View Full Version : Saltiga Surf for trolling ????
deepfried
08-03-2009, 12:07 PM
A bit left field but has anyone considered using a Saltiga Surf 6000 for trolling for Spanish mac, Wahoo and Tuna etc. I know its not what is considered the norm but i dont like overheads as i havent used them much and dont get outside much. If i got a Surf i could use it for both onshore and outside. The surf has 15kg of drag which should be heaps ( I think ). It also holds 700m of 30lb braid or a bit less if top shot with mono. To me the reel has what it would take regarding drag rates and spool capacity. It would also be much lighter than an overhead that can match those specs. One negative i can see is that it wont have the advantages of a lever drag but i can cope with that. Also what would be a suitable rod for trolling with a spin reel. Interested in all thoughts and comments good or bad as i am nowhere near making a decision.
deepfried
08-03-2009, 05:18 PM
Another option that is a lot cheaper would be a Daiwa Emblem Pro 5500. Much the same drag and spool capacity as the Saltiga Surf. It also has a much higher retrieve rate. Any thoughts.
Mate either reel's will do the job.........Until i got my Catalina ( which i have not caught a decent fish on still:-[ ) i used a tss4 and before then a 4500 baitrunner to catch mackeral......
Both of these reel's have done a few Kimberly trip's and both have caught spaniards over 50lbs...........and many many large GT's and until a year or so ago i only ever ran 24kg trilene on them.
So the Saltiga surf should do the job easily.
By the way someone is selling a near new Catalina on E-bay for $400 ATM.
Dan.
dog tooth
08-03-2009, 07:15 PM
get a 20000 stella:D :D :D
I think the saltiga should work as long as ur not fishing anything over 50lb braid on it
deepfried
08-03-2009, 08:20 PM
Hi Dan,
I was told by a guy yesterday on a charter that there was no way he was going to let me use my Catalina and 10 - 15kg Live Fibre. I was pretty pissed. I told him it would hold up but he just wouldnt give it a go. In the end i picked up a Longtail of about 10kg+ on an old solid glass broom stick that must have been all of 4' and 30 years old. I have always wanted a Surf but in all honesty i cant really justify the cost so i might look at an Emblem.
Dog Tooth,
I am scared of the cost of the Salty Surf let alone a Stella 20000. If i want my balls where they are i wont be spending that much anytime soon unless i get divorced. If i went a Surf or an Emblem i would fill it with 30 or 40lb. ATM i am just toying with the idea.
Cheers for the replies guys.
Nothing wrong with the spinn gear for the Mac's, a 7ft 10kg rod is ideal. The mighty Stella is the new craze in NZ to jig or troll for Marlin on Braid
pommy
08-03-2009, 08:48 PM
Hey scott!
I reckon you need to be growing the other type of grass (not the Mondo) if you are going to be able to afford a Saltiga! LOL.
Wondered where the post was going when I first read it.
You boated the longtail?
Gave you a ring a couple of times this weekend but no joy. You didn't miss much. I discovered the pitfalls of casting braid into the wind, in the dark, on the North Wall. No fish but some crazy knots! Won't try that again in a hurry.
Regards, Rob.
Hi Dan,
I was told by a guy yesterday on a charter that there was no way he was going to let me use my Catalina and 10 - 15kg Live Fibre. I was pretty pissed. I told him it would hold up but he just wouldnt give it a go. In the end i picked up a Longtail of about 10kg+ on an old solid glass broom stick that must have been all of 4' and 30 years old. I have always wanted a Surf but in all honesty i cant really justify the cost so i might look at an Emblem.
Dog Tooth,
I am scared of the cost of the Salty Surf let alone a Stella 20000. If i want my balls where they are i wont be spending that much anytime soon unless i get divorced. If i went a Surf or an Emblem i would fill it with 30 or 40lb. ATM i am just toying with the idea.
Cheers for the replies guys.
