View Full Version : northen bay big snapper!!!

flynny15
08-03-2009, 04:02 PM
gday all....

fished the northen bay last friday and what a day we had, my mate caught the biggest snapper i have ever seen and most likely biggest i will ever see. it was cuaght on a 5 inch gulp soft plastic in lime color.

Nico.d.R
08-03-2009, 04:14 PM
how big was it ?

whatscracken
08-03-2009, 04:31 PM
Any pics of this monster Flynny??

eotbmg
08-03-2009, 04:36 PM
We need some pics

tailorboi99
08-03-2009, 04:37 PM
Yeah mate, we need some piccies and description.

Tom

SummerTrance
08-03-2009, 05:34 PM
Jeez mate, how can ya say it was a huge snap, and not even tell us how big it was ? how many cm's or kg's ? Got a pic ? Not doubting ya, just keen to know how big.

frenzy
08-03-2009, 06:43 PM
Nice catch, I think???

ddobson
08-03-2009, 06:58 PM
I hope you have a pick cause you made a big statement like that being a 19 kilo got caught a few months ago and was damb near the length of the guys body. Having said that a big snapper is a big snapper and boy what a fight they put up till you net the big buggers. Well done boyz.

abbot_86
08-03-2009, 07:27 PM
awsome report mate, very detailed

Seahorse
08-03-2009, 07:40 PM
I nearly got a monster few months ago. sorry i dont have the pics, but it was big.
i played it for an hour. i ran out of line.
Does that sound impressive.

Kleyny
08-03-2009, 08:26 PM
WOW.

What a catch i wish i could get one that big.

juju
08-03-2009, 09:54 PM
Now i now what was cleaning me up last time out at Mud...there must have been a few about...looked like it......and i was flicking LIme Tigers as well !!

lido76
09-03-2009, 02:27 PM
I caught a 22kg snapp the other day at the compass bouy and I was using a 2kg whiting as live bait on my 4lb gear it took me 5mins to land and I had no net. so I tail grabed it and pulled it into the boat. I started taking photos on my camera when a dugong came and bumped into the side of my boat this made me lose my balance fall and knock myself unconcious. I came good about 5min later only to see a pirate ship sailing off in the distance and guess what they stole my camera and took my fish. to cut a long story short I think my fish was bigger than yours flynny... CHEERS BRENDAN

p.s you should have seen it. It was HUGE.... HONEST.

chief
09-03-2009, 03:24 PM
Now you know why I keep fishing the river, to many bloody pirate ships out in morteon bay.

flynny15
09-03-2009, 04:38 PM
ok ok now i have everyone watching if i can figure out how to get the pic downloaded it will be on here, by the way it was one of the best days i have ever fished in brisbane or anywhere in fact.

snagking
09-03-2009, 04:39 PM
well.....

Hurry up or everyone will go INSANE :D

flynny15
09-03-2009, 05:37 PM
ok pics are up

09-03-2009, 05:41 PM
pretty deep bodied snap there what weight did he go?? doesnt look any longer than about 80cmish.

flynny15
09-03-2009, 06:09 PM
iam not sure what size he was but it dwarfed my 80cm red fish ruler, i would say he was almost a 1meter if not just over, that trevalley was big and he was alot smaller than the snappper, he almost busted the landing net and i have caught and seen alot of snapper but never one that big u had to be there he didnt look real...

RAT-KING
09-03-2009, 06:13 PM
Well done thats a great fishing session!!!
Cheers Simon

09-03-2009, 06:21 PM
nice mixed bag flynny. It's ashame people don't believe you until pics are up.
Great catch

BILLY THE KID
09-03-2009, 06:33 PM
who owns the feet in the thongs :D

measure the thongs and go roughly three times the length and you have a rough estimate of length

DAVE_S
09-03-2009, 06:34 PM
Iam not a doughting thomas ,that is one old man snapper well done .

09-03-2009, 06:34 PM
I nearly got a monster few months ago. sorry i dont have the pics, but it was big.
i played it for an hour. i ran out of line.
Does that sound impressive.

Liar Liar pants on fire. ::) I was anchored 3 and a half feet of your port bow watching ya. You wouldnt have played it for an hour, ;) wouldnt have been anymore than 50 maybe 55 minutes. ;D i videoed it all, but damn that bloody pirate ship stole it when i wasnt looking.:P

Seahorse
09-03-2009, 06:48 PM
iam not fishing besise u any more mike.
u tell to many stories

greg

09-03-2009, 06:50 PM
that is a great session there Flynny and a top mixed bag. I have an idea what part of the bay you would have been fishing to do that. Big know on that snap too.

09-03-2009, 07:03 PM
Good lookin fish and catch, can I fish alongside you too::)

PM your boat rego and call sign!;D I'll keep an eye out!

84mick
09-03-2009, 07:13 PM
Good report mate, big snap!

Cheers, Mick.

Chong
09-03-2009, 10:04 PM
Nice snapper, well done...but the can we see a pic of the whole boat, stern looks diffrent to the cabin area::) , maybe its the joy kicking in... any way good fish

slyman
09-03-2009, 10:37 PM
A stonker snapper indeed! well done mate!

ddobson
10-03-2009, 10:13 AM
It is a good snapper in deed well done boys thats a good catch there for one day. Thank god for the photos or we thought it was 2 metres long or something as i have photo of the largest documented one at 70 pound hung up like a shark and thought you had beaten that. It is definately the best fish on plastic for me to catch for shure. Cheers

10-03-2009, 01:00 PM
i have photo of the largest documented one at 70 pound hung up like a shark

I would like to see that

flynny15
10-03-2009, 04:38 PM
like i said i dont think i will see one bigger wished we had something to weigh it with and a bigger measuring tape..... anyway it was a awesome day, the trevalley where caught somewhere else but the rest of them where in the one area just drifting with plastics.... and they where all caught around 10:30 -11:30 am. except for the trevalley.

legsy11
10-03-2009, 04:58 PM
ive seen that picture or the 70 pound snapper.was cuaght on a set line by a pro in new zealand i think back in the 50's or 60's.big fish ,maybe it is the true grandaddy snappa

Saltdoggy
10-03-2009, 05:44 PM
that's a big knobby mate! looks like a unicorn or some mythical creature nice catch!