View Full Version : Rod n reel junkies unite 2 help me plz

yanjarra
14-03-2009, 08:40 PM
hello again

well having acquired the new boat i am looking at decking it out with all the rods n reels i will need to handle most situations and species found throughout the bay and estuaries...

to bring u up to date so far i have done all my fishing on a daiwa advatage 701 2-4kg, 7"with a sol 2000.

a week or so ago i went nuts at the clearance sale at northside marine and in the process grabbed a few rods i thought looked nice that seemed to be heavily reduced....they arent the best ever but i thought at about 10bucks each might as well pik em up n see how they go.....they r as follows

1. fishquest 602sp- 2-4kg 6"2
2. eclipse 762- 6-8kg 7"5
3.shimano bcf sonic pro 701- 10-15kg 7"
4. daiwa turbo max 802mrs- 3-6kg 8"

so with this in mind i would like to deck these rods out with reels that will cover me for all the bases of fishing i am looking at doing if possible...unless it cant be done and i need to purchase some more rods also..this may be the case...i really just grabbed these rods not having much idea on their specific purpose.....

i really want something ultra light for bream and whiting fishing etc....
i want to be able to cover any estuary species up to jack ...
and in the bay i want to cover snapper, tuna, mackeral, gt's

i also want to be able to have the ability to fish plastics, fish bait, troll, and spin

so far i have already treated myself to another sol 2000, a sol 3000 and a symetre 4000FI........i was thinking of possibly also either getting a baitrunner 4500 or 6500 + possibly a daiwa kastor 1500 just for the reason it is going on the cheap....i dont really know what i was thinking getting a 2nd sol 2000, dont know why id need a second, i suppose i can have a diifferant lure on it which will save tying knots but thats bout it i suppose......i could be persuaded to resell it....... also the symetre i havnt fully commited to so it is possible for me to dog the buyer and reneg on that 1...especially given its costing me about $160 which is a little high for one of those?

so my own nutty thoughts were..... sol2000 + kastor 1500 on the 2-4kg will take care of all light bream work etc... is there a need for the kastor also just cause its a bit lighter or can the sol really do anything it can? could the sol with some heavier line handle pretty much anything found in an estuary?? jack??

the symetre i was thinking would make a good spinning option and could double for bait work ..........probably pair this with the 8ft rod??

the sol 3000 i thought would be ideal for bay plastics for snapper etc..paired with the 6-8kg??

and the baitcaster could be my main bait reel-- which could be a back up spinner....... and.......could i possibly troll with this?? i know nothing about trolling really...could i troll with any of these reels and if not what do i need?4500 or 6500?? would pair this with the 10-15kg...if that rod is suitable for trolling and bait work?

so are my current theories on the right track? is what i have suited to the fishing i want to do? am i pairing the right reels together with the right rods? or should i be looking at getting some differant gear and possibly getting rid of some of what i have? do i really need more gear to cover everything i want to or am i doubling up on things and could probably give something a miss or ??

thanku very much for any help..i know i do terribly long posts

sleepygreg
15-03-2009, 02:15 AM
One ponders the question....."what is the meaning of life?"

You may have to be patient waiting for an answer to your questions Yanjara.

Hang in there.

15-03-2009, 05:28 AM
G'day yanjaar,

With the tackel and tiiny just around the corner we know where you'll be!!! Matey, go to the complete angelr stand and nose around, they are scheduled to have a heap of give aways and heaps of product.

Check out Swano while you're there, he's with the penn pro team and will talk about penn/rovex (rovex have some new kit that could be worth looking at - not just ya garden variety stuff) and also show you around some of the other stff there as well. They have such are coverage at the one stand, I'm sure you'll get ya questions answered and some very keenly priced kit to boot. It's next weekend at the RNA, Friday - sunday

Geez Greg, a 2.15 am post - can't sleep matey? Any wonder ya handle is sleepy Greg, sounds like an oxymoron to me!!!!

Cheer

15-03-2009, 09:29 AM
well having acquired the new boat ....

so what did you end up with?

yanjarra
15-03-2009, 10:40 AM
so what did you end up with?

mate ended up getting that magnum 4.15 with 40hp etec...pretty happy with her....see page 4-5 of boating chat for the whole harrowing experience of buying it.....

thanks for all your help, always quik to respond..appreciated

wilcara
15-03-2009, 12:33 PM
Yanjarra... I'm in a different part of the country but you have bought pretty much a mirror image of the gear I bought, so naturally I think you are on the right track. I bought four baitcasters and not sure I think they are any real advantage, maybe wouldn't bother next time, but that is just because of what I end up doing I guess. You may be different. Anyway after all that I got the "overhead bug" and love these for trolling or downrigging. I'd love to learn to cast a baitcaster but so far that has eluded me.

yanjarra
15-03-2009, 09:19 PM
G'day yanjaar,

With the tackel and tiiny just around the corner we know where you'll be!!! Matey, go to the complete angelr stand and nose around, they are scheduled to have a heap of give aways and heaps of product.

Check out Swano while you're there, he's with the penn pro team and will talk about penn/rovex (rovex have some new kit that could be worth looking at - not just ya garden variety stuff) and also show you around some of the other stff there as well. They have such are coverage at the one stand, I'm sure you'll get ya questions answered and some very keenly priced kit to boot. It's next weekend at the RNA, Friday - sunday

Geez Greg, a 2.15 am post - can't sleep matey? Any wonder ya handle is sleepy Greg, sounds like an oxymoron to me!!!!

Cheer

yes m8.. u arent wrong there been planning on going and spending a few dollars there as i did last yr..might have 2 go easy though given recent splurging...i would just like to get some unbiased opinions + thoughts before going into sale stands and the like as i would be very easy to take advantage of as a buyer as i know very little....and whether what i have will do me for now im not sure,,,,, thats what i need to establish..if i could keep myself away from that place all the better.......but if i have 2 poke my head in and walk out with a bag of goodies than thats just how its gunna have 2b

yanjarra
17-03-2009, 10:18 PM
come on boys...fire up'

ive lurked on this forum for a while and i know there are those who walk amongst us who are capable of answering these questions or at least adding thoughts....

i promise i wont catch too many fishes and leave nun 4 youse......

dont make me beg now

wilcara
18-03-2009, 09:31 AM
Your'e probably not being specific enough.... From all teh gear I bought I think my best purchases were Shimano Charter Specials for reef/bottom/trolling and Okuma Baitrunners for general "snapper" work. There's a heap of other interesting things in teh bags too but that's the "go tos."

the gecko
18-03-2009, 04:53 PM
Its a pretty wide question. I can help with estuary rods.

the main thing is to get a reel with 2 spools. Use a light line like 2-4 kg for bream and whiting, and try 7-15kg main line for jacks and other bycatch stronger than bream, like flathead, trevally, etc. Any reel around 2000-3000 size with 2 spools will do. A Sol is a great choice if they have the spare spool. Match this with any rod around 2-4 kg, around 6'6' to 7'.

After a while you will want a better rod with more sensitivity in the tips, but cheap rods are ok for starters.

good luck.