View Full Version : Shimano baitrunner 6500
sam russell
11-03-2009, 05:21 PM
Looking at buying a baitrunner 6500
It will be intended for surf casting with baits and metal lures
Hoping to catch salmon tailor and maybe mulloway on it.
I will be putting it on a penn spin fisher big game surf rod (15-30lb)
Any feedback on this reel?
SAm
russ81
11-03-2009, 05:31 PM
Hows it going mate
Im running mine a a wilson live fibre for bottom bashing and love it havent had any dramas with it so far
deepfried
11-03-2009, 06:41 PM
Hi Sam,
Its been a long time since i have used one but i loved my old 6500 before it was knocked off. So much so that recently i have looked at getting another but the big spool model. There are a lot of reels that will suit what you are chasing and some would be better for certain applications but none would be as versatile. I would consider the bigger spool model even though it costs a fair bit more as you will get better casting distance and hold a more line. For metals it also has a better retrieve rate.
eotbmg
11-03-2009, 07:13 PM
Hey mate.
I purchased my 6500b yesterday with the sole intention of Jews from the sand.
Loaded it up with 300meters of 25lb mono. It probably would have fit more but i only bought a 300 meter spool. It was Platypus super 100, which is .36mm in diameter.I reckon the bait runner system will work a treat with the slow and sometimes erratic bite of a jew. Although yet to try it out.
Also will be used offshore, once i get another spool and fill it with 50lb braid.
God luck
Dam good reels for the price.... go the 4500 if your casting metals it has a faster retrive, the 6500 had more grunt for bottem bashing.
pommy
11-03-2009, 10:46 PM
G'day all!
Fishing a Baitrunner as a surf reel may not be the best option. Sand in the mechanism is likely to stuff it up pretty good!
As for line capacity and casting..... I have thrown Jewie lures with a Daiwa Opus Bull 6000, a big reel! The Big Baitrunner looked just as big. Not an option for beach fishing IMHO. Good for static baits or livies though. Wouldn't like to have to cast with it for any length of time.
Anyway, don't listen to Deepfried.....the only outfit I've seen him use is a really Girly Catalina and Catana! LOL! Real wussy stuff...(Although he can cast 50m further than me!).
Regards, Rob.
Ballina.
CreelReaper
11-03-2009, 11:36 PM
I tend to agree with pommy. These types of reels were not designed with surf and sand in mind. Sand and salt gets into everything and eventually the reel will fail. Unless of course you are prepared to do consant maintenance on it.
Yes it will do the job but they are a fairly heavy reel so throwing lures for a while may develop some extra arm muscles.
Shane
sleepygreg
12-03-2009, 01:24 AM
I would NOT take a baitrunner onto the sand. They are an absolute nightmare to pull down and clean once you get that fine windblown sand into them. and if you dont do it.....they fail quickly. (one of my all time favourite reels though...but not this application). Take two outfits with you....one with a TSS4 for chucking slugs and lures, and an alvey for your baits. Sorry...but high tech and sand just doesnt mix.
12-03-2009, 05:33 AM
G'day Sam, check out the Penn 760 slammer, could suit a ittle better than the BRT. I personally wouldn't use anything with a Bait runner/feeder/live liner in the surf, for all the reasons stated above.
I once had a reel with the rear drag - used it once in the surf, the mechanism actually pumped salt water and sand into the rear of the reel - not pretty - not to mention it was a total waste of a reel anyway
I reckon you need a totally sealed body for the surf.
sam russell
12-03-2009, 05:06 PM
Had a look at the shimano spheros 8000
i heard they would be good for casting metal lures but dont know how good theyed be for bait fishing
SWANO1
12-03-2009, 05:50 PM
as rhys said sam or maybe a spinfisher850ss or 950ss to suit the rod and ya cant kill em on the beach , tougher drag for the big jew.
cheers swano
ps this is what a 950 loaded with 50lb suffix braid is capable of
dreemon
13-03-2009, 07:52 AM
swano1 looks like your esky was expecting that
iceknight
14-03-2009, 01:19 AM
6500s rock. one of the best reels iv ever owned.. i used mine awhile back at DI when the tailor were on. 90grm raiders and the likes and 50 lb mono and still got good distance.. i run up to 80lb on some of mine.. and havent had a moments bother..
pontificator
18-03-2009, 10:42 PM
18kg Pike eel, the stuff of nightmares!!!
backlash08
19-03-2009, 05:52 PM
I've got a few 6500 that are +15 years old and a few new ones as well, they are a fantastic allrounder, I've used them heaps off the rocks, only a bit in the surf (not into the surf too much) and stacks offshore, I have never had a problem and they get serviced every 5 years weather they need it or not, have also got a 4500 which has done less work but works well as well
cheers - Craig
19-03-2009, 07:25 PM
stay away from the Big Baitrunner. It is nowhere as reliable as the BTR6500.
scoota
19-03-2009, 09:27 PM
Sorry Sam, the baitrunner is self explanatory and is purely designed for running a bait, live or dead on a free spool or allowing a floating bait to be picked up with minimal resistance.
I have 2 star drag alveys that will do this for me in surf conditions and the only maintanence I do is dunk them in the salt water before I put the bait or lure on. Don't think the 6500 would like that much.
I do have 2 of the 6500 btr but keep them away from surf conditions that could get them dunked and stuffed for life!
Scoota...
CreelReaper
19-03-2009, 11:09 PM
Scootas on the money, the humble old alvey is superlative for these conditions. Mate, you will fish with what you ultimately decide but when you are on the fish of a lifetime, halfway through the battle and your eggbeater style reel freezes cause a little moisture or salt/sand has reached the internals and subsequently seizes and its goodnight Irene. You will be one happy camper I am sure.....
Might be a little more weight with the sidecast (and definately not as glamorous) and you may not be able to reach the retrieval speeds of a good eggbeater or overhead for that matter but at least you will have piece of mind.
Shane
Lizard Man
20-03-2009, 09:38 PM
One tip if you do end up with a Baitrunner, make sure you close the bail arm manually. I'm no expert, and I always close the bail manually(whether it's my BTR or otherwise), but I've heard of a hell of alot of Baitrunners with bails that have trouble closing after a while if you crank the handle to close the bail.
And I agree with most folks on here that a Baitrunner won't appreciate being taken out to play in the sand. However the reliable Alvey will almost thank you for it;D
Edit: Also engaging the normal drag manually is advised, before turning the handle.