Mate you should have told that guy to go jump........A couple of years ago we were chasing mackeral around the Wessel island's on 4kg mono, on Callcutta 250's and such..........The common school size we were encountering was around 10kg.........some were up to 17kg........we had no problem landing them if the sharks didn't get them first.
6-8kg is about the right line class for spanish your Catalina/live fibre is the perfect mack attack weapon
deepfried
08-03-2009, 09:39 PM
Hey Rob,
I will keep to legal grasses that i grow. I dont think prison would be a good idea for a skinny bloke like me. The Saltiga might stretch the marriage a bit. Will prob look at the Emblem or wait until spring and see what we sell in the nursery. I normally take a fair while to make my mind up and i'm not in a hurry anyway. Just throwing around some ideas and seeing what others with more experience think.
Yeh i got the longtail but it was on a charter so the rapps go to the charter guy for putting me onto it while trolling.
deepfried
08-03-2009, 09:49 PM
Dan,
I thought it would handle them but i dont have a lot of experience outside so couldnt argue too much. We are looking to do another charter in a few weeks while the Lontails and Mackeral are around so i will have another go at using it. If i get spooled its my gear anyway so what have they got to lose.
metaloid
09-03-2009, 01:33 PM
Another option that is a lot cheaper would be a Daiwa Emblem Pro 5500. Much the same drag and spool capacity as the Saltiga Surf. It also has a much higher retrieve rate. Any thoughts.
The high-retrieve rate is not all that useful when you have 200+ meters of line to get back with an uncooperative fish at the end of it! That's when you need a bit of torque to help with the pump-and-wind.
Reels like the Stella/Saltiga have handles designed to cope with a bit of light "winching" but the Emblem Pro handle would just snap. :( Of course that doesn't mean you can't wind in a big fish, it just that it takes longer...
That's probably why your grumpy charter guy gave you a broomstick, he didn't want to wait all day in case you hooked a marlin!;D
Personally I use a spinning reel (spinfisher/tss4) + 10-15Kg Braid Buster for cubing but I prefer an OH reel for trolling skirts (Penn TRQ, Sealine) + 15-24Kg Mack Mauler. Also I prefer mono to braid, somehow I just like that elastic band feeling!!!;D
deepfried
09-03-2009, 06:01 PM
Hi metaloid,
You have got me confused now. I understand that the overhead is better for trolling but i thought is was because of the lever drag. I cant see the high retrieve rate of the Emblem being a problem as most of the work is done when lifting the rod and most over heads have a similar retrieve rate anyway i thought ( not certain though ). The Emblem is designed for chasing pelagics from the rocks HSS so they can handle the load no worries. Oh well it gives me more to think about. I like mono for trolling as well but i will use braid as backing to make up a bit more spool capacity.
metaloid
09-03-2009, 10:14 PM
Hi Scott,
You have got me confused now. I understand that the overhead is better for trolling but i thought is was because of the lever drag.
Sorry for the confusion. I wasn't trying to say that one type of reel is better. It's just my personal preference.
The Emblem is designed for chasing pelagics from the rocks HSS so they can handle the load no worries.
It's not so much that the reel can't handle the load, it's more that given the short length of a typical trolling rod and the high ratio of the Emblem, you can only do a fraction of handle turn every pump & wind cycle. So the action is a bit jerky, especially if you're using braid.
Re. my snapping the handle comment, it was just speculation to illustrate the sturdiness of the Stella vs. Emblem, not an actual observation.;)
reggy
10-03-2009, 07:06 AM
have a look at the Spheros range and maybe a 15 kg ugly stick
the only thing you won`t get with the spinner is a strike alarm
good luck
deepfried
10-03-2009, 08:56 PM
Thanks for the replies guys. I am going to stick with 10 - 15kg live fibre and Catalina i have and save my $$$ for a boat rod for my Saltist 50h. It was bought for bottom bashing and jigging mainly but i will take the braid off on respool with mono and learn to like overheads as much spin gear. Cheaper option than a whole new setup. I will have enough money leftover to also get a rod to suit the saltist for floating livies off the rocks. 2 setups for the price of one. Cheers again.