View Full Version : cast nets
Chamelion
12-03-2009, 10:33 PM
Hello all,
I've relied on a good mate to catch and supply the livies when we go fishing but I think it's high about time I get my own cast net.
Bee see eff currently have 20% off their cast nets, so I'll likely take advantage of that. My main query stems from not knowing what size to opt for.
If it makes any difference I'm not a small lad at 5'11" and 95kg.
Cheers :)
Matt.
12-03-2009, 10:40 PM
Be warned, pull the cast net out of the tub and measure it. Mate of mine when to buy one from b c f recently and found an 8 foot in a 10 foot box.
eotbmg
12-03-2009, 11:11 PM
Buy the biggest one you think you can handle. I did and taught myself how to throw a 12 footer. Check the video link on Ausfish, I use the method where you bunch it up in your hands, with a bit of practice its relatively easy.
My thoughts were that anything smaller than 12 foot i would have been missing bait i could have been getting with a larger net.
CreelReaper
12-03-2009, 11:20 PM
Hey Matt,
There are other places that I would think supply a higher quality of net for what you are going to pay at BCF. Especially if you want a top pocket to maybe chase some prawns.
If you are happy to get a cheapie to learn on thats cool but you will find the higher quality also 'throw' a lot easier too.
At the end of the day, take it out as suggested before you buy. Take it home and soak it in some fabric softener for a while to take the stiffness/spring out of it. For your height I would suggest either a 9ft or 10ft net.
Shane
marty+jojo
13-03-2009, 06:00 AM
Go a 12 foot net, bigger spread equals more bait, therefore less throws, and less time gathering bait. I have a 12 foot one from bee C F, i use it to make sure there is no snags around before i use my expensive custom made net. The cheaper net is ok for prawns as it is has a top and bottom pocket. As for the fabric softener, i agree 100%, it works well.
Marty.
385EXPLORER
13-03-2009, 07:39 AM
I picked up the 8 footer,I'd been trying to learn on a mates old dodgy net but just could'nt get it,I found the new one heaps easier,the video on ausfish is very good,It show two different methods,I found Steve's way alot easier than Nuggets.
Explorer
nufin_flash
13-03-2009, 08:31 AM
id say get the biggest you can get, it might take a little bit longer to get it fully spread open but my theroy is a 3/4 opened 12' net will still catch as much as a 9' cast net and as you get better it'll open all the way
13-03-2009, 08:42 AM
for your size, a 10' or 12' net will be ideal. Up to you on which way you go.
I'm 5'9 and 76kg, and throw my 12' net with ease.
Don't forget it's moreso technique.
bennykenny
13-03-2009, 03:50 PM
i personally would go 9 foot, i catch just as much bait with mine as my mate who has a 12 footer its never been a problem and when we go prawning the same thing but i can throw mine for a lot longer than he can cause its lighter and i do stay dryer than he does
13-03-2009, 04:34 PM
DPI&F Rules for Queensland.
Cast nets
Cast nets can be no more than 3.7 m when measured from the point of attachment of the cord or rope to the rest of the net, to the net leadline or bottom of the lowest pocket of the net, whichever is greater. Mesh size must be no greater than 28 mm.
FYI.
13-03-2009, 04:36 PM
Further.....FYI.
3.7 meter = 12.139 107 612 feet
and
28 millimeter = 1.102 362 204 7 inch
><>
><>
pontificator
18-03-2009, 10:46 PM
measured from the swivel to the lowest part of pocket or some such...........
18-03-2009, 11:28 PM
some issues with the cheaper nets.
Some of them do not open up very wide at all. I have a cheap 8 footer and even if I peg it to the lawn it will only open up a bit more than 6 feet.
My big bro' inlaw from the north has an old cotton net and it almost opens up flat.. its a 9 footer and even I can get it to open up to almost 12 feet.
All of the mono nets suffer from spring back.... mine was a shocker... it would snap shut before it hit the water...... bro'inlaw, had a cheapy in stock as a spare and got it out for a try last time I was in t'ville... same thing.......he's in his sixties and been trowing a cast net since he was a kid and could not get the bast### to open up...... he was very uncomplimentary about it.
So the hot water and fabric softener is absolutly necessary with cheap nets.....then peg it out on the lawn while it is still hot....I soaked mine for a week...fresh hot water and softerner every day......better now..... but I will go for a better one.
Buy as big as you think you can hurl and if you possibly can stretch to a better quality one...... take care of it and it will last you a life time.
That cotton one the bro'inlaw has..... he baught it in the late sixties.
nuggstar
19-03-2009, 01:20 AM
yer get the big one. i use a 10 footer top pocket my self but crave a 12 foot draw string. i wish we were allowed to have the big 16-20 foot nets like the indo's use, it make the job so much quicker
Chamelion
23-03-2009, 10:55 PM
Purchased a 9' from BCF, it fit the price I was after and the only ones in a bigger size I could see were top pockets, which I could not afford.
Will see how it goes, cheers :)
Matt.
ronnien
24-03-2009, 06:01 PM
cast nets have come a long way over the years, when i first started using them i was about 5yrs old. now besides the cotton net there is mono (light but tears easy), multi- mono (light & the strongest). i learnt on a cotton net, got down to the creek & as i was going for my first cast with my new net... hey (this old timer yells out) young falla you chasing prawns, yeah i say... he than told me to take it home & soak it in green fabric dye. why? this allowes you to see the prawns much easier at night, he was spot on! this was about 30yrs ago, no need for a torch cause you cant miss the prawns or mullet in a green net at night.
i now use a 12 foot drop drawstring mono, big net & can full spread it every cast. & i still throw it over the shoulder way.
ron.
Chamelion
24-03-2009, 10:30 PM
Let it soak in softener overnight and had a few casts today... I've taken quite easily to casting. I managed to get it opened up to an acceptable spread right away. It feels good to use and I feel quite natural casting it, so I'm about as happy as a pig in poo... Oh, I have a few nice mullet to tie on tommorow now too :)
Matt.
CreelReaper
24-03-2009, 11:05 PM
Go getem Matt, it won't be long before you are a cast netting guru. Don't ya just love it when it all falls into place.
Shane
SHAYTAMAS
25-03-2009, 01:09 PM
Victorian regs prohibit the use of cast nets but allow a hauling net, I cant find where to buy one so any clues on a supplier and any tips would be much appreciated.8-)