and straighten hooks. Are you using the hard wire Gamagatsu (TTs) ? Dont wanna open a can of worms (cause its been done b4) but you should try the Nitro saltwater series jigheads. But either way, if it straighted a hard wire TT, Thats a dam big fish!

Saltdoggy
17-03-2009, 02:30 PM
hey dobbson, yeah we've thrown the nuke's around a few times in the past, in prawn and 5 inch shad and they never seemed to come up with the goods, those lime tigers work well tho, same with imitation prawn shads 5 inch!

not sure what type of tt's i was using?? just the normal ones as far as i know! real light ones tho, first one was a 1/12 with 4/0 hook i think, and second was a 1/12 with a slightly thicker and bigger hook, about 2/0 or 1, but look at what it did to that! haha,

i had heaps of nitro's jig heads on the boat in 1/4 and 1/8 but i wanted something lighter and the only 1/12's i had were tt's, there the same type of hook you'd use for bream soft plasticing so i guess i've learnt my lesson!

RAT-KING
17-03-2009, 11:08 PM
Unlucky benny!!!
that hook on the left is a solid hook must have been a nice fish!!!
might of even een a little cobe or something!!!
Next time hey!!!
cheers Simon

MickThe
18-03-2009, 07:24 AM
What SummerTrance said mate......get on the Heavy Wire hooks or Saltwater Series Jigheads.

The ones you have there are great but more a bream/flathead hook.

Mick.

Breambuster33
18-03-2009, 04:41 PM
Nice fish mate;D

blueboy
18-03-2009, 05:18 PM
Good work boys ,well done.

Cheers Greg

Saltdoggy
19-03-2009, 04:55 PM
went to the tackle store yesterday and forked out som cash for some hard wire jig heads! Never letting that happen again!

ddobson
19-03-2009, 08:02 PM
Hey i have been using the bushy / starlo s factor prawn imitation and boy do they go for them. Hey i have the same prob with using light gear and getting smoked or straighted hooks and loosing the one of the trip. I have been using my stradic and twin power 4000's but that even busts off due to heavy drags and tightening to much for the leader. My 1500 shimano set up seems to catch more fish than all my good rods go figure. Cheers good trip again boys.

snappatrail
08-04-2009, 09:21 AM
hey ben realy nice work mate yyyeeeehaaa the line must have been screaming of the reel knees shaken woweee wat a wopper hope you released it mate

Saltdoggy
09-04-2009, 12:28 PM
haha yeah buddy ol' pal, i still haven't changed my undies!